Yamaha TDM 900

comics00

Originally posted by comics00@May 26 2004, 05:33 PM

yap! it is really a rare sight to c 8 TDMs along side for photo:lovestruck: if only u had waited alittle longer we could have 9 TDMs alongside & u miss our 1 & only SG lady TDM-er :cheeky:

Hey.. got picture to show? I love bike groupies photos.. very shiok to see..

Melvin

Yamaha WR200

Honda Phantom TA200

Honda Superfour CB400

Honda Shadow 400

Suzuki V-Strom DL650

• Replies 17.8k

• AJ..

• kmax

• vtr firestorm

• Paikia44

Alamak, taking photos at night not so fantastic results from my canon digicam lah... no flash somemore...unless someone got a 'power' dslr with external flash to reach the whole length of 8 TDMs lined up side by side.

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Hello guys, i just got my tdm last week! Still in the process of running it in and getting used to the bike. Rode less than 400km so far!

Need some advice from the experts here :smile: .

Firstly, what is the speed range to change a gear up? My machine tend to "vibrate" (knocking sound) when i twist a throttle a bit too fast.

Can cruise comfortably at around 60kph in 6th gear with rpm at around 2000-3000? Or maybe should use 5th gear?

Is it normal for big bikes to heat up quite fast? Stationary it takes about 10 minutes to reach red temp. zone.

Anyway, i really like this bike. Very nimble and light even compared with CDC's Fazer 600!

Thks.

hi pufferfish,

welcome to the tdm club...glad to know that u are happy with your new machine just like most of us here do.

for the knockings you experienced,it was normal and i think perhaps you changed gear at a rpm too low.this bike is fuel injected,the throttle will be light and responsive, just take it a bit easy on the throttle.also the two-stage air supply of this bike is definitely not helping in the smoothness at low speed.

the heat issue is normal for a big bike and trust me, it is a lot 'cooler' than the big sports bikes or big tourers :)

with regards to your breaking in query... personally during my breaking in period, i found that the ideal rpm to do a gear change is around 3000-3500rpm.the main purpose of the breaking in process is to smooth out all the contacting metal parts in your engine.make sure you ride the bike smoothly,increase the rpm gradually and smoothly,minimise or avoid any engine knocks,change gears smoothly and don't restrict your riding just to highway cruising,instead u should ride on roads that enable u to ride thru a variety of speed and gear changes,in order to make sure every gear is properly smooth out.just keep the rpm below the recommended rpm as stated in the manual.do change the engine oil and filter as recommended too.do have a proper breaking in as this will determine alot on your engine performance and reliablity,your engine oil and fuel consumption.

just my two cents worth, hope it makes sense and helps.

enjoy your new machine...i did :)

to joe, hi saw your post over at the other forum and welcome onboard :) perhaps you would like to join us for a cup of tea whenever u can :) hope to join u guys for our tdm gathering soon when my workload reduces...

take care all :)

comics00 - no idea. never experienced that. time for a new clutch?

Pufferfish - try to pull in the clutch a wee bit then throttle. tdm doesn't like half clutch with too much bite... heat as you described is normal.

Originally posted by barracuda@May 27 2004, 07:08 PM

Here goes...as requested. No drooling please :smile:

Nice.. but look like a police photo where they mask out the victims eyes.. haha

Should take it during daytime.. with better background.. than you all can put as computer wallpaper liao!!

Melvin

Yamaha WR200

Honda Phantom TA200

Honda Superfour CB400

Honda Shadow 400

Suzuki V-Strom DL650

Originally posted by lyechi_can@May 27 2004, 01:17 PM

Hi Cosmic,

Read something like that in a tread on the link below.

Hope it helps.

http://www.carpe-tdm.net/tdmforum/viewtopi...7da3905f6b679fe

All the best.

Thanks lyechi. found out i not the only 1 with this problem. realise that it happened only when accelerating too high on 1st gear while engine still cool. never happen after engine warm up. have only done ~35,000km on metre hope the clutch can last till atleast 50,000km b4 changing it.

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Originally posted by Pufferfish@May 28 2004, 12:09 AM

Hello guys, i just got my tdm last week! Still in the process of running it in and getting used to the bike. Rode less than 400km so far!

Need some advice from the experts here :smile: .

Firstly, what is the speed range to change a gear up? My machine tend to "vibrate" (knocking sound) when i twist a throttle a bit too fast.

Can cruise comfortably at around 60kph in 6th gear with rpm at around 2000-3000? Or maybe should use 5th gear?

Is it normal for big bikes to heat up quite fast? Stationary it takes about 10 minutes to reach red temp. zone.

Anyway, i really like this bike. Very nimble and light even compared with CDC's Fazer 600!

Thks.

welcome pufferfish :cheers:

1) knocking is normal if u r at too low rpm in higher gears. throttle input should be accordance to rpm pickup, too much throttle input at low speed will cause engine knock. also don't ride

2) 60km/h for 5th gear is alittle low. for 6th gear speed is ~70km/h at 2,500rpm. most the time when i m on morning bke with all the m'sia bike blocking way, i ride on 4th gear at ~50-60km/h

3) heat is common for big bikes. compare to those sports/racer/>1000cc TDM can be considered cool liao:cheeky:

enjoy your TDM n hope to c u during our meeting:goodluck:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

on my way back i tried riding ~60km/h on 5th gear felt TDM900 cruise quite comfortable. but on 6th gear got to >68km/h to be smooth & comfortable.

Do do a proper run-in. Don't rush it.

Anyway, what i'm going to say may cause other to disagree but what the heck...

During running-in,

it is better to accelerate smoothly/slowly to red line for a few times.

If you have been keeping the rpm to 6000 during 2nd stage run-in

and after run-in, you accelerate slowly

you will feel the engine or should i say the power delivery will tend to *pause* for a while at 6000 rpm before going higher.

accelerating to red line a few time during the run-in will get rid of this. Think most of you won't believe me...:cheeky:

Cheers to Puffer :cheers:

Boyz don't grow up, the toys just get bigger

ahakss..another pufferfish who loves tdm900...this pufferfis also loves tdm900..been eyeing it since 2002 wen it first came out...but then...aiyah...have other commitments lah...happy riding mate...how much u got it otr eh pufferfish?

I ride at 70km/hr only...please please dont blow2 at me or overtake me dangerously....wait i change into Incredible Hulk n dont know why my little baby bike will always be ahead of u if u do that

Hi Lychee and pufferfish,

Mind if I ask where you bought the TDM from? Hong Leong or Loois?

Whats your downpayment, monthly installments, how many years and interest?

What colour did you get?

Is the new 2004 full black available?

Planning to get a new 900, probably going down to Hongleong on Mon to enquire. Anyone wanna buy? yappiez and pufferfis? Maybe we can neg a good deal when order together.

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Originally posted by yappiez@May 28 2004, 11:39 PM

talking about running in...

http://motorcycleinfo.calsci.com/index.html#BreakIn

any thoughts on this running in method as explain in the link?

It seems pretty logical to me....

anyone had similar experiences to share?

sounds logical enough to me but... since my knowledge on this very extremly limited i will still stick to what the owner's handbook say:sweat:

Originally posted by barracuda@May 29 2004, 05:51 PM

Hi Lychee and pufferfish,

Mind if I ask where you bought the TDM from? Hong Leong or Loois?

Whats your downpayment, monthly installments, how many years and interest?

What colour did you get?

Is the new 2004 full black available?

Planning to get a new 900, probably going down to Hongleong on Mon to enquire. Anyone wanna buy? yappiez and pufferfis? Maybe we can neg a good deal when order together.

me will prob be selling my TDM900 ~sept/oct, if any of u can wait. i will notice this forum by then 'cos me going states for ~7-8 mths.

Dun think can tahan 3-4months w/o bike :cry: Now really bikeless, just handed over the bike to new owner. Got a BMW now... Bus MRT Walk o_O

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Din go HL coz quite rushed today. Well..if you are specifically looking for TDMs, there are 3 of us (not including me) who are selling. 1 TDM850 and 2 TDM900 PMed u about the TDM850. The 900s are ard 1yr + old. Dunno if it suits ur budget. They are not openly selling it, just asking ard if anyone wants to buy.

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Hello all,

Thanks for the advice. Been rather busy lately and didn't really go ride around to run-in bike. Just ride to work everyday and so still less than 500km total.

Following the maneul instruction, I am still keeping less than 4000rpm for the first 1000km. Seems to take forever, sometimes feel like just throttling up!

Now i am better with shifting gear, more smoother now using a bit more throttle.

Going to enjoy this bike for a long time.

Thanks again guys.

Originally posted by barracuda@May 31 2004, 10:12 PM

Din go HL coz quite rushed today. Well..if you are specifically looking for TDMs, there are 3 of us (not including me) who are selling. 1 TDM850 and 2 TDM900 PMed u about the TDM850. The 900s are ard 1yr + old. Dunno if it suits ur budget. They are not openly selling it, just asking ard if anyone wants to buy.

So anyone is selling ?? pls PM me.. thanks

Originally posted by larry@Jun 1 2004, 10:46 AM

So anyone is selling ?? pls PM me.. thanks

PM me your Hp, I will pass to them.

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Originally posted by Pufferfish@May 31 2004, 11:49 PM

Hello all,

Thanks for the advice. Been rather busy lately and didn't really go ride around to run-in bike. Just ride to work everyday and so still less than 500km total.

Following the maneul instruction, I am still keeping less than 4000rpm for the first 1000km. Seems to take forever, sometimes feel like just throttling up!

Now i am better with shifting gear, more smoother now using a bit more throttle.

Going to enjoy this bike for a long time.

Thanks again guys.

think its ok to ramp alittle >4000rpm on & off. but brware of the TPs 'cos 6th gear 4000rpm ~112km/h, c alot of TPs otr now adays:sian: