Originally posted by rhema83@Oct 4 2006, 02:21 AM

By the way, branding is not the issue. If Kawasaki parts weren't so expensive in Singapore, I will definitely go with team green. But money is definitely a consideration, so I decided to go with another brand. The reason I am riding a CBR now is purely by chance. I needed an affordable 400cc machine for me to ride for 4 months a year when I am back, and it happened that my housemate's brother is selling his CBR.

haha. kawasaki parts expensive in singapore? we don't have to go to evershine for most of the stuffs. we have our ways and i'm not rich either. check out the kawasaki ninja thread. i've organised a gathering and we welcome you to join us as well. team green is always open to anyone, except a$$h0les.

let's just keep our fingers crossed for 07 '600's and from there, we shall see. i have faith in green. :thumb:

Ventura Puig Keiti Bagster Motovation Akrapovic BMC Pazzo GPR RaceShield Brembo Bridgestone EBC

Arai AGV Alpinestar Dainese Sidi Coolmax

• Replies 104

ask yourself what kinda rider are you. what do you like?

dun deceive yourself, be true to yourself and choose the right bike. it would bring you years of joy ride.

choose the wrong bike, and you can't wait to sell it.

Originally posted by hydrop@Oct 4 2006, 09:01 PM

I would prefer good acceleration from 0 to 100 without making too much noise. ( rev the engine). :cheeky:

then what you want is a haya, or blackbird, or ZX-14R.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Originally posted by GerardSantaCruz@Oct 4 2006, 10:28 AM

haha. kawasaki parts expensive in singapore? we don't have to go to evershine for most of the stuffs. we have our ways and i'm not rich either. check out the kawasaki ninja thread. i've organised a gathering and we welcome you to join us as well. team green is always open to anyone, except a$$h0les.

let's just keep our fingers crossed for 07 '600's and from there, we shall see. i have faith in green. :thumb:

Sorry if I have heard the wrong info. Most Kawa riders, including a track buddy of mine who rides a ZX10R, tell me that it is generally more expensive to maintain and repair a Kawa because of parts.

I will definitely feel weird if I ride my CBR into a group of Kawas. I think I'll pass on that. But I have narrowed down my choices down to ZX10R and GSXR1000.

Originally posted by rhema83@Oct 5 2006, 02:56 AM

Sorry if I have heard the wrong info. Most Kawa riders, including a track buddy of mine who rides a ZX10R, tell me that it is generally more expensive to maintain and repair a Kawa because of parts.

I will definitely feel weird if I ride my CBR into a group of Kawas. I think I'll pass on that. But I have narrowed down my choices down to ZX10R and GSXR1000.

you know what. screw everything else. you know you want ninja, denial is futile. you can nv go wrong with green. :D

Ventura Puig Keiti Bagster Motovation Akrapovic BMC Pazzo GPR RaceShield Brembo Bridgestone EBC

Arai AGV Alpinestar Dainese Sidi Coolmax

Originally posted by ah_tee@Oct 4 2006, 10:24 AM

i find my previous R1 abit boring to ride in sg roads, because b4 i could even go thru 30percent of my tacho, i m already above the speed limit

but of cos i enjoy the punch wif a slight twist of the throttle

but if u choose to ride a big bike in sg, chances are that u will only see ur tacho moving slightly in ur instrument cluster, u will soon feel like u r riding a half asleep bike

they are not design to go at 90-100

That is because R1 is tune for "sports".

With the same engine, same cc, Fazer1000 is more easier to ride on road.

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

its very true.

an engine that is too powerful is also hard to ride on sg roads.

the revs are too low, which the engine doesn't feel alive.

Originally posted by mechwira@Oct 4 2006, 09:12 PM

then what you want is a haya, or blackbird, or ZX-14R.

i am selling my blackbird :smile:

actually if you really looking for a bike that accelerates from 0-100 fast and silent, go for tourers like ST1300, or ST11, FJR. Not as fast as a sports tho. but very comfortable. and has wide range of powerband. making it easier to ride on sg roads. a breeze to ride slow, as well as fast.

tourers are the best things next to cars, with storage space, wind protection, moderate rain protection (only when riding, when you stop you get wet haha!)

Originally posted by Dino Bravo@Oct 5 2006, 05:56 PM

tourers are the best things next to cars, with storage space, wind protection, moderate rain protection (only when riding, when you stop you get wet haha!)

but hor, those tourer also bulky, heavy, hot.

Difficult to ride in city lah, parking difficult, squeezing also difficult. :help:

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

Originally posted by MrLau@Oct 5 2006, 06:13 PM

but hor, those tourer also bulky, heavy, hot.

