• Replies 3.4k

Just back from a trip to samui. A bit rain here and there but no flood. Anakee2 sfsg.

Good to hear that flood is not affected.the west & north Thai seems to be in river town.lol

http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/7007/sbfs101.jpg

RIDE it while u can.....NOT when u want !.

uurrggh... when can i sit on mine?... :sian: ...

haiz...

Got. if I put sidebox, I can't squeeze. ^^

anyway, any guys thought of, or tried changing the rear suspension spring?

I'm beginning to find the compression too soft. Maybe I'm getting fat....

I'm now setting my preload near to max hardness already, and I haven't even have my sideboxes loaded.....

cos i read from some angmor web saying it is not advisable as it might cause overweight...haa

this is overweight

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/118/291142000_9e5c322839_z.jpg?zz=1

this is overweight

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/--gHFLGTZXFQ/Tg985WJLR9I/AAAAAAAAFNk/ZXA46iPaC3E/s1600/02.JPG

this is not

http://gilamotor.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/YAMAHA-SUPER-TENERE-11.jpg

I am thinking of this as i'm always with pillion.

I'm waiting for my topbox and panniers to come then i shall make my decision. But most likely, a spring change is on the cards.

Got. if I put sidebox, I can't squeeze. ^^

I'm now setting my preload near to max hardness already, and I haven't even have my sideboxes loaded.....

I am thinking of this as i'm always with pillion.

I'm waiting for my topbox and panniers to come then i shall make my decision. But most likely, a spring change is on the cards.

y not a change to Ohlins or WP's instead?

nt saying hv to go for the best, bt then, arent they the reknown brands that can withstand the tests?

Even for Ohlins and WP, they can be the holy grail.. But many bought them off the shelves!!

That's very wrong.. When you are spending big bucks, do consider the spring ratings too..

Ohlins is only good when you have the correct spring rating, the rest can be adjusted, else a oil change to do the trick..

Showa forks/shock is actually very good quality stuff..

A change in spring rating will actually improve the suspension by a lot..

Some go for the Big O not just for the performance, but for the bling..

IMO, play around with the settings of stock Showa first, change oil or spring rating..

Then decide..

A spring and oil change shouldn't cost more than $500..

I'm going for Hyperpro btw..

this is quoted from a suspension specialist:

"S10 has a good rear shock body and valvings for its application. there is almost nothing to change on this shock.

but an upgrade on the valvings will be more than enough to make it on-par with aftermarket brands."

Even for Ohlins and WP, they can be the holy grail.. But many bought them off the shelves!!

That's very wrong.. When you are spending big bucks, do consider the spring ratings too..

Ohlins is only good when you have the correct spring rating, the rest can be adjusted, else a oil change to do the trick..

Showa forks/shock is actually very good quality stuff..

A change in spring rating will actually improve the suspension by a lot..

Some go for the Big O not just for the performance, but for the bling..

IMO, play around with the settings of stock Showa first, change oil or spring rating..

Then decide..

A spring and oil change shouldn't cost more than $500..

I'm going for Hyperpro btw..

something i learn today.. i too old skool.. only know hw to ride... :sweat:

this is quoted from a suspension specialist:

"S10 has a good rear shock body and valvings for its application. there is almost nothing to change on this shock.

but an upgrade on the valvings will be more than enough to make it on-par with aftermarket brands."

heard & read on this.. wonder when my heavy setup is up, can tahan anot.. haha..

I reckon the stock rear shock are a good crossover balance between road riding & off road riding.it not too soft for road & not too hard for loose surface to maintain control of the S10.

Changing the shock to hardness 1 may improve road handling but degrade off road ability.

I will stick to the stock 1 for venture up north where smooth road are not granted.lol

http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/7007/sbfs101.jpg

RIDE it while u can.....NOT when u want !.

Valvings are important too.. Just a few shims and oil change can change your shock a lot..

For beginners, get a proper sag and rebound/compression adjusted first..

No 2 riders ride the same.. But a proper sag is the beginning of setting up a bike's suspension..

For me, I'm quite comfortable with the stock setting..

Maybe will only start playing with the rebound/compression settings soon..

It's important to decide what setup you normally ride with..

Always 3 box 2 up, then you definitely need a harder spring..

But if only occasionally that, get a spring that's for the setup most of the time and play with preload..

Each rider feels the suspension differently, some like hard, some like soft.. Some dun even feel that there's changes even when the settings are adjusted drastically..

Stay stock first.. Unless you want the bling too..

Dun fix something that's aint broken..

heard & read on this.. wonder when my heavy setup is up, can tahan anot.. haha..

that 1 have to depend on your spring rate already..

Dun fix something that's aint broken..

agreed...

that 1 have to depend on your spring rate already..

yea.. yet to really read into this..

ride first, adjust.. if cannot, den opt for alternative like revalve or change of spring/oil, or both.