• Replies 833

Originally posted by Pierrot@Feb 22 2005, 12:14 PM

there's an idiot in my mscp who empties his engine oil in the motorcycle parking slot, leaves a huge patch of oil that covers 1 and a half parking slot. he pushes his bike away to park at other slots after doing that

den tell him to do the right thing la. y come here n start calling names?

Originally posted by newbie@Feb 22 2005, 12:23 PM

den tell him to do the right thing la. y come here n start calling names?

don't know who he is. there are too many bikes in the carpark, i didn't call anyone names in this forum, i was referring to the anonymous person in my post.

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

Originally posted by Pierrot@Feb 22 2005, 01:53 PM

don't know who he is. there are too many bikes in the carpark, i didn't call anyone names in this forum, i was referring to the anonymous person in my post.

mebbe shd leave a note on his bike nx time he does dat.

no lah i meant u call him idiot mah...

yah, if it bothers you that much, u can either try leaving a note or puting ur address here so that we know where u are toking abt and try to take note of such errant behaviours.

Frankly speaking, most of us will have the courtesy to clean up after we work on our bikes as we also dun wish to have our neighbours reporting us. So just tell the guy nicely, he shld change, if not, tell us. We will ostracize him. :cheeky:

Not riding a s4, but a vara125, i just DIY... total on my bike a week ago...dont know if its my imagination.. but somehow..yeah.. engine sounds bit more rough, and engine temperature.. is like bit higher...

Now that you guys mention it.. i think maybe its true.. not severly . but..there is a little difference compared to my old oil (shell..) 8which is ex.. $14 a bottle.. and i need 2 bottle.. :(

but u guys more siong.. need 4 is it..??

anyways.. anyone got recommendations.. how long before i change my oil again.. (think ill replace it to (castrol rs)

1 month.. ok?

wat about using total engine oil $12.5 (2.5l) and add a bottle of stp engine oil treatment $6.50(0.5l)? Might have better longer lasting performance with such a mixture and value for money? Seen the mechs at combine add stp oil treatment to their oil changes. just an idea....

visual: some people recommend regular oil change based on time, some distance... so i suggest a in-between.:cheeky:

2500km-3000km for normal to semi-syn oil. 5000km for fully syn.

1-2 months an oil change, this is because some says the oil properties will change with time. I prefer to follow the formal way, i.e. changing according to distance.

of course, if u frquently rev ur machine in the high range of ur bike, change even more often and at shorter mileage.

astride: for the stp treatment thing, it's an idea, but heard some say that it's not good. This is because our clutch system is diff fr cars. So i just change my oils regularly, better. :thumb:

deathwardens , thanks for the tip, my last oil change was (last yr july) ...using shell advance, i used that for many month! as the manual says change oil every 10,000km.. (and since i travel less then 40km a day) it draged for many months...i know its not good.. just that...no time to change oil.. and bike shops after work hours and weekeds are so busy...

but your idea of 2500 - 3000 is a good one.. will clear my total and use castrol rs (no one has bad experiece with that right?)

about stp treatment.. not familiar.. worried i might mess up the engine...

but how abot flushing the engine.. anyone tried? where after u remove oil, u put in the engine flush.. and run the engine and then remove it before adding new oil?

i juz change my engine oil yesterday.using R4.previously using Total oil.sudden feel of different.R4 is very smooth n dun feel much noise den Total.but Total is cost saving leh.but after some counting,save few dollars coz Total change very often.abt 2000km quite hot n noise liao.gear change no tat smooth.normally change myself only when need 2 change oil filter den i change at motortiam.now cant change myself coz of operation on back so no choice 4 me have 2 change at motortiam.good oil quite expensive.R4 is my friend recommend 2 me but exactly i used it before for my phantom lor.last time 1 bottle n no need change so often.:cheeky:

It does not matter on the absolute weight. It depends on how long you

hold it.

If we carry our burdens all the time, sooner or later, we will not be able to carry on as the burden becoming increasingly heavier.

{ Jan 2002~Jul 2003} - phantom 150 [FQ9354J]

{ Jul 2003~Mar 2004} - Bandit V400 GSF400 [FN9088T]

{ Mar 2004~Aug 2005} - Super 4 V S CB400 F3VJ [FQ 647Z] gone with accident on 140805

{Oct 2005 ~ 10yrs times more} - Toyota Corolla Altis [sFZ xxxxx]

I oso juz changed oil.. now using Motul 300V (expensive man!! $20/bottle).. so much better than Total.. but when I used Total on my ex VerS, not so jialat one.. wonder y? maybe different technology or new bike, so cannot use cheapo oil? :cheeky:

Make Safe Riding A Practise In Our Everyday Life.

ur newer bike better use fully syn lor.

hold it.

If we carry our burdens all the time, sooner or later, we will not be able to carry on as the burden becoming increasingly heavier.

{ Mar 2004~Aug 2005} - Super 4 V S CB400 F3VJ [FQ 647Z] gone with accident on 140805

Originally posted by hgl81@Feb 24 2005, 10:07 PM

ur newer bike better use fully syn lor.

Tats wat i felt too after changing to Motul.. will use the remaining oil to oil my chain.. haha.. chain oso very ex... DID X ring.. :thumb:

Make Safe Riding A Practise In Our Everyday Life.

Originally posted by Tai@Feb 25 2005, 01:48 AM

Tats wat i felt too after changing to Motul.. will use the remaining oil to oil my chain.. haha.. chain oso very ex... DID X ring.. :thumb:

wah.like that u will use till very long liao.6 bottles sia.oil chain no need much leh. 1 bottles can last very long liao.think u can sell at garage sales.think Total up the price liao.not too sure.very long didnt go buy liao.

me now oso thinking of using better oil liao.:cheeky:

hold it.

Originally posted by hgl81@Feb 25 2005, 09:11 AM

wah.like that u will use till very long liao.6 bottles sia.oil chain no need much leh. 1 bottles can last very long liao.think u can sell at garage sales.think Total up the price liao.not too sure.very long didnt go buy liao.

me now oso thinking of using better oil liao.:cheeky:

I tried total, indeed around 2000km, you will feel the roughless. got to change the oil leh. engine also hotter.

Tried Motul , felt in love w it. very smooth better than R4, repso and others that I tried.

Just my opinion.

Originally posted by kho686@Feb 25 2005, 10:43 PM

I tried total, indeed around 2000km, you will feel the roughless. got to change the oil leh. engine also hotter.

Tried Motul , felt in love w it. very smooth better than R4, repso and others that I tried.

Just my opinion.

wah. really?motul better? :confused:

will go n try it next time. :cheeky:

:btw: wat type of motul oil? ame at Tai change? cheaper den R4?:confused:

hold it.

Originally posted by hachi@Feb 19 2005, 08:01 PM

Same as mi

But i change oil every 6 months with RP but with Total every 2 months

many ppl consider tat oil is bad,any comments?

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

No comment on it.

For that price I can 3 oil changes during the 5000km using less money. That is when I have the time.

But I dont have the time now so uses fully syn RP can last longer. And my mileage for 18 months only 6000km so i change only once per year and oil filter change every 6 months. So far so good.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Originally posted by hachi@Feb 26 2005, 10:23 PM

No comment on it.

For that price I can 3 oil changes during the 5000km using less money. That is when I have the time.

But I dont have the time now so uses fully syn RP can last longer. And my mileage for 18 months only 6000km so i change only once per year and oil filter change every 6 months. So far so good.

eh serious ah 18mths 6000km??? hahaha.. i 12mths clock 28K km ady liao...

Serious cos I am always out of the country and hotel become my home and home become my hotel.....hee hee

I got a Ver S, when i take over is about 74000+km after I sell it 18months later

81000km or so. Just gotta myself a spec 2 recently...

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Originally posted by hachi@Feb 26 2005, 10:23 PM

No comment on it.

change engine oil once a yr and oil filter every 6 month... :confused:

tot when change oil filter need 2 change engine oil liao? :confused:

hold it.

Total is cheap n cost saving.if got $$ of course change gd oil lor.if no $$ n got time,change Total oil lor. :cheeky:

hold it.

Originally posted by hgl81@Feb 27 2005, 09:28 AM

change engine oil once a yr and oil filter every 6 month... :confused:

tot when change oil filter need 2 change engine oil liao? :confused:

Why need to change engine oil? Just top up the 4T after u change a new one.

Guest chefpig76

I recommend Esso 4T gold..it is really good and smooth.You will feel the difference when you TUA...And use KNN oil filter.:thumb:

Originally posted by hachi@Feb 27 2005, 10:45 AM

Why need to change engine oil? Just top up the 4T after u change a new one.

ok.tot not recommended. :confused:

hold it.