Originally posted by redname@Feb 9 2005, 10:08 AM

change bike lor

wah i tink dis is the most constructive comment.

• Replies 833

Originally posted by ooniq@Feb 9 2005, 10:18 AM

or u can always find 5 vtec riders to change oil with u.... share 1 bottle, each 0.2l

hahahaha... finding 1 oredi got problem ah bro...

Originally posted by newbie@Feb 9 2005, 01:08 PM

hahahaha... finding 1 oredi got problem ah bro...

buy 4 bottles, then ur next servicing u buy 3 enuff liao cos still gt 0.8L left....tat wat i did....:smile:

No Time To Think Of One

Guest mattdillion97403
Originally posted by S4Sixty@Feb 9 2005, 04:04 AM

Well maybe firstly, u could tell us what u do with ur bike ?

Track, tour, road, high rev, cruise ?

Maybe also ur budget ?

Cheers !

I use my S4 only on the road in Singapore (combination of highway and city traffic), usually travelling no more than 90 kmph. I don't rev my baby .... I mean bike. Yup, for my baby ... bike, budget is secondary. Thanks.

Hi guys, as I'm left with 6 bottles of Total Oil, I decided to try the oil on my Spec 2 (budget me.. :p). I felt that the engine sounds louder and its much warmer than normal. I was using R4 previously. Has anyone done the same b4? Did anyone experience the same thing as me?

Make Safe Riding A Practise In Our Everyday Life.

i think u better dun use the TOTAL oil for ur precious bike cos i previously tried it before and it really s**ks. my engine felt rough, hot and vibrations is even stronger. personally i prefer spending a little more now in choosing 4t as higher grade oils protects ur engine better thus longer engine life. :smile:

[OM MANI PADME HOM]

don't worry, i believe it's because total is a heavier oil, especially if compared with fully synthetic oils. I assume that's what you are basing your comparisons too. I'm using total from carrefour on my spec2 too for almost 1 1/2 yrs already, no problem as far as i can tell.

Juz remember to change regularly.:goodluck:

Originally posted by Tai@Feb 16 2005, 10:43 PM

Hi guys, as I'm left with 6 bottles of Total Oil, I decided to try the oil on my Spec 2 (budget me.. :p). I felt that the engine sounds louder and its much warmer than normal. I was using R4 previously. Has anyone done the same b4? Did anyone experience the same thing as me?

how come u got so many bottles ah? curious leh.... u werk at Carrefour ah? hahaha...

Originally posted by deathwardens@Feb 16 2005, 11:07 PM

don't worry, i believe it's because total is a heavier oil, especially if compared with fully synthetic oils. I assume that's what you are basing your comparisons too. I'm using total from carrefour on my spec2 too for almost 1 1/2 yrs already, no problem as far as i can tell.

Juz remember to change regularly.:goodluck:

dats such a welcoming assurance.. hahaha.. coz im using Total oso...

Originally posted by newbie@Feb 17 2005, 01:23 PM

how come u got so many bottles ah? curious leh.... u werk at Carrefour ah? hahaha...

haha.. no la.. I'm left with 3 bottles, den my friend gave up riding and gave me his other 3bottles also.. end up with 6bottles..

deathwardens, so how long mileage you go before you do an oil change?

Make Safe Riding A Practise In Our Everyday Life.

I try the Total engine oil from carrefour, it sux!!! :nono: after 1000km engine rough and heats up easily. Going to switch back to Repsol.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

Guest motofreak

No prob for me also. Been using it over a year or so for my vtec1. Engine running as per normal. Temperature is negligable. Guess some of u guys like to drag the bike a lot. Or its just that the engine long time got prob.

Heat problem I dont think the fault lies with the oil and i am using it for a couple of years but I do change the oil every 2000km or so.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Originally posted by hachi@Feb 18 2005, 08:59 AM

Heat problem I dont think the fault lies with the oil and i am using it for a couple of years but I do change the oil every 2000km or so.

Sorry man, i disagree.

Oil is for lub. Lousy oil gives lousy lub to the engine.

Lousy lub = more friction = more heat.

My Own Experience,

When I used the total oil, i felt the same thing as other Users. Engine darn hot, engine rough, difficult to kick gear.

