How has riding increased or decreased your monthly costs of commuting?

if u r using public transport, you dont buy a bike to save money

you buy bike for convenience, at the price of increased cost

ya,bobian

not everything is perfect

It depends on the bike. Phantom being a workhorse is a definite money saver provided you can nab one in good condition.

I hate squeezing in the MRT (yes there is a facebook group for that) and the way people have no respect for modesty. Being a road warrior has made my life much better :D

I even like to purposely go very slow in heavy traffic (the cars got used to me already. It's nice!) so my fuel consumption is like... super low. If I can get 45km/l doing time attacks in the dead of night, lord knows what this engine of mine is getting at 50kph and 1,500rpm :D

Why should I pay $4 a day to squeeze in sardine can, huh!?

power saving machine u got there

• Replies 77

ya-BIKE

cheaper dan getting a car

my frend everyday sae sian..his latio petrol draining him..

if you have to ask you dont understand

ya-BIKE

cheaper dan getting a car

my frend everyday sae sian..his latio petrol draining him..

:lol: i think it'll be more accurate to say "His dad's latio is draining petrol $ from him."

there are idiots with rich dad who'll ask me "Ride bike not dangerous MEH?!" when they cant even earn their own upkeep. "daddy, i need $ to PLAY." :faint:

ok, im assuming too much here, but ya, u guys get the point..

well said jack, i also get those as well. and they still like to act as if they have bigger balls than me. cheh. leech.

:lol: i think it'll be more accurate to say "His dad's latio is draining petrol $ from him."

there are idiots with rich dad who'll ask me "Ride bike not dangerous MEH?!" when they cant even earn their own upkeep. "daddy, i need $ to PLAY." :faint:

Haha I understand la. Sometimes these people will ask me why I want to ride a bike and why I can't just get my parents to buy me a car. Then they will go on to comment that bikes are very irritating on the road.

ya la..rich bakgournd

but this frend of mine dun take his parents money de

work for them dan take money 1

i got another 1..fking bai jia zi

ask dad buy civic(2nd hand) $50k,nw change to lotus le..pcb

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

ya,think most of us get e point le

Haha I understand la. Sometimes these people will ask me why I want to ride a bike and why I can't just get my parents to buy me a car. Then they will go on to comment that bikes are very irritating on the road.

when u on e road driving,u hate bikes

when u r riding,u hate cars

thats wad my frend frend sae.

I have driven and I have rode. I decided to stick with bikes because the losing side is always more profitable to support :p

We bikers are not exactly losers but the public opinion of us (even amongst some groups of older, supposedly more experienced bikers) are worse than pariahs. Just look at the way some car and big bike riders cut lanes thinking all other vehicles should give way to them! (real time journalism here!)

Anyways, for $135 I can cover 2800km or so. Eat that, MRT :D

u pump full tank $135 ?

how big(tank) is ur phantom?

Aiyoh not so big lah. Using stock tank but that's my cost of fuel at current mileage per litre. I can only get this mileage using V-power so I use that exclusively. (cost $2.2+ per litre)

I don't think it will be wise for me to do big tank mod - increases weight.

Insurance = $320 / 12months = $27 per month

Parking = $15

Road Tax = $64 / 12months = $5

Petrol = $55 per month

Maintaince = $20EO + (180(tires)/12) + ($20(spark plug)/12) = $37

ERP = $10 per month

Total = $149

Public transport = $4 X 20(workdays) = $80

Weekends = $6 x 8 = $48

Cab(late night outings) = $20 x 2 = $40

Total = $168

Ride bike save $$$, save ALOT of time and damn convenient.

$135 = 3200km+++ for me :)

Any '95 of 3 litres =

Edited by squarebox

'08 Leo-Vince Wave S

The day i quit riding,

Is when those whom I love,

Cry every time I get on my motorcycle.

Parking = $15

Petrol = $55 per month

ERP = $10 per month

Total = $149

Public transport = 4 X 20(workdays) = $80

Weekends = 6 x 8 = $48

Cab(late night outings) = 20 x 2 = $40

Total = $168

haha,it sure save sum money on u

Time for me to convert people to be a wave rider. :)

I saved more $$ when it was stock...

'08 Leo-Vince Wave S

The day i quit riding,

Time for me to convert people to be a wave rider. :)

I saved more $$ when it was stock...

oh..

wad u mod ?

Wave power!

Great to see more Class 2B 'clean and green' warriors :D

where where.haha

Parking = $15

Petrol = $55 per month

ERP = $10 per month

Total = $149

Public transport = $4 X 20(workdays) = $80

Weekends = $6 x 8 = $48

Cab(late night outings) = $20 x 2 = $40

Total = $168

$135 = 3200km+++ for me :)

Any '95 of 3 litres =

Wah, this is quite impressive!

8-leg rims, 80/90 battlax

LV

Stock Wave can do $135 = 4800km+

Stock Wave FC = 50-60km/l

'08 Leo-Vince Wave S

The day i quit riding,

Okay, this might be a shock to all of you but...

[spark plug x 3] + [semi-Syn EO 1L x 3] + [shell 95 x 12]

(2.50*3) + (12*6) + (50*12) = $679.5 a year

//Call me cheap but spark plug can last damn long and EO once every 2 months. The truth is, my Spark plug i only use 2 in this year, EO changed only 4 times till now.

This translates to [679.5/12]/31 = $1.83 a day

So basically, the maintenance of my bike costs about $1.83, excluding insurance, inspection, road tax and the cost of my bike. The last time when i was in NS, MRT + Bus fare (1 round trip, to and back) was $96 a month. So it translates to $3.10 a day.

If there is something wrong with my calculations, please inform me.

NOTE: I did not factor in depreciation of my second hand ybr, insurance, road tax, inspection, actual cost of bike and other miscellaneous replacement items such as brake pads, battery and others which i replace once every few years. My petrol actually is 20 bucks for 2 weeks, but i just added another 10 bucks for fun.

Edited by crazydj

Okay, this might be a shock to all of you but...

[spark plug x 3] + [semi-Syn EO 1L x 3] + [shell 95 x 12]

(2.50*3) + (12*6) + (50*12) = $679.5 a year

//Call me cheap but spark plug can last damn long and EO once every 2 months. The truth is, my Spark plug i only use 2 in this year, EO changed only 4 times till now.

This translates to [679.5/12]/31 = $1.83 a day

So basically, the maintenance of my bike costs about $1.83, excluding insurance, inspection, road tax and the cost of my bike. The last time when i was in NS, MRT + Bus fare (1 round trip, to and back) was $96 a month. So it translates to $3.10 a day.

If there is something wrong with my calculations, please inform me.

NOTE: I did not factor in depreciation of my second hand ybr, insurance, road tax, inspection, actual cost of bike and other miscellaneous replacement items such as brake pads, battery and others which i replace once every few years. My petrol actually is 20 bucks for 2 weeks, but i just added another 10 bucks for fun.

This would create an artificially low cost for your bike. In order to make a true comparison, every little detail would have to be included.

Of course, that'd make it extremely tedious so the little things that cost a bit of money every few years, probably can leave out. Depreciation is hard to calculate so can leave out (simply because you won't know the depreciation until you sell or scrap your bike).

However, things like Road Tax, Insurance, parking etc should be included to give a more accurate gauge for the cost of riding as those are costs that you would not have to pay if you did not ride a bike.

8-leg rims, 80/90 battlax

LV

Stock Wave can do $135 = 4800km+

Stock Wave FC = 50-60km/l

hmm..80/90 BT

sounds tempting..

wad factor causes it to make ur FC decrease ?

my ride kr.considering to change tyre le

The weight of the sports rim and bigger tires caused it to decrease in FC.

Side note:

Even 1gram heavier makes a big difference as rims and tires are a rotating mass.

So 1 gram will weight alot more after you factor in the speed u are traveling at.

'08 Leo-Vince Wave S

The day i quit riding,

I think it depends how you look at it.

It's more expensive or less expensive depends on bike and how you look at it.

Remeber I came up a biker blog almost 8 years ago. Breaking down the cost of transport

The cleapest transport is break down in the following order. Cheapest first. Most ex last

Bike - 20K

Public transport - 23K

Taxi - 80K

Secondhand car - 110K

First Hand car. - 130K

BUT, There are alot of factors involved for this grouping

Bike will be cheapest if you choose a fuel efficient and low maintenance bike. eg CG125 or common bikes. all must be 2B

CG125 needless to say. We all know how low the running cost and maintenance cost is.

2B needless to say. Cost of servicing, insurance and road tax.

You must ride the bike for full 10 years without changing and hopefully no major problem .

Public transport will be a mixture of BUS, MRT and occasion cab. IF bus all the way. It will be cheaper than bike. (That is 2001 website base on prices in 2001).

TAXI here will be taking cab everywhere you go.

Secondhand car is not too much diff from first hand car due to higher maintenance.

Car standard lah.

Also for travelling pattern. The more u use the more savings u will get if you own a bike. AS all others fare usually have a fix starting price.

All the price stated is inclusive of almost everything. Fuel, maintenance parts. servicing. Road tax, insurance ERP, parking. But Minus traffice fines.

The more fines u have, needless to say, the cost of ownership goes up.

In my opinion. Bike nowadays don't really save much lah. WIth some much ERP gantry around. Do not be supprised MRT and bus can be cheaper.

But then again this part also have alot of variables.

U may pay more when owning a bike as to compare with bus and MRT. BUT

There's a few things BUS and MRT cannot provide and the price is priceless.

- U can go anytime and anywhere.

- U have you own free space(no need to squeeze) and garranteed seat.

- U save almost 50% of ur travelling time.

- U can go almost everywhere in SG (some place in SG is not accessible by bus or MRT.)

- U have less fustration when travelling bike (less squeeze. I can choose a longer route if I want to avoid jams. Bus and MRT is no way unless ur boss allows u to come to work at 10.30am and leave at 4pm)

- U can no need to see ugly singaporeans at work when travelling on Bus and MRT (road user also have but U can advoid it sometimes.)

For me the plus point is No need squeeze and jam with people on public transport.

I can go anywhere I want anytime. without paying extras during weird hours.

I can go out of the house later and still reach work place on time. And vice versa

Right now, I'm paying more than taking public transport cos new bike. This is due to the installment, and the daily operation cost of using abike.

When the installment ends. I will definately see a lower daily running cost.