-=TLRiders=-

Lonely Stranger

Originally posted by kish_garfield@Apr 17 2004, 07:36 PM

used to ride like wildcard when jus got the tiller but now change gear about 4k n cruise below 4.

now try to blast when very safe n in malyasia cause very danger in sg. jus meet 3 tp staring at me boys. cornering then met them. he was eating me visually balls!:giddy: :giddy:

how do u guys change at 4K? I kinda like get mongo vibrations when I try to accelerate slowly after shifting up at 4K. It feels like 4K is kinda too low on the next gear. 5K feels barely acceptable.

• Replies 5.6k

there is a diff. after 2.5 is ok to change but when jus crossing the 4k area, it has a diff vibration. thats not under power vibration i think. its jus diff.u try it first.i always find it funny for tillers 4k area.

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

STX TW200, M400, Runner180

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

anyone has experience with breather with TL?

i heard from mechanic than response is better for suzuki but redundant for handas???

wats the discharge

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Originally posted by WildCard@Apr 17 2004, 08:50 PM

how do u guys change at 4K? I kinda like get mongo vibrations when I try to accelerate slowly after shifting up at 4K. It feels like 4K is kinda too low on the next gear. 5K feels barely acceptable.

do u have a tre?

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by WildCard@Apr 19 2004, 11:04 AM

Okie.

Here's the result of my fuel economy test.

180+ km before the reserve light become solid... sigh...

back to the drawing board...

wahahaha....i suggest u do a re mapping.what have u done recently?change exhast?

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by WildCard@Apr 19 2004, 11:04 AM

Okie.

Here's the result of my fuel economy test.

180+ km before the reserve light become solid... sigh...

back to the drawing board...

whats ur idling like??isit ur idling too high??maybe can trying truning the idling knob lower...thats what i did initially..idling shld be ard. 1.2k...:smile: :smile:

http://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif

>>>>http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gifNo offence guyz.juz for the laughterhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gif<<<<

update....

Today, interesting thing happened. Just came back from an outing. This time, it went as far as 190+ km before actual reserve.

Dunno what I did. Not sure if its the V-Power I pumped last nite in JB or that I lowered the idling a bit. Coz I felt at neutral, the idling was beating kinda too fast. So lowered it down. Maybe combination of both?

Anywayz, yes, considered a remap. I didn;t do any changes. Stock exhaust but I am using Iridium plugs. Also, I said earlier, my rear sprocket is small, smaller than stock. Perhaps 33. Wonder how that affects consumption.

Shoei, where would you recommend to do a remap? Walked by Pleasure Motorsports and they looked tech enuff to know what I want. Maybe give them a call tomorrow...

Oh, if you guys are interested, I found 2 shops selling Fuchs Silkolene semi-synth 15w50 oils, which I think is good enuff for TLs when you're on a tight budget like me. One is Planet Motors, the other Pleasure Motorsports. Dunno how much Pleasure is selling but Planet is selling at $8 per bottle. Changing is free, well maybe coz its already included into the price.

hi dude

u on a Tlr or tls?

for remapping, i bring my bike to mengtong and bike lab before.personally i feel meng tong does a good job on my bike which includes a TPS and a yoshi box/teka mapping.

btw where is planet motors?8 bucks i quite cheap.my oil change is almost up too.

will give it a try.will they have suzuki orginal oil filter too??

btw whats ur idling rpm noW?

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by shoei@Apr 19 2004, 11:35 PM

hi dude

u on a Tlr or tls?

for remapping, i bring my bike to mengtong and bike lab before.personally i feel meng tong does a good job on my bike which includes a TPS and a yoshi box/teka mapping.

btw where is planet motors?8 bucks i quite cheap.my oil change is almost up too.

will give it a try.will they have suzuki orginal oil filter too??

btw whats ur idling rpm noW?

its a bit low. But ok for normal riding, though sometimes I get stalled coz didn;t push enuff RPM up.

Mine is a Y2K TLR, Canadian model.

If ur interested, wanna join me today? I'm going for an oil change today coz my SPC in the bike is a bit too thin (5w20). Maybe can ask together. Call me 94376964.

If you can't make it, its ok. I'll ask them for you abt Suzuki filters....

Originally posted by WildCard@Apr 20 2004, 09:47 AM

its a bit low. But ok for normal riding, though sometimes I get stalled coz didn;t push enuff RPM up.

Mine is a Y2K TLR, Canadian model.

If ur interested, wanna join me today? I'm going for an oil change today coz my SPC in the bike is a bit too thin (5w20). Maybe can ask together. Call me 94376964.

If you can't make it, its ok. I'll ask them for you abt Suzuki filters....

damnz..not today.tmw?

btw whats viscosity of the oil (Fuchs Silkolene semi-synth)izzit 15-50?

i dun mind gg tmw.

在绝望中坚强

tomorrow?

hmm... if after 5pm can. I'm not going anywhere much today except to JB tonite to pump petrol. So can hold off till tomorrow. But tomorrow, I'm werking at night. Since I'm werking at Sengkang, can go there at 5+, change oil, tok c*** a bit then I go off straight to werk lah. Hmm... maybe can even sucka the shop into giving a bit discount for 2 bikes. hehehehehhe....

Gimme an SMS or call me tomorrow to confirm. I dun have ur number.

Yes, the grade is 15w50 (I wrote it above). Its the Comp 4T Synthetic-based (semi) if my eyes didn't deceive me.

Originally posted by WildCard@Apr 20 2004, 11:59 AM

tomorrow?

hmm... if after 5pm can. I'm not going anywhere much today except to JB tonite to pump petrol. So can hold off till tomorrow. But tomorrow, I'm werking at night. Since I'm werking at Sengkang, can go there at 5+, change oil, tok c*** a bit then I go off straight to werk lah. Hmm... maybe can even sucka the shop into giving a bit discount for 2 bikes. hehehehehhe....

Gimme an SMS or call me tomorrow to confirm. I dun have ur number.

Yes, the grade is 15w50 (I wrote it above). Its the Comp 4T Synthetic-based (semi) if my eyes didn't deceive me.

hi

i will give u sms later.i wont be riding my TLR for the oil change.i'd be on another bike since i need to change this engine oil first.

i should be able to make it tmw if nuthing goes wrong tmw.

my no is 98594275

在绝望中坚强

Heyos all,

Okie, just had my oil changed. Went to Planet Motors and changed my SPC for 3.5 litres of Silkolene as the doctor ordered (My engine just got reassembled. According to the manual, use 3.5L for reassembled engines)

Anywayz, felt the difference. Compared to the SPC oil I had been using, this time gear changing was smooth. Engine seem to sound better, as if less stress is exerted on it.

More importantly, its cheap. $8 per bottle means $32 every 2 months.

Kish, to answer your question, try my best. My understanding is that the VI level (XXwXX) shows the viscosity in freezing or below temperatures for the the first number (the lower the better) and viscosity for boiling temperatures or above for the second number (the higher the better).

So I was thinking, since we dun have freezing cold starts but rather very hot operating temperatures, can ignore the first number and concentrate on the second one, due to S'pore's climate. This oil seem to show the best multigrade for its type (semi) and price. There's even higher ones (20w50) but most are mineral oils.

Hmm... maybe in summary can just call me a cheapo looking after the best-valued deals... :cheeky:

Somebody please correct me if I'm mistaken. This is the best I could gather at 4 in the morning from staring at websites explaining about oils....

Oh guys, forgot to mention sumting.

When changing oil, remember not to drop the drain plug / nut into the used oil tray or bottle. The boss just made the mistake and forgot about the plug after draining the oil. After draining it, he just dumped the oil into the used oil container, only to realize later that the plug got thrown in as well.

Wanted to scold him oso cannot coz I just the whole thing humourous, laughing away. Anywayz, the boss managed to get a spare drain plug for another Suzuki engine and used it.

But to be safe, I'm still monitoring if there's any 4T leaking or dripping out from below...

??? funny i was told the first number is the operating temp it can start at and the second one is the thickness. so higher the number the thinner the oil is?????

how man????i used R4 b4 and didnt like it. curent using pace n feels better. gold even better but more ex. both gets rough after 2000++++ so use semi still better. both also 10w40.

so wats wat.

my mechanic said suzuki bikes tend to be more rough in engines so use recomended one better:giddy: :mad:

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

http://motorcycleinfo.calsci.com/Oils1.html#Oil

An extract from above URL I got from TLPlanet...

"An oil sold as 10w-40 is no thicker than 10 weight oil under Winter (10w) conditions, meaning below freezing. The 40 means it is no thinner than 40 weight oil at 212° Fahrenheit. So, the first number tells us the performance of the oil at or below the temperature of freezing water, and the second number tells us the performance at the temperature of boiling water. The chemicals added to the oil to accomplish this are called Viscosity Index Improvers (VIIs)."

Just spoke to a fren to confirm.

The front number (usually designated XXw or XXwinter) is usually lower becos it has to maintain its "thin-ness" when being started up at cold or near freezing temperature. If a cold engine has a thick oil in it when being started, the oil wun flow properly. Instead, the engine will be sucking air and... well, you can picture the rest. Also, the lower grade prevents the oil from freezing or solidifying in the sump while at rest.

The second number is usually higher to mean the thickness at high temperatures (some say boiling). If a oil thins out too fast at high temperatures, it won't stick to the metal surfaces and thus will not lubricate properly. To maintain a higher lubrication, it has to maintain a higher viscosity or thickness. Thus the higher number.

My fren also mentioned that most Suzuki manuals recommend 10w40 (he's riding a K3). But Guan Hoe recommends 15w50 for our climate. Remember, the bike was built in and for temperate climates, meaning countries with winter seasons. We're all tropical. That's why I believe we can consider a higher front number (coz we don't have any freezing temp) and an even higher second number coz our engines will run at alarmingly high temperatures due to our climate.

Well, this is what I came up with from reading the TLPlanet arguments over oil and the recommended reading websites. Still, if I'm mistaken somewhere, feel free to correct me....

Extra Additions

Forgot to mention it. Ultimately, choosing oil is according to preferences. For me, its due to the fear of damaging the engine at high temperatures coupled with a cheapskate budget. But if using 10w40 is good enough for the bike, I dun see anything wrong with sticking with it (no pun intended)....

Originally posted by @--

Heyos all,

Okie, just had my oil changed. Went to Planet Motors and changed my SPC for 3.5 litres of Silkolene as the doctor ordered (My engine just got reassembled. According to the manual, use 3.5L for reassembled engines)

Anywayz, felt the difference. Compared to the SPC oil I had been using, this time gear changing was smooth. Engine seem to sound better, as if less stress is exerted on it.

Kish, to answer your question, try my best. My understanding is that the VI level (XXwXX) shows the viscosity in freezing or below temperatures for the the first number (the lower the better) and viscosity for boiling temperatures or above for the second number (the higher the better).

So I was thinking, since we dun have freezing cold starts but rather very hot operating temperatures, can ignore

hi dude

can u enlighten me where i can get to planet motors?need a oil change next week

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by WildCard@Apr 22 2004, 03:28 PM

Heyos all,

So I was thinking, since we dun have freezing cold starts but rather very hot operating temperatures, can ignore the first number and concentrate on the second one, due to S'pore's climate. This oil seem to show the best multigrade for its type (semi) and price. There's even higher ones (20w50) but most are mineral oils.

Hmm... maybe in summary can just call me a cheapo looking after the best-valued deals... :cheeky:

Somebody please correct me if I'm mistaken. This is the best I could gather at 4 in the morning from staring at websites explaining about oils....

hi dude

can u enlighten me where i can get to planet motors?need a oil change next week

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by WildCard@Apr 23 2004, 03:25 PM

Find the main Ubi road, look for the coffeeshops facing the main road. Planet is behind it.

Alternatively, find MSC. Planet motors is located along the row of shops behind MSC at the end....

ohh okie.i know msc.thanks.wil check it out next week.

i have a habit of changing my oil filter wheneva i do a oil change.do u guys do that?

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by WildCard@Apr 23 2004, 05:14 PM

For me. change every 2 oil changes....

thats abt 4 months per change. But I understand some oil filters can go longer...

im used to changing everything at one go.

在绝望中坚强