Just wanna say a very big thank you to Ah Pek here for solving the coolant leakage problem with my bike :p

Previously went to bike shop and spend $300 plus changing gasket, and doing their sealant mixture treatment, but problem still persist.

After then decided to go to Ah Pek, and tried his sealant mixture. What he explained to me is that the way the sealant mixture treatment is done is crucial to how successful it will be e.g. how existing coolant is flushed and drained away.

Its been two weeks since I've done the treatment, and so far so good, no leakage at all, and the coolant level has maintained the same :)

For those with a similar problem, I would suggest you guys get in touch with Ah Pek first before spending unnecessary money like me!

• Replies 18.1k

Just wanna say a very big thank you to Ah Pek here for solving the coolant leakage problem with my bike :p

Previously went to bike shop and spend $300 plus changing gasket, and doing their sealant mixture treatment, but problem still persist.

After then decided to go to Ah Pek, and tried his sealant mixture. What he explained to me is that the way the sealant mixture treatment is done is crucial to how successful it will be e.g. how existing coolant is flushed and drained away.

Its been two weeks since I've done the treatment, and so far so good, no leakage at all, and the coolant level has maintained the same :)

For those with a similar problem, I would suggest you guys get in touch with Ah Pek first before spending unnecessary money like me!

Wow!..thanks Soma!..never expect this coming from you..LOL! Again, thanks for the ":thumb:" kind words.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

Wow!..thanks Soma!..never expect this coming from you..LOL! Again, thanks for the ":thumb:" kind words.

Haha, I seldom post here, but this kind of info is important and good to share with more people :)

For me, if bike really got problem and need to spend money, no choice I don't mind as long as problem is solved, but I hate it when I go to bike shop, spend money and problem still persist, and they give you some runabout and complex explanation

And after trying your treatment, so far the coolant level has remained the same, don't even need to top up! :thumb: Thanks again

By the way, I noticed that at small throttle openings i.e. low revs around 1-2k, my bike seems a little jerky, and not as smooth as when the revs are higher. Is this normal? What might be the problem?

Haha, I seldom post here, but this kind of info is important and good to share with more people :)

For me, if bike really got problem and need to spend money, no choice I don't mind as long as problem is solved, but I hate it when I go to bike shop, spend money and problem still persist, and they give you some runabout and complex explanation

And after trying your treatment, so far the coolant level has remained the same, don't even need to top up! :thumb: Thanks again

By the way, I noticed that at small throttle openings i.e. low revs around 1-2k, my bike seems a little jerky, and not as smooth as when the revs are higher. Is this normal? What might be the problem?

Quite a "norm" thingy due to throttle slack mostly over period of time used. Have to remove tank (unless you have small and nimble fingers) to reach and adjust the throttle cables (pull and return), just above the carbs.. to tighten the slack lightly. Can be partially damage throttle stranded wires itself..have to look at it.

I see, I see. Maybe will drop by when you're free to let you have a look, or go to the Ah Fook workshop you recommended for him to help

No worries.

Hi ah pek,thanks for your help today - changing of EO.

But in the end,spent most of the time removing my crash bar,bent it,knock here and there.

HAHA.

Sorry about taking away your dinner time.

cya soon,thanks again :angel:

27 DEC 2007 - CLASS 2B

15 JAN 2008 - HONDA NSR 150 SP

07 APR 2009 - CLASS 2A

30 MAY 2009 - HONDA CB400 VERSION S

14 SEP 2009 - CLASS 3

14 OCT 2010 - CLASS 2

02 SEP 2011 - HONDA CBR600RR HRC

13 MAY 2013 - VESPA PX200 1985

22 JAN 2014 - DUCATI STREETFIGHTER S

Hi ah pek,thanks for your help today - changing of EO.

But in the end,spent most of the time removing my crash bar,bent it,knock here and there.

HAHA.

Sorry about taking away your dinner time.

cya soon,thanks again :angel:

No worries lah...what need to be done that can be done and makes one happy is a joy for all :angel:

AH FOOK MOTOR

HP:9297 8085

BLK 5032 #01-295

Ang Mo Kio Industrial Park 2

Singapore 569535

Thanks hanxx. May visit this Saturday, depends wheter busy or not.

ah pek.

i got a question for u here.

Is it normal for our reserve coolant container to go empty? was told that its not normal as there might be something leaking somehere...

thanks !

D437S Gi-pro Dynamx volt RCS 19 Gianelli W custom SK silencer BMC air filt H&BJr 40L Scottoiler Bridgesport L valve HID Ventura headl PR3 Custom made radiator guard 3M Carbon IU Ohlins YA-041 BMW grips Motovation front fork & rear axle slider Barend slider Titax adjustable clutch Crampbuster Ram Mount W Aquabox USB charger Custom made Sargent Inspired seats@eugene saddlery

ah pek.

i got a question for u here.

Is it normal for our reserve coolant container to go empty? was told that its not normal as there might be something leaking somehere...

thanks !

That's correct. But if there is no leaking, it could be the thermostat faulty or the coolant pump not working and coolant are trapped and eventually gotten evaporated. Choked water coolant passage clogged may caused the problem too. If this is allow to go on, engine block water jacket can cracked.

ah pek, when can i meet u up to change EO?

Can come anytime before 6 pm today. Morning oso can.

Heh guys...just got news that Malaysia dealers and reseller are controlling the prices for EPS because they are doing bulk buy and as agreed buy the supplier. The popular V3 model (now at $160) is going up by at least $30. Was told selling at $200+ but the E300 still same price.

Anyone here interested can pm me soonest.

That's correct. But if there is no leaking, it could be the thermostat faulty or the coolant pump not working and coolant are trapped and eventually gotten evaporated. Choked water coolant passage clogged may caused the problem too. If this is allow to go on, engine block water jacket can cracked.

so what do u suggest i should do now? =)

D437S Gi-pro Dynamx volt RCS 19 Gianelli W custom SK silencer BMC air filt H&BJr 40L Scottoiler Bridgesport L valve HID Ventura headl PR3 Custom made radiator guard 3M Carbon IU Ohlins YA-041 BMW grips Motovation front fork & rear axle slider Barend slider Titax adjustable clutch Crampbuster Ram Mount W Aquabox USB charger Custom made Sargent Inspired seats@eugene saddlery

so what do u suggest i should do now? =)

Did you do anything lately to the coolant system?

Have to top up and see where is leaking if any, otherwise hve to check both thermostat and coolant pump.

check wif u guys ah, if u guys buy a street legal pipe need to do tuning at the carbs ah? then if u buy it from forum then how?

Im loving every moment with my LV.

and wats the difference btw vtec and non vtec size tire? we are afterall same family. y vtec is much bigger then non vtec? i just wonder y. are their bike more heavier then us and thats y they need a bigger tire?

I guess there are reasons behind why vtec uses bigger tyres compared to non vtec.

Performance wise,I still think that non vtec shldnt go change to vtec tyres size.

The size of the tyres being designed probably is for the optimum performance.

Im riding S4 Ver S but using vtec size tyres - since its from the previous owner.

Didnt find any BOOST of performance using vtec tyres.haha.

My suggestion: non vtec - use non vtec tyres.lol

27 DEC 2007 - CLASS 2B

15 JAN 2008 - HONDA NSR 150 SP

07 APR 2009 - CLASS 2A

30 MAY 2009 - HONDA CB400 VERSION S

14 SEP 2009 - CLASS 3

14 OCT 2010 - CLASS 2

02 SEP 2011 - HONDA CBR600RR HRC

13 MAY 2013 - VESPA PX200 1985

22 JAN 2014 - DUCATI STREETFIGHTER S

u shld use a search function n dont be lazy.....cheapest so far i know is unique motors at ubi or autobay...recently went there changed aeromax 110/140 for $195. u can find their tire pricing in the sales announcement section in unique motorsports...if u reli wan reli reli reli cheap den go ah boy....hhheheheheehehehhe...good luck

any 1 know which shop sell the cheapest tyre ? pls pm mi thanks ...

I ride at 70km/hr only...please please dont blow2 at me or overtake me dangerously....wait i change into Incredible Hulk n dont know why my little baby bike will always be ahead of u if u do that

Anyone used the non-original sprockets from ah boy before? I would like to know if there are any negative reviews..

X-ring chain (DID) + sprockets = $120-140

In a Time of Universal Deceit, Telling the Truth is a Revolutionary Act

I guess there are reasons behind why vtec uses bigger tyres compared to non vtec.

Performance wise,I still think that non vtec shldnt go change to vtec tyres size.

The size of the tyres being designed probably is for the optimum performance.

Im riding S4 Ver S but using vtec size tyres - since its from the previous owner.

Didnt find any BOOST of performance using vtec tyres.haha.

My suggestion: non vtec - use non vtec tyres.lol

well, im using 140 rear tire. performance maybe its lighter then 160 but maybe no cornering? i just find it that 140 is like to small for super4, like riding a kr with a "sotong" tire.. haha!:)

Anyone used the non-original sprockets from ah boy before? I would like to know if there are any negative reviews..

X-ring chain (DID) + sprockets = $120-140

no problem,

just regular lube it.

i just remember i was changed on early CNY for balik Kampung.

just adjust the chain once.

well, im using 140 rear tire. performance maybe its lighter then 160 but maybe no cornering? i just find it that 140 is like to small for super4, like riding a kr with a "sotong" tire.. haha!:)

150/80 just good

i am using Dunlop ArrowMax.