Xiaoban which shop u go normally?

If i only do a small part will go to hua chin bukit batok.. Unless i do major one will go to unique motors.. Most of the time is do at hua chin, nearer my place.

The parts number was 22870-MY9-010, around $16-18.

i just brought at FJT :)

another alternative is using the Vespa clutch cable(not recommanded for road use, FOR EMERGENCY ONLY).

Vespa clutch cable(inner cable) and "jam" nut less than RM6 at malaysia :)

No la, cos mine is $22 including installation..

• Replies 18.1k

If i only do a small part will go to hua chin bukit batok.. Unless i do major one will go to unique motors.. Most of the time is do at hua chin, nearer my place.

S$22 definitely including installation, just let u know the labour cost :)

Yes, small little details Hua Chin can do it. But be careful of the boss; he can agree on the price before you change but after that when you are going to pay up, he add a labour charge for a simple job. For e.g, change of Spark plugs. Tell me $23 for denso iridium but else where is selling it for $16. Then his excuse is, japan yen went up. After that, want to charge me labour. I F***ed him.

Had horrible experience with this bike shop. His parang is made of GOLD.

Yes, small little details Hua Chin can do it. But be careful of the boss; he can agree on the price before you change but after that when you are going to pay up, he add a labour charge for a simple job. For e.g, change of Spark plugs. Tell me $23 for denso iridium but else where is selling it for $16. Then his excuse is, japan yen went up. After that, want to charge me labour. I F***ed him.

Had horrible experience with this bike shop. His parang is made of GOLD.

Haha you know what i always do.. When he agreed on the price, i immediately go to the cashier to pay.. I don't wait till my bike is ready.. And also i will stand near my bike and tell the mech what is the correct way to do it.. Make sure the job is done well.. Unless is the big size mech then i relax a bit.. His job is relatively good. I usually don't trust the china guys.

Sigh. I think I bot a lemon bike. Sigh.

Can advice whether the pricing of this bike shop reasonable.

1. Chiong S4 mirrors (looks exactly like original) - $28

2. Clutch cable (already carrot) - $28

3. Grip and handle end balancer - $38

4. 3L Mobil 1 - $75

5. 1 x oil filter - $15

6. 4 x plug - $48

7. 1 x coolant - $10

8. 2 x water pipe L & R + O Rings - $65

9. Wash carb - $80

10. Labour - $80

11. Bike cover - $25

12. Pungee netting - $5

Bike boss says due to bike age still need to change alot of o'rings, rubber tubing and gasket. At the moment no stock. Sigh.

Thank you all.

Edited by Mizarahi

4. 3L Mobil 1 - $75

5. 1 x oil filter - $15

6. 4 x plug - $48

7. 1 x coolant - $10

9. Wash carb - $80

10. Labour - $80

11. Bike cover - $25

12. Pungee netting - $5

Bike boss says due to bike age still need to change alot of o'rings, rubber tubing and gasket. At the moment no stock. Sigh.

Thank you all.

Wa he juz got carrot le.. These you can ask ah pek to help you do or go unique for like another 20% off what you spend.. Ask ah pek help you even cheaper and he also will help you check other things.. Ah pek also provide x1-r + his own blend service.. You should try.

1. Chiong S4 mirrors (looks exactly like original) - $28 Get from LAB for $15

2. Clutch cable (already carrot) - $28 $22 +installation

4. 3L Mobil 1 - $75 AH pek's blend is good

5. 1 x oil filter - $15 $8.50 by ah pek

6. 4 x plug - $48 are they iridium ones?

7. 1 x coolant - $10 $5.10 from esso DIY

9. Wash carb - $80 $60 inluding tuning at unique

10. Labour - $80 it's crap, all prices are inclusive of labour at unique so means you can save $80

11. Bike cover - $25 you should have ask in forum, i got spare can sell you at $5 haven open b4

12. Pungee netting - $5

Total savings: $149.40

Edited by xiaobanz

the prices you stated are quite expensive.

it's like a few dollars add on compared to market price.

for accessories, you can get from LAB and DIY instead of getting them directly from shop, that cuts out the middle party fee.

for assurance and peace of mind, head down to either planet or unique. your experience will be a memorable one.

the things that you have stated are very standard maintenance for a bike.

COE bikes sure have problems, everything will wear and tear after long term usage. don't expect it to be like problem free when you're getting a 2nd hand bike.

kifakw

Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car

and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car.

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall,

torque is how far you take the wall with you.

Understand. More than 10 years bike sure like that.

If it is like 10% more, I m ok cos it is just 5min walk from my house.

But 25%!!!!! Cry till no tears.

I must visit forum more to find all the good lobang.

Thank you for all your advice. will find ah pek one day.

Wear and tear is part and parcel of life.. haha.. Even we human have wear and tear.. But for s4, once you settle the wear and tear it's a powerful bike.. For me i spend already nearly $500 juz fixing wear and tear parts and i think there is many more to come but then till date, my bike still have the overheating probs but other then that nothing much le..

I have to use 1 bottle of DIY coolent per 2 months.. My bike is drinking then peeing coolant.. :dozed:

I think my 12yo S4 still got many things to do.

I treat it as a project. Slowly slowly touch touch here touch touch there.

Btw, can I bring the bike to unique or planet ask them do engine checkup or engine overhaul like clean pistons, con-rods, etc?

Aga aga how much har? Dont wanna get carrot again. sob sob.

xiaoban why ur bike got overheating prob? how u know if it's over heating ah.. my coolant nv flush for 3 months liao... still got minor leak some more..

Wise Men say,only fools rush in.

Btw, can I bring the bike to unique or planet ask them do engine checkup or engine overhaul like clean pistons, con-rods, etc?

hmm yes u can i brought it to planet and have a full body check up. cost me like $200. normal full servicing like e.o. coolant. spark plugs etc. and the boss will test ride for you and diagnose the problems. minor minor things oso nv charge like tuning etc.only does what's nesscary for ur bike. but the problem is. they got alot of bikes to attend to. have to wait bloody long

Ya a lot of things to do.. But then for a bike, overhual and clean pistons, con-rods is not neccessary.. Don't open up the bike unless really have probs.. You really wanna do up the bike slowly ride around then tell us your prob then slowly do up.. Don't juz jump in, later no prob when open become got prob then jia lat..

xiaoban why ur bike got overheating prob? how u know if it's over heating ah.. my coolant nv flush for 3 months liao... still got minor leak some more..

Overheating ar.. Juz about 15 mins into the ride you can feel that your coolant side is boiling and under the leg is super hot.. After 30mins into the ride, you smell coolant and when you stop, you can see coolant leaking out from the tube under exhaust.

Wa he juz got carrot le.. These you can ask ah pek to help you do or go unique for like another 20% off what you spend.. Ask ah pek help you even cheaper and he also will help you check other things.. Ah pek also provide x1-r + his own blend service.. You should try.

1. Chiong S4 mirrors (looks exactly like original) - $28 Get from LAB for $15

2. Clutch cable (already carrot) - $28 $22 +installation

4. 3L Mobil 1 - $75 AH pek's blend is good

5. 1 x oil filter - $15 $8.50 by ah pek

6. 4 x plug - $48 are they iridium ones?

7. 1 x coolant - $10 $5.10 from esso DIY

9. Wash carb - $80 $60 inluding tuning at unique

10. Labour - $80 it's crap, all prices are inclusive of labour at unique so means you can save $80

11. Bike cover - $25 you should have ask in forum, i got spare can sell you at $5 haven open b4

12. Pungee netting - $5

Total savings: $149.40

Some shops really charge labour man, i kena once b4 never come to that shop again... And ya la, ver S buy must stanby lots of cash, mine one year no problem, suddenly this mth problem all come one shot... $500 donate to motobike shop uncle, wahh... hope i no need donate again this mth.. i think if problem too big jus sell off the bike and buy another good one

blurrrr.....................:thumb::gun:

Ya a lot of things to do.. But then for a bike, overhual and clean pistons, con-rods is not neccessary.. Don't open up the bike unless really have probs.. You really wanna do up the bike slowly ride around then tell us your prob then slowly do up.. Don't juz jump in, later no prob when open become got prob then jia lat..

Overheating ar.. Juz about 15 mins into the ride you can feel that your coolant side is boiling and under the leg is super hot.. After 30mins into the ride, you smell coolant and when you stop, you can see coolant leaking out from the tube under exhaust.

"Overheating ar.. Juz about 15 mins into the ride you can feel that your coolant side is boiling and under the leg is super hot.. After 30mins into the ride, you smell coolant and when you stop, you can see coolant leaking out from the tube under exhaust."

Go have your coolant pump check or thermostat changed. If you don't soft this problem..your block gonna crack soon!:sian:

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

hi guys i'm getting my 1st bike - s4 ver s 50th anniversary - this sat. do you all still meet up on sundays @ teck ghee kopitiam?

since i've never owned a bike b4 i've got a lot to learn fr you guys, esp ah pek who taught me a lot abt how to view bikes - hopefully i heeded your tips well & chose a bike with few problems! ah pek, hope to listen to more of your stories soon!

hi guys i'm getting my 1st bike - s4 ver s 50th anniversary - this sat. do you all still meet up on sundays @ teck ghee kopitiam?

since i've never owned a bike b4 i've got a lot to learn fr you guys, esp ah pek who taught me a lot abt how to view bikes - hopefully i heeded your tips well & chose a bike with few problems! ah pek, hope to listen to more of your stories soon!

Congrats...finally found your 'new' machine. I'll be there at about 10am..u been there b4, just come on down if its not raining.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

4. 3L Mobil 1 - $75

5. 1 x oil filter - $15

6. 4 x plug - $48

7. 1 x coolant - $10

9. Wash carb - $80

10. Labour - $80

11. Bike cover - $25

12. Pungee netting - $5

Thank you all.

item 8 is quite normal.

i just DIY, about $40(including coolant and O-rings)

just want to check with fellow bros. u guys experience front handle bar abit vibrating when doing harsh front braking? i heard something like front disc worn out ? is it true ?

I think, that s normal for me, various sound come fm front disc. like Symphony :D ha ha

after u clean by air, no more about 1 week..

water pump spoilt?

i do! mine was leakage on the coolent hose. so everytime i put side stand coolent leak.. u might want to check the hoses 1st..

Im loving every moment with my LV.

Hi all, since Ah Pek not here, anyone can help me here, my left side of bike right below is leaking out coolant, near the side stand nut area... anyone experience like this before?... any idea wats wrong with the bike?

i do! mine was leakage on the coolent hose. so everytime i put side stand coolent leak.. u might want to check the hoses 1st..

Im loving every moment with my LV.

Congrats...finally found your 'new' machine. I'll be there at about 10am..u been there b4, just come on down if its not raining.

alright see you there tmr 10am then. i just collected the bike today.