Your Bike:

YAMAHA 900cc XJ900S/SN/SM/SP 1995-2002

Spark Plug Part No. Plug Gap

Recommended Plug DPR8EA-9 0.9

Iridium Option DPR8EIX-9 0.9

Get this frm NGK website...

*Live Each Day As If It Was Your Last And You Will Find Each Day Worth Living For*

• Replies 12.6k

• Custom

• SiLvErGhOsT

• mctan

• Heyrul77

  kevin said:
How much do you paid to service your carbs & other charges.

It will be my 8 this yr. I dont think there is a need to dismantle & service the carbs right now, mine is 86000 miles. the engine pull & running is still smooth & strong. FC still satisfactory as of day 1. Perhaps i may consider when i hit 100 000 miles.

I ride 99% on local road. My last long distance ride was with you guys to Malacca only, the spa thingy after i never even smell the causeway, the whole of last yr i did not even hit 180km/hr. Seeems like i have under utilise it.

The rest of the riders care to share what are the major replacement & service you have done to your divvy since ours are getting to age. So that we could better prepare ourselve. At 67500 miles I have changed the gasket to my cams $38 & the entire oil cooler $265 due to leak from wear & tear. Recent one was the relay for $60. Others were just common & regular services.

I sent mine to HL, valve clearance check, carb service and front fork service. Total about $500.

According to user manual, it is recommend to service valve at 40,000miles.

You have put your baby under utilises, should bring her to NSHW occasionally.

mctan

  Heyrul^77 said:

I thinking of DIY on my servicing. Thinking to change my engine oil to Shell Helix Ultra. By the way what is our engine oil litres if we change our oil filter too? Thinking of getting spark plug from AM or AC. Anyone had bought the spark plug there B4 & how much does it cost? I remembered that changing of air filter also is a simple things to do...if not wrong it just need to unscrew 4 screws rite? Might get my air/oil filter either at AM or AC after CYN. After that do some DIY servicing.

Do any guys here have a Service/Repair manual for our baby? Maybe can help to post too.

Thanks in advance guys!

Engine oil when change with oil filter = 3.7 to 3.8 liters.

Dun over as it will cus over pressure in e oil sys resulting in gasket leakage.

Also not all oil are the same. For watever oil u use, make sure it for motorcycle and not for car.

Most of our buggers r using motul(rich uncle like Silverghost) or maxima(few $ cheaper/liters).

Normal plug should be around $3/pcs => fyi

For air filter, u r partially right. four screws is to remove air filter cover. B4 tat u hv to remove the fuel tank :angel:

Check past posting for more information abt EO for our bike :thumb:

Also you may wan to do the following:

Change shaft oil => 200ml

Change fuel filter

Tat should keep u busy for at least half a day for beginners :cheeky:

ç”Ÿå‘½çš„å¯æ‚²åœ¨æ–¼å®ƒä¸èƒ½é‡ä¾†ï¼Œ

å¯å–œçš„æ˜¯å®ƒä¸éœ€è¦é‡ä¾†.

  mctan said:
I sent mine to HL, valve clearance check, carb service and front fork service. Total about $500.

According to user manual, it is recommend to service valve at 40,000miles.

You have put your baby under utilises, should bring her to NSHW occasionally.

mctan pte ltd start to jio bugger to clear carbon :cheeky:

I've a brand new rear brake rotor up for sales.

Selling at $100 where new one from AM or AC selling at abt $130.

Installation not included.

PM me if u r interested. :thumb:

  Custom said:

Where got so much, 3.7 to 3.8L l?

With EO filter change, 3.4L. Without EO filter change, 3.2L. (Stated in user manual)

mctan

  Custom said:

I've a brand new rear brake rotor up for sales.

Selling at $100 where new one from AM or AC selling at abt $130.

Installation not included.

PM me if u r interested. :thumb:

bro custom...

long time no hear.. I still remember our last trip outing to genting. was on my cb1300 then. how time flies..

hope u are well

I hv been eyeing for a divvy for so long and yet still hasn't got one yet. :angel:

happy cny to u & family as well as all the bros

Dobby said! "Harry Potter must not go back to School this year. There is a plot; plot to create very terrible things"

  casio said:
bro custom...

long time no hear.. I still remember our last trip outing to genting. was on my cb1300 then. how time flies..

hope u are well

I hv been eyeing for a divvy for so long and yet still hasn't got one yet. :angel:

A bugger named "Hondasteed" is letting go his special editio divvy in the classified section. Not sure whether it's on sale or not cos it was some time back. Feel free to search around.Hope this helps.

The Road-Sweeper

  casio said:
bro custom...

hope u are well

A bugger named "Hondasteed" is letting go his special edition divvy in the classified section. Not sure whether it's on sale or not cos it was some time back. Feel free to search around.Hope this helps.

The Road-Sweeper

  Custom said:

Dun over as it will cus over pressure in e oil sys resulting in gasket leakage.

Also not all oil are the same. For watever oil u use, make sure it for motorcycle and not for car.

