Hi guys, recently i have this scary problem.. I turn on the bike, but the bike did not turn on.. no lights no nth.. i check the fuse but all is still fine.. then after a while.. try again then ok le.. think might be wiring problem but dunno where. but is there other possible reason? Thank you all.. hee

i had tis problem last time on my other bike. u can try spraying wd40 into ur ignition switch thru the keyhole. den turn a couple of times.

maybe the contacts inside the ignition dirty.

tis was the case for me last time. might work for u too. if it dosent work for u den probaly ur problem is related to other things liao.

http://www.ralliart.com/img/anime.gif
  • Replies 18.1k

thanks 'ah pek' again for helping out today.

now my ride is so smooth...

like i mention earlier.. no more flat spot.. when i pull hard.

definately go back to ah foo if i need anything done at the workshop.:thumb::thumb:

Glad its great now..ride safe bro! :cheeky:

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

Hi ah pek,

will like to check with you when will u be back from Cambodia?

Its time for me to change EO,and my friend who came today will like to change the EO and probably do the grounding as well.

Probably after you are back from Cambodia,whenever you are available.

Thanks! :angel:

27 DEC 2007 - CLASS 2B

15 JAN 2008 - HONDA NSR 150 SP

07 APR 2009 - CLASS 2A

30 MAY 2009 - HONDA CB400 VERSION S

14 SEP 2009 - CLASS 3

14 OCT 2010 - CLASS 2

02 SEP 2011 - HONDA CBR600RR HRC

13 MAY 2013 - VESPA PX200 1985

22 JAN 2014 - DUCATI STREETFIGHTER S

hi ah pek... interested to try ur famed 'EO'... and i read that u do carb washing/tuning?? and all the other stuff like grounding etc... was wondering when u gonna have a meetup session again wif the rez of the guyz... interested in joining u all...

Hey Ah Pek!

Thanks a lot for coming down jus now!

Feel bad bout u getting wet in e rain,man!

But i relly appreciate u coming down to troubleshoot my bike!

I cant wait to try ya "special" EO! :thumb:

Hopefully my voltmeter works! :angel:

hey ah pek, thanks for introducing me to ah fook's place to do up my horn today, it works... anyway for the starter problem today according to ah fook its starter carbon.. dont really know what it is for but he mentioned that if i dont want to change have to try to "jerk" the bike in gear 2 throw clutch etc den try to start (if i dont push start)..

Was wondering how long could this last?

and ~$80 is quite a standard price for this?

http://www.keithurbanfans.net/signatures/TGHSsiggycopy.jpg
hey ah pek, thanks for introducing me to ah fook's place to do up my horn today, it works... anyway for the starter problem today according to ah fook its starter carbon.. dont really know what it is for but he mentioned that if i dont want to change have to try to "jerk" the bike in gear 2 throw clutch etc den try to start (if i dont push start)..

Was wondering how long could this last?

and ~$80 is quite a standard price for this?

"dont really know what it is for but he mentioned that if i dont want to change have to try to "jerk" the bike in gear 2 throw clutch etc den try to start (if i dont push start).."

What he meant is"push start" in 2nd gear as I have demostrated...LOL!

"~$80 is quite a standard price for this?"...what is this $80 for? If its carbon bush replacement..not such but if need not replaced..air blast cleaning may do the job but have to strip and open up the starter motor. Let me know what you want to do and i see what's best. If you can live wif it for the moment and the starting problem is not frequent..should be alright. In the mean time, take a wood piece and tap hard on the starter motor casing..helps sometime to solve this problem.:sian:

hi ah pek... interested to try ur famed 'EO'... and i read that u do carb washing/tuning?? and all the other stuff like grounding etc... was wondering when u gonna have a meetup session again wif the rez of the guyz... interested in joining u all...

Definitely not this weekend..be away for 5 days. No formality..just call and pop by anytime and meet fellow S4 riders with same interest.

My carbs cleansing need no tuning after that and its only 1/8 the cost of a usual mototiam method and 1/2 an hour the very most...same result..light on the hrottle.

"Eo"?..a must try and test for yourself lah..cheap and double the eo change interval. Just let me know a day ahead and note that its by appointment and personal interest basis.

Hey Ah Pek!

Thanks a lot for coming down jus now!

Feel bad bout u getting wet in e rain,man!

But i relly appreciate u coming down to troubleshoot my bike!

I cant wait to try ya "special" EO! :thumb:

Hopefully my voltmeter works! :angel:

Small matter...understand how it feels if I were you..no bike like got no legs like that. Yah..hope it don't get stuck at 12 volts reading all the time...LOL!

Call me before you go there tomorrow or the day after.

"dont really know what it is for but he mentioned that if i dont want to change have to try to "jerk" the bike in gear 2 throw clutch etc den try to start (if i dont push start).."

What he meant is"push start" in 2nd gear as I have demostrated...LOL!

"~$80 is quite a standard price for this?"...what is this $80 for? If its carbon bush replacement..not such but if need not replaced..air blast cleaning may do the job but have to strip and open up the starter motor. Let me know what you want to do and i see what's best. If you can live wif it for the moment and the starting problem is not frequent..should be alright. In the mean time, take a wood piece and tap hard on the starter motor casing..helps sometime to solve this problem.:sian:

hopefully it helps when i try to start my bike later, not exactly sure how to push start also hehe..

anyway he mentioned its for replacement of the starter carbon.. not exactly sure what is that tho..

hopefully it helps when i try to start my bike later, not exactly sure how to push start also hehe..

anyway he mentioned its for replacement of the starter carbon.. not exactly sure what is that tho..

Yah...in this case, you might as well have it replaced rather than falling over sometime while trying to push start. At any rate...you have to changed it sooner or later as its a wear and tear item.

A carbon brushes (the 2 grey pieces indicated in the diagram) which is to transfer current from a moving device to a stationary point within an electric circuit. Over a period of used..carbon dust can clogged or enlarge gaps formed thus transfer of current is affected thus affecting the starter motor operation in function.

http://www.morganite.com/images/animated_brush.gif

Check and retighten your battery -ve and +ve terminal. If problem still persist..post back here.:sian:

Hmm have check the connection.. seem to be alright.. cos my erp can work.. But still cannot work..

i had tis problem last time on my other bike. u can try spraying wd40 into ur ignition switch thru the keyhole. den turn a couple of times.

maybe the contacts inside the ignition dirty.

tis was the case for me last time. might work for u too. if it dosent work for u den probaly ur problem is related to other things liao.

hmm have spray the wd40 le.. but nth happen...

Thanks for all help again..:)

Edited by jiaxian85

:sleep: (--_--''') :sian:

pek, still got x1-r? how much per bottle now? i need 2

$38 ea :sian:

Hmm have check the connection.. seem to be alright.. cos my erp can work.. But still cannot work..

hmm have spray the wd40 le.. but nth happen...

Thanks for all help again..:)

"Hmm have check the connection.. seem to be alright.. cos my erp can work.. But still cannot work.."

Tell me how you check.."visually"?

ah pek. i finally would like to change my eo to ur blend. wanted to change the other time but when u recommended it to me i just changed it. with filter too. i read that u'll be away so i guess next weekend. u dont do weekdays rite?

Weekdays yes..tomorrow evening last round :angel:..otherwise, next week Tuesday or so onwards.

"Hmm have check the connection.. seem to be alright.. cos my erp can work.. But still cannot work.."

Tell me how you check.."visually"?

Hmmm.. I tried to tighten somemore but cannot tighten le.. but the erp is working when i put in the cash card so i suppose the power should be connected.. hee. :)

hi ah pek

tmr about 12 noon you free to help my friend do grounding?

hi ah pek

tmr about 12 noon you free to help my friend do grounding?

Can but be on schedule yah? :angel:

Hmmm.. I tried to tighten somemore but cannot tighten le.. but the erp is working when i put in the cash card so i suppose the power should be connected.. hee. :)

May have to check both your "kill switch" and key ingnition switch and the wiring under then. Also the solenoid assembly inside the left hand side cover..got two allen nut screw..make sure they are secure and not loose. Just bare in mind that this is a power source 'cut-off' problem.

just changed my starter carbon today, damage $120 with coolant.. should had listen to ah fook change it first.. anyway ahpek, any idea how much will the original honda fuel hose cost?

mine has to be replaced, currently using some normal hose as spare..

just changed my starter carbon today, damage $120 with coolant.. should had listen to ah fook change it first.. anyway ahpek, any idea how much will the original honda fuel hose cost?

mine has to be replaced, currently using some normal hose as spare..

Not sure but not cheap for labour. Very difficult to replace it especially accessing it to the carbs area. Save time and trouble..just do an extension for a small fee. May be free next week when I'm back, I can give it a go.

Can but be on schedule yah? :angel:

roger.. see you tmr.. thanks~

May have to check both your "kill switch" and key ingnition switch and the wiring under then. Also the solenoid assembly inside the left hand side cover..got two allen nut screw..make sure they are secure and not loose. Just bare in mind that this is a power source 'cut-off' problem.

alright thanks ah pek.. will try to check them out tml..