Originally posted by ghtoh77@January 03, 2007 10:38 pm

if the idling is too low, there will be a negative charging on the battery if the headlight is ON, causing the bike to drain the battery during warming up. Normal idle speed should be 1300rpm +/-100. if you are riding a RRR model, you can install a headlight switch to manually off your headlight when you are warming up the bike, this would help, this really works as i have encountered the same problem before.:goodluck:

ghtoh77, thanks dude for the info. Yep, I noticed the problem with the headlights ON when warming up the engine. I normally turn on the headlights after the engine is running and warmed up. Yeah, the bike comes with a headlight switch to control the light on/off.

Mine is a FN plate with a modified street legal Yoshi exh. pipe, NC29 for chassis and NC23 for engine. I am not sure if it is a RRR model?

batli

• Replies 48.6k

• Aalex82

• fx110

• honam24

• RYAN KEITH SMITH

Originally posted by wantonmee07@January 03, 2007 11:31 pm

1.5k RPM stationary is too high liao. i would suggest u go try turn the flower nut (rpm screw) anti clockwise to lower the idling to 1300~1400 when bike is hot. maybe u might encounter problem starting your bike/ keep on stalling when the bike is cold. Then your bike need a checkup. 1.5k is way too much, not good for the bike.

PS~ only tune the rpm screw when the bike started. The screw is somewhere near the reserve switch. A yellow? colour flower bolt.

anti clockwise is lower the rpm n clockwise is upla.... :goodluck:

thanks brother, I know the location of the idealing flower nut screw. I have adjusted it to around 1200rpm when the engine was hot earlier. I will fine tune it to 1300rpm later, thanks. Yep, I know to turn the knob clockwise to increase and ACW for decreasing the speed. BTW, thanks a lot for the valuable information.

batli

Originally posted by batliwala@January 03, 2007 11:40 pm

thanks brother, I know the location of the idealing flower nut screw. I have adjusted it to around 1200rpm when the engine was hot earlier. I will fine tune it to 1300rpm later, thanks. Yep, I know to turn the knob clockwise to increase and ACW for decreasing the speed. BTW, thanks a lot for the valuable information.

batli

welcome, im jus sharing my little knowledge :smile:

If after u tune it yourself, then when u try start bike when its cold, maybe the bike will keep on stalling. Then its time to see doc. cos its no good tuning it everyday, cold tune up, hot tune low.

http://i73.photobucket.com/albums/i214/wantanmee07/bikes/FE3.jpg
Originally posted by batliwala@January 03, 2007 11:40 pm

batli

1200rpm when hot is too low. Your bike may stall when it's cold. The factory manual suggest 1300rpm-1400rpm when hot.

Yes, your bike is R model with chassis number starting with NC29 and engine number starting with NC23. It is still called a NC29.

I will try the yousendit.com.

Originally posted by rhema83@January 04, 2007 08:49 am

1200rpm when hot is too low. Your bike may stall when it's cold. The factory manual suggest 1300rpm-1400rpm when hot.

Yes, your bike is R model with chassis number starting with NC29 and engine number starting with NC23. It is still called a NC29.

I will try the yousendit.com.

Rhema83, thanks a lot m8 for all the help.

batli

Originally posted by rhema83@January 03, 2007 10:19 pm

My idling is 1200rpm when cold, 1400rpm when hot. 100km/h is about 6200rpm. If your sprockets are stock sizes, then check your chain slack.

I have the CBR400RR manual in soft copy. But it is really too large for me to send.

i hav send to honam the soft copy..

anyone who noe him can get from him..

same reason here..

the file is very big and since i dun ride cbr400, i send to him and deleted mine..