Difficult to ride in city lah, parking difficult, squeezing also difficult. :help:

true also...

pros and cons lah...

hey guys jus a suggestion...y not use 2 bike??one 2b bike dat have low fc,easy to go through car for everyday use to n fro to werk.eg.wave,x1,125z,etc,etc..n a class 2 bike for ur passion of riding,to go up north,to go out at nite with frens,etc,etc

Embrace Your Dreams,Protect Your Supermoto Honour

Originally posted by aidiero@Oct 5 2006, 08:14 PM

hey guys jus a suggestion...y not use 2 bike??one 2b bike dat have low fc,easy to go through car for everyday use to n fro to werk.eg.wave,x1,125z,etc,etc..n a class 2 bike for ur passion of riding,to go up north,to go out at nite with frens,etc,etc

Ideal situation:

Track - Ducati 999

High speed touring - Blackbird / Haya / ZX14

Touring - FJR

Adventure touring - KTM990

Trail - KTM200/400

Motard - KTM525 / TE510

Transport - DR650

Reality - dream on o_O

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

My ideal:

Track - ZX10R

Touring - VFR800

Daily - Super 4

Reality - GSXR1000 (compromise between power, comfort and handling)

A "can-do" suggestion but it is definately not economical.....

which simply put, means you're just gonna lose more pictures of "Yusof-Ishak".

Er...Nice suggestion but i thought this is about comparing 600 & 1000?

I feel riding a 1000cc bike is SG is quite a waste. I even got a speeding ticket within the 1st week of owning my bike just on 2nd gear...

Anyway my next bike would most prob be a 600cc.

1998 RS Aprilia & KTM200

2000 License gone

2002 Honda SP

2004 Honda CB400

2005 Honda CBR1000RR5 FZ9xxxZ

2007 Honda Fit 1.5 Vtec SGU2xxxR

2008 Mitsubishi Colt Version R SJF9xxxG

i guess you do not own 2 bikes. one for play one for transport.

well actually it may seem like you are saving.

cos when you use the transport bike, it seems like you are saving on petrol tyres and those wear and tear...

actual fact... you are paying rd tax and insurance for both bikes. not forgetting the price of the transport bike itself as well.

to put it simply...

transport bike (ie: wave/x1) = avg $2K+++...

insurance for transport bike = ard $250+++ (depends on age too)

rd tax for transport bike = $40

season parking (tho some pple dun buy haha!) = $15

after all this, the bike still got to be maintained, although less $$, but doesn't mean no need maintain.

so in reality, you actually spend a minimum of about $2300 extra for the 1st year for the 2nd bike. think of it, even if i use my CL2 bike everyday with heavy mileage, i don't think i would even need to spend $2300 extra per year.

if your reason for getting a 2nd bike to save money... i would say forget it.

the only reason i can see for getting a 2nd bike which makes sense...

1)is that the owner really loves his/her bike. and finds it a waste to ride it on the road everyday. hence decreasing the amount of wear and tear.

2) owners' bike is race prep. therefore not practical for road use. weekend track use only

it is a common misunderstanding that "not-so-rich" pple own a big bike plus a small side bike. cos maintaince for the big bike is siong.

in fact, i would like to say its the opposite.

"pple with a blessing of a little extra money" would be able to afford 2 bikes.

whereas the not-so-rich like myself, can only afford 1 bike.

just my 2cents worth.

please correct me or share your views if you disagree.

Just to share my situation. I have a FN plated WR2 thats hardly worth much if I sold it on the market at this point of time. COE was renewed at $300+ a year ago (unlike the $1000 COE now tsk tsk tsk).

The WR works like a dream, gets 28km to a litre of petrol, hardly needs maintanence and has never broken down on me before. Not even once. The calculated additional costs by Dino Bravo of a new class 2B bike has been offsetted by the bike being ridden for the past 3 years. =)

Insurance at $230... Holding onto the WR2 while I have my R6 for weekend rides and trackdays makes sense does it not? Its kinda hot to ride the R6 on SG roads anyways. Much discipline needed to avoid donating to government coffers...

A 2nd class 2B bike need not cost more if its an old reliable bike! Saves on wear and tear on your dream bike =) Cheers...

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3506/3466942491_3c2e673ece_o.jpg

anyone here has rode/try fazer 1000 and 600 ? Can share the experience? I understand that there is bound to have much different in torque and bhp... but which one will be a more "worthy" bike for sg roads ?

