Guest chaochao
Plans are underway to amend the motorcycle class 2B license training course, which will require riders to undergo familiarisation training on expressways.

The current practice sees learners undergoing simulated training in driving centre circuits, and short routes outside these circuits.

Senior Minister of State Ho Peng Kee hopes the new initiative will reduce the high number of motorcyclist and pillion rider fatalities.

‘New riders will get a better sense of what it takes to ride on their own when they pass on our expressways, giving them greater confidence and hopefully reducing the chances of an accident occurring,’ said Mr Ho.

Some riders Yahoo! Singapore spoke to are also supportive of the new initiative.

“It’s really good for the new riders as they will know the danger zones on different expressways and it will better prepare them,” said Syed Ismail, 32, a civil servant who has been riding for five years.

Another rider, Goh K.P., 28, a designer, felt that the course will be helpful but felt more should be done to educate motorists to give way to riders on the road.

He said, “There are times where motorists don’t keep in their lanes and this certainly endangers riders as they try to cut us out of the lane.”

According to statistics from the Traffic Police, riders formed the most vulnerable group among road users, accounting for 91 out of 188 deaths last year.

In the first quarter of this year, riders accounted for 23 out of 50 deaths.

http://sg.yfittopostblog.com/2010/06/09/new-initiative-to-reduce-motorcyclist-fatalities/

Check out the comments posted in the web page!

I noticed that the report does not state "cause of accident" and "nature of accident"... o_O

Yeah - there should be more efforts to step up to educate motorcar / taxi drivers to drive more considerately!

• Replies 17.8k

• AJ..

• kmax

• vtr firestorm

• Paikia44

I'm trying to organise an initiative to take care of just this problem. Being aware of a problem is not a cure for the problem. To take care of the problem, to avoid the results: ie DEATH! we need to solve the problem at the root, and that is the ignorant inconsiderate motorist, taxi or otherwise.

Still got some planning to do, and some intel to gather, but will sure let you guys know when all is under way as I'm sure you all, and SBF in general will back my proposal to the relevant authorities.

Stay safe....

  plasticblackspecs said:
I CMI. Not back yet and not into soccer. Anyway, since when Ans got gf?

you oversea again ah ?

  vtr firestorm said:
Awhile ago lor.......

and you never reply my msg... never put ur name..

http://www.realbollywood.com/news/up_images/11116769.png

Friday : WorldCup Opening and Kopi

Venue : open to suggestion

Interested Parties

1. Angelo (not fan of soccer but fan of socializing)

2. AJ (Anything)

3. Thomas (good idea... I support it)

4. Francis (house shifting is over... finally)

5. Jimmy (dun watch soccer but will attend since havnt seen u guys 4 long)

6. KmaX

7. Divinecreations(I ride a 125cc still can join?)

8. ChaoChao & partner (I've not join any outing in your group before, so this will be first.)

9. Ansley (picking up girlfriend and why bother watching soccer?! Boring stuff BUT might juz make it for the people!)

10. joekia (should be fine, dun watch soccer though)

Those who CMI.

1. Damien (going trip)

2. TakeHow (going trip)

3. Virus Leong (going trip)

4. Nukeman (playing football instead of watching)

5. Hafiz (playing football instead of watching)

6. Mirza (will be in Penang)

Venue Sponsor (open to suggestion)

1. Francis (50" TV, partially furnished, snacks and drinks provided, max 10pax)

  Secret Agent said:
halo angelo. c u tmr . do park at or beside u.o.b bank. hassle free n no parking fee. cheers.........

Hey bro! Sure thing. I don't even know where the meet up venue is yet! hahaha....but will look for UOB or your bike/s :thumb:

wah.. mr secret agent so free arh?? remember to go pick up the card.. if not u will pay 50% more.. =p

No ExPeCtAt|oN = No D|sApPo|nTmEnT

**PiGeR & PiGgY**

http://img820.imageshack.us/img820/5012/119bo.jpg

  angelo9876 said:
Awesome Victor! Sounds cool man! :D

Secret Agent said:
halo victor. hows e givi box?

I am very very grateful to you and Angelo it was a love at first sight but you never peel the lacquer off properly wor!!

kmax said:
hey, victor, let us know if you can reserve seat for us at MushRoom Tapas Bar..

thanks for Francis to offer his adobe, but smokers and laughters are not suitable in residential area..

Kmax, when Do you need the place and time

MediaCorp will telecast "live" the four key matches of the 2010 FIFA World Cup on Channel 5 and HD5.

This follows an agreement with SingTel and StarHub.

MediaCorp Channel 5 and HD5 will air the Opening match, 2 Semi-Final matches and Final match "live" with same OR Next-day encores.

Telecast Details:

Opening (South Africa vs Mexico):

Fri 11 June 10pm ("live")

Sat 12 June 11.30pm (encore)

I guess you guys want to meet for drinks then???at around 9pm or abit earlier for dinner??

Friday : WorldCup Opening and KopiJune 11

Interested Parties

2. AJ (Anything)

6. KmaX

8. ChaoChao & partner (I've not join any outing in your group before, so this will be first.)

9. Ansley (picking up girlfriend and why bother watching soccer?! Boring stuff BUT might juz make it for the people!)

Those who CMI.

