• Replies 25

should be no problem, saw many ppl do like this :)

just the wonder the garage address only.....

i think they will charge u when your bike not found on garage address.

hmm seems illegal, guess i will just deregister the bike

anyway how to park a deregistered bike sia, hdb say cannot buy season parking, cannot park inside flat due to being a fire hazard. must apply hidden rule liao like that????

http://i44.tinypic.com/54c3gg.gif
hmm seems illegal, guess i will just deregister the bike

anyway how to park a deregistered bike sia, hdb say cannot buy season parking, cannot park inside flat due to being a fire hazard. must apply hidden rule liao like that????

for permanent track use, the best way is deregistered and export to malaysia :)

to park it, mayb u can place it in a workshop. when track day comes, get it out to the track (by towing of course) and race. =)

Faster than fast,

Quicker than quick.

just a question on laying up, is it possible to layup at your workshop and let your bike get serviced in the meantime?

http://i61.photobucket.com/albums/h74/moronicboy/DSC00113censored.jpg

i miss you dear bike :(

yes you can layup at your workshop and let them service it.. of cos got to get their permission..

Ok, let me straighten things up about laying up a vehicle:

When you put a vehicle into layup (or "Non-User Status"), you declare that the vehicle will be parked at a location and will not be moved.

A breach of the above agreement is an offense.

Every layup application lasts for a year but the owner can cancel at his own convenience. It costs $5 (GST excluded) to layup a vehicle.

When the vehicle is put out of layup, the owner has to bring the vehicle for inspection.

Once the vehicle passes the inspection test, the user will have to buy insurance for that vehicle.

After that, you need to pay road tax for the vehicle. This allows the vehicle to be used (parked/ridden/driven) in Singapore. If it does not have road-tax coverage, it will lapse and if it's found that it's being used on the roads or parked somewhere (by LTA), heavy penalties apply.

any other charges for laying up of bike? or is it only $5.35 includ. GST?

2006 - NSR SP

2009 - Spec III

2011 - R6 '08

http://image.automotive.com/f/newsandupdates/racing_news/122_1103_progress_for_ducati_marlboro_team_as_qatar_test_kicks_off/32274961+soriginal/122_1103_03_o+valentino_rossi_ducati_marlboro_q

Just $5.35

Excluding your monthly parking expenses to HDB, of course. Okay off-topic already.... :D

lay up to a maximum of 3yrs after that of which the vehicle has to be registered or exported. not sure whether can play around with the system such as register after 3yrs den lay up again for another 3yrs. anyway its a track bike, best to lay up cos the cost to lay up is so far cheaper to maintain than a normal bike to use for track.

for track usage, yes u can tow, not ridden to e track. dun forget to calculate the charges of towing & charges at my custom (if applicable).

& yes it is an offence should LTA decide to do a random inspection & found out that your bike is not there. Bike shop is the best place but storage fees applies. ur home car park address can also be used but if kanna random check den lady luck is not with you.

Can't post a new thread? Read HERE

Everyone of you here are contradicting each other. So now who's speaking the real thing?

one say can track, the other says no, another says export it, and another says what?

TS think you should just email LTA to clarify.

I am not really sure if its against LTA rules to move the bike around after lay up? (move as in pushing your bike or towing it) But I guess you could ride on the track without a vehicle insurance, as I read from my insurance papers that the vehicle insurance we usually buy does not cover racing or track use at all. okay i know im adding up more info to join in the contradictions haha.

thanks redbeacon..

2006 - NSR SP

2009 - Spec III

2011 - R6 '08

http://image.automotive.com/f/newsandupdates/racing_news/122_1103_progress_for_ducati_marlboro_team_as_qatar_test_kicks_off/32274961+soriginal/122_1103_03_o+valentino_rossi_ducati_marlboro_q

Everyone of you here are contradicting each other. So now who's speaking the real thing?

one say can track, the other says no, another says export it, and another says what?

TS think you should just email LTA to clarify.

