Yamaha TDM 900

comics00

Originally posted by solo@May 6 2004, 01:02 PM

hard way - remove chain and soak in solvent (disel, petrol, kerosene, etc)

easy way 1 - spray degreaser and let it drip

easy way 2 - brush copious amounts of engine oil and let it drip

easy way 3 - use high pressure water jet

super easy way - fix scottoiler. chain is always clean and shiny. no need to wash but need to wash rim :-p

when sand/mud/dirt ect accumulate i will use easy way no.3 use 'ah kong' water no need $$$:cheeky: normal every ~1-2 mths will use WD4T begining of the day, by end of the day it'll be clean then apply chain grease. just my way of doing, any better idea:cheeky:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

• Replies 17.8k

• AJ..

• kmax

• vtr firestorm

• Paikia44

Originally posted by klxr250@May 6 2004, 09:14 PM

Hey! I am selling my TDM900 too. Itz FW and 2003 model. Mileage only 16K. With top box and engine guard. Love the bike but prefer a dual purpose. PM me if interested.

wotz the color n price???

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

Originally posted by klxr250@May 6 2004, 09:14 PM

Hey! I am selling my TDM900 too. Itz FW and 2003 model. Mileage only 16K. With top box and engine guard. Love the bike but prefer a dual purpose. PM me if interested.

just curious wat u mean by dual purpose & wat r the bikes u'll be looking for replacement :confused: wats ur asking price & colour of bike?

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

hahaha moi sentiments too.. i asked him liaoz... about color n price... no repley ehhh~

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

hey can anyone tell mi howz the performance of tdm900??? was riding a super4.... tdm900 sounds to mi like veri noisy... does it has the pick up like the super4??? howz the handling can anyone share share??

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by ashenZ@May 8 2004, 03:44 AM

hey can anyone tell mi howz the performance of tdm900??? was riding a super4.... tdm900 sounds to mi like veri noisy... does it has the pick up like the super4??? howz the handling can anyone share share??

By sheer nature of engine setup, there is bound to be differences between a twin and a in-line 4. They are not the same, so expect it to be different. You wun get a same sounding engine of 2 similar engine displacement bikes. Does a 916 and a TL1000 sound the same as an R1 or Gixxer? I'm sure u can tell that a twin will naturally sound louder (assuming stock). A super is just 400cc, Any class 2 bike will outperform it by just the engine capacity difference. Its 900cc vs 400cc, pistons are probably 4 times as big as your super4's. Being a twin, will generally be more torquey anyway. It is not a fair way for compasison between a super4 and a tdm (the ans is obvious), pick another bike to compare. A monster 400 will easily out accelerate ur super4 at the lights by the way. Top end super4 wins.

I speak from the 850's experience, shd not be much of a difference in terms of handling from the 900. Rider rides tall on the bike, pretty upright position with slight forward lean. Has a commanding view of traffic. It may be on the slight heavy side to flick from left to right in a salom. (If you need that kind of flickable respose, get a 250 sports bike). Cornering is pretty decent, foot pegs will touch the ground b4 the exhaust touches. (Safe but can't go really low like sports bike). High speed curves/twisties like in NSH may get wobbly at speeds beyond 160km/h. (I believe proper setup of suspension and bar end weights can solve this). Front sprocket is 17T & rear is 42T stock on the 850. You can play ard to suit ur type of riding. Suspension is fully adjustable front and rear which you rarely find on some bikes in the same/similar class as the TDM. Again, you adjust to suit your personal preference.

Having said all these, you got to ride one to tell. Or blanja the TDM riders some kopi and supper, I'm sure we can take you on a spin as pillion. haha (No insurance so cannot let u ride lah...)

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

hahhahaa okieokiee... hey so hv u sold ur bike?? mi still considering the pros n cons before commiting... dun wanna make a mistake??? hope u get a good buyer... ur tdm850 is worth every penny paiD~ :thumb:

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by ashenZ@May 8 2004, 01:33 PM

hahhahaa okieokiee... hey so hv u sold ur bike?? mi still considering the pros n cons before commiting... dun wanna make a mistake??? hope u get a good buyer... ur tdm850 is worth every penny paiD~ :thumb:

My TDM is still available for sale, and I just received my road tax notice haha..gonna renew it soon. Most likely to keep the bike for good till COE expires. My asking price now is neg as long as buyers are keen. After I pay for my road tax + insurance, if anyone wants, my price will go up slightly. So those who are interested can still view and we can discuss more abt the price, etc.

Every bike got it's cons, VFR/FJR/TDM etc. Depends what you can live with. And I'm sure taste will change after some time. You see some sportsbike riders changing to tourers and vice versa. Go for a bike that you feel happy to ride on and know its limitations. You should be happy with it for a few years until the upgrading/changing itch comes hahaha.

Thanks for your testimony of my bike, maybe someone else will be attracted to it :)

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Originally posted by barracuda@May 8 2004, 01:16 PM

By sheer nature of engine setup, there is bound to be differences between a twin and a in-line 4. They are not the same, so expect it to be different. You wun get a same sounding engine of 2 similar engine displacement bikes. Does a 916 and a TL1000 sound the same as an R1 or Gixxer? I'm sure u can tell that a twin will naturally sound louder (assuming stock). A super is just 400cc, Any class 2 bike will outperform it by just the engine capacity difference. Its 900cc vs 400cc, pistons are probably 4 times as big as your super4's. Being a twin, will generally be more torquey anyway. It is not a fair way for compasison between a super4 and a tdm (the ans is obvious), pick another bike to compare. A monster 400 will easily out accelerate ur super4 at the lights by the way. Top end super4 wins.

I speak from the 850's experience, shd not be much of a difference in terms of handling from the 900. Rider rides tall on the bike, pretty upright position with slight forward lean. Has a commanding view of traffic. It may be on the slight heavy side to flick from left to right in a salom. (If you need that kind of flickable respose, get a 250 sports bike). Cornering is pretty decent, foot pegs will touch the ground b4 the exhaust touches. (Safe but can't go really low like sports bike). High speed curves/twisties like in NSH may get wobbly at speeds beyond 160km/h. (I believe proper setup of suspension and bar end weights can solve this). Front sprocket is 17T & rear is 42T stock on the 850. You can play ard to suit ur type of riding. Suspension is fully adjustable front and rear which you rarely find on some bikes in the same/similar class as the TDM. Again, you adjust to suit your personal preference.

Having said all these, you got to ride one to tell. Or blanja the TDM riders some kopi and supper, I'm sure we can take you on a spin as pillion. haha (No insurance so cannot let u ride lah...)

ur 850 is design to be able to >200km/h think the wobbly maybe due to the suspension or the flow affected by some of the additional stuff u've fix, eg the boxes:confused:

personally i tried the bike till red like n is feels secure n grounded. r u getting the 900? Btw i not buy the FJR1300 already. tried the bike felt the power and road handling surely superd but don't think it suits me. tested it around the changi area seldom hit 3rd gear (when then do i use the 5th? only expressway i think) & got to handle it like a sports/racer can't clear the humps & road depressions like the TDM. prod will hold on to my TDM:cheeky:

Originally posted by comics00@May 10 2004, 12:14 PM

ur 850 is design to be able to >200km/h think the wobbly maybe due to the suspension or the flow affected by some of the additional stuff u've fix, eg the boxes:confused:

On the straights it is fine even up to 200km/h, its those sweepers where you got to lean the bike quite abit, then the vibrations start coming in. I have not tried other bikes cornering at those speeds, so it may be normal or I'm just picking on the nitty gritty stuff. You could be right coz I got lots of stuff mounted on my bike hahaha.

Still not quite decided on my next bike, better not think to much until and if my current TDM is sold. Still love the TDM though, a 850 or a 900. So logically would get a TDM900, but I'm also attracted to the BMW GS and the new KTM950 Adv. Thats y dun dare to think too much 1st if not more and more gian hahaha.

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Originally posted by barracuda@May 10 2004, 04:43 PM

On the straights it is fine even up to 200km/h, its those sweepers where you got to lean the bike quite abit, then the vibrations start coming in. I have not tried other bikes cornering at those speeds, so it may be normal or I'm just picking on the nitty gritty stuff. You could be right coz I got lots of stuff mounted on my bike hahaha.

Still not quite decided on my next bike, better not think to much until and if my current TDM is sold. Still love the TDM though, a 850 or a 900. So logically would get a TDM900, but I'm also attracted to the BMW GS and the new KTM950 Adv. Thats y dun dare to think too much 1st if not more and more gian hahaha.

got 2 friends riding GS1150 & 1 riding R1100 now got chance ride on them. not that the bike not good but for the price$$$ i personally think not worth it unless u think the brand "BMW" makes up for the extra $$$. i would say u get a test ride b4 decide to buy 'cos >$30,000 for a bike......not a small sum.:goodluck:

Originally posted by apogez@May 10 2004, 06:41 PM

wow, KTM Adv....

heard that the bike price around 40k...

and with the price of KTM spare parts... :giddy:

manage to c the pics of KTM950 :cheer: oh... its sure is a looker. but the price$$$:sweat:

Originally posted by apogez@May 10 2004, 06:41 PM

wow, KTM Adv....

heard that the bike price around 40k...

and with the price of KTM spare parts... :giddy:

40k???? Wow! more expensive than a BMW. Price from Ideal??? The price is pretty affordable in europe and states, dunno y become super inflated here. The black one one looks really mean. But the seat height is a staggering 910mm :giddy:

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

hey guyz... wots the cost of maintenance for the bike?? road tax and insurance for 24yr old?? anyone knowZ???

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Ello...

Introducing Ashenz, the latest addition to our TDM family!! :cheer: :cheer:

Yellow TDM :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

Congratulation!!:cheeky: :thumb:

Dobby said! "Harry Potter must not go back to School this year. There is a plot; plot to create very terrible things"

Originally posted by casio@May 11 2004, 11:49 AM

Ello...

welcome Ashenz :cheers:

Originally posted by casio@May 11 2004, 11:49 AM

Ello...

he got the one from dili?

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Originally posted by casio@May 11 2004, 02:43 PM

Yes.. :thumb: :thumb:

Great, guess the shop took in his super4 to do a trade in. well...win win situaion i guess for him. Join us for meetings when we meet. PM marcopolo your contacts to keep you in the loop among our TDM riders.

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821