SW9000 said:
Wooo.

Someone changed his belt at 18k and found that it was still in reasonably good condition. Gave it to me so I can use as spare for my overseas trip. Nice guy.

who is this super nice guy?

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

• Replies 22.2k

  HelmetBOX! said:
got your roller replaced?

yup, just did a 5.5 hrs super maintenance at K&T this afternoon... damage >$500 plus 1/2 day leave :sweat:

initially went there to change eo, filter n synchronise engine nia. then decided to get the mech to do a thorough check. OMG! found many things gotta change liow... final menu include:

+ motul 7100 & stock oil filter

+ stock rollers, belt & u clips (wah! some rollers no longer round liow)

+ stock air filter (really blackish n filthy)

+ change final drive oil using same eo (gosh!!! its BLACK in colour)

+ reseal magneto cover (got a rude shock to see an eo drip on the floor, close look found eo leaking from the right side cover seal siah. the BS fellas didn't "glue" it back properly when they change the magneto coil :slapforehead: can go back n bang table but decided not to waste time)

+ for oil seal & clip (dunno why fork seal up the lorry so fast)

+ silkolene pro rsf 10wt fork oil

+ synchronise engine :thumb:

+ sparkies (diy)

now considering whether to change flush n change coolant for my near 3 yrs old bike even though not 36k kms yet :p

now i also got spare belt liow :lol:

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

  patrick1131 said:
hey guys... i saw the silver wing 2009 model got 2 lamps ..damn sexy

anyone know machine price ??

if twin headlights... that's the SWT-400, not the usual FJS/JDM Silver Wing :angel:

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

  scoobydoo said:
thanks SW9000 ... for helping me out at K&T n everything that follows:smile:

haha. You're welcome.

I've to delay my Cameron trip by 1 day... cos wifey is sick.

Will leave Sunday and back Tuesday.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

feel like going on road trip too with scooter kaki but wife now pregnant,still gotta go back office evryday so even my SW oso underutilised...now looking at another bike...>>FJR1300 need 2 bikes to satisfy my craving..but now SW oso no time to even ride into Malaysia....so maybe FJR plans hold on 1st..

Kris rider..thks for the tip abt paddling the bike and siaming the bike if it really falls.i tink i will jus go ULTRA slow into wet carparks>>5-10km/h..play safe...

Bro Paithorn..got time will sms u for meet-up..i tong pang u to geylang lor if ur ride still nt here yet...

  DraggyStar said:
now looking at another bike...>>FJR1300 need 2 bikes to satisfy my craving..but now SW oso no time to even ride into Malaysia....so maybe FJR plans hold on 1st..

I was thinking about the FJR too but was discouraged by the forward leaning sitting posture (I'm 1.8m)... not nice for the lower back.

Am now looking into something of the wee-strom class to bring me off road or country roads (Vietnam, Cambodia, etc). Hey, I was a dirtbike rider for 4 years (200cc & 750cc)...

Then again, the SW was built for long distance cruising too. Don't have to hurry into a tour. Just watch out for any of the 1-day trips at 'Trip Thrills' and insert your name if the dates are ok.

Coming gatherings are:

1. Scooterist Outing - 21 Mar 09. TCSS for 1 Sat night should be ok for u bah?

2. Hatyai Songkran Festival - 10 to 14 April. *A bit siong cos must leave wifey so many days...

3. Durian Plantation 1-day Trip - possibly in June.

  scoobydoo said:
wah... chio kaki go geylang woh :D

I don't have permit for such area...

Must excuse and go far far away into thaigirl land for... some exotic food.

  hilfiger said:

What is your mileage when u go for servicing at K&T?

odo near 22k kms... some things are due for change according to manual's odometer interval but some is becos time's up liow... mine's a 2006 bike. manual says "Replace every 2 years, or at indicated odometer interval, whichever come first"

this leaves me with battery (still going strong), brake fluid and coolant to restore my ride to "near factory" state... dun count the enhancements put on lah :angel:

~

Trips:

  scoobydoo said:
yup, just did a 5.5 hrs super maintenance at K&T this afternoon... damage >$500 plus 1/2 day leave :sweat:

initially went there to change eo, filter n synchronise engine nia. then decided to get the mech to do a thorough check. OMG! found many things gotta change liow... final menu include:

