Petition To Sentosa for Allowing Motorbikes To Enter

Good topic to bring up regarding ths issue.Here's my view.

NOT to Allow and why?

I personally believe that Sentosa is the only icon in Singapore that attracts tourists to have a view and feel how Singapore is like,be it for its standard and cleanliness.

Why cars and not motorbikes?

Taxi,buses and cars are the transport in favoured with many people among those who intend to go there. It makes the road less "rowdy" inside the vicinity,if you get what I mean. So,there are standards within the limitation.

Likewise,motorcyclist have the tendancy to park bikes on curbs or footpaths and this impose a negative outlook on Singapore since Sentosa is a major icon. Besides that,motorcyclist will also tend to squeeze and weave in and out of traffic as like what i say "rowdy". There is no need to have traffic police or cisco buggers to look after "these kind of people".We are riders,to be frank,8 out 10 riders are doing this.

Lastly, too many motorcyclist in Sentosa will create too much unnecesary nuisance in the peaceful and quite environment. Nuisance as in modified pipes and revving up throttles (certain group of weird buggers dunno what are they trying to show off) That is why the government does not allow motorcyclist to enter Sentosa.

What can motorcyclist do?

Motorcyclist can park their motorcycles in the vicinity of Harbourfront and Seah Im Rd. Take the public transport or have a walk inside.There are free monorail and buse rides for us to take and they are accessible. More monorail tracks have been constructed lately to allow accessibility for certain hard to reach areas.

The Road-Sweeper

• Replies 468

What can motorcyclist do?

Motorcyclist can park their motorcycles in the vicinity of Harbourfront and Seah Im Rd. Take the public transport or have a walk inside.There are free monorail and buse rides for us to take and they are accessible. More monorail tracks have been constructed lately to allow accessibility for certain hard to reach areas.

hmm. agree with ur points.

however parking at seah Im may cost $0.65.. to enjoy free parking(as well as sheltered) u may choose to park at Vivo shoping centre.

btw, the monorail and bus rides are NOT FREE.. you have to pay 3 dollar. pick up point for bus at harbour front bus inter-change. or 3rd floor of Vivo shopping centre for the SENTOSA EXPRESS ( prev known as Monorail. )

Though i'm quite unhappy that we cannot ride our bikes in, but then they of cuz will have their reasoning for that. So we can do what most of us do best. Obey the rules.

ytd while i was at siloso beach i saw 1 uncle riding white spark135 inside:giddy: :giddy:

maybe he live there??:cheeky:

maybe working there?:cheeky:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii208/danielsin2/800_3108.jpg

hmm. agree with ur points.

however parking at seah Im may cost $0.65.. to enjoy free parking(as well as sheltered) u may choose to park at Vivo shoping centre.

btw, the monorail and bus rides are NOT FREE.. you have to pay 3 dollar. pick up point for bus at harbour front bus inter-change. or 3rd floor of Vivo shopping centre for the SENTOSA EXPRESS ( prev known as Monorail. )

Thanx for the correction bro.

The Road-Sweeper

Bros, babes, BRABES(kekeke)!

For ur info, i WORK @ SENTOSA.. N apparently, im under the Traffic n Security Managements ere.. Due to lotz of reasons particularly for security n safety, bikes, sad to say will nt b allow in except for despatch riders n only 4 the Cove's residents. So if ani of u saw a bike in Sentosa, dun b shock lar, ey r either werkin or stays ere.. EVEN i cant ride my bike in :cry: So to make a petition out of diz, is kinda a waste of time..

http://gickr.com/results4/anim_867f13af-b3a4-53f4-f975-d7c175f7501c.gif
Originally Posted by jasonhooha

I have been to Sentosa Cove area for quite afew times, and i always see HD or some Superbikes around that area..

Dat wan residents' bikes bro... no offence, only ey cn brin in eir bikes to Sentosa. anyway, itz nt as if ey cn jalan2 wit eir bikes arnd sentosa. eir bikes r only allowed as a mode of transport. frm cove to sentosa main n vice versa.

so its like a one way kind of thingy.. pointless hv a bike in sentosa, might as well gt $, buy car.

Bros, babes, BRABES(kekeke)!

For ur info, i WORK @ SENTOSA.. N apparently, im under the Traffic n Security Managements ere.. Due to lotz of reasons particularly for security n safety, bikes, sad to say will nt b allow in except for despatch riders n only 4 the Cove's residents. So if ani of u saw a bike in Sentosa, dun b shock lar, ey r either werkin or stays ere.. EVEN i cant ride my bike in :cry: So to make a petition out of diz, is kinda a waste of time..

hemmm... traffic n management security? juz wondering who... :angel:

life is short.. dont get angry over a small matter :angel:

If it is a matter of safety, then the residents of Sentosa Cove should also not bring their bikes in.

If it is a matter of security, cars and bikes have similar security risks.

It is just discrimination masked with biased rules. Such double standards is what we are famous for in Singapore. No onder more and more Singaporeans feel like 2nd class citizen.

If it is a matter of safety, then the residents of Sentosa Cove should also not bring their bikes in.

If it is a matter of security, cars and bikes have similar security risks.

It is just discrimination masked with biased rules. Such double standards is what we are famous for in Singapore. No onder more and more Singaporeans feel like 2nd class citizen.

4 certain reason, i dun wanna say aniting, BUT... let me 'enlighten' u on dis agn..:p

1st.. it ws known dat bikes posed bigger probz coz previously wen the rules were softer, bikers tend to make dis sentosa like race tracks n behaves like hooligans.. wen ey cum in in grps, ey treat the island like eir own.. so basically, the faults implies on the bikers emselves.. as 4 cars, since ey r bigger n of cos cant cum in grps like bikes, we usually hv easier approach n r able to manage em easily.

2ndly, like i said earlier, ose residents who owned bikes in cove r oso nt allowed to breeze thru sentosa.. eir bikes r only mode of transport to tke em to places to mainland Singapore, bt 4 em let say eg, frm cove to siloso beache etc.. (aniwhere within sentosa island) is a BIG NO NO(no stopovers either).. but usually ese residents dun imposed probz n ey seldom use eir bikes to tk em 2 places, in fact ose hv bikes OSO hv cars, so preferbly, ey use eir cars.. Bikes r usuali kept in eir garage to collect dust.. :lol:

so i hope wat ive xplained in here clear ur doubts on y bikes r nt allow into the island. in fact, the rules oso applies to employees of sentosa like myself.. usually i jz park my bike at seah im carpark or vivocity's cp.. dis applies to both wen im werkin morn n NITE shift..:thumb: :thumb:

i have seen a bike at sentosa before lor its harley n the owner of the harley is the GM for the RASA SENTOSA resort thts wat the booth staff at the sentosa gentry says lor.....so are we seeing double standard here guys by the law?

hemmm... traffic n management security? juz wondering who... :angel:

hahaha..i oredy knw who u r!!!!:cheeky: n dont act u dont knw who i am...kekekeke

i have seen a bike at sentosa before lor its harley n the owner of the harley is the GM for the RASA SENTOSA resort thts wat the booth staff at the sentosa gentry says lor.....so are we seeing double standard here guys by the law?

......................:(

4 certain reason, i dun wanna say aniting, BUT... let me 'enlighten' u on dis agn..:p

1st.. it ws known dat bikes posed bigger probz coz previously wen the rules were softer, bikers tend to make dis sentosa like race tracks n behaves like hooligans.. wen ey cum in in grps, ey treat the island like eir own.. so basically, the faults implies on the bikers emselves.. as 4 cars, since ey r bigger n of cos cant cum in grps like bikes, we usually hv easier approach n r able to manage em easily.

2ndly, like i said earlier, ose residents who owned bikes in cove r oso nt allowed to breeze thru sentosa.. eir bikes r only mode of transport to tke em to places to mainland Singapore, bt 4 em let say eg, frm cove to siloso beache etc.. (aniwhere within sentosa island) is a BIG NO NO(no stopovers either).. but usually ese residents dun imposed probz n ey seldom use eir bikes to tk em 2 places, in fact ose hv bikes OSO hv cars, so preferbly, ey use eir cars.. Bikes r usuali kept in eir garage to collect dust.. :lol:

so i hope wat ive xplained in here clear ur doubts on y bikes r nt allow into the island. in fact, the rules oso applies to employees of sentosa like myself.. usually i jz park my bike at seah im carpark or vivocity's cp.. dis applies to both wen im werkin morn n NITE shift..:thumb: :thumb:

Here is the problem with your arguement. With regards to your first point, the manaegment has decided to impose collective punishment to all riders because of the behaviour of a few. I do not believe that there are any other roads in Singapore that has this policy. It is not as if groups of riders do not make themselves a nuisance elsewhere in the country, and yet, the Traffic Police would only punish those guilty of their behaviour, and not collectively punish all riders.

