• Replies 40

Eh firstly, R15 is a sports bike, but tiger is more of a street bike type..

I never ride any of the bike before, but looking at the reviews over here, R15 has better fc, power wise tiger will win. Top speed both bikes are about the same, i think u will be looking more into the acceleration part since sg is a Stop and Go and Stop again situation. Acceleration i wont be able to answer thou =p diff ppl diff hiong-ness

http://www.bikez.com/pictures/honda/1997/27561_0_1_2_tiger%202000_Honda%20Tiger%202000%20Copyright%20%20-%20JAB%20SJRC%20002.jpg

Model: Honda Tiger 2000

Year: 1997

Category: Naked bike

Rating: 63.8 out of 100. Show full rating and compare with other bikes

Safety: See our safety campaign with the high safety rated bikes in this category.

Engine and transmission

Displacement: 197.00 ccm (12.02 cubic inches)

Engine type: Single cylinder

Stroke: 4

Fuel system: Injection

Starter: Electric & kick

Cooling system: Air

Gearbox: 5-speed

Transmission type

final drive: Chain

Physical measures

Chassis and dimensions

Rear tyre dimensions: 100/90-18

Front brakes: Single disc

Rear brakes: Expanding brake (drum brake)

Speed and acceleration

Top speed: 150.0 km/h (93.2 mph)

==========================

http://www.yamaha-motor-india.com/product/r15/img/main-page-image_04.jpg

Engine type Liquid-cooled, 4-stroke, SOHC, 4-valve

Cylinder arrangement Single cylinder

Displacement 149 .8cc

Bore & Stroke 57×58.7mm

Compression ratio 10.4:1

Maximum power 17PS / 8,500rpm

Maximum torque 15 N.m / 7,500rpm

Starting system Electric Start

Lubrication wet sump

Engine oil capacity 1.0 liters

Fuel tank capacity 12 liters

Fuel supply system Electronic fuel injection

Ignition system T.C.I

Primary / Secondary reduction ratio 3.042 / 3.000

Clutch type Constant-mesh wet multi-plate

Transmission type Return type 6-speed

Gear ratios 1st=2.833, 2nd=1.875, 3rd:=1.364,

4th=1.143, 5th=0.957, 6th=0.84

Chassis

Frame type Deltabox Frame

Caster / Trail 26° / 100mm

Tire size (Front / Rear) 80/90-17 / 100/80-17

Brake type (Front / Rear) Hydraulic, single disc (Front / Rear)

Suspension type (Front / Rear) Telescopic / Linked type Monocross

Headlight 12V35W / 35W+35W

dimensions

Overall length x width x height 1,995mm x 670mm x 1,070mm

Seat height 790mm

Wheelbase 1,290mm

Minimum ground clearance 160mm

Dry weight / Curb weight 120kg / 131kg

Bro, the honda tiger you shown us is the old one. There is the new Honda tiger which the headlights are super ugly.

http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs512.snc3/26893_10150131241620113_874490112_11687042_6305857_n.jpghttp://photos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs492.snc3/26893_10150131241630113_874490112_11687044_1939027_n.jpg

Model: Honda Tiger 2000

Year: 1997

Category: Naked bike

Rating: 63.8 out of 100. Show full rating and compare with other bikes

Safety: See our safety campaign with the high safety rated bikes in this category.

Engine and transmission

Displacement: 197.00 ccm (12.02 cubic inches)

Engine type: Single cylinder

Stroke: 4

Fuel system: Injection

Starter: Electric & kick

Cooling system: Air

Gearbox: 5-speed

Transmission type

final drive: Chain

Physical measures

Chassis and dimensions

Rear tyre dimensions: 100/90-18

Front brakes: Single disc

Rear brakes: Expanding brake (drum brake)

Speed and acceleration

Top speed: 150.0 km/h (93.2 mph)

==========================

http://www.yamaha-motor-india.com/product/r15/img/main-page-image_04.jpg

Engine type Liquid-cooled, 4-stroke, SOHC, 4-valve

Cylinder arrangement Single cylinder

Displacement 149 .8cc

Bore & Stroke 57×58.7mm

Compression ratio 10.4:1

Maximum power 17PS / 8,500rpm

Maximum torque 15 N.m / 7,500rpm

Starting system Electric Start

Lubrication wet sump

Engine oil capacity 1.0 liters

Fuel tank capacity 12 liters

Fuel supply system Electronic fuel injection

Ignition system T.C.I

Primary / Secondary reduction ratio 3.042 / 3.000

Clutch type Constant-mesh wet multi-plate

Transmission type Return type 6-speed

Gear ratios 1st=2.833, 2nd=1.875, 3rd:=1.364,

4th=1.143, 5th=0.957, 6th=0.84

Chassis

Frame type Deltabox Frame

Caster / Trail 26° / 100mm

Tire size (Front / Rear) 80/90-17 / 100/80-17

Brake type (Front / Rear) Hydraulic, single disc (Front / Rear)

Suspension type (Front / Rear) Telescopic / Linked type Monocross

Headlight 12V35W / 35W+35W

dimensions

Overall length x width x height 1,995mm x 670mm x 1,070mm

Seat height 790mm

Wheelbase 1,290mm

Minimum ground clearance 160mm

Dry weight / Curb weight 120kg / 131kg

here is an updated version from my personal collection of pics! :thumb:

Look at the ugly headlights...

Hi there. Firstly the Yamaha R15 is a Sports Bike whereas the Tiger is a Street Bike. Both are Class 2B.

Ok, I currently own a Tiger and I can talk about it. Erm, the specs provided by xXxRatedxXx is for the older version of the Tiger. The current new ones available in Singapore are the Tiger Revo (the one i own). The bike is imported from Indonesia, and it is a very popular bike there. The engine cap is 198cc and it is pretty powerful. Pick-up wise is solid, and crusing around at 90-110km/h is very smooth. I think the top speed caps at around 130++ (although I have heard 150km/h is possible on the Tiger, but cant confirm). I have only pushed my bike up to 125km/h and its is smooth at this speed too. The Tiger Revo also has a 6-speed gearbox (instead of the 5 speed on the older version). And yes, the bike sports an asymetric headlights design. Some people think its ugly, but personally I think it is alright and infact somewhat resemble those on the BMW models. The fuel consumption on this bike is excellent too, ~12L gives me about 450km on the roads. I purchased this bike because I was lured by the overall design and because I perfer street bikes over sport bikes, especially the seating posture. Overall I think the Tiger is an excellent 2B bike. Plus it's a Honda, so you can't go wrong with it. :)

I cant say much for the Yamaha R15, although I have test rode a friend's bike. Like I mention before, I dont really fancy the sport bike seating posture. Apart from that, I would say its like any other 2B sport bike, just that it has a newer design.

Ride Free, Ride Hard, and Ride Safe.

Current ride:Hyundai i30 CW (Sept 2016 - Present)

Yamaha FZ1-S (Aug 2014 - Present)

Previous ride: Honda Tiger 200 (Oct 2009 - Jun 2012)

Suzuki GSR 600 (Jun 2012 - Sept 2013)

Hyundai Matrix (Jun 2013 - Aug 2016)
Hi there. Firstly the Yamaha R15 is a Sports Bike whereas the Tiger is a Street Bike. Both are Class 2B.

Ok, I currently own a Tiger and I can talk about it. Erm, the specs provided by xXxRatedxXx is for the older version of the Tiger. The current new ones available in Singapore are the Tiger Revo (the one i own). The bike is imported from Indonesia, and it is a very popular bike there. The engine cap is 198cc and it is pretty powerful. Pick-up wise is solid, and crusing around at 90-110km/h is very smooth. I think the top speed caps at around 130++ (although I have heard 150km/h is possible on the Tiger, but cant confirm). I have only pushed my bike up to 125km/h and its is smooth at this speed too. The Tiger Revo also has a 6-speed gearbox (instead of the 5 speed on the older version). And yes, the bike sports an asymetric headlights design. Some people think its ugly, but personally I think it is alright and infact somewhat resemble those on the BMW models. The fuel consumption on this bike is excellent too, ~12L gives me about 450km on the roads. I purchased this bike because I was lured by the overall design and because I perfer street bikes over sport bikes, especially the seating posture. Overall I think the Tiger is an excellent 2B bike. Plus it's a Honda, so you can't go wrong with it. :)

I cant say much for the Yamaha R15, although I have test rode a friend's bike. Like I mention before, I dont really fancy the sport bike seating posture. Apart from that, I would say its like any other 2B sport bike, just that it has a newer design.

Very interesting... thx for sharing the latest info... from what i heard from uncles riding it.... its got a huge fuel tank... and 6 gears is very nice. Its about $7000 OTR?

Now the 6-speed gearbox and the fuel consumption is a plus point! How about spare parts?

Haha, the eyebrown point is funny. Hmmm, when I bought it last year October, total cost me near $8K (incl insurance). Hmmm, yes people have asked me about the availability of parts, but then I ask them, what kind of parts (be it Honda OEM or aftermarket parts) are you looking for? Because honestly, like I have done some minor changes like changed to aftermarket mirrors, handlebar, etc and all fit well, and no issues here. Summore its a Honda bike, so rest assured the mechanical side of the bike all parts can be easily serviced as parts are available. Maybe if you want to change exterior things like fairing or what, then maybe got challenge cause this bike is still new/rare in Sg...

Ride Free, Ride Hard, and Ride Safe.

Current ride:Hyundai i30 CW (Sept 2016 - Present)

Yamaha FZ1-S (Aug 2014 - Present)

Previous ride: Honda Tiger 200 (Oct 2009 - Jun 2012)

Suzuki GSR 600 (Jun 2012 - Sept 2013)

Hyundai Matrix (Jun 2013 - Aug 2016)

omg ur tiger's fc makes me drool. 37.5km/litre.. damn...

Current bike= YAMAHA TZM 150

Future bike= YAMAHA TZR 250

I was thinking to get the tiger or r15, then at last decided to get twister cbx 250. Consumption about 31-32km per litre of petrol.

Be happy always :-)

Ride alert at all times :angel:

1st bike - Yamaha RXZ - 135cc

2nd bike - Honda FireBlade series - 400cc

3rd bike - Yamaha RXZ- 135cc

4th bike - Suzuki GSXR K-series - 600cc

5th bike - Kawasaki KRR - 150cc

6th bike - Honda CBX Twister - 250cc

~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~

I was thinking to get the tiger or r15, then at last decided to get twister cbx 250. Consumption about 31-32km per litre of petrol.

Spare parts and power how? Okay not?

Why? I thought your YBR is the bestest of the best? :cheeky:

Because i wanna compare and make sure that the YBR is the bestest of the best! :cheeky:

Spare parts and power how? Okay not?

spare part can be found in singapore.

what parts you need?spark plug/EO/gasket?

worst to worst import from oversea. Indonesia is so near.

Why? I thought your YBR is the bestest of the best? :cheeky:

his ybr can fly you dunno meh?too fast until the rpm meter give way...

Because i wanna compare and make sure that the YBR is the bestest of the best! :cheeky:

impossible..............can see you got a hard time chasing after my 1993 honda cg.

honda tiger pricing compare to twister 250 is abt the same.(those holding class2A will get twister 250 for sure.)

tiger is a good bike for starter.

super good FC

14.4L fuel tank.bonues to those going to MY for refill.

decent bike

good riding posture

easy maintance.1L of EO and 1 spark plug

can diy self maintance

down side

a bit heavy.for small size rider

using 520 chain.

R15

i tried my friend R15.

decent pick-up

comfort crusing speed abt 90km/h

full tank can travel abt 430km

a bit too plastic

stylo-milo fairing

good for youngster

riding posture is ok.

light weight-120kg

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

You don't know my weight sia. I shy wanna say out so loud. You see my size you already can guess. Shh... :cheeky:

i dun think you can be heavier than me.i weight 98kg.

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

i dun think you can be heavier than me.i weight 98kg.

That's why its good to be tall. People assume i am lighter than i actually am. :) Man i need to lose weight sia. I want to run but everyday rain. Sian.

Anyway, are the Honda tiger's parts interchangeable with other honda bikes like the CG and CBF?

That's why its good to be tall. People assume i am lighter than i actually am. :) Man i need to lose weight sia. I want to run but everyday rain. Sian.

Anyway, are the Honda tiger's parts interchangeable with other honda bikes like the CG and CBF?

have to see. below item can be interchangeable

handle bar

mirrors

screw

nuts

signal light

signal flasher

spark plug

bulbs

tire

rims (have to change spacer)

theres a will theres a way to retro fit into the bike.