+ motul 7100 & stock oil filter

+ stock rollers, belt & u clips (wah! some rollers no longer round liow)

+ stock air filter (really blackish n filthy)

+ change final drive oil using same eo (gosh!!! its BLACK in colour)

+ reseal magneto cover (got a rude shock to see an eo drip on the floor, close look found eo leaking from the right side cover seal siah. the BS fellas didn't "glue" it back properly when they change the magneto coil :slapforehead: can go back n bang table but decided not to waste time)

+ for oil seal & clip (dunno why fork seal up the lorry so fast)

+ silkolene pro rsf 10wt fork oil

+ synchronise engine :thumb:

+ sparkies (diy)

now considering whether to change flush n change coolant for my near 3 yrs old bike even though not 36k kms yet :p

now i also got spare belt liow :lol:

Would like to comment & ask - The OEM rollers do tend to wear faster, which is why when i first collected my latest SW i opened the CVT system, cleaned it and applied a very slippery synthetic grease that repels dirt and dust, does not make anything sticky and most of all will not fling off or be affected by high heat. The grease is so rare and expensive and i think the manufacturer went bust already. I picked it up at a Motor Show at WTC some years ago. Lets say a 100 gram jar cost more than a Full oem cvt kit. All you need is a little smear on each roller and inside of the cover. It really works as one of my previous SWs oem rollers were still perfect after 2 belt changes.

One thing did you use synthetic oil for the Final Drive ? Better to use a mineral based oil with multigrade ratings between 15W to 50W. Or get an SAE90 grade synthetic gear oil - like they use for the BMW bikes gear box. I know you going to ask WHY - so i will just tell you that the wear and tear at the final drive is just so much greater and changes should be more frequent.

the mech did smear a thin coat of lithium grease on the rollers n inside the variator where the roller sits.

yup, used 10w40 full syn. suggestion noted. no worries, changing is simple and i can easily DIY along with eo change interval (approx. 5-6k) since got 2 "half" bottles of w50 on hand.

~

Trips:

i was wondering can we start a MSN Group for SW?

here is mine to start the ball rolling

1) helmetbox! KT2311@gmail.com

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

  scoobydoo said:
1) helmetbox! KT2311@gmail.com

2) scoobydoo josephsbs@hotmail.com

you nvn online is it?

lol..

i just change mine account

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

  silverwing73 said:

@h_LoNg - thought the original tyre is IRC Japan ?

Some batches are with Hoop, some IRC Japan.

mufc69 said:
how much u got feelfree? where?:dot:

currently using bridgestone:cheers:

I got it changed at a bike shop in Kakit Bukit at $180.

scoobydoo said:
odo near 22k kms... some things are due for change according to manual's odometer interval but some is becos time's up liow... mine's a 2006 bike. manual says "Replace every 2 years, or at indicated odometer interval, whichever come first"

this leaves me with battery (still going strong), brake fluid and coolant to restore my ride to "near factory" state... dun count the enhancements put on lah :angel:

U made me look like torturing my SW... 35k+ I have only done routine oil, spark plug, gear oil and coolant changes. No belt chnage yet, plan to do at 40k. The rest remains pretty much untouched..

Kris Rider said:
Would like to comment & ask - The OEM rollers do tend to wear faster, which is why when i first collected my latest SW i opened the CVT system, cleaned it and applied a very slippery synthetic grease that repels dirt and dust, does not make anything sticky and most of all will not fling off or be affected by high heat. The grease is so rare and expensive and i think the manufacturer went bust already. I picked it up at a Motor Show at WTC some years ago. Lets say a 100 gram jar cost more than a Full oem cvt kit. All you need is a little smear on each roller and inside of the cover. It really works as one of my previous SWs oem rollers were still perfect after 2 belt changes.

One thing did you use synthetic oil for the Final Drive ? Better to use a mineral based oil with multigrade ratings between 15W to 50W. Or get an SAE90 grade synthetic gear oil - like they use for the BMW bikes gear box. I know you going to ask WHY - so i will just tell you that the wear and tear at the final drive is just so much greater and changes should be more frequent.