The moment I made a change to Royal Purple, said to reduce friction. The engine became much smoother, the ride is more enjoyable. Even after 4-5k km, it still feels good.

I used to feel Total was good and cheap. It is easy to say that when I have yet to experence better oils. Now, it is a NONO for my bike. Come to think of it, there are pple who never change engine oil for years and still say engine is good...

Please change to better oils for your engine's sake.

BTW, using ELF engine oil now, good and value for money.

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid93/pc583423301d0eeaec1cdc614deb298dc/fa468109.jpg

come on guys, i suppose everyone do treat their bike preciously. so, i think its more appropriate to use good oil(even though its alittle ex) insteaD of cheapo oils. for those who said they dun fell any diff; although u dun feel anything, but do u know wat is exactly happening in ur gearbox? :sian:

[OM MANI PADME HOM]

Originally posted by Zon@Feb 18 2005, 09:26 AM

Sorry man, i disagree.

Oil is for lub. Lousy oil gives lousy lub to the engine.

Lousy lub = more friction = more heat.

My Own Experience,

When I used the total oil, i felt the same thing as other Users. Engine darn hot, engine rough, difficult to kick gear.

The moment I made a change to Royal Purple, said to reduce friction. The engine became much smoother, the ride is more enjoyable. Even after 4-5k km, it still feels good.

I used to feel Total was good and cheap. It is easy to say that when I have yet to experence better oils. Now, it is a NONO for my bike. Come to think of it, there are pple who never change engine oil for years and still say engine is good...

Please change to better oils for your engine's sake.

BTW, using ELF engine oil now, good and value for money.

where u get ur royal purple and elf oil frm? prics?

[OM MANI PADME HOM]

Guest bomerman81

argree with u man....

using gd EO not oli protects ur engine , oso makes ur riding more smooth...

Same as mi

But i change oil every 6 months with RP but with Total every 2 months

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Originally posted by kennethy@Feb 17 2005, 11:05 AM

by the way, just wondering how you dispose the old engine oil?

care to share? thanks.

i dispose it at my fren'z workshop, he's a car mech.:cheeky:

i know some mech shops do allow u to dump ur used oil w them too, but might need to give 'kopi lui' lah.

some forumers might even know of places that collects them for free....i think some of them mentioned in past posts in other threads.

frankly i believe there are many factors how smooth your engine runs and how hot...

i mean there's still coolant, do you change it once a yr min? Some of the more on guys change twice yearly.:bounce: Hot doesn't mean engine oil's fault also mah.

I do admit a good i.e. fully synthetics, will give you a smoother running engine for a longer time. But the relative cost is also higher. One litre of fully syn is like $15-$20+, with that amount, i would 've gotten my oil changed already (by myself, of course).:cheeky:

As for me, my engine oil change is 2500km min, max is 3000km max. Furthermore, I am not much into racing with my bike, so I can say my gear changes are still good. :goodluck:

At the end of the day, it's really how we care for our bike that will make the difference. Good warm up, oils flowing then ride off...

Originally posted by Daijiro@Feb 19 2005, 06:45 PM

where u get ur royal purple and elf oil frm? prics?

The royal purple got from some distributors. Forgot address... Think you can do a search in the forums. Price ard $11 for a quat(ard 0.94L)

As for the ELF, I am distributing it myself. Its $7 for a bottle. PM me if you need. :cheeky:

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid93/pc583423301d0eeaec1cdc614deb298dc/fa468109.jpg
Originally posted by Zon@Feb 22 2005, 02:53 AM

The royal purple got from some distributors. Forgot address... Think you can do a search in the forums. Price ard $11 for a quat(ard 0.94L)

As for the ELF, I am distributing it myself. Its $7 for a bottle. PM me if you need. :cheeky:

The elf engine oil is semi syn rite? What is the engine oil spec? e.g 10w40 You riding Suzuki Impulse 400cc.?

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

Originally posted by S750WP@Feb 22 2005, 03:05 AM

The elf engine oil is semi syn rite? What is the engine oil spec? e.g 10w40 You riding Suzuki Impulse 400cc.?

Yes it is, 20w40. Yup, impulse rider here, pun intended. :cheeky: :cheeky:

Pai shey, if u wan, can jus pm me. Cos dun wan to offtopic in here.