Originally posted by rstopel@Nov 21 2005, 01:16 PM

Planning to go north Thailand end of the year. Main worry is clutch cable & normal brake lines. Anyone has their clutch brake lines replaced yet?

None, what are the tensioners? Is it cheap to replace?

Any other stuff to look at besides the usual stuff ? (tires, oil, chain, filters, sparkplug).

Clutch and brake hoses are not something I would worry about as it does not fail suddenly.

I would worry about the rectifier and battery. If it frys enroute, you're stuck. Some of the old timers (not me keke) used to carry a spare pc and loan it out to the others on tour. I suffer drained battery (on long trips only) cos I use 98W/100W bulbs; and a fired rectifier once on the other side.

• Replies 3.6k

1. vfrT - '98 VFR800 (sold at about 80,000km) - rectifier spoilt at 50,000km. Replacement cost $210. Not a single drop of oil leaked, or oil or coolant top-up needed.

2. vfrT - '99 VFR800 (still in use) - No problems. Present mileage 42000km. Not a single drop of oil leaked, or oil or coolant top-up needed.

3. None - '02 VFR800Vtec (still in use 61,500km)

- Fan thermostat at 56,000km

- Pair of tensioners at 59,000km

- Original battery dies, does not hold charge (W&T) at 61,500km. Got STX battery as a replacement :)

4. HamsterZ - '03 VFR800A3 (still in use, covering 43,000km from 0km) -

1. No problems. No oil leaks, no oil loss (oil level is checked every saturday mornings )

2. No coolant top up (but coolant replaced annually)

3. Side stand bracket M10 bolt vibrated out & dropped of suddenly w/o knowing at about 35,000km. Attached personal service info. (kindly PM if any queries as vfrT mentioned no usually maintainence to be brought up )

5. Batt cannot sustain peak current to start bike properly. Changed new batt at 43,705km at $157.....

PS ---> (rest volt=12.9V, charge volt=14.5V... so batt seems healthy from voltage pt of view. But it doesn't die suddenly.. it has tell tale signs as the diag resets at each failed start)

6. license plate light unknowingly blew at 5000km, replaced at ard 20,000km and blew again... i left it empty w/o lights

7. top taillight main filament blew (brake filament OK) at abt 30,000++km

5. Koma 02 VFR800A2 (bought at 8000km sold at 46000km)

- no coolant n oil top up ever needed

- magnetic coil burnt at round 30000km resulting in underchargin of battery n therefore alot of push starting of the bike until problem was found out (replacement coil $300)

6. Rstopel take over Koma bike @ 46000km. Now at 64000km

- no oil top up needed

- coolant leak a bit at high temp due to slider drilled through reserve tank

- side stand bolt vibrated out & dropped on NSH @ 60.000km (like hamsterz)

Planning to go north Thailand end of the year. Main worry is clutch cable & normal brake lines. Anyone has their clutch brake lines replaced yet?

Any other stuff to look at besides the usual stuff ? (tires, oil, chain, filters, sparkplug).

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by rstopel@Nov 21 2005, 01:16 PM

Our generation of VFR are running on cam chain, it requires the pair of tensioners to hold them properly.

Cost 80+ per piece, x2 for a pair, excluding workmanship and gasket.

Just listen to mild to loud "thud" "thud" sound on the RHS of the engine during cold start, and you should know it.

If your dot4/5 fluid is getting dark and handling feels soggy, do a bleeding of the system will do.

Look out for cuts on the hoses too.

Like VfrT had mentioned, electrical problems are more of concern.

Use a multimeter to test slator, rectifer and battery. I changed my battery 2 months ago and tested out my charging which is still good.

Look out for delay in cold starting of bike, it should indicate weak bat.

Buy a spare rectifier and battery in case. (so that I can share with you. :b)

Some other wear and tear parts you might want to check too:

Brake pads, steering cones, wheel bearings, sprockets/chain, electrical harness, fork/suspension seal/leaks, thermostat, wheel balancing.

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg

By the way i have a spare set of rectifiers, and brake + clutch levers. Feel free to carry them as spares. Return then unopened and there will be not charges.. :sweat: :sweat:

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by HamsterZ@Nov 22 2005, 01:58 AM

By the way i have a spare set of rectifiers, and brake + clutch levers. Feel free to carry them as spares. Return then unopened and there will be not charges.. :sweat: :sweat:

Good service!

FANTASTIC DUDE:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: Now you carry the torch for the next gen stan.:cheer:

I also got a spare rectifier and a clutch and brake lever :) So in that department I am quite safe but have not heard of rectifier failure on the vtec model so far. correct me if I am wrong. I changed my battery a few months ago so it should still be in good shape by the end of this year. I did bring my old battery along to koh samui but not likely to bring an additional 3.8kg to north thailand. Anyway, thanks for the gesture :thumb:

http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/9829/p1000544o.jpghttp://img269.imageshack.us/img269/5003/dscn4275z.jpg

VFR800 VTEC ABS since 03/2005 :

XR400 since 05/2006 SOLD

Silverwing 400 since 11/2007

CBR 1000 RR7 repsol since 5/2009 SOLD

Varadero XL1000 since 08/2010

Originally posted by vfrT@Nov 22 2005, 05:41 PM

FANTASTIC DUDE:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: Now you carry the torch for the next gen stan.:cheer:

yeah eyeing the 2006 VFR.. but a disapointment as there is only a minor facelift

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by rstopel@Nov 22 2005, 06:03 PM

I also got a spare rectifier and a clutch and brake lever :) So in that department I am quite safe but have not heard of rectifier failure on the vtec model so far. correct me if I am wrong. I changed my battery a few months ago so it should still be in good shape by the end of this year. I did bring my old battery along to koh samui but not likely to bring an additional 3.8kg to north thailand. Anyway, thanks for the gesture :thumb:

hey guys, wonder how much u guys paid for the rectifier???

Hamz, what battery did u change to? how come soo EX ah, $157???

ya, my main worry for long trips is on the electrical part as well....

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

About 2 weeks ago, I was riding on the PIE when I was slowed down. When I stopped, there was a lot of smoke coming out from the rear brake pads. 10 mis later, I managed to continue although I feel that the brake is a bit spongy.

Last Monday, I brought my bike for repairs/wear and tear, and the bill is $805.

Although I've been riding for many years, this is the most expensive repairs I've paid. If u familiar with repairs to the Fi model, pls see whether the bill is justified.

Rear Brake

Bearing x 3 $144

Oil Seal x 3 $54

Sprocket Rubber $50

Brake Disc $280

Brake Pad $25

Front Main Switch $12

Labour $60

Total is $625

Steering

Front Wheel Bearing x 2 $36

Oil Seal x 2 $24

Labour $120

Total is $180

Originally posted by n@kan0@Nov 23 2005, 01:49 PM

hey guys, wonder how much u guys paid for the rectifier???

Hamz, what battery did u change to? how come soo EX ah, $157???

ya, my main worry for long trips is on the electrical part as well....

the OEM japan made YTZ-12 batt loh..

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by KISS@Nov 23 2005, 06:58 PM

About 2 weeks ago, I was riding on the PIE when I was slowed down. When I stopped, there was a lot of smoke coming out from the rear brake pads. 10 mis later, I managed to continue although I feel that the brake is a bit spongy.

Last Monday, I brought my bike for repairs/wear and tear, and the bill is $805.

Although I've been riding for many years, this is the most expensive repairs I've paid. If u familiar with repairs to the Fi model, pls see whether the bill is justified.

Rear Brake

Bearing x 3 $144

Oil Seal x 3 $54

Sprocket Rubber $50

Brake Disc $280

Brake Pad $25

Front Main Switch $12

Labour $60

Total is $625

Steering

Oil Seal x 2 $24

Labour $120

Total is $180

rear

yup brake disc abt more than $300 per piece inf ront. I dunno abt the rear though. Bearings and seals i am not sure man .. can't help. The pads are cheap. OEM ones are $60 per pair! LKabour seems a bit ex leh for $60. I think 80% of the above can be done ay your void deck especially with pro-arm & mainstand.

front

what oil seal is that? not fork i suppose. Labour is super ex for just removing wheel and change bearings.. and put them back!@#

Ride hard & safe...

Rear Brake

Bearing x 3 $144

Oil Seal x 3 $54

Sprocket Rubber $50

Brake Disc $280

Brake Pad $25

Front Main Switch $12

Labour $60

Total is $625

Steering

Oil Seal x 2 $24

Labour $120

Total is $180

The rear proarm bearings are quite cheap.

Brake pads are cheap too, what brands? should be those assorted one right?

What sprocket rubber is that?

I got my front bearing at $40 ea inclusive of labour.

My mechanic reuse back the oil seals.

The labour for changing front wheel is atrocious!

And what caused your smoky rear brake?

Warp disc or piston jammed?

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg

. When I stopped, there was a lot of smoke coming out from the rear brake pads. 10 mis later, I managed to continue although I feel that the brake is a bit spongy.

Rear Brake[/u]

Sprocket Rubber $50

Hey Kiss

Did your rear brakes seized causing the smoking? The smoke also explains why your brake became spongy - it is due to the heat from the heat causing the brake fluid to boil, thus the sponginess. In extreme case, the pedal/or lever can be pressed fully home with no braking effect. I experienced that once when driving down Genting Highland feathering the brakes all the way until the brakes disappear completely - with the brake pedal touching the metal. I used the handbrake to stop.

The "sprocket rubber" - or I assume the cush drive - did it disintegrate? How many pieces did you change? Where did you get the parts? I was thinking of opening up my rear wheel hub to take a look due to snatchiness in my drive, but postponed it cos FJT says they do not have stock.

sorry for the off topic.

As for the cost, I thot it looks reasonable alto the other guys think the fork works labor is excessive, I tot it is slightly ex tho not excessively so. I drain and replace the fork oil myself (no seal change) in about 1hour, so I guess pro can do the fork seal strip down & oil replacement and the wheel bearing about 1~1.25 hr? If the fork oil are factored in (about $10 per litre), I guess its not that ex IMHO.

Originally posted by HamsterZ@Nov 15 2005, 02:15 PM

yesh both are by seng kwang.. quality stuff.. but.. kinda ex.... wait till i get my hands on a welder.. time for me to sell brackets! hehe...

well not very fast... always been taking pics n videos while riding to cumulate my bikee MTVs. ... trying to mount on bike for a solid 200kmh video :sweat: :sweat:

Oh yah... the cylinder bracket is for sale... any takers? 30% off !!!

how much r u selling the erp bracket?

2000 -- Daelim 125 | 2001 -- VFR400 NC30

2001 -- GSXR400 | 2002 -- Super4 spec2

2002 -- Fireblade400 | 2003 -- VFR800 Vtec

2005 -- Suzuki RaiderR150 | 2006 -- Kia Rio 1.6 HB

2009 -- Super4 Revo | 2009 -- HD VRSCD

2010 -- HD Softail Heritage | 2010 BMW R1150RT

http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d79/menphis3435/gals/miwaoshiro0287uh-1.jpg

Originally posted by menphis@Nov 28 2005, 09:40 AM

Hamz, how much did u pay for the bracket? Btw, my cousin can fabricate stainless steel erp brackets. All he needs is a copy. He fabricate a lot of those vespa stainless steel parts and polish them to a shine.Good quality.

Originally posted by menphis@Nov 28 2005, 09:40 AM

Both brackets are made at $75 by SK (not Soo Kee jewellery hor:sweat: )

The one i am selling is going for $50.

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by vfr-shah@Nov 28 2005, 11:28 AM

Hamz, how much did u pay for the bracket? Btw, my cousin can fabricate stainless steel erp brackets. All he needs is a copy. He fabricate a lot of those vespa stainless steel parts and polish them to a shine.Good quality.

paid $75. The usual rate.

How much can your cousin do it for? Maybe I can gai siao friends there. I myself may need one for other bikes..

Ride hard & safe...

As for the cost, I thot it looks reasonable alto the other guys think the fork works labor is excessive, I tot it is slightly ex tho not excessively so. I drain and replace the fork oil myself (no seal change) in about 1hour, so I guess pro can do the fork seal strip down & oil replacement and the wheel bearing about 1~1.25 hr? If the fork oil are factored in (about $10 per litre), I guess its not that ex IMHO.

I guess i didn't give the right picture.

The correct breakdown of the $180 bill is:-

$120 Steering cone/bearing/oil seal plus labour

$36 2 front wheel bearing

$26 2 front wheel oil seal

And what caused your smoky rear brake?

The rear brakes causes it. This is the 2nd time the rear brakes has problems.

Originally posted by HamsterZ@Nov 28 2005, 01:59 PM

Both brackets are made at $75 by SK (not Soo Kee jewellery hor:sweat: )

The one i am selling is going for $50.

reserve that $50 one for me.. once i get my bike moving i'll get from u... will be getting for the next bike owner..

2000 -- Daelim 125 | 2001 -- VFR400 NC30

2001 -- GSXR400 | 2002 -- Super4 spec2

2002 -- Fireblade400 | 2003 -- VFR800 Vtec

2005 -- Suzuki RaiderR150 | 2006 -- Kia Rio 1.6 HB

2009 -- Super4 Revo | 2009 -- HD VRSCD

2010 -- HD Softail Heritage | 2010 BMW R1150RT

http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d79/menphis3435/gals/miwaoshiro0287uh-1.jpg

Hi vfr-shah, i got the heli-bar risers, u still wan it? I been holding on to it for 2months already :smile:

Originally posted by menphis@Nov 29 2005, 11:51 PM

reserve that $50 one for me.. once i get my bike moving i'll get from u... will be getting for the next bike owner..

ok.. its reserved for you liaos :smile:

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by menphis@Nov 29 2005, 11:51 PM

ok.. its reserved for you liaos :smile:

Ride hard & safe...

Nice?

http://www.ozvfr.net/albums/Lyndons/aaa.sized.jpg

http://www.ozvfr.net/albums/Lyndons/aab.sized.jpg

hhmm something different from the mass...

I wunder poillion leg will turn black or molten after a long ride. Is that a non vteC VFR?

What brand and model is the pipe?

Ride hard & safe...