--neveRmind--

I rode a fazer1, definately a better bike if you ask me to compare it to a 600cc. Less gear changing ard city riding as well as overtaking is a breeze. I bought an excellent condition cbr600 rode it for a few months before i decide to change it for this road friendly bike. In between riding the cbr600 i was also riding a super4 vtec 1. Surprisingly i've liked riding the 400cc than on my cbr... Well if you have the extra money to spare, i would suggest getting a litre bike. Point to note is that you have to understand what purpose is the bike for. A 600cc sports is definately a great trackbike, but i believed its a pain riding ard town at legal speed limit.

And ya class2 bike are generally much hotter to run, higher road tax and insurance. hehh

If you are looking for a road friendly bike, hornet600 or bike with the same specs would be just nice even with pillion. A more torquey bike than a fazer600.

Originally posted by Dino Bravo@Oct 7 2006, 10:03 AM

i guess you do not own 2 bikes. one for play one for transport.

well actually it may seem like you are saving.

cos when you use the transport bike, it seems like you are saving on petrol tyres and those wear and tear...

actual fact... you are paying rd tax and insurance for both bikes. not forgetting the price of the transport bike itself as well.

to put it simply...

transport bike (ie: wave/x1) = avg $2K+++...

insurance for transport bike = ard $250+++ (depends on age too)

rd tax for transport bike = $40

season parking (tho some pple dun buy haha!) = $15

after all this, the bike still got to be maintained, although less $$, but doesn't mean no need maintain.

so in reality, you actually spend a minimum of about $2300 extra for the 1st year for the 2nd bike. think of it, even if i use my CL2 bike everyday with heavy mileage, i don't think i would even need to spend $2300 extra per year.

if your reason for getting a 2nd bike to save money... i would say forget it.

the only reason i can see for getting a 2nd bike which makes sense...

1)is that the owner really loves his/her bike. and finds it a waste to ride it on the road everyday. hence decreasing the amount of wear and tear.

2) owners' bike is race prep. therefore not practical for road use. weekend track use only

it is a common misunderstanding that "not-so-rich" pple own a big bike plus a small side bike. cos maintaince for the big bike is siong.

in fact, i would like to say its the opposite.

"pple with a blessing of a little extra money" would be able to afford 2 bikes.

whereas the not-so-rich like myself, can only afford 1 bike.

just my 2cents worth.

please correct me or share your views if you disagree.

well preached ! this is wat i call a Saint's TalK

words of wisdom + simple mathematics

Originally posted by hanhan@Oct 7 2006, 03:01 PM

I rode a fazer1, definately a better bike if you ask me to compare it to a 600cc. Less gear changing ard city riding as well as overtaking is a breeze. I bought an excellent condition cbr600 rode it for a few months before i decide to change it for this road friendly bike. In between riding the cbr600 i was also riding a super4 vtec 1. Surprisingly i've liked riding the 400cc than on my cbr... Well if you have the extra money to spare, i would suggest getting a litre bike. Point to note is that you have to understand what purpose is the bike for. A 600cc sports is definately a great trackbike, but i believed its a pain riding ard town at legal speed limit.

And ya class2 bike are generally much hotter to run, higher road tax and insurance. hehh

If you are looking for a road friendly bike, hornet600 or bike with the same specs would be just nice even with pillion. A more torquey bike than a fazer600.

Yah loh, I riding a fazer 600 now. Need to power up past 5000rpm to get good acceleration which means making quite some noise....if not even cub kia can over take u :cheeky:

But it does look very nice with underseat exhaust. :smile:

We R One!

Originally posted by stan_lemieux@Oct 7 2006, 10:21 AM

Just to share my situation. I have a FN plated WR2 thats hardly worth much if I sold it on the market at this point of time. COE was renewed at $300+ a year ago (unlike the $1000 COE now tsk tsk tsk).

The WR works like a dream, gets 28km to a litre of petrol, hardly needs maintanence and has never broken down on me before. Not even once. The calculated additional costs by Dino Bravo of a new class 2B bike has been offsetted by the bike being ridden for the past 3 years. =)

Insurance at $230... Holding onto the WR2 while I have my R6 for weekend rides and trackdays makes sense does it not? Its kinda hot to ride the R6 on SG roads anyways. Much discipline needed to avoid donating to government coffers...

A 2nd class 2B bike need not cost more if its an old reliable bike! Saves on wear and tear on your dream bike =) Cheers...

well you got a point too.

but i feel that even if you own two bikes, even if you manage to save any $$$, you only save that tiny bit. which i personally do not think that it is worth the trouble.

well, but each to his own of cos...

some still prefer to own a 2nd bike to save on the wear and tear of their dream bike, like you mentioned :smile:

ride safe bro, cheers