• Replies 47

Hi!

I bought a bike last month but milage of this bike very poor. How can I improve average of my bike and how can I save money of petrol? If you have any suggestion, please share here. Thank you in advance!

what is ur current ride?

high fuel consumption may be the cause of faulty parts which causes ur bike to overwork, thus casuing higher usage pf petrol ... even not pumping air in ur tyres may be the cause ...

other reasons be faulty parts with respect to fuel usage in the bike ..

it would be quite difficult to diagnose ur problem through the computer and would highly recommend that u bring ur bike down to a reputable workshop to get ur bike checked out ...

Previous Rides:

:2004: HONDA NSR SP 150

:2005: HONDA NC 35 RVF

:2006: YAMAHA YZF R1

:2008: YAMAHA X1 R

:2009: Honda S4 VTEC III

:2012: Honda NC 700X

riding styles plays a part too. =D

Faster than fast,

Quicker than quick.

as others have mentioned:

1. keep your bike in good working condition - engine, tires, chain etc.

2. ride conservatively - smooth acceleration and braking. go easy on the throttle.

3. keep load to a minimum.

4. use petrol grade recommended by manual, no need to go higher.

if all else fails...change bike :)

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg

maybe u can state ur ride so fellow bros who have experience can share with you abt their fc.:)

The thread title is "How can I save money of petrol?"

Actually there is ONE sure way in saving the S$ spend on petrol up to more than 50% and like most some of us, I did just that :p

http://i257.photobucket.com/albums/hh238/The_One_Biker/SBF-siggy.jpg?t=1228649487

ya la go malaysia pump. no need guess how u save 50%

good for bikes with big tanks and low FC. can save tons of money just going over to pump

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

1) Over inflate tires

2) Use hard compound tires

3) Use RON92 petrol

4) Accelerate slowly and keep very low RPMs when riding

5) Turn off bike when stopping at traffic lights

6) Lose weight

7) Ask gf to take bus

8) remove box and all other unwanted add ons

9) use friction additives

10 ) Pay using credit cards that give extra discounts

Just some of the ways.

1) Over inflate tires

2) Use hard compound tires

3) Use RON92 petrol

4) Accelerate slowly and keep very low RPMs when riding

5) Turn off bike when stopping at traffic lights

6) Lose weight

7) Ask gf to take bus

8) remove box and all other unwanted add ons

9) use friction additives

10 ) Pay using credit cards that give extra discounts

Just some of the ways.

i peng off my comp chair when i saw 5,6,7 :angel:

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs379.ash2/65701_176002369095418_100000569694348_526694_4927685_n.jpg

Think you are the fastest? Think again.

best way to reduce petrol cost.....

1. Pump inside malaysia

2. Weight reduce

3. Correct maintaince of bike

4. Monitor and record the mileage each tank give you.

5. Plan your route before hand.

6. Avoid pillion

The best.....

7. Don`t start engine and practice pushing the bike......(who know you might lose weight and get 6 pack?)

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b55/soundless81/SwimmingSession.jpg

Apr 2006 ~ Current - Toyota Altis 1.6A

Apr 2010 ~ Current - X9 500(Big Bulb-å¤§ç¯æ³¡)

May 2010 ~ Current - 150cc ET8(Little Lamb)

Oct 2010 ~ Oct 2012 - FZ6S2(肥仔六)

Oct 2012 ~ Current - ZG1400(鸡踢鸭)

i tried this method many years , can try only, for me i think save alot.. at least not so heavy cos i using kr to work as courier and cover 200km evryday so the fuel is really killing me.. sucking my wallet dry everyday:sian:

*whenever you move off, play your pick up to 4.5k RPM and shift your gear fast. and very fast you will be in six gear. maintain yr 6 gear, don go over 7k RPM

*whenever u r slowing down, DONT blow to down your gear(2b rider always do that, i do it too) clutch in and drop your gear slowly..