Most of our buggers r using motul(rich uncle like Silverghost) or maxima(few $ cheaper/liters).

Normal plug should be around $3/pcs => fyi

For air filter, u r partially right. four screws is to remove air filter cover. B4 tat u hv to remove the fuel tank :angel:

Check past posting for more information abt EO for our bike :thumb:

Also you may wan to do the following:

Change shaft oil => 200ml

Change fuel filter

Tat should keep u busy for at least half a day for beginners :cheeky:

Uncle,

Thanks for the valuable information. :thumb:

By the way wat is the best SEA? Or lighter pick up? Coz i feel that my bike is a bit heavy wen pick up...duno why oso? Btwn wen i turn my front wheel i can hear that the disc break got sound. It does not have much free play on the wheel. However, this is after i fix my Swage brake line. Some ppl say i need to do bleeding but scare salah do lah.

Engine oil when change with oil filter = 3.7 to 3.8 liters. = I belived MCTan is rite coz i remember i still gt few engine oil for my last servicing on Nov 07. But not as little as 0.2litres. Currently me using the Maxima engie oil SEA 15W50. Wat is the cost of the Motul per litre? As for the shaft oil i still have balance from my previous shaft oil change and will be using it again.

Check past posting for more information abt EO for our bike = Aiyo! How can i easily check for the thread huh? Can someone help? Thanks in advance! Bros...

*Live Each Day As If It Was Your Last And You Will Find Each Day Worth Living For*

  mctan said:
Where got so much, 3.7 to 3.8L l?

With EO filter change, 3.4L. Without EO filter change, 3.2L. (Stated in user manual)

Mr Tan,

Do you have the manual? Can post it here? Haha...:angel:

Did anyone of u all here ever do bleeding on ur front break? I wanted to do but scare lah...i duno if we have to do both side at one time or can we do one at a time? Do we need to open the main break oil cover which is on top B4 bleeding? Coz i feel tak shoick lah wen pushing my bike and it feel abit heavy. I wanna try do the bleeding method first and see how. If still the same maybe the cause is from the callipers.

  Dahun said:
After 15th day of Chinese new year ?

u org lar..

looking forward b4 my new venture start... :thumb:

  casio said:
bro custom...

hope u are well

yo bro casio,

yes... it's been long time since than... some bros had left us and new buggers had joined since than... pm/sms me for kopi k.. :p

PS: saw ur sales posting of x9 500.... thinking of changing bike again? hehe

  Heyrul^77 said:

Check past posting for more information abt EO for our bike = Aiyo! How can i easily check for the thread huh? Can someone help? Thanks in advance! Bros...

lazy bugger :sian:

Since u r into DIY, u'll hv to experiance different grade of EO to suit ur need.

Started off w 10W40.

If not, juz follow the public lor..

DIY is abt having fun playing w ur bike and get to knw ur bike more.

But if u r afraid of doing a certain task, go to workshop to let them do. See and learn from them b4 u attain urself.

  Heyrul^77 said:
Mr Tan,

Do you have the manual? Can post it here? Haha...:angel:

Every bike owner has a copy of user manual, it comes with bike.

A litttle A5 size hand book.

mctan

  casio said:
bro custom...

hope u are well

Haroze, vtec666 and hondasteed are selling their diversion, pm them if you are keen to look for one.

mctan

  Heyrul^77 said:
Uncle,

Thanks for the valuable information. :thumb:

By the way wat is the best SEA? Or lighter pick up? Coz i feel that my bike is a bit heavy wen pick up...duno why oso? Btwn wen i turn my front wheel i can hear that the disc break got sound. It does not have much free play on the wheel. However, this is after i fix my Swage brake line. Some ppl say i need to do bleeding but scare salah do lah.

When you changed the brake lines, the bikeshop must bleed the brake system at the same time.

But they never service the brake caliper for you.

Your front feel very heavy when try to rotate it, there are two reasons.

High possibility

1. Your front brake pistons unable to retract after the brake lever has been released ( Brake piston and seals need to change).

Lower possibility

2. Front wheel bearing jam ( The lubrication inside bearing got harden due to ageing, once harden it will cause the bearing lost its basic functionality.)

Cheap way to do - You may take out the bearing wash and lubricate it again.

Expensive way to do - Change the bearing.

Heyrul^77 said:

Engine oil when change with oil filter = 3.7 to 3.8 liters. = I belived MCTan is rite coz i remember i still gt few engine oil for my last servicing on Nov 07. But not as little as 0.2litres. Currently me using the Maxima engie oil SEA 15W50. Wat is the cost of the Motul per litre? As for the shaft oil i still have balance from my previous shaft oil change and will be using it again.

Yes, 3.2L and 3.4L is correct for sure. Uncle custom's bike has bigger EO bank lah, so needs more. :D

mctan

Hi buggers!

Wishing one and all a Happy and Prosperous New Year!

Gong xi Fa Cai!

STOC#2963.

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1365/733128425_940c3cc0c5_m.jpghttp://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/3539/2228/320/P1020266.jpg