Originally posted by koma@Oct 19 2004, 03:25 PM

as hamsterz has said riding posture quite comfortable can ride 1500km in 1 day(tried bfore liao :p) n u still stay fresh :thumb: fuel comsumption is like wat hamsterz said also sg rd 17-18km/l n best comsumption is at highway speed of 110-120km/h can stretch till 21km/l sometimes, juz note stay below 7000 rpm bfore the vtec opens n comsumption should be more or less around tat range. goin at 160km/h at 6800rpm can reach frm GP esso to ayer keroh no prob. but if try bfore top speed on tis bike u will find it drinks fuel like water!!! 1liter on 6th gear 11500rpm n above can drop to 9.5-10km/l :p

oh yah... i forgot to add in the mileage when you are past 6800rpm. Thats when you happen to switch the "tap" to bathe instead of washing your hands....

220~240kmh contant will give you about 10~11km/liter

160~180kmh contant will give you about 12~13km/liter

These are the worst figures I have ever clocked though....

Ride hard & safe...

• Replies 3.6k

Great...thanks alot guys...wondering if I could meet up with anyone of u to try on ur viffer to get the feel of it...someone is currently selling a 2002 red viffer at ard 15k...price is good? Anyway wat's the difference between a ABS and non-ABS version?

Originally posted by hsp_89@Oct 18 2004, 04:52 PM

can check out with u if riding on a VFR is comfortable? Cos it's a sports tourer, therefore not sure if the riding posture is almost the same as a sports bike..hope someone could enlighten me. How's the petrol consumption -> how many km to reserve?

Thanks..THinking of getting one VFR.. :)

The VFR is a very good bike.I can comfirm that you can go at 220-240km/hr for 100km and you still fresh and relax.Correct bo stan??hehe:smile:

Originally posted by Akrapovic55@Oct 21 2004, 11:25 AM

The VFR is a very good bike.I can comfirm that you can go at 220-240km/hr for 100km and you still fresh and relax.Correct bo stan??hehe:smile:

sigh...must 1st find a buyer for my bike then can buy a vfr..new one super ex man... :cry:

Originally posted by hsp_89@Oct 21 2004, 11:47 AM

sigh...must 1st find a buyer for my bike then can buy a vfr..new one super ex man... :cry:

thought u got ur k1? or k2 recently? u'r not happy with your gix?

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11573/happyhalloween.jpg
Originally posted by tealeaf@Oct 21 2004, 12:01 PM

thought u got ur k1? or k2 recently? u'r not happy with your gix?

backache leh..and not nice to put box.. :p

:confused: Besides vfr, any other bikes in the same class can perform like vfr?! Like suzuki katana?! or RF900?! or Aprilla Futura Those also like middle weight sport tourer too....... :confused:
Originally posted by Akrapovic55@Oct 21 2004, 11:25 AM

wao... this one only tested by you leh... first tester! The BIG windshield by GIVI is fantastic!

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by hsp_89@Oct 21 2004, 11:07 AM

Great...thanks alot guys...wondering if I could meet up with anyone of u to try on ur viffer to get the feel of it...someone is currently selling a 2002 red viffer at ard 15k...price is good? Anyway wat's the difference between a ABS and non-ABS version?

We had a CBS n ABS topic in the VFR forum. Since it is private, here what I posted there.

CBS use the front brake lever to control the two outer pistons of both front 3-piston calipers, the new VFR's (>2002) front brake lever operates the two outer pistons of the left-side front caliper and all three pistons of the right-side caliper, as well as the centre piston of the rear brake caliper by way of the secondary master cylinder(look at the left fork. The caliper is mounted to to a pump which pivots and the fork, where force is applied by disc movement upon braking), resulting in a more front-oriented braking response.

The foot brake pedal that previously actuated the two outer pistons of the rear brake caliper and both centre pistons of the front calipers now actuates the same two rear brake caliper pistons, but only the one centre piston of the left front caliper. This revised balance of braking force is administered through a direct-side proportional control valve (PCV) mounted inline between the foot brake master cylinder and the rear caliper.

During light applications of the foot brake, most of the actual braking force is applied at the rear wheel, with only the slightest amount of front brake input at the one left-side caliper providing a steadying influence on the balance of front and rear brake control without causing unsettling shifts of weight and its related front-end dive.

However, this balance of operation changes in response to strong pedal operation, in which case the system adjusts for an optimal balance of front and rear braking forces.