There is one bridge in and out of the island, if the management wanted to have a road block and catch errant riders, they can do it much easier than the Traffic Police can in the rest of the country.

I have no doubts as to why the management chose to do what they have done, but I also have no doubts that this policy is biased, discriminatory and double standards. The only other circumstance where such collective punishment has been implemented is with the banning of chewing gum.

Petition To Sentosa for Allowing Motorbikes To Enter

Likewise,motorcyclist have the tendancy to park bikes on curbs or footpaths and this impose a negative outlook on Singapore since Sentosa is a major icon. Besides that,motorcyclist will also tend to squeeze and weave in and out of traffic as like what i say "rowdy". There is no need to have traffic police or cisco buggers to look after "these kind of people".We are riders,to be frank,8 out 10 riders are doing this.

I think BlackAngel got it right here. The issue is not the few motorcyclists that will speed or otherwise endanger others, or an issue of cars vs bikes. Sentosa is a place where there are no major divisions between vehicular and pedestrian space. The majority of people on Sentosa get around by walking a lot, along with the buses, trams and Sentosa Express. To allow motorcycles would mean exposing all the narrow roads and pavements to motorcyclists who will obviously use them to park or travel.

An example is the beachfront area where cars are not allowed. To stop cars they simply put up a gate across the road. But motorcycles will obviously still squeeze through. Imagine Palawan Beach with bikes parked right up and down the road or on the beach.

Unless there is proper enforcement against parking/riding on pavements and other prohibited roads, motorcycles will damage the image of Sentosa. Even if they are allowed, I wouldn't ride there.

i rode a bike. but i have no problems with the rule that bikes aren't allowed in hehe.. its cool to me~

besides if u really look at the terrain at sentosa.. the road is full of curves with blindspots and uphill downhill roads. pretty dangerous for two wheelers.

As much as I like to think that the majority of us are considerate and responsible riders, there will always that small minority who will ruin the whole perception. I think that even if they allow bikes on Sentosa, some stupid, inconsiderate bunch of riders will ensure that it won't stay that way for long.

Instead, I think that maybe Sentosa should look at the possibility of opening up the roads for certain number of days only. Maybe allow motorbike access on weekends only? That would be more manageable i think.

Current Rides:

FEB 07 -> NOV 08 [CBR 150]

AUG 08 -> AUG 12 [XJR400]

AUG 12 -> ??? [DUCATI MONSTER 696]

i personally sen ferraris, lambos, mercs and bmws, all speeding in sentosa.

along de bridge all open throttle already, nothing is done one.

when they go past de sentosa staff, the staff still smile and wave at them one. when i go in, they ask this and tat, give u a different face and look and they check my bike again and again even though i registered long ago. cars on de other hand, all wave and go in one. they got a decal but bikes, not given. is tat double standards?

As much as I like to think that the majority of us are considerate and responsible riders, there will always that small minority who will ruin the whole perception. I think that even if they allow bikes on Sentosa, some stupid, inconsiderate bunch of riders will ensure that it won't stay that way for long.

Instead, I think that maybe Sentosa should look at the possibility of opening up the roads for certain number of days only. Maybe allow motorbike access on weekends only? That would be more manageable i think.

there was tis ducati rider went in w/o even stop his bike at the gantry checkpoint. make things worst found his bike park at Cafe del Mar.

juz imagine if bike allow 2 enter sentosa, childrens wil tend 2 run here n there on the beach. dont u tink it dangerous esp the inconsiderate rider? :slapforehead:

i personally sen ferraris, lambos, mercs and bmws, all speeding in sentosa.

along de bridge all open throttle already, nothing is done one.

when they go past de sentosa staff, the staff still smile and wave at them one. when i go in, they ask this and tat, give u a different face and look and they check my bike again and again even though i registered long ago. cars on de other hand, all wave and go in one. they got a decal but bikes, not given. is tat double standards?

its not double standard bcoz u r riding bike but they juz have 2 make sure its an authorised bike tat allow 2 enter.

Guest Valarie

this thread had been ard for some time and i think we should not post anymore cos whatever the petition, its wasting time cos the power in charge dont bother to listen