Hmm, I'm been using Maxima Gear Oil

How frequent in your opinion should the change be? 10,000km?

Edited by @h_LoNg

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a380/VoxArcana/Forum%20Signatures/ManUtdChampions.png

2002 - 2004 HonDa SP

2004 - 2006 HoNdA S4 VtEc 1

2006 - 2007 YaMahA MaJesTy 250 MK2

2007 Current HoNDa SliVerWinG 400

  @h_LoNg said:
U made me look like torturing my SW... 35k+ I have only done routine oil, spark plug, gear oil and coolant changes. No belt chnage yet, plan to do at 40k. The rest remains pretty much untouched..

you're not the only one still running on factory set :p

as for me, i :angry: roadside breakdowns and possibly a bit on the http://smileys.on-my-web.com/repository/Animals/cute-tiger-2932.gif side. thus my personal preference to maintain my transports at tip top condition within practical limits to minimise risk of roadside breakdowns. 16 years of riding n driving, my cars and bikes have never failed me on the road except for this SW last Oct :nono:

i was very very frustrated when it couldn't start after stopping to make a fone call along ECP due to a flat battery caused by magneto failure. got it fixed by BS on warranty but the inconvenience n time (sent in tuesday nite, collected fri evening) wasted to get it fixed costs a lot more than the part/labour to get it changed. and the blardy BS "tor kor" did a half-fcuk job sealing back the magneto side cover causing eo to leak from joint. spent another 3+ hrs n $$ at K&T to get it refitted. maybe going back to BS could get it fixed under warranty, but it sure will cost more than a day n can't be sure if it'll be fixed properly :slapforehead: TIME IS $$

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips:

hi Kris

have you encountered eo seeping out from the right side magneto cover joint on any of your 3 SWs?

i've heard from 2 different mechs that this is a common problem in SW (and many other modern bikes) due to the use of gasket adhesives instead of the good-old gaskets. the joints are pricision machined and a thin layer of RTV gasket adhesive (think better ones are silicone based for better sealing properties) is used to close off the smaller than "hairline" gap. problem occurs when the adhesive is not properly applied or insufficient time is allowed for curing before putting the joints together. worse when excessive amounts are used such that the excess squeezed out from the pressure comes off inside and becomes a hazard to the internal combustion engine (read this https://mercedessource.com/node/82).

RTV means Room Temperature Vulcanization. It refers to a rubber material that will completely cure at room temperature.

~

Trips:

Hi scoobydoo,

Sorry i dun even know where is the magneto? cover on our bike...can explain where is it actually? Cos maybe we need to periodically check that eo is not leaking from it....thks! :cool:

  scoobydoo said:
hi Kris

have you encountered eo seeping out from the right side magneto cover joint on any of your 3 SWs?

i've heard from 2 different mechs that this is a common problem in SW (and many other modern bikes) due to the use of gasket adhesives instead of the good-old gaskets. the joints are pricision machined and a thin layer of RTV gasket adhesive (think better ones are silicone based for better sealing properties) is used to close off the smaller than "hairline" gap. problem occurs when the adhesive is not properly applied or insufficient time is allowed for curing before putting the joints together. worse when excessive amounts are used such that the excess squeezed out from the pressure comes off inside and becomes a hazard to the internal combustion engine (read this https://mercedessource.com/node/82).

YES ! All had leaks at the alternator (Magnetto) cover after about 20,000Kms I just put it down to the poor jointing seal and the Synthetic oil being able to find even the tinniest way out when it gets hot and pressure goes up. I never worried about it and just carried a Top up of EO on long trips. Even present one beginning to weep slightly. If you can tolerate the WEEP - just leave it alone.

You mentioned that your mech used LITHIUM grease on the rollers !!! He may as well have used Peanut Butter or Tomato Catchup - Lithium Grease is not meant for high heat , not dirt or dust repelling and will fling off the first time the variator spins. Get a few guys together and go share the cost of a tub of OMEGA 57 Grease. Then put some each (one tablespoon) in a small container (like an old plastic 35mm film cartridge container) and when you doing your rollers just ask the mech to use that. Dont tell him what it is and if he persists say Fighter Jet grease and not available on the open market and that you got some from a pilot friend.