Originally posted by blackbabyblade@January 03, 2007 01:33 pm

where is dam?

at Yishun

2002 - 2003 Yahama Tzr 125 (FH1687Z)

2003 - 2005 Honda Sp 150 (FR9672K)

2005 - 2007 Honda Cbr FireBlade 400 (FN543E)

2007 - 2010 Suzuki Gsx-R K7 1000 (AU222D)

2010 - 2011 Honda Civic FD2 (S*******)

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

All the way across the board with no limitation

Originally posted by wantonmee07@January 03, 2007 11:49 pm

welcome, im jus sharing my little knowledge :smile:

If after u tune it yourself, then when u try start bike when its cold, maybe the bike will keep on stalling. Then its time to see doc. cos its no good tuning it everyday, cold tune up, hot tune low.

That is precisely why the bike has a choke. You should set the idle when the bike is at normal operating temp to 1.3-1.4k. When starting the bike from cold pull the choke on a bike to make it idle while warming up. That is what the choke is for.

Any bike that has the idle set correctly when warm will have trouble idling from a cold start without choke. Doesn't mean there is anything wrong with the bike, just means you need to learn where the choke lever is.

Originally posted by blackbabyblade@January 04, 2007 02:35 pm

You guys meet there often? for barbecue?

go there talk talk, let wind blow, eat ice cream, catch fish, see ppl play bike and see bike play ppl also lo, watever u wan to do ..

is the honda repair manual same as the haynes one??

Originally posted by blackbabyblade@January 04, 2007 02:35 pm

You guys meet there often? for barbecue?

Very seldom..

Cos most of us have busy schedules. Mm... will be grateful if some one willing to organise it.

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

Originally posted by Zer0@January 04, 2007 04:26 pm

That is precisely why the bike has a choke. You should set the idle when the bike is at normal operating temp to 1.3-1.4k. When starting the bike from cold pull the choke on a bike to make it idle while warming up. That is what the choke is for.

Any bike that has the idle set correctly when warm will have trouble idling from a cold start without choke. Doesn't mean there is anything wrong with the bike, just means you need to learn where the choke lever is.

Mm.. til now, i had never use the choke. Usually start well juz once press.

erm... sorry i beg to differ. wat u have said for the choke is true. n. i know where it is n wat its for. However, if the bike idling is precision set, u don have to pull the choke lever even when its cold n the idling will be at 14k when hot. My bike encounter this problem, went to bike shop get the bike service n everything is good. cold start~0.8k~1k when hot~13.5k

Originally posted by honam24@January 04, 2007 08:06 pm

Mm.. til now, i had never use the choke. Usually start well juz once press.

then your warm idling GOOD ma?

Bro, that is one very good way to cold start + warm up the bike... But is this a common practice in the "racing world"? As you have mentioned before, you do engage in racing activities back in Australia. By the way, have we met before at Eunos industrial park? :cheer:

Suzuki RG Light Sprinter- 1994-1997

Honda CBR400RRR- 1997-2009

XV950R - 2015-

Originally posted by wantonmee07@January 04, 2007 09:44 pm

then your warm idling GOOD ma?

Cold engine is about 1k, then when on the road when it hot, about 1.25k- 1.3k.

Mm... 2 years til now, i never use my choke before.

Originally posted by Aalex82@January 04, 2007 06:17 pm

is the honda repair manual same as the haynes one??

Mm... you got try to download and c, cos i cant download the file.

Originally posted by honam24@January 05, 2007 12:53 am

Mm... you got try to download and c, cos i cant download the file.

y u need to dl??

i send to u le mah..

remember the 1st time we chat in msn??

i send u 2 big file..

one is haynes, one is honda..

oh, i juz curious.

hehe!!!

juz wan to compare.

Originally posted by honam24@January 05, 2007 01:11 am

oh, i juz curious.

hehe!!!

juz wan to compare.

gek gek la...

ALEX! he don trust u! he scared u send him chiong one! hahahaa

jus joking ar~

Originally posted by wantonmee07@January 05, 2007 01:17 am

gek gek la...

ALEX! he don trust u! he scared u send him chiong one! hahahaa

jus joking ar~

wa.. you knn!!

wan to Sabo me rite...