As in other Dual Combined Brake Systems, the compact secondary master cylinder integrated into the left-side caliper's pivoting mount increases rear caliper brake pressure through a servo-side PCV as its own braking forces increase in response to front brake lever actuation. This results in a smooth combined force that starts with greater emphasis on the front brakes and gradually, but firmly, applies a balancing amount of rear brake whenever the situation calls for it.

As for ABS, basically the is a sensor mounted on the fork, with a serrated rotor (note these are both on the right side as the left side space is used up by the CBS system) Once the sensor detects "null" from the rotors serration (meaning lockup), it activated the ABS unit to over-ride your lever input. This system is exactly the same for the rear. Take note that this also hinders burnouts.. heheh

Hope this helps

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by cheekozer600@Oct 21 2004, 12:30 PM

:confused: Besides vfr, any other bikes in the same class can perform like vfr?! Like suzuki katana?! or RF900?! or Aprilla Futura Those also like middle weight sport tourer too....... :confused:

wao.... this one i also cannot answer. Futura is not available in Sg rite? The other options would be a Ducati ST3 or 4 i think. Not many bikes fall into the sports tourer category in SG.

If there are any, anyonme can enlighten me?

Ride hard & safe...

Guest RC46^VTEC
Originally posted by HamsterZ@Oct 21 2004, 09:13 PM

wao.... this one i also cannot answer. Futura is not available in Sg rite? The other options would be a Ducati ST3 or 4 i think. Not many bikes fall into the sports tourer category in SG.

If there are any, anyonme can enlighten me?

Went to Mah Motor and they have the Aprilia Futura on display inside the showroom, not sure whether still there or not. The salesman quoted $23k machine price.

That happened in roughly abt jun-july this year.

Btw, saw a Malaysian plate Futura with side panniers parked at the bike park at this year Sepang's MotoGP,from Ipoh....damn class!

However, Aprilia Futura's heart is of 1000cc V-Twin....dun tink it could outrun VFR's V4 in top speed but the Aprilia's meter had a max reading of 280km/hr on it's clock though!

Originally posted by RC46^VTEC@Oct 21 2004, 10:17 PM

Went to Mah Motor and they have the Aprilia Futura on display inside the showroom, not sure whether still there or not. The salesman quoted $23k machine price.

That happened in roughly abt jun-july this year.

Btw, saw a Malaysian plate Futura with side panniers parked at the bike park at this year Sepang's MotoGP,from Ipoh....damn class!

However, Aprilia Futura's heart is of 1000cc V-Twin....dun tink it could outrun VFR's V4 in top speed but the Aprilia's meter had a max reading of 280km/hr on it's clock though!

wao futura??? wunder if they still have it.. heheh.. would like to have a look at it though. $23K for machine price? I wunder how would it work out to be for OTR!!!

My opinion is if you want to go places with a tourer, reliability should be of first priority. We all know italians' engineering pros and cons. Gues I dunt have to spell it out.

hehe top speed does matter for a tourer. As long delivery is smooth and engine is torquey at mid range.. thats best...

But then again, I wouldn't mind giving the futura a ride man. Who knows it might be god damn good!!!!

Italian quality... CLASS!!!

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by HamsterZ@Oct 21 2004, 10:53 PM

wao futura??? wunder if they still have it.. heheh.. would like to have a look at it though. $23K for machine price? I wunder how would it work out to be for OTR!!!

My opinion is if you want to go places with a tourer, reliability should be of first priority. We all know italians' engineering pros and cons. Gues I dunt have to spell it out.

hehe top speed does matter for a tourer. As long delivery is smooth and engine is torquey at mid range.. thats best...

But then again, I wouldn't mind giving the futura a ride man. Who knows it might be god damn good!!!!

Italian quality... CLASS!!!

but vfr still the best!! agreeded?? ;)

My humble reviews on VFR after 2 weeks on the road.

Pros:

+ Very quick pickup, finally get to ride on a V4 engine.

+ Very tall authoritative seating position (maybe due to the adjusted rear preload). Feels like driving a SUV, able to access traffic from far. No need to tiptoe while on the bike. FYI I am 1.79m wearing 1 inch boots.

+ Very learnable bike, got used to the handling of the bike quite easily. Was riding S4 previously.

+ Combine brakes, tapping front or rear brake is often good enough.

+ Very stable before 160km/hr, start feeling vibration after that.

+ Good shocks, can go over small humps/pot holes with stability.

+ Riding posture still quite comforty, not as demanding as supersports. However still manage to get stiff wrist after more than an hour of travelling.

+ Main stand and available matching panniers.

+ Quite easy to squeeze traffic on both small road and expressway, although not as nimble as 125cc bikes. (without panniers)

+ Too cool and rare bike. Now chio bu will take a look at the bike at traffic light junction. Taxi driver even ask me on the bike at traffic light too. :smile:

Cons:

- Heavy, difficult to take it down at low speed. U-turn is a nightmare, will drop the bike if not careful. During parking now, had to consider gradient of ground.

- Flat spot at 4 - 5k rpm (can't help riding in this range)

- Limited storage space, can't fit a bike cover in. (anyone know where can buy smuggler seat?)

- Fuel consumption quite bad, 240km before reserve (80% city riding). Need to send for servicing soon, hope can resolve the problem.

- Quite restricted in SG, don't have much opportunities to open vtec and shift to 5,6 gears.

- Very hot bike, got my inner thighs slightly burnt by the fuel tank after getting stuck in afternoon 30mins traffic jam.

Overall it's a great bike, got to take it for long trips to fully utilized the touring capability. I am a happy rider. :smile:

To be continued ...

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg
Originally posted by none@Oct 22 2004, 06:46 PM

Pros:

+ Very tall authoritative seating position (maybe due to the adjusted rear preload). Feels like driving a SUV, able to access traffic from far. But had to tiptoe while on the bike. FYI I am 1.79m wearing 1 inch boots.

+ Very learnable bike, got used to the handling of the bike quite easily. Was riding S4 previously.

+ Riding posture still quite comforty, not as demanding as supersports. However still manage to get stiff wrist after more than an hour of travelling.

+ Quite easy to squeeze traffic on both small road and expressway, although not as nimble as 125cc bikes. (without panniers)

+ Too cool and rare bike. Now chio bu will take a look at the bike at traffic light junction. Taxi driver even ask me on the bike at traffic light too. :smile:

Cons:

- Heavy, difficult to take it down at low speed. U-turn is a nightmare, will drop the bike if not careful. During parking now, had to consider gradient of ground.

- Limited storage space, can't fit a bike cover in. (anyone know where can buy smuggler seat?)

- Fuel consumption quite bad, 240km before reserve (80% city riding). Need to send for servicing soon, hope can resolve the problem.

- Quite restricted in SG, don't have much opportunities to open vtec and shift to 5,6 gears.

- Very hot bike, got my inner thighs slightly burnt by the fuel tank after getting stuck in afternoon 30mins traffic jam.

Overall it's a great bike, got to take it for long trips to fully utilized the touring capability. I am a happy rider. :smile:

To be continued ...

none... mai hiam liaoz... tiz is a dream bike for many....

itz a freakin good all rounder..... juz have to get use to it....

All u wanna exchange it with a ST???? Try taking it for a U-turn or parking it??? or take it at low speed.. cornering????

City riding definitely burn much of the fuel.... for all bikes... Also.... all bike experience overheating in traffic jams..... so juz get used... Ur fuel consumption is rather disturbing.. maibe can chk with other riders to see if its normal??? maibe shud do some major servicing.. valve clearance???

hahhahahaa... u r fulfiling my dream... Thumbs up for you dude~ :thumb:

Live the Ride... and you Ride the LIFE~

Double thumbs to all VFR riderS~ :thumb: :thumb:

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

Riding posture still quite comforty, not as demanding as supersports. However still manage to get stiff wrist after more than an hour of travelling.

:smile: U can solve this problem by rising up the handle bar abit, then it will be perfect :smile:

Originally posted by ashenZ@Oct 22 2004, 07:16 PM

All u wanna exchange it with a ST???? Try taking it for a U-turn or parking it??? or take it at low speed.. cornering????

That's the reason, I don't consider a ST11. Bike will be too heavy for me to manhandle. :smile:

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg

Pros:

+ Very tall authoritative seating position (maybe due to the adjusted rear preload). Feels like driving a SUV, able to access traffic from far. But had to tiptoe while on the bike. FYI I am 1.79m wearing 1 inch boots.

Cons:

To be continued ...

Are you the one that bought over Edwins bike with rear ohlins? Good buy man!!

Pickups good i definitely agree. Do you find it hard to wheelie as compared to a 600cc?

