Hi.

Really not worth it to sign on? What job are u doing now? Which station were u from?

I tot of signing on.. still undecided. Now that u have mention it, i think its a rather laoya job. Wad qualifications do u hold anyway?

im not saying its not worth it...it is worth it if ur goin to do it till u retire but if u have second thought halfway den ur chances at other jobs other den fire fighting is very slim due to the lack of experience. Im frm a hazmat station in the east currently im working as a technician for a company in the oil and gas and i get paid more den a wo2. i was a sec com den. and i have a higher nitec cert...and frm what my friends who are regulars do to upgrade themselves to diploma is not easy, first u have to study something related to the line which most take the building management or something which deals in security and fire safety, ur off days and work days are spent going for night class, on top of ur class work u have ur paper work to do.

one of the reason why i didnt sign on cos the pay is high but it does not justify the amount of work u have to do

• Replies 90

im not saying its not worth it...it is worth it if ur goin to do it till u retire but if u have second thought halfway den ur chances at other jobs other den fire fighting is very slim due to the lack of experience. Im frm a hazmat station in the east currently im working as a technician for a company in the oil and gas and i get paid more den a wo2. i was a sec com den. and i have a higher nitec cert...and frm what my friends who are regulars do to upgrade themselves to diploma is not easy, first u have to study something related to the line which most take the building management or something which deals in security and fire safety, ur off days and work days are spent going for night class, on top of ur class work u have ur paper work to do.

one of the reason why i didnt sign on cos the pay is high but it does not justify the amount of work u have to do

True2. firefighters in ns paid $800+ but the work we do... :bow: mcm bangla work.

This job is about passion. Thats what makes it different from the other normal everyday jobs. If you don't have it, don't enter the fray.

But sadly many NSF i know wana be firefighter cant get in.. those who dont want (me) got firefighter...

cause of passion lah, thats what everyone here who signed on will say...WAHAHHA...

Dun bluff la!!!! It's so obvious for money. Bullshit tok bout passion

u not v smart ah bro...must i tell u to read btw the lines? :sian:

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2009/11/09/bikepics-1826024-full.jpg

Just last week went for the 2nd interview and the physical test. Got the feeling wont get, and true enough received letter thanking me for applying. LOL. Really disappointed as I thought maybe high chance can get in. Now need wait 6 months then try applying again. Sad. My father recommend me try the Airport Fire Service. Is it any good?

Pride, Discipline, Honor

Honda SP : 19th June 2008 -

If this thread is not dead, was wondering if thr r any fire fighter position that takes in people with history of ADHD? My friend tried applying and was rejected because of that. Anyone can give some advice would be much appreciated!

What is ur fren's PES status?

Is this thread dead?:dot:. Personally I feel that career in SCDF as a Fire Rescue Specialist is challenging yet worth it if you up to mentally n physically challenge.

So u are an ERS?

Edited by buttbutt8

Give them a break la. They are still young.