Hwaoh! HWZ damn laggy!

Manage to catch a glimpse of the updated brochure and promotion.

MSI and ASUS are selling at very competitive pricing. Dell is also good but Lenovo having less attractive than all above. I so keen on lenovo edge or U series but I do hope the promo listed on-site at IT show is much better than on HWZ.

Car:

Leisure driving and family outing

Kia Cerato/Auto/Sedan:

Present FC: 11.03km/L

• Replies 46

I have to hunt for my X-Free XE233 speakers. I want them so badly!

i may need storage space... no need to be exotic as network data storage.. just movies (downloaded) in my comp are taking much space.

any brand or model to recommend ?

You know what? We should get together and go to the place together. No friend ah. :)

Hi anyone knows the best thumb drive i could get and the biggest memory there is?

Last I heard, 16GBs are out.

32GBs might be too.

Enough to load an OS to use as a flash-boot disk.

i may need storage space... no need to be exotic as network data storage.. just movies (downloaded) in my comp are taking much space.

any brand or model to recommend ?

Just get more HDD space?

You could spend a bit on a cheap SATA RAID card and do a RAID 1 on 2 1TB HDD.

Will never lose your movies that way. :p

Just get more HDD space?

You could spend a bit on a cheap SATA RAID card and do a RAID 1 on 2 1TB HDD.

Will never lose your movies that way. :p

how much would that be ?

just went for quick check (not so much quick with crowd)

2.5" 500GB is about 130$

I finally gave in, and went ahead and dug out $150 on a gigabit desktop switch and a wireless Microsoft mouse. Damn happy since I've wanted these things for a good purpose :cheer:

I went there last week. Packed as usual :sian: Helped a friend got a WD 2.5 external harddisk 500gb and my gf got her desktop speaker there as well.

Went there on the last day.My old EVGA 8800 graphics card died.got vertical lines,strange words and the screen turn red.google whats the problem and its called artifacts.1st time i heard such a thing.I thought EVGA is a good well-known brand but use less than 3 years died liao.

so went down to IT show bought a Palit 250GTS 512mb at $169.anybody know hows the quality of this brand?

Oct 2002 - PPL

19 Sept 2005 - 2B

18 Sept 2007 - 2A

20 July 2010 - 2

Oct 2005 - present: Aprilia RS 125

Oct 16 2010 - Feb 2011: Honda CBR 600 RR

Apr 08 2011: Ducati Monster 620

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs099.snc3/16635_162719989997_751319997_2733440_6167145_n.jpg

Went there on the last day.My old EVGA 8800 graphics card died.got vertical lines,strange words and the screen turn red.google whats the problem and its called artifacts.1st time i heard such a thing.I thought EVGA is a good well-known brand but use less than 3 years died liao.

so went down to IT show bought a Palit 250GTS 512mb at $169.anybody know hows the quality of this brand?

Palit sucks. For the price you could get an EVGA or XFX or anything else.

Artifacts are very common on gfx cards. Somehow, i am convinced that the manufacturers design their cards to fail just after the warranty is over.

My XFX 8800GTS 320mb was artifacting seriously and the warranty was just over by one month. Not the first time though. Anyway, went to repair my card at the dealer in Paya Lebar 178. Lucky the tech only said that he had to resolder the GPU to the card again. Costs me 30 bucks. It works fine now. Thinking of getting a new card.

Artifacts are very common on gfx cards. Somehow, i am convinced that the manufacturers design their cards to fail just after the warranty is over.

My XFX 8800GTS 320mb was artifacting seriously and the warranty was just over by one month. Not the first time though. Anyway, went to repair my card at the dealer in Paya Lebar 178. Lucky the tech only said that he had to resolder the GPU to the card again. Costs me 30 bucks. It works fine now. Thinking of getting a new card.

Palit sucks? Damn! anyway i wont be gaming much.getting a ps3 slim :thumb:

so artifacts can be repaired? should i try go to convergent or just throw the card away?

Oct 2002 - PPL

19 Sept 2005 - 2B

18 Sept 2007 - 2A

20 July 2010 - 2

Oct 2005 - present: Aprilia RS 125

Oct 16 2010 - Feb 2011: Honda CBR 600 RR

Apr 08 2011: Ducati Monster 620

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs099.snc3/16635_162719989997_751319997_2733440_6167145_n.jpg

Palit sucks? Damn! anyway i wont be gaming much.getting a ps3 slim :thumb:

so artifacts can be repaired? should i try go to convergent or just throw the card away?

Yes, Palit sucks. So does ECS. Avoid these brands unless you really dont have money. But just so you know an XFX, MSI or EVGA cards of that same model costs the same. Haha.

It really depends on whether artifacts can be repaired. It ca be cause by many things, such as a dying GPU (Graphics Processing Unit), Video RAM, capacitors and like my case, the solder connectors. I was lucky. If it was the other stuff, there is nothing much you can do.

Lastly, your card is a good as dead. You can try to send to the distributor for repairs but if cannot, there is no longer any use for it.

crazydj, an XFX costing the same with a Palit equivalent, please do introduce me to your lobang.

Sim Lim. Slowly find. Even if not in the price list, you got to ask.

His is 512MB. Even so, another brand perhaps Leadtek 50 bucks more is still a better deal than a 512Mb palit in my opinion.

Sim Lim. Slowly find. Even if not in the price list, you got to ask.

His is 512MB. Even so, another brand perhaps Leadtek 50 bucks more is still a better deal than a 512Mb palit in my opinion.

Simply put, a Palit is a decent card if kept stock. Want OC, other cards would be preferred.

Same like ECS.

There are still enthusiasts who are after ECS boards.

Edited by lunloon

Simply put, a Palit is a decent card if kept stock. Want OC, other cards would be preferred.

Same like ECS.

There are still enthusiasts who are after ECS boards.

I do not really have much experience in a Palit but over the years using and serving ECS boards, i have to underclock the CPU when the board was only months old. There are cases where the caps were blown after half a year and alot of memory compatibility problems.

I do not know about you but my past experiences have steered me in the direction to avoid such brands.:thumb: