Yeah I agree. While it might be hot when u gear up (not to mention other pple may look at u and snigger away seeing u all geared up and riding a phantom), u can always have a choice.

U wanna suffer from painful injuries, scrapes or abrasions, or u prefer to be laughed at yet arrive safe and sound?

Budget got budget protection. While budget stuff might not be as comfy as the high quality ones, but a padding is always better den u're bare skin or u're flesh.

Btw, any budget alternatives to my armored raincoat? :)

http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k129/ckoonyin/ThenandNowver2a.jpg
  • Replies 123

Guys, need your advise..

Yesterday I met an accident at pie near payar lebar flyover. There was a car infornt of me brake suddenly and i also jam my front brake and skidded... I never hit the car infront, but after seeing that I'm ok he just drove off... I was in dazed... so I never remember his lisence plate. Then 3 cars behind me got into a back to back accident due to my skid. One of the car took my lisence number. So the question here is, can they claim against me? I also not going to claim insurance cos i not badly hurt and just the bike front is off alignment which can be fix. Please advice.

wah so jialat , i think u better try to contact the 1st car behind u to see if he has a video cam mounted on his dashboard , then u can identify the car in front of you and also prove that the vehicle in front of you jam brake thus causing you to skid...

but then again they can claim you self-skidded by not keeping a proper distance thus all claim against you? haiz not sure also , maybe you check with your insurance company see their advise?

btw , please report to your insurance company if you have not done so , u have a 24hr time period only !

12 Jun 2008 - Class 2B

28 Jun 2008 - Honda Phantom TA 200 (COE 11/3/17)

17 Jan 2009 - Class 3

27 Oct 2009 - Class 2A

28 May 2016 - Yamaha Fino 115 (COE 04/8/24)

9 June 2017 - Honda CB400 Spec 2 (COE 02/1/23)

wah so jialat , i think u better try to contact the 1st car behind u to see if he has a video cam mounted on his dashboard , then u can identify the car in front of you and also prove that the vehicle in front of you jam brake thus causing you to skid...

but then again they can claim you self-skidded by not keeping a proper distance thus all claim against you? haiz not sure also , maybe you check with your insurance company see their advise?

btw , please report to your insurance company if you have not done so , u have a 24hr time period only !

do we really need to report to our insurance company if nothing happen to us? lao jiaos pls advice

frm my experience (not very much, but saved me on a few occasion) its better to position urself more on the left or right behind a car at all times if possible, so if u r unable to brake in time, at least u could dodge to the next lane if the situation permits (always check ur mirrors once in a while so u know wads behind or on the other lanes)

Guys, need your advise..

Yesterday I met an accident at pie near payar lebar flyover. There was a car infornt of me brake suddenly and i also jam my front brake and skidded... I never hit the car infront, but after seeing that I'm ok he just drove off... I was in dazed... so I never remember his lisence plate. Then 3 cars behind me got into a back to back accident due to my skid. One of the car took my lisence number. So the question here is, can they claim against me? I also not going to claim insurance cos i not badly hurt and just the bike front is off alignment which can be fix. Please advice.

Bro firstly. Major or no major accident, it's also a accident. report to IDAC and sent bike to motor shop for repair works.. If yours is NTUC, IDAC will help u settle everything le. cause IDac linked up with NTUC de.. and if the drivers not in for private settlements, just claim against them.

go to planet motor and ask ah chong. tell Him every single detail. He will help you out.. 50-50 case maybe. cause they bang you.

so dun be at a losing end.... protect yourself first.

Guys, need your advise..

dun worry at all.. they cant claim u..

the 2nd and 3rd car behind u are following the 1st car behind too closely that why they will hit into the back.. if they keep a distance they will have enough time to react.. so dun worry..

u jus report to idac, let ur insurance settle for u..

Guys, need your advise..

No need to worry, ur juz an obstacle/hazard to the 1st car, so he reacted accordingly....but if the case were to go all the way to the police, ur gonna be in for a hard time, cuz u brake because of the car infront of you, but u skidded, this is sufficient for the TP to press charges against u for self skidding....no joke, so if i were u, quickly contact the 1st car and asked wat his statement to the insurance agent was. or if not ehhhh this is not good to be post here....PM me

no need to lodge any insurance report, as his case is totally not linked to the chain collision, most to most the 1st car can only use razali as a alibi that there was a need for the 1st car to e-brake.....

do we really need to report to our insurance company if nothing happen to us? lao jiaos pls advice

frm my experience (not very much, but saved me on a few occasion) its better to position urself more on the left or right behind a car at all times if possible, so if u r unable to brake in time, at least u could dodge to the next lane if the situation permits (always check ur mirrors once in a while so u know wads behind or on the other lanes)

this is a very good life and situation saver, but most impt is take note of ur surrounding, and u'll get yrself outta any major or minor sticky situation...

Bro firstly. Major or no major accident, it's also a accident. report to IDAC and sent bike to motor shop for repair works.. If yours is NTUC, IDAC will help u settle everything le. cause IDac linked up with NTUC de.. and if the drivers not in for private settlements, just claim against them.

go to planet motor and ask ah chong. tell Him every single detail. He will help you out.. 50-50 case maybe. cause they bang you.

so dun be at a losing end.... protect yourself first.

this is a time consuming and a waste of time, as i've mentioned earlier on on top, but if razali has the time in the world, then do it for the peace of mind, other then that, its geh zhua(got better things to do)....

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

somewhere i saw something about gloves....troublesome???

ok juz to share some experience with full leather gloves....

slid @ 80km/H on KJE while i met in an accident....wearing coverall, gloves, goretex boots...

bike was in a far worse shape then me.....i've got no injuries not even blue black....right palm cushioned my fall and supported my weight while i was sliding on my bum....my bum was saved by my wallet, the coverall tore, but the best thing is.......

the gloves had not suffered a single damage...not even a flake of the skin came off....and the gloves is still around and im still using it from the day since 2007 ride safe event....

those whom i showed the glove doesn't believe that the glove had been thru an accident...

anyway long story short u guys should know what im trying to imply....

last but not least, that day was the day of my luck as wearing gloves was a mood thing, and that was the time that i was saved, if not i think half my palm would already be left on the KJE....

HUAT HUAT HUAT AH!!!!!!!!

YO hamsterwhale,

What band ur gloves n model?

look like a good investment to me as my gloves ko yah liao so looking for a replacement. hahahaha thks.

I just got into an accident yesterday =( kana bang by taxi from the side when he tried to change lane. Thank god we wont going fast (

No damage to my Phantom or me, but my handlebar kana twisted to one side! I realised that it was still ridable though it felt a bit weird. Is there any safety concerns if i dont change?? How much will it cost?

hi kangwei89, i think its better you go get your bike checked out A.S.A.P....your frnt fork might be damaged...my bike had a hit and run last week in my carpark..i thought only the handle bar was damaged, end up after changing the handlebar the positioning was still the same....went back to the koon and found out my front fork was damaged..hope you reported to the relevant authorities abt yur accident...and i hope to hell you took down the taxi driver's details....

LOVE, HONOUR, POWER, GLORY

Thanks for the advise, will bring her for a check up tomorrow. I'm praying its just the handlebar or its gonna cost me a bomb.. So you had to change the entire front fork??

Arr, I didn't. It was my first accident and quite a small one so I didn't know what could be done. Only realised my handlebar was slanted after I rode off. Anyway the driver drove off the moment I recovered and got back on my bike..

Thanks for the advise, will bring her for a check up tomorrow. I'm praying its just the handlebar or its gonna cost me a bomb.. So you had to change the entire front fork??

Arr, I didn't. It was my first accident and quite a small one so I didn't know what could be done. Only realised my handlebar was slanted after I rode off. Anyway the driver drove off the moment I recovered and got back on my bike..

Importantly is that you're alright! My mother always says "these money cannot save one". So sometime it's bo bian, have to pay means have to pay. Take care bro!

Don't do it to others what you don't want others to do to you! God bless! :cheers:

hey kangwei89, i wanted to change my entire fork but price wise was a bit steep for me..so ah koon re-bend the forks for me....cost me like $150 & a rush job of 1 day, for just the rebend...but i went ahead with other mods since already gone case...so ended up with a $250 bill...but i was advised by him that even though its re-bend..it will never be a 100% as before..so just have to live with it and ride more safer...

LOVE, HONOUR, POWER, GLORY

YO hamsterwhale,

What band ur gloves n model?

look like a good investment to me as my gloves ko yah liao so looking for a replacement. hahahaha thks.

Nankai Full Length gloves, as of now im still searching for it, cuz manage to found one while browsing thru regina and it was the last pair @ $30...now back to my quest of finding it....

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

wow, your experience is one close close shave! Glad u survived to tell the tale man :)

I have two minor accidents.

The first one, I dropped my bike in the middle of a jammed road. Was squeezing between cars, then the car infront suddenly stopped.

Lesson learnt: Must use rear brake, and not rely solely on front brake.

The second one, I skidded during rainy weather. Thrown off my bike and landed a few metres away. Luckily, got away with bloody elbow and knees, and torn jeans.

Lesson learnt: Must not brake excessively on wet roads. Even 70% front + 30% rear braking won't do, if roads are slippery.

