• Replies 22.2k

Hi Seniors,

I got an offer for 2 yrs old SWT ABS at 15K, need repairs on front brake switch and replace the rear brake pad. Mileage abt 23K, no scratches but can only collect by end Feb.

Is this a good deal? 😅🙏

Edited by stanlim88

Kakis meeting every Thursday after 7pm at Rail Mall Bukit Timah.

Normally hang around at Coffee Bean till about 9pm.

Regardless of bike type... because most have upgraded from Silverwing but still keeping in touch.

Any meetups coming soon?

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Hi Seniors,

I got an offer for 2 yrs old SWT ABS at 15K, need repairs on front brake switch and replace the rear brake pad. Mileage abt 23K, no scratches but can only collect by end Feb.

Is this a good deal? 😅🙏

Nope.. Not a good deal.. Need to repair means bike got problem haha.. Just my 2cents thought.

Sent from my D6653 using Tapatalk

2007 - 2008 Honda Phatom 200

2008 - 2010 SYM GTS 200

2010 - ???? Honda Silverwing SW-T400

Hi all, my sliverwing right side mirror recently got loosen afteri came back from overseas. Tried tightening it back but somehow it will always face the meter instead of the original position. Meaning it became 180 degree instead of original position. What cani do before bringing it to acm?

Eh I just add washer and mirror can turn to original position liao

whats a recommanded tire change for silverwing seniors?

pirelli or metzler ?

both are ok, tried and tested

feelfree is more ex but some felt its compound is softer (less durable) and gives better grip, diablo is "all rounder" value for money.

heard prices of diablo went up, so the price diff may not be as significant nowadays :p

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Hi Seniors,

Is this a good deal?

Nope.. Not a good deal.. Need to repair means bike got problem haha.. Just my 2cents thought.

Sent from my D6653 using Tapatalk

cannot "blanket" all repairs means got problem lah... depends on whether the repair is to rectify defects or to replace wear-n-tear items mah.

e.g. changing brake pads shouldn't be considered repair, it's only a just wear-n-tear replacement.

if the repairs are for minor issues and price is still attractive after factoring in all the repair and wear-n-tear replacement costs, why not?

2 years travel 23k km is not really high... about there for local riders :)

note that touring regulars can clock that mileage in 1 year :p

here's a very simplified way to look at that 23k km mileage, without factoring in public holidays to make it really simple:

. . 2 years have 2x52 weeks = 104 weeks

. . average travelling per week = 221.2km

. . assume Sat & Sun travel ½ of weekdays mileage

. . . . per weekday traveled = 221.2/6 = 36.9km (to-fro work)

. . . . per weekend traveled = 36.7km (balance for running errands and social)

i.e. each trip to work is only about 18.5km, something like Tampines Central to Raffles Place/Shenton Way, or from Jurong West/CCK area.

hmmm... mileage may be considered normal bah :smile:

as for $15k asking price and transfer only in Feb... personally, i wouldn't go for it... but that's for me lah :cheeky:

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

hi bro, I know this q must had been asked b4..but this thread is 436pgs, very hard to find:cry:

jus changed to a 08 silverwing yesterday.I need to replace my 08 silverwing front windscreen and seat hydraulics, any lobang for cheap cheap one? or anyone scraping their 06 model soon to exchange?

thanks...

hi bro, I know this q must had been asked b4..but this thread is 436pgs, very hard to find:cry:

jus changed to a 08 silverwing yesterday.I need to replace my 08 silverwing front windscreen and seat hydraulics, any lobang for cheap cheap one? or anyone scraping their 06 model soon to exchange?

thanks...

for ease of finding FAQs, do check out the Tech Corner... very useful for new SW owners (regardless of FJS/JDM or SWT/GT)

[h=1]Thread: Silverwing 400cc / 600cc Tech Corner[/h]

the SW stock seat hydralic holder is not very lasting, i've changed to a compatible and stronger one at ACM; Ah Choong will do the slight adjustment for stick to fit.

windscreen wise, can consider aftermarket if you want bigger sizes...

* Aftermarket Wind Shields for Honda Silver Wing

cheap? not really, but you may ask around to cannibalize from scrapped/to-be-scrapped bikes lo

~

Trips:

Thx for e reply bro..really hope to find a cheapo windscreen..������

won't recommend that... a cheapo windscreen may still block the wind but it may not withstand the impact during an accident and breaks.

imagine sway sway it breaks and you kenna cut or poked by its sharp edges... too late to regret :pity:

there's a reason why the honda stock windshield costs much more, its made of high quality material that doesn't break easily.

i had first hand experience skidding and crashing into the rear of a car, headcowl kenna flattened but windshield still intact, only deep scratches all over... it didn't break :thumb:

~

Trips:

Do a search in the garage sale. I think there is a member from this group selling his Givi Shield...

Let's just ride....

I AM BACK!!!!!

both are ok, tried and tested

feelfree is more ex but some felt its compound is softer (less durable) and gives better grip, diablo is "all rounder" value for money.

heard prices of diablo went up, so the price diff may not be as significant nowadays :p

hi scooby,

i changed to feelfree as ACM say he no stok for diablo. and tigten the sterring...

feels good now .

I ws told by my mech original Honda screen is $400 plus..serious?

wa 400. ok i sell u my orginal wan 250 can liao lol

V-belt sign will light up every 24k, same as stated in the Manual.

You can take that as a reference.

If only riding in SG, no harm going for 30k but the risk is yours.

Anyway, 24k would take about One Year of normal riding for most people. The belt cost is only $130 (add a bit more for installation). One of the cheapest among the Maxi-scooters.

Hi senior, i just bought a silverwing. Can i check for belting replacement is base on milage travel of 20000 or base on the icon vbelt on the meter?

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

hi scooby,

i changed to feelfree as ACM say he no stok for diablo. and tigten the sterring...

feels good now .

i was there last Sat too.. wanted to do many things but ah choong suggested weekdays is better cos my bike needs about ½ day, weekends very busy liow.

will make appointment and leave bike with him for a day on one of the weekdays... after he returns from CNY holidays (ACM start work on 12 Feb).

ya, diablo need to order after CNY holidays... i should be changing to feelfree too :smile:

btw, ah choong said SW can use Battlax TH01 Radial.

http://www.bridgestone.com.sg/product_motor_SCT_BTLX%20TH01.html

online lists rear size smallest is 14"... SW's rear is 13"... hmmm

~

Trips:

I ws told by my mech original Honda screen is $400 plus..serious?

wah... price went up so much arh? i paid around $310 about 5 years back, average about 5.2% inflation per annum compounding o_O

can try calling FJT or Chong Aik to ask for a quote.

ps: they sure ask you where you calling from, just tell them rider buying for own use lo... i believe quotes for motortiams' should be slightly better (although some of them will deny), otherwise why would they ask right :lol:

if you don't mind aftermarket shields, can consider Givi, Ermax, Cee Baileys, etc. depending on whether yours is FJS/JDM or SWT/GT.

check this post at Tech Corner out

* Aftermarket Wind Shields for Honda Silver Wing

personally, i wouldn't recommend the short windshield since they don't really provide the intended wind protection.

some SWingers like becos it makes their SW looks more sporty and has lower drag, but i also know of some who changed back after a short time :p

Do a search in the garage sale. I think there is a member from this group selling his Givi Shield...

Let's just ride....

good idea if you don't mind used items :thumb:

~

Trips:

Thx for the info..The one in g sale is only selling the extension piece..I dun mind any type of screen,as long as it's cheapest..😬 will give c aik a call later..thx for the info bros

V-belt sign will light up every 24k, same as stated in the Manual.

You can take that as a reference.

If only riding in SG, no harm going for 30k but the risk is yours.

Anyway, 24k would take about One Year of normal riding for most people. The belt cost is only $130 (add a bit more for installation). One of the cheapest among the Maxi-scooters.

Today just collect my silverwing 400 . When I put to main stand no issue but want to bring down from main stand very big issue . Use all my 喝奶力 also can't bring my bike down . Senior any technic to bring the giant down with ease ? I short short only 161cm do it play a part?