I am not really sure if its against LTA rules to move the bike around after lay up? (move as in pushing your bike or towing it) But I guess you could ride on the track without a vehicle insurance, as I read from my insurance papers that the vehicle insurance we usually buy does not cover racing or track use at all. okay i know im adding up more info to join in the contradictions haha.

Do bear in mind that buying a bike not only for road-riding, but also for track -- falls under a gray area when you involve legality and our transportation bureau (LTA) in our country. In other words, when you buy a bike, their ideology is that they are expecting you to ride the bike on the roads only and that to do so it has to be properly licensed. They do not have any idea on whether this bike will be ridden on the track or not.

[1] Insurance companies (bike insurance), and the LTA (road tax, inspection, layup, etc) are not tightly linked. They're different entities.

[2] Even though they are not interlinked, there are country regulations in place for instance that requires you to have the motorcycle inspected and then to insure yourself, before you are allowed to buy road tax.

[3] Whenever a person buys a new bike, it has to be registered (ownership transfer, COE). Once you do that, the vehicle is instantly subject to road-tax from that point onwards. Road-tax allows you to keep/park/ride your vehicle in sunny SG, and LTA will sorta begin to wait for you to buy road-tax for it.

[4] But, as I've stated in #2 above, inspection and insurance first. Then can buy road-tax.

[5] If you don't want to pay road tax, lay-up the vehicle.

[6] As stated on the lay-up form when you apply for lay-up, it is definitely a breach of rules if the vehicle is moved from its parked address. The address is the one you written on the lay-up form. If you're the goodie-two-shoes type, you have no other option but to keep the vehicle parked at that place, or to take it out of layup -- and when you do, it'll be automatically subjected to road-taxation as in item #3 above

If you really want a machine exclusively for track, you can:

[1] Buy a bike from a bike-shop, but tell them not to bid for COE for this vehicle.

Customer must also ensure that said vehicle must never be ridden in SG's roads.

(I'm going to truthfully say that this step has not been tried before and I don't know whether if it is an offence if the bikeshop does not let LTA know that it has successfully sold the bike to the customer. Please liaise with the bikeshop on the recommended practices and whether you can do this or not.)

[2] Deregister a previously-registered bike. This will strip it off its COE, road-tax, insurance.

This is just like registering to scrap a vehicle, but you will have to seek assistance from a racing authority like SMSA if you'd like to keep it for racing.

Of course, you'd have to have a van or a lorry to haul the bike to track and back.

I've based all of these from experience, including some pieces of information gathered from phone calls with LTA customer service officers.

Feel free to correct me if any aspects of the processes above are wrong

Edited by redbeacon

[2] Deregister a previously-registered bike. This will strip it off its COE, road-tax, insurance.

This is just like registering to scrap a vehicle, but you will have to seek assistance from a racing authority like SMSA if you'd like to keep it for racing.

De-registering is not the same as not registering.

Once a bike is de-registered, you have a month to scrap or export it out of Singapore. Once a bike is de-registered, it can never be re-registered again.

Driving/using/allowing usage of a de-registered vehicle

It is an offence to drive, use or keep a de-registered vehicle. A de-registered vehicle must be towed or transported if it needs to be transferred from one location to another. Infringing offenders will be prosecuted in Court, and face a maximum Court fine of $1,000 or 3 months' imprisonment.

A de-registered vehicle is also likely to be uninsured. It is a serious offence for anyone to use or permit the use of a vehicle without a valid motor insurance cover. The penalty is a fine of up to $1,000 or imprisonment of up to 3 months or both, and a mandatory disqualification from holding a driving licence for at least 12 months, upon conviction in court.

Failing to submit disposal documents of a de-registered vehicle

Offenders who fail to submit disposal documents as proof that the vehicle has been scrapped or exported within a month of the cancellation of its registration may be prosecuted in Court, and face a maximum Court fine of $2,000 or 3 months' imprisonment. Similarly, first time offenders who are found keeping a de-registered vehicle may be prosecuted in Court, and face a maximum Court fine of $2,000 or 3 months' imprisonment.

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/de_register_a_vehicle/de-register.html

Once a bike is de-registered, you have a month to scrap or export it out of Singapore. Once a bike is de-registered, it can never be re-registered again.

