Cagiva Planet

Originally posted by Seraphim@Jul 13 2005, 11:14 AM

I recommend Dunlop GPR70s or Bridgestone BT090s

sounds like bridgestone, michelin, dunlop, metzeler are all good!! frankly im not sure how good are the Pirelli dragons im using since i havent ridden any other tyre hard enough. Wish I had more money to try out diff tires on the track... sigh. Has anyone here really tried out a few brands and then can recommend one?

• Replies 1.2k

Originally posted by Mars@Jul 12 2005, 11:09 PM

N abt the suspension is very stiff relative to wat? SPs? the duke is even harder IMO. But i always find the planet have very good instrumentations on a 2b bike.

Hope u all enjoy the planet as much as i did ^^

No its not relative to another bike, I mean its too stiff for the Planets weight and how much the wieght can load the front forks at standstill (term is called sag). Due to the Planet's reltively low weight the suspension cant react as well to the road surface due to its high damping.

Its just my feeling, I may be wrong. You are welcome to correct me in that case :)

That's interesting ven, because I feel that the Planet's forks and shock are terribly underdamped.

The bike dives under gentle braking and the Sachs shock can be compressed by just pressing down on the rear of the bike. Comfort wise is pretty good though... maybe your forks and shock have been re-sprung?

I've done both Bridgestones and Dunlops as these seem to be the only H-rated tyres in S'pore for Italian 2-strokes.

Dunlops are ultra sticky, go for a ride on a pair for 10min, park the bike and touch the tyres... they even feel sticky to the touch.

Bridgestones have better wet grip though... I had one or two moments on the Dunlops in the rain that I wouldn't care to repeat. Plus, the BT090s are cheaper and last longer (mine lasted about 15,000km and had about 1k to 2k more of thread on them)

I have to agree with sera on the tyres issue... i think dunlop more suitable for track... for everyday use bridgestones battlax(bt) are more economical and provide better grip on wet grounds...

Does anybody have any idea wat the price range for brake pads?? mine wore out and i went to some lame shop at serangoon to change... the bugger charged me $32 for it... he say cannot use other generic brands or something... kanna chop carrot head... sianz... but that shop yuasa batt very cheap... only 40 bucks...

Guys. any idea what kinda MODS can be done to our planets to boost performance??

EG: - Change sprockets, MOD exhaust, blah blah blah....

any input will be great... please state if it is legal or not...

Also some ppl say can MOD header or something... can someone please explain this... Thanks

Cheers...

1) Change sprockets up to 43 or down to 39. AFAM has these rear sprocket sizes. Stock is 41. Cost $75 - $85. Available from Chong Aik

2) Arrow stainless steel full exhaust system. Available from BikeTech21. Cost $680 - $750

3) Replace DellOrto 28mm carburettor to Mikuni TMX35mm carburettor. Cost about $300. Should be available at Weda or FJT

4) Replace stock reed cage with Mototassarini Vforce reed block. Cost about $300, should be available from VectorOne. Alternatively, install boyesen reeds on existing reed cage, about $50 or so.

Wanted to do all of the above, but have a new SV400S to play with now =)

Originally posted by Seraphim@Jul 26 2005, 07:42 PM

1) Change sprockets up to 43 or down to 39. AFAM has these rear sprocket sizes. Stock is 41. Cost $75 - $85. Available from Chong Aik

2) Arrow stainless steel full exhaust system. Available from BikeTech21. Cost $680 - $750

3) Replace DellOrto 28mm carburettor to Mikuni TMX35mm carburettor. Cost about $300. Should be available at Weda or FJT

4) Replace stock reed cage with Mototassarini Vforce reed block. Cost about $300, should be available from VectorOne. Alternatively, install boyesen reeds on existing reed cage, about $50 or so.

Wanted to do all of the above, but have a new SV400S to play with now =)

Sera bro, i envy your new toy man... wanted to get it after i pass my 2a... hope you're enjoying riding it cos i read from the sv thread that you having a bit of problems...

anyway where's weda and FJT? got address??

i a bit newbie to planet parts... whats the reed cage and where can it be found?? if got other name for it also can share cos my mech a bit jialat with his english... sorry to trouble you arh...

anyway the boyesen reeds can be bought at vectorone arh?

