[DIY] Polishing your Phantom

moustache

• Replies 208

for chain cleaning, where to place the jack to jack up the bike? one mechanic used the jack on the exhause pipe to jack up slightly to rotate the wheel.

i usually put a small block of wood (abt 2 inches thick) under the sidestand, then jack up at the exhaust wif a carjack. u jux have to trial-n-error for the best balancing point, cux different bikes different weight balance. plus for safety, strap sumting to hold ur front brake so that bike wont roll forward/backward and drop off the stand. :)

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

Hey, i am new Phantom Rider here. Staying in the East. how much time do you guys spend washing and usually what time. Not sure if i can join.

2 hours each time.

hi bro im new, can use car wax to wax our bike tank?

Yes. Use mama lemon for the grease at your rims.

workers of peace

Hi bros,

If you are restoring old parts and want to make it shine again by diy, come and visit my CMO.

Satisfaction is guarenteed. Free trial on your bike for genuine buyers. More testimonials on my CMO thread.

http://i1130.photobucket.com/albums/m536/mmhugo/Polish/Picture156-1.jpg

http://i1130.photobucket.com/albums/m536/mmhugo/Polish/Picture185-1.jpg

2 hours each time.

Yes. Use mama lemon for the grease at your rims.

sure can use mama lemon? cause my rims is really terrible, plus i wonder how to reach that area.

hi folks, i got my phantom recently and i realised my tank doesnt have the shiny finish like other phantoms do. the surface finish is kinda matt instead and despite using turtle wax it doesnt really get any shinier. am i missing out on a step or something?

operate a vehicle in a way that you benefit other road users pls - and meanwhile, stop whining! be responsible and be safe.

Hey, i am new Phantom Rider here. Staying in the East. how much time do you guys spend washing and usually what time. Not sure if i can join.

Wash n clean chain 15 minutes with waxing 30mins

Take a photo? Is your bike matte in texture to begin with?

i cant be too sure leh. when i toke over it a month ago it was quite dirty but it definitely wasn't glossy shiny. other than that just the stickers pasted over.

i'll upload the photos tomorrow once i get access to my bike!

operate a vehicle in a way that you benefit other road users pls - and meanwhile, stop whining! be responsible and be safe.

Seems like ur lacquer probably nt smooth alr. Wat uncan try do is get rubbing compound and rub down d whole tank. Followed by polishing compound. Shud give it a better gloss finish.

One expensive product dat works is meguairs ultimate compound. Its like all-in-one (rubbing+polishing compund). Works great to refresh those dull paintworks.

Seems like ur lacquer probably nt smooth alr. Wat uncan try do is get rubbing compound and rub down d whole tank. Followed by polishing compound. Shud give it a better gloss finish.

One expensive product dat works is meguairs ultimate compound. Its like all-in-one (rubbing+polishing compund). Works great to refresh those dull paintworks.

i always read of meguairs product in sbf but dun really see it around much in stores.. where do i get it? also will rubbing compound remove the paint? its nots like autosol right?

I have seen them in Giant as well as home-fix stores. Its a slight abrasive but very fine n specially for paintwork. Does d same job as autosol. It will actually remove small amounts of ur lacquer so use wif caution. Just in case ur lacquer is very thin.

looks like i'll have to make a run to giant one of these days to take a look! my concern is i dont even see any lacquer gloss in the first place even before i applied the turtle wax. tempted to just leave the bike at some shopping center car park where they hv car polish services like those at imm!

Shud have la. d lacquer quite thick. Usually those dull paintwork is just because previous owner nv polish frequently. Just nd to buff out wif compound. To go to those car detailers i even more worried. Cux they might straightaway use those electric polishers which cud be too quick and easily eat into ur lacquer (esp ur bike old alr). At least u do by hand, u can slowly do and frequently wipe off n check.

i got it from ntuc at jp and its really expensive! it doesnt seem to be working to me or i maybe i didnt try hard enough! after all that rubbing what i get is still matt surface.. how do one even tell if the lacquer was there in the first place?

gd question sia. i oso duno hw to tell. hmmm if using the compound cannot get it to shine, i nt sure eh. cux from my experience, even if no lacquer, u buff wif d compound oso can get some shine one. definitely better than matte.

woah. i think ill spend sometime over the weekend to buff liao. if no lacquer means i have to find something to seal in the shine alrd? can turtle wax do the trick?

nah. dun tink wax on base paint will be much help. u really need a good clearcoat to protect the tank. worse come to worse, can DIY lor. just spray on clear lacquer.

do you have any clear coat lacquer to recommend and where i can get it?

i personally had good experience wif Nippon Pylox one. cheap and can get at almost all hardware store. some others oso use RJ. doesnt beat having a proper clearcoat.