Product : Tyre Review

Originally posted by il4@Jan 16 2004, 10:11 AM

It comes to reflect on how much your mechanic knows about tires.

mixing between different type of radial tires is bad enough, coz each of them have different heat cycle, construction, compound, operating temperature etc.

the worst ones are those who combo between a bias ply tires and radial tires

bias ply tires naturally have a softer carcass and tends to heat up faster (and of course overheat) as compared to radial tires.

so imagine having this two tdifferent tire and they behave differently, you are gonna be in lots of trouble when u ride really hard.

by the way, wats your ride?

I was beginning to wonder that day...hmm....why would so many (especially) the younger riders, as always, fit BT39 front and BT090 rear.

What on earth would any one come up with such an idea! The BT090 used for the rear is a front tyre of 110/70 somemore! Shouldn't riders themselves be more aware of what they are doing other than follow what their friends say or what some fxxked up mechanic recommend?

I mean afterall what you fit on your bike (and if it doesn't function properly) might jolly well land you smack on the road pavement besides learning what you have done wrong!! :D

• Replies 1.4k

Originally posted by il4@Jan 16 2004, 10:11 AM

It comes to reflect on how much your mechanic knows about tires.

mixing between different type of radial tires is bad enough, coz each of them have different heat cycle, construction, compound, operating temperature etc.

the worst ones are those who combo between a bias ply tires and radial tires

bias ply tires naturally have a softer carcass and tends to heat up faster (and of course overheat) as compared to radial tires.

so imagine having this two tdifferent tire and they behave differently, you are gonna be in lots of trouble when u ride really hard.

by the way, wats your ride?

I dun get wat you mean by "how's my ride?" Anyway, I got my tyres done at "Sanfu" bike shop and the mech that this is how people do it. I'm still very new abt all this, maybe that is why...:(

Just changed to a pair of BT010

120/70 front; 160/60 rear (original should be 150/70 but not available then)

Cost me $270 at Dexing (BukBatok)

Did general servicing plus change a pair of brake pads

All in about $430

So far quite happy (with the tyre; but wallet kind of light)

Why are people who ride motorcycles called bikers and people who ride bikes called cyclists?

Originally posted by benson@Jan 16 2004, 06:07 PM

I'm on a rvf n front wid a 120 bt010 rear wid a 150 gpr70.

Great grip :cheer:

I'm on a CBR witha BT010 120 front and BT090 150 rear. Good grip oso :cheer:

Be happy always :-)

Ride alert at all times :angel:

1st bike - Yamaha RXZ - 135cc

2nd bike - Honda FireBlade series - 400cc

3rd bike - Yamaha RXZ- 135cc

4th bike - Suzuki GSXR K-series - 600cc

5th bike - Kawasaki KRR - 150cc

6th bike - Honda CBX Twister - 250cc

~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~

Originally posted by Andygan@Jan 17 2004, 04:13 PM

So is there any set of good "combo" for my SP150? Please help... Lost liao...

Battalax BT39SS 90/80-17 front and BT39SS 120/80-17 rear.

Or Dunlop TT900, same sizes as above. I prefer the Battalax for better grip, although they last a bit shorter. Took them to track, no problem.

Originally posted by rhema83@Jan 18 2004, 08:11 PM

Battalax BT39SS 90/80-17 front and BT39SS 120/80-17 rear.

Or Dunlop TT900, same sizes as above. I prefer the Battalax for better grip, although they last a bit shorter. Took them to track, no problem.

Thanks a lot, rhema83! :)

Originally posted by Andygan@Jan 17 2004, 04:13 PM

So is there any set of good "combo" for my SP150? Please help... Lost liao...

wats the recommended size for sp?

hw abt gpr 70 size 150/60/17?

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition

Originally posted by fooz@Jan 19 2004, 04:09 PM

wats the recommended size for sp?

hw abt gpr 70 size 150/60/17?

As I've said. Stock size is 90/80-17 front and 120/80-17 rear.

Originally posted by rhema83@Jan 19 2004, 08:37 PM

As I've said. Stock size is 90/80-17 front and 120/80-17 rear.

sorie, i missed out..

thks!...

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition

Yo good ppl, any comments on fixing some tires on R1? I do frequent but short high speed runs in Malaysia highways and roads(more than once a week) and would like to take that extra lean when cornering in S'pore. No track days for me yet but agressive riding. Never tried the Diablos and RS3 before. R they good? How about Metz?

You might wanna check out my thread, perhaps? Click on "Tyres for hard street riding."

Been hoping to clear out the clutter here for everyone.. :D

I miss you baby:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v638/thekaizer/automotive/18317145062605l.jpg

*Disclaimer: Kaizer is an imaginary character and all posts are based on fiction.

Please fill out this list of tyre recommendations so searching through this thread for a particular model isn such a hassle. Please rate on practicality and value-for-money, so dun go recommending Supercorsa for street riding.

Normal Street Riding & Commuting:

Touring & Long Distance Journeys:

Race & Track day:

Sitting on my hands... Must... Not... Rebutt...!! ARGH~!@

Originally posted by derrickfu@Feb 18 2004, 03:06 AM

yo ppl, recently bought a CBR150R. im a new rider so wondering wat wld b a recommended set of tyres ttz street worthy? wld it b similar to tt of SP??

i think the only tyres for the cbr with its super thin profile are the dunlop battalax 39ss.

Better to be loved, than to hate...

Anyone have try the Michelin Macadam 100X on your bike?

http://www.motofitment-michelin.co.uk/cgi-bin/images/mlogo.gifhttp://www.michelin.com.sg/images/motorcycle/mot_cat_road_100x_b.gif

High-performance sport touring radial

Successor to the popular Macadam® 90X™ radial. Can be fitted in combination with Macadam 90X radials, front or rear.

Front tyre features a new tread design for exceptional resistance to uneven wear and cupping, without sacrificing adhesion on wet or dry roads.

Rear tread design similar to the Macadam 90X, already renowned for its outstanding

mileage; transverse grooves eliminated to increase the contact patch while cornering.

In order to improve our offer in radial tyre for sports touring bikes, we developed Macadam 100X from Macadam 90X. This new version keeps Macadam 90X qualities with better mileage on the front tyre, plus overall improved motorcycle handling.

Specifically designed for sports tourers they offer excellent grip, comfort and tyre life. This longevity and increased performance is achieved with a new casing structure and new rubber compounds, which also give greater cornering security.

The ideal fitment where high mileages are a priority as well as stability and load carrying capacity. New tread patterns and compounds giveexceptional grip and the belted crossply construction prevents centrifugal growth to reduce wear.

or the Bridgestone BT020 (Sport Touring) :

http://www.motorcycle-karttires.com/navigation/images/topper.jpg

http://www.motorcycle-karttires.com/tireimages/BT020R.JPGhttp://www.motorcycle-karttires.com/tireimages/BT020F.JPG

Features

C.T.D.M. (Comprehensive Tire Design Method) improves ride comfort and shock absorption.

Extra deep tread depth for extended mileage

Mono-spiral belt (rear) for shock absorption and high speed stability.

Silica compound provides improved and exceptional grip level on both dry and wet surfaces without sacrificing high speed durability.

Tires with "U" OE code are general replacement spec

http://www.ministryofpets.com/forum/uploads/post-1-1075389427.gif http://www.ministryofpets.com/forum/uploads/post-1-1075389500.gif http://www.ministryofpets.com/forum/uploads/post-1-1075389677.gif
Originally posted by HyperS4@Feb 19 2004, 08:26 PM

Anyone have try the Michelin Macadam 100X on your bike?

http://www.motofitment-michelin.co.uk/cgi-bin/images/mlogo.gifhttp://www.michelin.com.sg/images/motorcycle/mot_cat_road_100x_b.gif

High-performance sport touring radial

Successor to the popular Macadam® 90X™ radial. Can be fitted in combination with Macadam 90X radials, front or rear.

Front tyre features a new tread design for exceptional resistance to uneven wear and cupping, without sacrificing adhesion on wet or dry roads.

Rear tread design similar to the Macadam 90X, already renowned for its outstanding

mileage; transverse grooves eliminated to increase the contact patch while cornering.

In order to improve our offer in radial tyre for sports touring bikes, we developed Macadam 100X from Macadam 90X. This new version keeps Macadam 90X qualities with better mileage on the front tyre, plus overall improved motorcycle handling.

Specifically designed for sports tourers they offer excellent grip, comfort and tyre life. This longevity and increased performance is achieved with a new casing structure and new rubber compounds, which also give greater cornering security.

The ideal fitment where high mileages are a priority as well as stability and load carrying capacity. New tread patterns and compounds giveexceptional grip and the belted crossply construction prevents centrifugal growth to reduce wear.

or the Bridgestone BT020 (Sport Touring) :

http://www.motorcycle-karttires.com/navigation/images/topper.jpg

http://www.motorcycle-karttires.com/tireimages/BT020R.JPGhttp://www.motorcycle-karttires.com/tireimages/BT020F.JPG

Features

C.T.D.M. (Comprehensive Tire Design Method) improves ride comfort and shock absorption.

Extra deep tread depth for extended mileage

Mono-spiral belt (rear) for shock absorption and high speed stability.

Silica compound provides improved and exceptional grip level on both dry and wet surfaces without sacrificing high speed durability.

Tires with "U" OE code are general replacement spec

mi using the bt020 now....n kup corner like crazy also

i am using michelin pilot race 2...v gd tyres.....v sticky...but 4 wet not so gd coz its a 100% dry surface tyre....can try michelin pilot sport...50%wet 50%dry...oso v sticky...:cheeky: definately worth the $$...my tyres saved my life....hv no regrets.....

Originally posted by GSX-R+Feb 19 2004, 11:22PM-->
QUOTE (GSX-R @ Feb 19 2004, 11:22PM)
BT020:lovestruck: [/b]

Originally posted by Aldebaran@Feb 24 2004, 01:45 PM

mi using the bt020 now....n kup corner like crazy also

http://www.ministryofpets.com/forum/uploads/post-1-1075389427.gif http://www.ministryofpets.com/forum/uploads/post-1-1075389500.gif http://www.ministryofpets.com/forum/uploads/post-1-1075389677.gif
Guest GuiNNeSS

The Macadams i tried was excellent. Durable and reasonably fast turn ins. However, i think the price you quoted a little on the high side. I think you should be able to get the 020 for about $50 less.

Guest paco27zim

I have pirelli diablo on my r1 and excellent handling in wet and dry. can get up to 10K kms on it. depending on how u ride

I had standard dunlop d207- not a good tyre on my bike.

Originally posted by paco27zim@Feb 25 2004, 05:16 PM

I have pirelli diablo on my r1 and excellent handling in wet and dry. can get up to 10K kms on it. depending on how u ride

I had standard dunlop d207- not a good tyre on my bike.

Thanks paco27zim,

I have been using the Metzeler ME Z4 Steel Radial tire since the 1st day(last Apl.) I bought the FJR till now already travel 16,500km, its time for me to change tires now, no more Metzeler ME Z4 for me cos I find that no good :nono: for wet and dry road :slapforehead: .