Thanks again and cheers...

The reed cage is the contraption between the carburettor and the engine intake. If you open up the planet, it's a black plastic rectangle in front of the carburettor, held on by 4 bolts.

The reeds are the equivalent of "valves" in the 2 stroke engine. They are meant to allow fuel-air to enter the engine intake, while preventing the fuel-air from being pumped out of the engine when the piston rises.

(If you can imagine it, when the piston falls, the low pressure created draws fuel into the chamber through the intake port. When the piston rises, the fuel-air starts to get compressed. If you didnt have a valve at the intake port, all your fuel air will get pushed out of the chamber and back into the carburettor.)

It looks like this. This is the VForce cage.

Originally posted by Seraphim@Jul 27 2005, 11:56 AM

The reed cage is the contraption between the carburettor and the engine intake. If you open up the planet, it's a black plastic rectangle in front of the carburettor, held on by 4 bolts.

The reeds are the equivalent of "valves" in the 2 stroke engine. They are meant to allow fuel-air to enter the engine intake, while preventing the fuel-air from being pumped out of the engine when the piston rises.

(If you can imagine it, when the piston falls, the low pressure created draws fuel into the chamber through the intake port. When the piston rises, the fuel-air starts to get compressed. If you didnt have a valve at the intake port, all your fuel air will get pushed out of the chamber and back into the carburettor.)

It looks like this. This is the VForce cage.

anybody looking for a box and rack could u pls email me at [email protected]

thanks bro....

i am selling at a very good price ok...

:popcorn:

hi guys... juz bought over tess's planet at a really gd price! actually i din c properly, thought total mileage done was 50000km, actually there's a "0" infront of the "5", so really was 5000km done nia for a 5yr bike heex...

well nevertheless some work & $ nid to be done & spent on it... here goes:

broken signal lamp- bought a pair for $8, fitting wasn't rite so took down to a bike shop to fix. bending back the brake lever, troubleshooting the new lamps( one of them had a shorted out wire! ), mod the main stand so it wun spring back when the bike was lifted up, bent out the gear shifter, all for $20 hahah... =)

now questions for my planet... most prob the header wasn't undestricted yet, how much does it take to do so? does it involved in cutting the header/stomach, remove the stuff in it, then weld back again?

my friends commented after testing out my bike dat maybe the steering coil was damaged, as when they tried to free hand at a cruising speed, they felt the handle bar vibrate & bike started to turn by itself. when on the sp & krr, no such problems.

when they rev the engine on neutral, they again commented dat after the throttle had closed, it fall back really slow to idling rpm.. most prob air filter clogged or dirty.

when they tried to accelerate, they feel the power wasn't there, even though on the 5th gear it reached 100km/hr easily & on the 6th i feel it can go more easily though i slowed down on the 6th... could due to the bike on retstriction & maybe the gearbox oil need changing?

help please! plus one of the screws on the tank was missing... would those coloured ones commonly sold in bike shops be used? the mirror doesn't seemed to be original & damaged, after i tilt the rite angle, sometime later it went back to original position. the left balancers(smt like bar end protecters) had snapped off & fallen out. strange thing was dat it's made of plastic instead of metal... could i glue it back or buy a proper one? :help:

and big thanks to mars, whom intro me to tess' bike, and tess for her willingness to lower her asking price... thanks wor! :smile:

]

Originally posted by jonathan543@Aug 2 2005, 02:39 AM

hi guys... juz bought over tess's planet at a really gd price! actually i din c properly, thought total mileage done was 50000km, actually there's a "0" infront of the "5", so really was 5000km done nia for a 5yr bike heex...

well nevertheless some work & $ nid to be done & spent on it... here goes:

broken signal lamp- bought a pair for $8, fitting wasn't rite so took down to a bike shop to fix. bending back the brake lever, troubleshooting the new lamps( one of them had a shorted out wire! ), mod the main stand so it wun spring back when the bike was lifted up, bent out the gear shifter, all for $20 hahah... =)

now questions for my planet... most prob the header wasn't undestricted yet, how much does it take to do so? does it involved in cutting the header/stomach, remove the stuff in it, then weld back again?

my friends commented after testing out my bike dat maybe the steering coil was damaged, as when they tried to free hand at a cruising speed, they felt the handle bar vibrate & bike started to turn by itself. when on the sp & krr, no such problems.

when they rev the engine on neutral, they again commented dat after the throttle had closed, it fall back really slow to idling rpm.. most prob air filter clogged or dirty.

when they tried to accelerate, they feel the power wasn't there, even though on the 5th gear it reached 100km/hr easily & on the 6th i feel it can go more easily though i slowed down on the 6th... could due to the bike on retstriction & maybe the gearbox oil need changing?

help please! plus one of the screws on the tank was missing... would those coloured ones commonly sold in bike shops be used? the mirror doesn't seemed to be original & damaged, after i tilt the rite angle, sometime later it went back to original position. the left balancers(smt like bar end protecters) had snapped off & fallen out. strange thing was dat it's made of plastic instead of metal... could i glue it back or buy a proper one? :help:

and big thanks to mars, whom intro me to tess' bike, and tess for her willingness to lower her asking price... thanks wor! :smile:

Can you explain a bit of your problem?? cos if acceleration is slow then there can be two problems... one is a loss of compression and the second could be you are running lean... if loss of compression then i can say good luck liao cos it means your piston going to jam really really soon... and brand new pistons are not in town... second problem jus tune your carb richer... but drink more petrol...

Idling does not matter... as long as it ldles its okay liao... wat for idle at such a high RPM?? create extra noise?? haha

the balancer thingy very cheap at LAB... jus go there change dun need glue back... unless you're flithy rich you dun have to buy original parts... generic ones will do... only exception is engine parts... that one no choice... the mirrors can use other brands... anyway your signal light so cheap confirm not original already... the screws can use the coloured ones...

if you found a shop to MOD the header then let me know too... i wanna do mine...

cheers and happy riding...

i'm going back to the shop this friday as the left front signal light shorted out(rear left signal stayed on & not flashing) & the rear tail light was not lit up but came on after i tapped it a few times. plus i noticed my chain was pretty slag & making alot of noises when moving... most of my friends anti italian bikes de hahah....

the shop was race werks motor sports... located opp queensway shopping center & he quoted me $85 to derestrict the header.

btw wads the difference between jetting & rejet? or both meant the same thing? does the terms mean professional tuning of the carb & the needle valve?

]

Hmm power wasnt there?.....hmm i tot the pick up is great n condition ok lah hor? Sound like soo many problem like that........doesnt sound like a good deal...

So when is my free dinner? Tess own me 1 u own me 1.....woow i have 2 free dinner on the way lol

Firstly, italian 125ccs can never compare to 150cc thai made jap bikes. That's why I asked if your friends are familiar with Aprilias or Cagivas.

125s surrender a 20% capacity advantage to the 150s, yet if you check the claimed power outputs, both classes of bikes produce 33bhp or thereabouts.

Question: How is this done? Answer: The 125s are tuned for power in the upper revs of the bike. 150s have a larger cubic capacity, so they can afford to be lazy in the upper end and beef up the mid-range. Hence, the 125s will always feel much slower in the normal street riding revs compared to 150s.

Slow return to idling after twisting the throttle means that your engine is running very rich in the lower revs, which causes excessive petrol consumption and loss of power.

If your bike can rev fully to 12k RPM, then it is not restricted. To test, you can see if the Planet will hit 60-70kmh in 2nd gear (or 80+ kmh in 3rd). If it can, it's not restricted. Restricted bikes cannot travel faster than 110kmh. (This is achieveable in 4th gear btw)

I can tell you honestly that a change of engine/transmission oil is the wrong answer for 99% of the problems you will ever encounter. Many people in this forum recommend a change in oil for every kind of problem... it's like eating panadol for stomachache, malaria, cancer etc. All you need to do is to check the oil level regularly and replace every 5000 km. (or 10k if you use high quality synthetics).

Keep your chain clean and tightened. It's the first thing I look for when evaluating someone else's bike. A clean chain means that the person is willing to spend an hour a fortnight taking care of the bike. If you can't even keep your chain clean and properly tensioned (which is one of the most basic maintenance tasks for users), we don't need to talk about the rest of the bike.

good info sera... kudos to you... :thumb:

i anyway i jus installed the boyesen reeds... i was charged 60 bucks for it cos the ones they had were meant for aprilias but my mech managed to modify to fit mine... going to collect today then will post any improvement in performance...

i can't wait... :cheer:

Errrrr FJT sells the Mito/Planet specific reeds for $48...... Oh well, let me know how it goes. =)

Haven't installed mine yet... they're still sitting in the plastic wrap

The Boyesen installation guide says that the reeds will richen the mixture, particularly at full throttle. They recommend going down 1 - 3 main jet sizes to compensate.

think mine's restricted ba... koz i can oni reach ard 120-130 on gear6 max. plus i like the fact it's exhaust is quiet... and i dun feel the sudden rush coming even when i ramp the rmp high wor... juz felt dat the speed juz came constantly & built up slowly... think the meter is not accurate too ba... koz when i keep side wit my friend's rvf constant 80-90km/h, mine read 100-110km/h wor... '

yoz mars... so when free to meet up? treat u makan wor... hahaa... might be going down to ah boi there to look for a rmp meter & mirrors next week....

any planteers here in jurong? sae a blue planet @ntu & @kopitiam near cityharvest church some time ago wor... the rider in this forum? and a black planet near jp too...

and i've tighten the chain liao but still alot of chain noise... the chain need lubing? or smt loose or worn out?

changed the gearbox oil today... the old oil was pretty fresh too heheh...

my bike wun start today after the downpour today! had tried everything but the bike still wun start though the startup motor still runs strong... juz sounds of engine cranking & a whirling sound. tried using choke, the engine started wit a very soft & light putt putt sound & died very fast. in the end my friend tried to start my bike till the battery was totally flat liao and oso tried push starting... still no go. then lan lan no choice he tell me call up a tow truck & he had to rush to somewhere else... so bo bian i push my bike outside of the gate & wait for tow truck to come. after 15mins of waiting, i tried engaging the choke lever fully & hit the starter button, the engine came to life wit very soft & light putt putt sound & died again. then on my own, i tried engaging 2nd gear with choke lever fully on, after twisting the throttle a few times, tried push start again. when the putt putt sounds came, i quickly switch off the choke, clutch in & open throttle abit... vroommm! hahaa... cool! and i had save a bit on the tow truck charges.... heheh... and off i chiong to the bike shop again... and of course revving up the rpm to charge up the almost dead batt heex!

hope this helps should anyone had difficulty in starting his bike even though he swore the bike was perfectly fine be4 hitting the engine cut switch(dats me!)

]

The Dellorto carb has quite lousy floats. My Planet occasionally has this problem too.

I have an unusual solution. Whenever your Planet's starter motor turns over, but does not fire, you can try this. (This only works when the starter motor works but the Planet doesnt seem to start)

Remove the plastic base plate underneath the fuel tank (size 4 allen key). You will see two plastic tubes coming out of the carburettor. Now blow through the tube. Yup, that's right, put it in your mouth and blow through it. The bike should start on the next try.

What's happening, in my uneducated opinion, is vapour lock on the carburetor.

Do not try to reach 130kmh on 6th gear. 6th gear is an overdrive cruising gear... your Planet lacks the torque to accelerate past 120kmh on 6th, especially when you are heavy and sit upright instead of crouched over.

Like I said, try to hit 80-90kmh on 3rd. If you insist on trying top speed (for whatever suicidal, demerit points gaining reason), then please carry on. My advice to you ends here.

Originally posted by Seraphim@Jul 15 2005, 04:40 PM

That's interesting ven, because I feel that the Planet's forks and shock are terribly underdamped.

The bike dives under gentle braking and the Sachs shock can be compressed by just pressing down on the rear of the bike. Comfort wise is pretty good though... maybe your forks and shock have been re-sprung?

I've done both Bridgestones and Dunlops as these seem to be the only H-rated tyres in S'pore for Italian 2-strokes.

Dunlops are ultra sticky, go for a ride on a pair for 10min, park the bike and touch the tyres... they even feel sticky to the touch.

Bridgestones have better wet grip though... I had one or two moments on the Dunlops in the rain that I wouldn't care to repeat. Plus, the BT090s are cheaper and last longer (mine lasted about 15,000km and had about 1k to 2k more of thread on them)

Hmmm, havent replied for a long time... actually my rear shocks are fine, its the forks that seem very stiff. 3 months ago had to replace the fork oil due to a leaking fork seal, so it could be that the new oil is more viscous making the forks stiff. Till recently there was hardly any dive under braking (which is good) but also hardly any give on bumps. I feel its getting better recently though, maybe the new oil takes some use to get back to normal.

Oh about the tyres, I recently had a fall in the wet... not too fast arnd 40-50kmph on a curve. The rear skidded out on me and I couldnt catch the oversteer. Sigh, even though so slow the repairs cost quite a bit. I suspect that my Pirelis esp the rear was on the shelf for too long, which really has a big effect on the compounds. So my rear tyre takes very long to warm up and also isnt too sticky in the wet. The front though has been fantastic and Ive never had a high-slide so far!

So guys, dont buy old tyres (>2 yrs on the shelf means its not in prime condition any longer) even if the tyres are originally good. Some dealers might try to sell old tyres for a cheaper price so dont "fall" for it... hehe. Btw, can anyone suggest a good workshop to get my mirrors fixed, get a new seat cover and also try to fit a yamaha speedo (with tacho) to my planet? Need to do this quickly, cant stand my bike in such bad shape!!

any in Ubi or how abt excel motors? thanks guys... and Sera: great job with all the quality info... keep them coming!

ooo... i seldom exceed 100km/h on my meter even on expressways wor... and for a rough guage, when my friend's rvf maintain at 80km/h, my meter already showed 100km/h... and i play with the throttle so the engine rpm was consistantly changing too. heard from a friend on a sp dat when the exhaust valve open, there'll be a sudden surge of acceleration yes? but on mine no such feeling, juz constant building up power on high rpm. did observe two sounds when i turn the key to on too... maybe because the bike is restricted so power was not out completely? juz calculated today nia... the bike's fuel consumption is 20km/liter. good or bad for a stock bike? i oso seldom rev the engine too high before changing gear too wor...

]

Originally posted by venkatsrin@Aug 5 2005, 05:30 PM

Hmmm, havent replied for a long time... actually my rear shocks are fine, its the forks that seem very stiff. 3 months ago had to replace the fork oil due to a leaking fork seal, so it could be that the new oil is more viscous making the forks stiff. Till recently there was hardly any dive under braking (which is good) but also hardly any give on bumps. I feel its getting better recently though, maybe the new oil takes some use to get back to normal.

Oh about the tyres, I recently had a fall in the wet... not too fast arnd 40-50kmph on a curve. The rear skidded out on me and I couldnt catch the oversteer. Sigh, even though so slow the repairs cost quite a bit. I suspect that my Pirelis esp the rear was on the shelf for too long, which really has a big effect on the compounds. So my rear tyre takes very long to warm up and also isnt too sticky in the wet. The front though has been fantastic and Ive never had a high-slide so far!

So guys, dont buy old tyres (>2 yrs on the shelf means its not in prime condition any longer) even if the tyres are originally good. Some dealers might try to sell old tyres for a cheaper price so dont "fall" for it... hehe. Btw, can anyone suggest a good workshop to get my mirrors fixed, get a new seat cover and also try to fit a yamaha speedo (with tacho) to my planet? Need to do this quickly, cant stand my bike in such bad shape!!

any in Ubi or how abt excel motors? thanks guys... and Sera: great job with all the quality info... keep them coming!

hmm heard some aftermarket mirrors worked fine? koz mine are not stock & damaged liao... gotta look for those fake carbon fiber mirrors... saw dat in a shop near ah boi which do seat covers. did mine @$35 and the seat is done pretty well too. heheh i feel a digital speedo with an analog tachmeter looks cool on a planet though heard there's no permanent mount for the speedo...

]