Yea refering to Greece and the other weaker eurozone countries; Italy, portugal etc

There you go.. The market is reminded of it just as you spoke.

• Replies 3.3k

sian, i've been waiting and waiting to deploy my liquidity still no big moves.

at these levels, not worth going in.

what are you guys thoughts on the recent perpetual bonds ie genting.

is is worth to get some.... the yield is tempting..

my personal thoughts.

i dont like genting,

i dont like perpetuals.

anybody open trading account with Stand Chart? No minimum commission, zero custody fees, global trade enabled.

I heard Standchart customer service is fcuk up, but i buy stocks looong term for investment, so maybe a cheap fcuk up service is good enuff for me. Any other banks cheaper?

i heard from my friends saying their online trading platform is good, because of the low cost to trade and you dun have to deal with any customer service officer as well

anybody open trading account with Stand Chart? No minimum commission, zero custody fees, global trade enabled.

I heard Standchart customer service is fcuk up, but i buy stocks looong term for investment, so maybe a cheap fcuk up service is good enuff for me. Any other banks cheaper?

Honestly, they are the cheapest.

workers of peace

whats the reason?

and whats the downside of it?

1. i dont like the gaming business, i would prefer a more fundamental steady business to lend money to. the Gaming business is based on a lot of show, when it crumbles, there's really nothing behind it.

2. perpetuals means you are stuck unless you sell out. and selling means you are at mercy of the market. why buy a bond of such nature from such a business? there is a good reason for the yield. and i'd rather not take it.

3. interest rates are at their lowest= perpetual prices at their highest. in other words you are buying at peak. of course, some people may say that rates will stay low for some time. but maybe they havent experience the tidal wave of falling perp prices on their sampans.

if you wanna buy a perp, you must accept the long term character and higher price volatility.

it's another investment to play out one's views.

just not mine.

most other banks have a min of abt $25 per trade, whereas standchart can be in few dollars
really arh? Initially reading the brochure i also find it hard to believe, if no catch then maybe I ll sign up. Thanks for the heads up.

1. i dont like the gaming business, i would prefer a more fundamental steady business to lend money to. the Gaming business is based on a lot of show, when it crumbles, there's really nothing behind it.

2. perpetuals means you are stuck unless you sell out. and selling means you are at mercy of the market. why buy a bond of such nature from such a business? there is a good reason for the yield. and i'd rather not take it.

3. interest rates are at their lowest= perpetual prices at their highest. in other words you are buying at peak. of course, some people may say that rates will stay low for some time. but maybe they havent experience the tidal wave of falling perp prices on their sampans.

if you wanna buy a perp, you must accept the long term character and higher price volatility.

it's another investment to play out one's views.

just not mine.

I won't mind sticking my money in perps for a 6 months to 1 yr time frame... Then again, Why buy the retail when the insti tranch is so much cheaper and easily available?

If you're thinking of investing small amounts of 10ks it seriously not worth your time investing in perps.. Rather you buy singpost..

singpost ?

i long long ago bot already .

thinking of cashing out when it hits $1.05 and above..

Then buy QAF.. haha still good yield at current prce.

no lah, i scared. so high already.

i still have quite a fair bit of cash to put into the market but simply cannot find anything compelling and i dont want to increase the names that i already have.

What are good passive income options that you guys recommend?

unit trust, government bonds, annuity. take your pick.

What are good passive income options that you guys recommend?

Unit Trust - Too much management fee, not comfortable with the amount of derivatives involved and the forward pricing factor

Gov Bonds - Yields less than the banks fixed deposit. Current low interest rates environment, results in them being expensive. Any rise in interest rates will erode capital.

Annuity - pays too little unless insurance is your cup of tea.

Damn it, lost $8k in 4 days, bah....