*if i am working in town going circle and circle, my full tank($17) can last me from 8 to 6, but if my job that day is all far job , just by going to tuas south n back to bedok can suck my tank almost flat:sian:

anyway this is just my OWN method..no harm trying, cheers

* don adopt the habit of blowing cos each blow is fuel

* don speed in highway cos the trottle is constantly sucking the fuel

*don use 92 or 95 cos bike less power, n u will push more ,wasting fuel

*don go changi village to eat nasi lemah:cheeky:

lower octane fuel can give u better mileage.

2006 - NSR SP

2009 - Spec III

2011 - R6 '08

http://image.automotive.com/f/newsandupdates/racing_news/122_1103_progress_for_ducati_marlboro_team_as_qatar_test_kicks_off/32274961+soriginal/122_1103_03_o+valentino_rossi_ducati_marlboro_q

Clutch in, change to neutral gear free wheel when coming to red traffic lights and slowing down in general.

Everytime do that, save 50-75m.

Did it when I first got my Phantom, difference riding SSDC style and this way is nearly 7km/L

Clutch in, change to neutral gear free wheel when coming to red traffic lights and slowing down in general.

Everytime do that, save 50-75m.

Did it when I first got my Phantom, difference riding SSDC style and this way is nearly 7km/L

:thumb: i agree.. but seriously how much can a full tank cost. , cos if u

pump 92

$5 engine oil

$2 spark plug

don change brake pad

don change tyre

might as well don ride..

* we wanted to ride in the first cos we like to be surround by the wind, enjoying the sweet sound of our exhaust*

BROQUET Fuel charger bro!!!!

some of the user review from bros here......

well said mate....

so far if toking abt such products ...

my $$ is on broquet....!!!!

increase HP & save petrol....

u can feel the diff in HP in small bike (esp cub) but petrol saving mininmal

hw abt nano ball ....

does it reari save petrol...?

or increase HP

or both...?

Nano ball is cheaper than Broquet but Broquet is proven & tested to me by mi...

so my $$ is still on Broquet ...but u must have the $$ lah...lol:cheeky:

actually, i've tried FP60 / all STP products/revtec and BROQUET..

KR150

FP60~ save around 5% of petrol.. riding patterns same..

MOST STP products save 10% petrol.. Riding pattern become high rev same the engine feels more smoother.. but the best point of high rev is before you pump petrol, pour in 15ml like this..

Revtec~ reduces viberation, didn't check the FC as i'm still noob that time.. just got bike within 3 days? but heard from friend around 5% also..

BROQUET~ Save fuel the most, but.. DUN TAKE out from your fuel tank no matter wat.. i remember i can reached 250km (min) but after i take out from my fuel tank and put back, it become 200.. :( Of cuz, BROQUET vtec88 promise to change with mine, but lazy to take out.. :D cause, it's really good.. as you can see the drop in my FC.. oh yea..

last time 10Litres=250km

now 10Litres-200km

Edited by vtec88

switch off engine when at traffic light...and don't on air con ...incase you ride a kind of bike with aircon

go down slope also off engine...

lastly put in a pedal ...

dont go for high rpm, 5 is ok. ride 70km/h. tune ur carb. sure can save $$$$

http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs133.snc3/18032_268394933701_747338701_3364329_3425232_n.jpg

My friend had once mentioned a way to save petrol. Let's say you are going to travel from AMK to Toa Payoh, push your vehicle (in our case is bike) from AMK to Bishan. After that ride your bike from Bishan to Toa Payoh. Like that can save about 50% of the petrol without changing your riding habit! If you wanna save more, push further!

Joke aside, why not buy low fuel consumption bike? Like pulsar, CBF 150 or the FZ150i. In fact honda wave is also a gd choice.

Hope ur problem will be solved soon. :)

How come you never say YBR125?

Also, i think pushing your bike is good exercise. Neutral too easy? Switch to gear 5 and progressively downwards for a more vigorous workout!

Still not enough at gear 1, partially apply the brakes and you and your Pokemon will be fighting fit in no time! :p

http://wiki.animutationportal.com/images/8/89/Pikachu.jpg

Edited by crazydj