First accident

Just pass ....riding an old yamaha ysr125 cruiser ...it was pouring heavily but i still ride on , no shelter along bke,....following behind a black mercedees at 50 m away on the third lane and a sbs bus following behind

the merc suddenly jam brake ...i also jam brake the bus also jam brake

I skidded for abou 5 m kena pin down by the bike , the first thot on my mind is i si liao the bus is going to run over me....

it did .... the front bumper when over my top portion of my body....heng

the lady driver got out ...saw my bike under the bus ...get in the car and drove off...

the bus driver got down from the bus look at my position and the first word was "si liao si liao" ....i sound out ...not yet not yet!!!...he pull me and my bike out...and to the side check i was ok offer me a ride to the hospital but i decline

I was more concern with the bike

the damage was a bengkok stering.... damage signal lamp ...so i straighten it out and move on

Lesson learn

1. keep away from mercedees

2. keep away from lady driver.

3. Bus drivers are nice people

4. yamaha bike with bengkok steerring can still ride..

5. when it was raining heavily under the bus is not a good plce to find shelter.

Just had my first accident yesterday. Skidded on AYE near Clementi there as I was entering the expressway. Car suddenly cut in front of the bike that I was following and we both jammed brake. I reacted later so I went down.

Thank God I wore armoured jacket, FF helmet and gloves because they took the full force of the impact/abrasion and I'm relatively unhurt here. Only a few scrapes on my knee. Whew!

Class 2B

FW TA200

Safety above all

Just had my first accident yesterday. Skidded on AYE near Clementi there as I was entering the expressway. Car suddenly cut in front of the bike that I was following and we both jammed brake. I reacted later so I went down.

Thank God I wore armoured jacket, FF helmet and gloves because they took the full force of the impact/abrasion and I'm relatively unhurt here. Only a few scrapes on my knee. Whew!

lucky u are armored up bro.....:thumb:

did the driver come down?

http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k129/ckoonyin/ThenandNowver2a.jpg

thank goodness you were wearing proper gear. i shudder to think what will happen if you were not geared up. glad you are alright and i hope the damage to your bike is not too serious either...

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

Hey guys, thanks for the concern! Bike has been sent to Ah Koon as the handlebar is bent and not in a rideable condition. I agree that no claims can be done as there were no other parties involved. Car driver did not stop though.

Both of us (motorcyclists) had the right of way as he was late in entering the expressway and was already on road shoulder (left-side). Suddenly decided to cut out. Quite unexpected but I'm totally fine! There are no tears on my jacket too. Thumbs-up to Komine mesh armour jacket! On another note, I was lucky that I wear FF helmet as my chin area did slam onto the road though the FF prevented any injury to my face.

Class 2B

FW TA200

Safety above all

Guest B_E_N
Hey guys, thanks for the concern! Bike has been sent to Ah Koon as the handlebar is bent and not in a rideable condition. I agree that no claims can be done as there were no other parties involved. Car driver did not stop though.

Both of us (motorcyclists) had the right of way as he was late in entering the expressway and was already on road shoulder (left-side). Suddenly decided to cut out. Quite unexpected but I'm totally fine! There are no tears on my jacket too. Thumbs-up to Komine mesh armour jacket! On another note, I was lucky that I wear FF helmet as my chin area did slam onto the road though the FF prevented any injury to my face.

hey bro do take care.. thumbs up for u wearing safety gears..

i shell have a look at ur bike at ah koon when i got time :)

Yo bro, thank God you're all suited up and alright! I'm making way in my boxes for my jacket already! Anyway, take care!

Don't do it to others what you don't want others to do to you! God bless! :cheers:

Took a couple of baby CBR150s out to run in their engines last night. One of them FW plate had barely 180km on his odo. Yes, that's a 2003 bike. 181km, was rotting in someone's garage before current owner overhauled and bought for 3k only.

When in congested areas like Little India with lots of cars, lorries etc cutting you left right centre it pays off to gang up with other motorcyclists and tag team all the way.

I was in the middle of a big wedge formation of random local bikes once and this Sonata decided to pass from lane 3 to lane 1 without signalling at 30kph. Everyone must have woke up from the 'flash mob taxi hantam' in the rain. Especially where Hella horns are concerned!

Clear of the danger zone, exchange waves to the fellow bikers and disperse.

ohyea intuitionally, when i on the road, id felt safer when following other bikers on the roads. it somehow made me feel cars will be able to see more things as there are more bikes together.

power to the people!!!!

Class 3 29 April 2009[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2B 11 March 2010[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2A 02 July 2012[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2 On-Training[TP Attempt: TBA]

TA-200 Honda Phantom 2010~2013

GSR Suzuki 400R 2013~Present

ohyea intuitionally, when i on the road, id felt safer when following other bikers on the roads. it somehow made me feel cars will be able to see more things as there are more bikes together.

power to the people!!!!

Bro.. When I rode with u , I also feel safe cos I know cars can definitely see u !!:cheeky: