I have just done my visual inspection on the front rim and I found a dent on it... it is on the right side... I personally think that it is quite a big dent...

Is there anything I can do?

What should I do?

If I don't do anything, is there any safety implication?

haiz.... :(

The rear rim looks okie... The left side of the front rim also looks okie... only this dent on the right front rim...

I don't have any equipment to jack up the front to do the rest of the check yet... so that's all I discovered for now.... :(

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f175/alvin176/Misc/Img259.jpg

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f175/alvin176/Misc/Img258.jpg

My god!! Bro, tat kulai trip n tat crater's gonna cost u big time man!! Tat's quite a bad dent.

Best is for u to replace it man.. its gonna be dangerous cornering n riding with it.

Check out ebay frm time to time.. nw tat the SGD$ fares better then the green bag USD$, perhaps u may be able to get after-market rims at gd deals from ebay.

My heart goes out to u man.. :weep:

• Replies 56.7k

• Nok97

• NormalAspirated

• HYB80Y

• quizesilver

Bought cover at Regina's, Raintech Motocubo 4L (non heat resist)= able to cover my bike and the one next to mine.At $20. Bought Revoil chain lube( becos they onli have castrol large can) at $6 but it sprays out like WD40 w/o foam.Is it any good?

"if you have the money, can order the OEM Busa cover from Suzuki. cost about $150."

From Guan Hoe? Heat resistant?

Ermm.. as for bike cover, u shld have spent abit more to get the heat resistant cover.. like mine, after riding, i can juz cover my bike and the cover would not melt. Can be bought from LAB @ $30 if im not mistaken.

If u do have the $$, invest in Scottoiler. Save u lotsa hassle, u may opt not to get a main stand as well. (1 of the reason pple get themselves main-stands is bcoz it would help elevate the bike so as to rotate the wheel with much ease n oiling the chain at the same time or juz to wash their rear rims)

Another reason for pple to get a main-stand is the betta parking posture of the bike (uses less space as ur bike is up-right instead of slanting) and also to get stability when parking (one of Busa's fault from the yester years till nw is the side-stand - trust me, lotsa riders here have bad experienced when it comes to the side-stand)

Oh, if u wanna noe, I got my main-stand at KS Motor, situated direct opposite Regina. Price was S$135 w/o installation.

Ermm.. as for bike cover, u shld have spent abit more to get the heat resistant cover.. like mine, after riding, i can juz cover my bike and the cover would not melt. Can be bought from LAB @ $30 if im not mistaken.

If u do have the $$, invest in Scottoiler. Save u lotsa hassle, u may opt not to get a main stand as well. (1 of the reason pple get themselves main-stands is bcoz it would help elevate the bike so as to rotate the wheel with much ease n oiling the chain at the same time or juz to wash their rear rims)

Another reason for pple to get a main-stand is the betta parking posture of the bike (uses less space as ur bike is up-right instead of slanting) and also to get stability when parking (one of Busa's fault from the yester years till nw is the side-stand - trust me, lotsa riders here have bad experienced when it comes to the side-stand)

Oh, if u wanna noe, I got my main-stand at KS Motor, situated direct opposite Regina. Price was S$135 w/o installation.

how much is ur scootolier?

Kaieiru said he pressed his rim 3 years ago and so far max speed was at 240km/hr he also added not sure if the rim is ok or if he is very lucky.

i mean the avg cruising speed as 240... i have hit higher speeds b4 with those rim..

the main concern i would say is most would think that a pressed rim will "self-destruct" at 300..

There's no replacement for displacement except for a blower

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2157/2142887179_265ff6ef3a_m.jpghttp://ionicdynamics.com/decal7.jpg

IBA Member #25269

I see...anyway,thanks all for all the advices. :)

I thought a thought. But the thought I thought wasn't the thought I thought I thought. If the thought I thought I thought had been the thought I thought, I wouldn't have thought so much.

http://i188.photobucket.com/albums/z157/sfazruzs/My%20Car/CutePorsheSfazruzs.jpg

Propaganda outweighs journalism, prejudice defeats dialogue

where did u get ur scootoiler?

how abt the rest of u guys?

Previously,i use scotoiler without e system,only oil...but then when the chain is being oiled excessively, the wires inside will become oily too...I didnt notice it until i fix my gipro..so now i change to maxima to avoid the oily thingy if i oiled it excessively... :thumb:

I was informed last time the d.i.y system for scottoiler is around $30-$50..

I thought a thought. But the thought I thought wasn't the thought I thought I thought. If the thought I thought I thought had been the thought I thought, I wouldn't have thought so much.

http://i188.photobucket.com/albums/z157/sfazruzs/My%20Car/CutePorsheSfazruzs.jpg

Propaganda outweighs journalism, prejudice defeats dialogue

well like i've mentioned check for hairline cracks with magnifiying glass.

if all is ok then wun have much prob.... friend of mine rides a ST11 bike buang due to oil on road then front hits kerb fork bent n rim dented.

also press back now riding with it for a year liao all is fine n he rides up to 200km/h at times.

just dun be so unlucky as to have another incident at the ssame part of the rim lor.. coz alrdy weaken liao..

make sure u wash ur thumb then u suck hor or can dip the thumb into chocolate dip 1st... :lol:

just for sharing since my job will check on all this.

u dun use magnifying glass to check for cracks. u use Dye Penetrant for such test.

http://www.contech.com/Dye_Penetrant.htm

dont ask me where can do the test.

most company with ISO doing welding will have this. to ensure that they do not have any crack in the product.

http://images.quizesilver.multiply.com/image/8/photos/19/500x500/1/Picture3.jpg?et=pp72A3vHiyWV%2B1gmEDuh4g&nmid=137248738
After all is not my life at stake. Kaieiru said he pressed his rim 3 years ago and so far max speed was at 240km/hr he also added not sure if the rim is ok or if he is very lucky.

i mean the avg cruising speed as 240... i have hit higher speeds b4 with those rim..

the main concern i would say is most would think that a pressed rim will "self-destruct" at 300..

haha since when u will travel below 240 in nsh... :cheeky:

http://images.quizesilver.multiply.com/image/8/photos/19/500x500/1/Picture3.jpg?et=pp72A3vHiyWV%2B1gmEDuh4g&nmid=137248738
haha since when u will travel below 240 in nsh... :cheeky:

when it's raining and the road is wet? :angel: :cheeky: i juz barely cross 300 once only so i shld be quite safe with my pressed rim.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2157/2142887179_265ff6ef3a_m.jpghttp://ionicdynamics.com/decal7.jpg

IBA Member #25269

u dun use magnifying glass to check for cracks. u use Dye Penetrant for such test.

most company with ISO doing welding will have this. to ensure that they do not have any crack in the product.

:thumb: great info...

IBA Member #25269

u also need a "black light" or uv light and inspection should be done in dark places ... nite time maybe ....

when apply the penetrant , wait for at least 30 mins before washing it off ... or using acetone , brushing on it .... to see any cracks on it ....

- Non Destructive Testing inspector

i can (under table) supply u some penetrant n acetone provided u supply me some small containers but where on earth will u find the "black light" ?

u also need a "black light" or uv light and inspection should be done in dark places ... nite time maybe ....

when apply the penetrant , wait for at least 30 mins before washing it off ... or using acetone , brushing on it .... to see any cracks on it ....

- Non Destructive Testing inspector

i can (under table) supply u some penetrant n acetone provided u supply me some small containers but where on earth will u find the "black light" ?

if i'm not wrong, sim lim tower does sell those small portable UV flashlights...

used them once for looking at organisms with florescent staining..

IBA Member #25269

Good info. :thumb:

Anyway, I do believe that when uncle stan suggested using the magnifying glass, its for laymen like me who do not have the resources to get all those equipment to properly check for cracks. So the easiest and fuss free way is to use a magnifying glass to look at the dented area... :)

http://rccturbos.com/components/com_virtuemart/shop_image/product/45989287cf3f120011ba67834e3005c1.jpg

Clutch Cable Conversion for Hayabusa

Product Description:

Billet Clutch Cable Conversion for Hayabusa This new cable conversion is hard black anodized, includes all necessary hardware, including case savers, all stainless fasteners, and our RCC logo engraved in the cover.

Price:

$ 340 (USD)

better feel for the clutch engagement than the stock hydraulic system... no more leaking clutch slave pump...

IBA Member #25269

very useful info.... as for my method it's just visual checking...

my method very old liao 20years back :lol:

technology advance but i never lor.... :angel:

http://rccturbos.com/components/com_virtuemart/shop_image/product/45989287cf3f120011ba67834e3005c1.jpg

Clutch Cable Conversion for Hayabusa

Product Description:

Billet Clutch Cable Conversion for Hayabusa This new cable conversion is hard black anodized, includes all necessary hardware, including case savers, all stainless fasteners, and our RCC logo engraved in the cover.

Price:

$ 340 (USD)

better feel for the clutch engagement than the stock hydraulic system... no more leaking clutch slave pump...

wah for that price can get brembo clutch master pump..

http://motorride.net/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/2012-Kawasaki-D-Tracker.jpg
Bought cover at Regina's, Raintech Motocubo 4L (non heat resist)= able to cover my bike and the one next to mine.At $20. Bought Revoil chain lube( becos they onli have castrol large can) at $6 but it sprays out like WD40 w/o foam.Is it any good?

you mean your bike cover can cover two bikes? woa hoh! so big ah? that means you intend to buy another Hayabusa so can cover both together right? :cheeky: for that chain lube you bought, it is not bad. but you may have a problem of dirt flicks.

BMW R1200GS Adventure

Moto Guzzi V7 Racer

"if you have the money, can order the OEM Busa cover from Suzuki. cost about $150."

From Guan Hoe? Heat resistant?

you can get more information here

http://www.suzukicycles.com/Accessories/detail.aspx?modelId=a28e0cd6-961c-402d-a925-d85f22c1c396&accessoryCategoryId=&accessoryId=d838b889-25df-43e4-8994-eb0f21880afc

this cover is totally heat resistant. you can cover your bike straight after you park. it has locking loops too. great looks. but careful as it attracts alot of attention.

http://www.suzukicycles.com/cache/Accessory/thumbs/d838b889-25df-43e4-8994-eb0f21880afc.jpg

BMW R1200GS Adventure

Moto Guzzi V7 Racer

good stuff can wait... looi's alway give surprise to customers.:faint:

went down to Looi's the other day. guys can only drool over that white K8 hayabusa he has there. he is not selling it. his style is to display that and make people drool and gian then will buy from him :cheeky:

BMW R1200GS Adventure

Moto Guzzi V7 Racer

what surprise?? free arai helment?

you wait long long ah. free "Pilot" or "GPR" brand helmet got la. if you buy your Busa from him, he will give you the rear hump for free. :cheeky:

BMW R1200GS Adventure

Moto Guzzi V7 Racer

you wait long long ah. free "Pilot" or "GPR" brand helmet got la. if you buy your Busa from him, he will give you the rear hump for free. :cheeky:

oh...cool....what with the rear hump?

you can get more information here

http://www.suzukicycles.com/Accessories/detail.aspx?modelId=a28e0cd6-961c-402d-a925-d85f22c1c396&accessoryCategoryId=&accessoryId=d838b889-25df-43e4-8994-eb0f21880afc

this cover is totally heat resistant. you can cover your bike straight after you park. it has locking loops too. great looks. but careful as it attracts alot of attention.

http://www.suzukicycles.com/cache/Accessory/thumbs/d838b889-25df-43e4-8994-eb0f21880afc.jpg

where to get those haya jacket at the site u post?