But I don't quite get it though...i thought vehicles have only one way out? And that's when it's automatically deregistered when the COE expires or when the vehicle owner intervenes to cut off its COE lifeline?

Or maybe there's a typo somewhere :confused:

Edited by redbeacon

is it okay to tow a layup bike to track and use it?

Once you lay-up your bike you are not allowed to tow your bike to use on track. If you are caught legal actions will be taken against you by LTA. This is straight forward.

If you wish to use your bike solely on track, then you will have to register the bike with LTA and SMSA http://www.smsa.org.sg/

From what I know only bikeshops register their bikes as the bikes have to be brand new and be imported into Singapore. Within 21 days the bike have to undergo inspection with both LTA and SMSA and be registered solely for track and competition use. As such, these bikes are often towed in vans or on lorries.

I hope this clear your doubt. If you wish to use your own bike for track then no need to lay up.

Once you lay-up your bike you are not allowed to tow your bike to use on track. If you are caught legal actions will be taken against you by LTA. This is straight forward.

If you wish to use your bike solely on track, then you will have to register the bike with LTA and SMSA http://www.smsa.org.sg/

From what I know only bikeshops register their bikes as the bikes have to be brand new and be imported into Singapore. Within 21 days the bike have to undergo inspection with both LTA and SMSA and be registered solely for track and competition use. As such, these bikes are often towed in vans or on lorries.

I hope this clear your doubt. If you wish to use your own bike for track then no need to lay up.

even if im not racing my bike,i still have to reg with SMSA? im thinkin of doing this after i finish paying for my bike.i want to dereg n bring it over to my parent's house in JB.that way i can solely use it for track.can i juz declare the bike stolen in JB to my insurance co n to the police? i dont think they will go to great lengths to find a bike rite?

Oct 2002 - PPL

19 Sept 2005 - 2B

18 Sept 2007 - 2A

20 July 2010 - 2

Oct 2005 - present: Aprilia RS 125

Oct 16 2010 - Feb 2011: Honda CBR 600 RR

Apr 08 2011: Ducati Monster 620

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs099.snc3/16635_162719989997_751319997_2733440_6167145_n.jpg

I hope you do not anyhow claim insurance on your 'lost' bike. are you revealing your intention for insurance fraud in the online forums? If u seriously go thru with this, you are just creating more excuses for the insurance companies to raise premiums for everyone else.

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:
even if im not racing my bike,i still have to reg with SMSA? im thinkin of doing this after i finish paying for my bike.i want to dereg n bring it over to my parent's house in JB.that way i can solely use it for track.can i juz declare the bike stolen in JB to my insurance co n to the police? i dont think they will go to great lengths to find a bike rite?

First of all if you wish to dereg in S'pore and bring to Malaysia you have to do all the necessary paperwork both in S'pore and afterwhich in Malaysia once you have exported your bike there. BTW insurance co. WILL go through great lengths to find your bike and they will also employ private investigators (P.I) to "tail" you if they have grounds to believe that you are making a false claim.

So if you wish to do any illegal activities do it at your own risk.

I hope you do not anyhow claim insurance on your 'lost' bike. are you revealing your intention for insurance fraud in the online forums? If u seriously go thru with this, you are just creating more excuses for the insurance companies to raise premiums for everyone else.

First of all if you wish to dereg in S'pore and bring to Malaysia you have to do all the necessary paperwork both in S'pore and afterwhich in Malaysia once you have exported your bike there. BTW insurance co. WILL go through great lengths to find your bike and they will also employ private investigators (P.I) to "tail" you if they have grounds to believe that you are making a false claim.

So if you wish to do any illegal activities do it at your own risk.

ok i will do the legal way then.i dont want to get into any trouble :)

Oct 2002 - PPL

19 Sept 2005 - 2B

18 Sept 2007 - 2A

20 July 2010 - 2

Oct 2005 - present: Aprilia RS 125

Oct 16 2010 - Feb 2011: Honda CBR 600 RR

Apr 08 2011: Ducati Monster 620

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs099.snc3/16635_162719989997_751319997_2733440_6167145_n.jpg