SBF Tmax Cafe

Go to solution Solved by noLplate,

Hey.... what is "regular oil" ???

just curious.... cos i'd only heard of fully-syn, semi-syn, and mineral oil.....

didnt know they now have it in sizes like, "small", "regular" and "large"???

like having MacDonalds Value meal..... :faint::faint::faint:

My mistake! I meant it as mineral oil.

for me i used mineral oil for run in (i did Hard/forced) till i finished the process then i used semi syn..no need for fully syn..in sg the weather very hot..fully syn might be too thick..ppl say fully syn better..i tried..power loss..so belive in those who tried not those who "know".

Btw Tmax can use R6 oil filter.i believe Tmax ones are more ex..for using R6 oil filters,need abit more oil as its abit longer..our cc uses 2900(ml?),just use the whole 3L

Owned: Nsr 125 SP,CBR 400 RRL,Fazer 600 '04,ST1100,Runner 200 VXR,VFR800 ABS '05 + X8,XP500 BlackMax + KSR 111,Copen 660T, FXSTB Night Train Custom,YP250 Classic Limited,HyperMotard S ,Golf GTI DSG Mk5 ,MX-5 NCEC PRHT + W124 220TE, E92 325XL ,Golf GTI MKVI ,'08 XP500 [4B5] ,AE 101,ZC31S ,DC5 , NCP42

Current : Tmax 530

My mistake! I meant it as mineral oil.

yeah, just joking only.... i'd guessed that your "regular" prob meant mineral.... :cheers:

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

i actually feel that mineral oil is de best..just that u have to change it often..

Owned: Nsr 125 SP,CBR 400 RRL,Fazer 600 '04,ST1100,Runner 200 VXR,VFR800 ABS '05 + X8,XP500 BlackMax + KSR 111,Copen 660T, FXSTB Night Train Custom,YP250 Classic Limited,HyperMotard S ,Golf GTI DSG Mk5 ,MX-5 NCEC PRHT + W124 220TE, E92 325XL ,Golf GTI MKVI ,'08 XP500 [4B5] ,AE 101,ZC31S ,DC5 , NCP42

Hi Sexyh aka Calvin, How is your Max getting along? Hope you're enjoying the Max like everyone here. It's really a fun bike.

I will be sending in my Max to MT next Friday for the 2nd servicing. Until now, 6 month down the road ... my Max only clocked 1720mls... :cry:

I am intending to have the Givi brackett installed also as the one customed made at 216 shop looks kana sai as rust is begining to show. I stand corrected but understand that it cost around $250.00. Anyone here installed the Givi ???

Let me find out from my friend where he installed it from!

99-01 > Mito 125, NSR 150

01-03 > Honda VFR 400 NC30, Aprillia RS250

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

05-07 > '05 Suzuki 600 K5, Wave 125, Nuovo 110

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

08-10 > '07 T-MAX [5VU], '08 T-Max [4B5], 08 R6

05-10 > DUCATI 749 Dark Mono

10-11 > CBR 1100XX, 2010 Busa

13-14 > RC51 SP2

14-16 > Ninja 400R, Z1000SX, MT09 Tracer

Get the 10/40 rating engine oil if u are afraid it's too thick..... Fully Syn will be advisable if u whack ur engine hard most of the time. Other than that, semi-syn will do the job well if u use the bike for daily commuting in sgp roads.

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

13-14 > RC51 SP2

Get the 10/40 rating engine oil if u are afraid it's too thick..... Fully Syn will be advisable if u whack ur engine hard most of the time. Other than that, semi-syn will do the job well if u use the bike for daily commuting in sgp roads.

wad if i have a mix or both? :p

For ur case, fully syn is advisable. Cos u dun ride the Max often, and each time u ride it, u ride like there's no tomolo! hahaha!!! Anyway, the price of a bottle fully syn differs less than $10 from the semi, anyway ur mileage also low what, can last longer! Motul 300 V is abt $28 a bottle, and the Motul 7100 cost around $23 if i'm not wrong. $5 more nia. I always think of it this way... " engine oil is the blood of ur bike" .. Moral of the story, dun save on this!

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

13-14 > RC51 SP2

but i used 300V i feel that power of bike is worse..but i use semi syn it feels better..isnt it supposed to be use lousier oil coz i nv ride often so change every 3 mths irregardless?

Yesterday on the way to Hong Leong to do 1st engine oil change nearby there at a traffic light and i was waiting for the light to turn green, a Toyota Picnic lightly banged into my rear.

Dropped the bike and had some scratches on the left. Dammit, the driver was a monk and he did not even have the courtesy of coming out of the car. He just clasped his hands in a prayer gesture and said that he did not meant it. I told him to come out of his car and informed him that the bike is new and how can he drive like that without looking in front.

Took it the HL for any evaluation and said total replacement comes up to $662 without labour. I was so piss off that i contacted that monk later and told him the amount, ii think he nearly fainted and so did i after hearing the amount.

After some serious disscussion with him, got only $400 from him. Will replace the rear panel and just bear with the small scratches in the front.

So be careful cos there are alot of blind people out there. Anyway, the service at HL cost just below $70 and waited for almost 2 hours. Their service was pleasant.

Edited by sexyh

wah lau..monk drive..tot that they are supposed to be off these humane pleasures?report him to TP la..just next door..monk or not..monks shld not be so tied up with money wad..got money drive,no money to pay for accident?take it that your injured..calvin..dun let the monk get away with this cheaply..if desperate measures calls...i`ll back u up,we go to the media..

"Monk Hits Motorcyclist with CAR but BARGAINS payout!"

This monk is indeed atrocious...

For ur case, fully syn is advisable. Cos u dun ride the Max often, and each time u ride it, u ride like there's no tomolo! hahaha!!! Anyway, the price of a bottle fully syn differs less than $10 from the semi, anyway ur mileage also low what, can last longer! Motul 300 V is abt $28 a bottle, and the Motul 7100 cost around $23 if i'm not wrong. $5 more nia. I always think of it this way... " engine oil is the blood of ur bike" .. Moral of the story, dun save on this!

tested and proven, the motul 300v breaks down earlier than the 7100

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

wah lau..monk drive..tot that they are supposed to be off these humane pleasures?report him to TP la..just next door..monk or not..monks shld not be so tied up with money wad..got money drive,no money to pay for accident?take it that your injured..calvin..dun let the monk get away with this cheaply..if desperate measures calls...i`ll back u up,we go to the media..

"Monk Hits Motorcyclist with CAR but BARGAINS payout!"

This monk is indeed atrocious...

Ya, i cannot agreed more. But already took his money and the case is considered settled.

But you know what, when he passed me the money it was in loose change and you don't believe it, he did ask me to give him a repair bill of the same amount when i have it. I think he might want to make a claim out of it.

No offence to anyone here, but i don't trust this monk. :(

Ya, i cannot agreed more. But already took his money and the case is considered settled.

But you know what, when he passed me the money it was in loose change and you don't believe it, he did ask me to give him a repair bill of the same amount when i have it. I think he might want to make a claim out of it.

Hey Calvin, since HL qouted you $662.00, get the bill made out to that amount. Let's see if the monk will pay you the extra $262.00!!!

ARCHIVED: TX500/CB550F/CB750K4/CB750F2/ZR750/CB750F/GSR600/ZG1000/ST1100/GPZ400/

CB1/Silverwing/GL1500SE/GL1500SEW/GL1800A1/GL1800A2/GL1800A4/FJR1300ABS/TMax

ACTIVE: GL1800A12 & SYM200

Assumption is the mother of all fu@kup

just another dirty monk...:sian:

1993 TZR125, 1994 RGV125, 1995 STEED, 1996 PGM 4, 1997 HERITAGE SOFTAIL NOSTALGIA, 1999 SKIPPER, 2000 YAMAHA R1, 2003 HONDA SP2, 2008 SDR 200, 2009 Ducati 1098, 2010 Tmax500 :angel:
Hey Calvin, since HL qouted you $662.00, get the bill made out to that amount. Let's see if the monk will pay you the extra $262.00!!!

Yup, get the Monk to get u the balance $200plus.. Really iresponsible..

WEIZHONG

http://www.yamaha-motor.jp/mc/lineup/sportsbike/tmax/sp/index.html

Yup, get the Monk to get u the balance $200plus.. Really iresponsible..

Thanks alot for the concern guys. But since i gave him my word of $400 settle the case, then i as a gentleman cannot pursue the case anymore.

I think it is just my bad luck to be infront of him that afternoon. And not just tuesday alone. Yesterday took my licence number to buy 4D (380) and added another 0 but forget to buy ibet. Then number came out last night 3rd prize, not alot but also $80 siam (miss).

So now a little care less and just let things takes it course. Like the saying goes, what is yours, is yours. What is not yours, you will not have it.

I will just chill out and let this small bad luck pass. :(

Also the next meet-up, i can show you the impact points on the 08-09 Tmax when dropped stationary.

Maybe, we can all digest the impact areas and come up with solutions the buffer up these sensitive areas.

Edited by sexyh
i feel for u...:sian:

my mum used to tell me monk very sway one.

she say see them go far far...

u very cute la :cheeky:

i feel for u...:sian:

my mum used to tell me monk very sway one.

she say see them go far far...

bro... then u cant ride to thailand liao... there alot sway one... wahaha...:angel:

1993 TZR125, 1994 RGV125, 1995 STEED, 1996 PGM 4, 1997 HERITAGE SOFTAIL NOSTALGIA, 1999 SKIPPER, 2000 YAMAHA R1, 2003 HONDA SP2, 2008 SDR 200, 2009 Ducati 1098, 2010 Tmax500 :angel:
bro... then u cant ride to thailand liao... there alot sway one... wahaha...:angel:

wahhahahaa...gd 1..n all de "suay" 1s there are very well respected..n most males have to go thru..

Calvin, spoken like a true gentleman. I share your sentiment. As for me, if he wasn't a monk, I'll do a 3rd party claim from his insurance for the full amount +++ :angel:

No drama here guys but we need to be a little sensitive when it comes to religious people.

Edited by FJRider

ARCHIVED: TX500/CB550F/CB750K4/CB750F2/ZR750/CB750F/GSR600/ZG1000/ST1100/GPZ400/

CB1/Silverwing/GL1500SE/GL1500SEW/GL1800A1/GL1800A2/GL1800A4/FJR1300ABS/TMax

ACTIVE: GL1800A12 & SYM200

Assumption is the mother of all fu@kup

Guest chaochao

Hi Maxxers,

I am quite new to scootering and own a X9 180cc for 3mths now. Before this, I was not a scooter kind of person. It took me a while to appreciate my current X9. Loved the smooth and easy riding + lotsa luggage space.

Now, I am considering upgrading to larger CC maxi-scooter. I'd like my next maxi for city-riding + occasional long-trips into Msia. So I am looking for a maxi that can provide a reasonable fuel consumption (25km/L) and cruise about 140kph at freeways.

After reviewing the specs of X9 400, SilverWing 400 and TMax, I am narrowing down to TMax. It said to be nimble enough for twisties and have good fuel economy.

I'd be grateful if any the experienced Maxxers here would advise average city riding F/C (Most occasions, I'll have a pillon). Would Tmax able to withstand long distance riding without causing too much damage to Belt, clutch, rollers and etc?

There are a few TMax on re-sale in SBF. An FY-plate going for $6.5K. Not sure if it is worth getting. Do the majority ppl here usually go for used ones?

All i can say is that now mine is not so new bike and just clocked 1000 km. City riding is estimated to be around 20km/I. Not bad in my personal opinion.

Only have 2 small compains so far:

a) some rain water do seep into the under storage area thru the rider's backrest holes (2 holes) will try to find something to water proof it.

b) wish that one of the front glove compartment have a lock instead. (how come Yamaha never look into this at all?)

Otherwise, i am looking into buffering up stationary drops impact points... still thinking.....:cry:

I will just chill out and let this small bad luck pass. :(

Think on the bright side, its only a little fall, it COULD have been much worst if that was a drunk driver....

Hi Maxxers,

I am quite new to scootering and own a X9 180cc for 3mths now. Before this, I was not a scooter kind of person. It took me a while to appreciate my current X9. Loved the smooth and easy riding + lotsa luggage space.

Now, I am considering upgrading to larger CC maxi-scooter. I'd like my next maxi for city-riding + occasional long-trips into Msia. So I am looking for a maxi that can provide a reasonable fuel consumption (25km/L) and cruise about 140kph at freeways.

After reviewing the specs of X9 400, SilverWing 400 and TMax, I am narrowing down to TMax. It said to be nimble enough for twisties and have good fuel economy.

I'd be grateful if any the experienced Maxxers here would advise average city riding F/C (Most occasions, I'll have a pillon). Would Tmax able to withstand long distance riding without causing too much damage to Belt, clutch, rollers and etc?

There are a few TMax on re-sale in SBF. An FY-plate going for $6.5K. Not sure if it is worth getting. Do the majority ppl here usually go for used ones?

Good! I've also sold off my FJR after owning the TMAX, bet U wont regret it, as long as U dont take the MAX up to long trips on the NSH.

to get 25Km/L, I think quite hard leh, not many bikes can give that type of FC, esp when the MAXXER is like 200KG.

doubt the FY-plates would gor for $6.5K... likely higher.... take yr time to scout ard, sadly, new MAXXERS have shot thru the roof in prices, and resale ones are rare in-between....

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08