1. Damien (going trip)

2. TakeHow (going trip)

Venue: MUSHROOM TAPAS BAR, see a big Mushroom thats the place

Time: 9.30pm ~~

Directions: Google map 599746 or click map below.

Come promptly pls :-P, late comers park on the pavement

http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/1961/no22cheongchinnamroad.png

Edited by DivineCreations
Guest chaochao

Interested Parties

2. AJ (Anything)

6. KmaX

8. ChaoChao & partner (Will be there just before kick-off.)

Those who CMI.

1. Damien (going trip)

2. TakeHow (going trip)

Guest chaochao

Hi Kmax,

May I presume that tomorrow's WCup viewing venue is firm? Asking as you are the organizer.

Hi Divinecreations,

Do we go in by the Yuk Tong Ave road?

There is actually parking within the compound, right? And if it is full, bikes park at pavement?

Will seats and table be reserved for us? Asking so as to know what to expect. Tks

  chaochao said:
Hi Kmax,

May I presume that tomorrow's WCup viewing venue is firm? Asking as you are the organizer.

Hi Divinecreations,

There is actually parking within the compound, right? And if it is full, bikes park at pavement?

Will seats and table be reserved for us? Asking so as to know what to expect. Tks

Nope Go in by Cheong Chin Nam Road, the whole row of food shops prata curry etc run alongside Upper bukit timah.Turn in once you see a Big Mushroom signboard

Tables are reserved for 12pax, parking wise the manager is confident can squeeze but he hasn't quite seen how diehard Tdmers are over eqpping their side panniers and how huge TDMs are(&their riders:angel:), I'm estimating only 5bikes can squeeze in the porch. The Rest have to park on the pavement. I was hoping that the Boss and manager can use theirs cars to reserve two car lots infront but they mentioned the Traffic warden quite ON. BUT Hopefully will close one eye when he sees that this is a bike outing.

I apologize in advance for any inconvenience caused in case parking is a problem. I will get the management to move their plants pots etc

PBS: YUp, am courting now.. =0)

Everyone else: I won't be riding cos I will be driving gf's car tmw while she takes her riding class.. =0)

  chaochao said:
Hi Kmax,

Hi Divinecreations,

Hello there.. i'm not organizer.. just initiator... tomorrow time and event is firm.

Thanks to Victor...

  ansmania said:
PBS: YUp, am courting now.. =0)

Everyone else: I won't be riding cos I will be driving gf's car tmw while she takes her riding class.. =0)

doesnt matter.. as long as you are there... can alrdy

too bad can't join ya again...got wedding dinner to attend...

http://www.bikehk.com/photo/2005/p004233/001.jpg

My past n present ride...

1995 - Honda C70

1996 - TZR125 (FJ3462G)

1997 - TZRR125 (FM8630P)

1998 - CBR400RRR (FP6854H) / Skipper125 (FL8169K)

1999 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / RVF400 (FQ7918X) / LC125 (FB9950)

2000 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / Kawasaki ZXR750 P1 (FN5572M) / Toyota Starlet EP70 (SBH908R)

2001 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / TZM 150 (FS4806U) / Daihatsu Hijet (GM3346G)

2002 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / Toyota Starlet EP80 (SBR6249S)

2003 - Skipper125 (FL8196K) / XR200R (FS7249H)/ CBR900 (FJ76H)

2004 - XR200R (FS7249H) / Africa Twin 750 (FR1403Z) / Hyundai Accent 1.5L (SFF738C)

2005 - XR200R (FS7249H) / Honda Foresight 250 (FP9848G) / Atlantic200 (FZ5766H) / Mini (SFM9943E) / Hyundai Accent 1.5L (SFF738C)

2006 - Atlantic200 (FZ5576H) / Mini (SFM9943E) / Hyundai Tucson (SGC1185U)

2007 - DRZ400SM (FBBXXXX) / SWIFT SPORT (SGNXXXX)

Next - ....350Z???

http://www.realbollywood.com/news/up_images/11116769.png[/img]

Interested Parties

2. AJ (Anything)

6. KmaX

11. Gilbert and Family.. (not really into soccer, just to meet up) wont be riding though.

Those who CMI.

1. Damien (going trip)

2. TakeHow (going trip)

Guest chaochao
  gilbert said:
http://www.realbollywood.com/news/up_images/11116769.png[/img]

Interested Parties

2. AJ (Anything)

6. KmaX

11. Gilbert and Family.. (not really into soccer, just to meet up) wont be riding though.

Those who CMI.

1. Damien (going trip)

2. TakeHow (going trip)

Seems like gotta reserve more chairs huh...

I will reach about 950PM.

Guest chaochao
  chaochao said:
Seems like gotta reserve more chairs huh...

I will reach about 950PM.

Hi Kmax & DivineCreations,

I am unable make it tonite as I'm held up with prior engagements. My apologies. I'll look out for future outings... WAKA!

  chaochao said:
Hi Kmax & DivineCreations,

I am unable make it tonite as I'm held up with prior engagements. My apologies. I'll look out for future outings... WAKA!

no prob bro.. everyone is asking.. who's chaochao :D

it was nice meet up, good to catch up with good old friends and first time meeting joekia..

btw.. what's the score ah ? nobody paid attention to football ? :p