I am 1.74m and I can have both feet flat on the ground. Did you check your ride sag. This effects the base adjustments of suspension settings and hence affects handling too.

The combine brakes and ABS are great, but think you will only complain when you hit the track. Personally, I think it brings the fun away to a certain extent.

I think getting stares, looks and chats is pretty common with viffer riders. Once a lady commented "nice red bike!.. sexy too". My fren told me to tell her she got nice boobs also.. erm but i didn't lah...

Fuel consumption is about 17-18km/liter based on 4k rpm gear change and 100~120kmh expressway riding(80%). This roughly gave me about 300~310km on the main, and another 80~100km on the reserve. As for city riding I am not sure man. But usually take public transport when i hit the town at peak periods. Air-con coupled by TV and occassional "eye exercise".. not bad..

Bike ain't that hot for what i experience, coz my leg length happen to be on the tank and nowhere near the frame (which is damn bloody hot!!). Get a "tube" or a nice full "bra" this somehow reduces the heat effect. My "tube" reduced heat on my thighs by probably 10~25%? Just a gauge though...

But once you hit the A and B roads, its aggressiveness is edgy but not intrusive. Best of all, is the rewarding comfort at the end of a long ride.

Ride hard & safe...

I think it is becos you drag almost every gear. this will cause the bike consume more fuel as your RPM is always high (high RPM eats more fuel). I usually up gear faster to conserve on the fuel. I usually gets about 320 to 350km b4 reserve is used.

http://photos-d.ak.facebook.com/photos-ak-snc1/v313/251/70/563403338/n563403338_974923_6695.jpg

My present rides:

Honda CBR600RR8 (Black)

Yamaha FZ1N (Blue)

--------------------------------------------------

Originally posted by none@Oct 22 2004, 10:37 PM

That's the reason, I don't consider a ST11. Bike will be too heavy for me to manhandle. :smile:

hhahahhaha... im so so jealouss~~ enjoy ya ride .... n ride safely.......

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

Originally posted by HamsterZ@Oct 22 2004, 10:57 PM

Are you the one that bought over Edwins bike with rear ohlins? Good buy man!!

Pickups good i definitely agree. Do you find it hard to wheelie as compared to a 600cc?

I am 1.74m and I can have both feet flat on the ground. Did you check your ride sag. This effects the base adjustments of suspension settings and hence affects handling too.

The combine brakes and ABS are great, but think you will only complain when you hit the track. Personally, I think it brings the fun away to a certain extent.

I think getting stares, looks and chats is pretty common with viffer riders. Once a lady commented "nice red bike!.. sexy too". My fren told me to tell her she got nice boobs also.. erm but i didn't lah...

Fuel consumption is about 17-18km/liter based on 4k rpm gear change and 100~120kmh expressway riding(80%). This roughly gave me about 300~310km on the main, and another 80~100km on the reserve. As for city riding I am not sure man. But usually take public transport when i hit the town at peak periods. Air-con coupled by TV and occassional "eye exercise".. not bad..

Bike ain't that hot for what i experience, coz my leg length happen to be on the tank and nowhere near the frame (which is damn bloody hot!!). Get a "tube" or a nice full "bra" this somehow reduces the heat effect. My "tube" reduced heat on my thighs by probably 10~25%? Just a gauge though...

But once you hit the A and B roads, its aggressiveness is edgy but not intrusive. Best of all, is the rewarding comfort at the end of a long ride.

Yup, I am the guy who took over the black non ABS VFR from Edwin. :smile:

I don't quite like the look of a "Bra", what's a tube? Air tube to channel the heat away?

Originally posted by Edwin@Oct 22 2004, 11:05 PM

I think it is becos you drag almost every gear. this will cause the bike consume more fuel as your RPM is always high (high RPM eats more fuel). I usually up gear faster to conserve on the fuel. I usually gets about 320 to 350km b4 reserve is used.

Hi Edwin, I don't really drag every gear, as a matter of fact I usually ride and change gear in the 4-5k rpm. Occasionally rode in the 6k range. Almost never hit the 7k (vtec) range in SG.

I was wondering whether it could be city riding? Stop and go very often between traffic lights.

Originally posted by ashenZ@Oct 22 2004, 11:19 PM

hhahahhaha... im so so jealouss~~ enjoy ya ride .... n ride safely.......

Get vfr9774 red VFR to fulfill your dream then. :smile: