[Discussion] What do you do when it rains?

What do you and ur pillion do when it rains heavily?  

244 members have voted

1. 1. What do you and ur pillion do when it rains heavily?

• You wear the rain gear, your pillion can get wet
    • Your pillion wears the rain gear, you get wet
    • Wait for the rain to stop
    • Take public transport home

Bros,side track a bit...

When rain, that's the worst part for bikers.

1) have to wear the not-so-nice raincoats (have to bring along first)

2) wet+dangerous

3) damn sian lor...

I always ask myself why can't I drive a car where there is shelter.....

Well, bad weather hurts all of us!

5 Oct 2005 - Jun 2007(SP) FS6059X

18 Jun 2007 - 26 Nov 2007 -> CBR400, L model problematic FJ532*S

26 Nov 2007 - 12 Nov 2011 -> TA200, FV2X2G

12 Nov 2011 - 12 Nov 2012 -> SYM GTS200, FZ99*0D

29 Nov 2012 - 13 July 2015 -> KIA Rio HB 1.4M, SFY*

13 Jul 2015 - 28 Apr 2018 -> Kia Cerato V2 SKT*

28 Apr 2018 till current -> Hyundai Elentra S_trim SLZ*

• Replies 180

Bros,side track a bit...

When rain, that's the worst part for bikers.

1) have to wear the not-so-nice raincoats (have to bring along first)

2) wet+dangerous

3) damn sian lor...

I always ask myself why can't I drive a car where there is shelter.....

Well, bad weather hurts all of us!

Where got sian? So cooling! Haha!

Well personally i nv felt the need for a car unless im ferrying large stuff or needing to go for a function whr i need to dress well (thr is always public transport). In fact if raining, i tink MRT faster than driving through all the jams.

I prefer riding in the rain than stuck in traffic, while ur petrol tank keeps depleting. U jux nd to invest in good raingear, then u will realise riding in the rain isnt as bad as it seems

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

Well personally i nv felt the need for a car unless im ferrying large stuff or needing to go for a function whr i need to dress well (thr is always public transport). In fact if raining, i tink MRT faster than driving through all the jams.

I prefer riding in the rain than stuck in traffic, while ur petrol tank keeps depleting. U jux nd to invest in good raingear, then u will realise riding in the rain isnt as bad as it seems

But still will get wet lei.... Example hands.....

doesn't it feel like u are outfield in total wetness? morale not very high with the dampness leh.. :eek:

the only appreciation is that I find that on expressway u see that most ppl will drive more slowly..

But still will get wet lei.... Example hands.....

even wear gloves gloves will have to dry leh..

operate a vehicle in a way that you benefit other road users pls - and meanwhile, stop whining! be responsible and be safe.

Actually ride in heavy rain not bad leh. Got free water to "cool" your engine XD

2B - 29 December 2010, one time pass

2A - On going...

4 May 2011 to August 2011 - Honda NSR150SP

21 July 2012 - Honda Phantom TA200

http://thrumylensontwowheels.blogspot.sg/

Nikon D5000 | AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5 - 5.6G VR | Vitacon 67mm UV Filter | Sigma EF-610 DG Super Flash | Yongnuo Speedlight YN560

Lol I kept thinking water injection leh!

operate a vehicle in a way that you benefit other road users pls - and meanwhile, stop whining! be responsible and be safe.

true! technical question though.. why ppl say kick down without clutching in kills the clutch? i thought if u dont disengage the clutch how come will have wear leh? i always thought that it was the transmission that will get the shock instead..

To be exact, it's the teeth of the gears that gets worn out if you change gear without using the clutch. :cheeky:

The job of the clutch is the disengage the transmission from the engine's flywheel.

When you don't clutch in when changing gear, you can hear a grinding sound when changing gear right?

That's because the gears disengage and re-engage to the next gear while spinning at full speed. Teeth rub teeth, not good.... :(

To be exact, it's the teeth of the gears that gets worn out if you change gear without using the clutch. :cheeky:

The job of the clutch is the disengage the transmission from the engine's flywheel.

When you don't clutch in when changing gear, you can hear a grinding sound when changing gear right?

That's because the gears disengage and re-engage to the next gear while spinning at full speed. Teeth rub teeth, not good.... :(

Eh I think it's the dogs of the gears not the teeth right? I still trying to grasp the transmission workings.. I definitely don't like the teeth bua teeth sound when I tried clutchless once.. :what:

If urgent I will still ride with rain gear, slower than normal, no overtaking and avoid oil patches like plague. Just that I wish my hemet had wippers LOL. My problem in the rain are the shoes, coz once wet, they stay wet all day- a big bonus for smelly-feet syndrome. I did use shoe covers but they were so plastick-y didn't feel safe to ride while changing gears. On a scooter they should be ok. Ride safely!

I just love the looks, feel and sound of an old good Guzzi, though it has been around since the time of my Grandfather. I guess "they" don't do things like that anymore! Well it's not true.

"They" still do URALS

Bad weather is an issue really. Worse, underwear also soaked. Inner part helmet also will wet.

Swearing but try to keep cool headed while riding thru the rain... no, i didn't bring raincoat.

My Ride History:

1997 - 2003 : Yamaha SRE 100 a.k.a My First Love

2001 - 2004 : Yamaha Sports Y110SS a.k.a My First 2-Stroke Bike

2005 - 2012 : Honda Phantom TA200 a.k.a My First Cruiser Bike

2012 - 2012 : Honda CB400 Spec II a.k.a My First VTEC Love

2013 - NOW : Yamaha YZF-R1 a.k.a My First SuperBike :cool:

I usually just park somewhere and take public transport. If the weather forecast calls for rain when I'll be riding (e.g. morning and evening, to and fro), I will just take public transport to school. Wet weather is incredibly bad for motorcycles, especially TA200!

i'll check the NEA Rain Area/Animation to gauge the wind and rain direction.. if rain not there on the journey or destination ill still don up and go! but if big mass rain moving from msia/indo to sg... i hide inside office! =X

Haha sawfly thanks for the tip! Used the NEA rain area information and saw that my destination was also covered in rain. Decided not to ride today. The TA200's handling in the wet leaves much to be desired :(

dont trust the NEA rain area+animation too much though.. only once i rode into heavy rain pouring in the middle of nowhere even though 15 mins before i rode out the rain radar was clear.. it detects only active precipitation but not those rain clouds that are going to rain! i think as long you dont go fast, be careful and use more engine braking and less of the rear brake u should be fine in wet weather!

• 9 months later...
Stop at the nearest possible shelter.Let the rain shower the road for at least 10mins. Put on my raincoat if any. Be ready to ride in the rain. Keep to the slow moving lane on most times. Maintain a safe distance with the vehicle in front. Pre plan route and more alertness on riding actions. Keep safe speed. Seek shelter again if confidence runs low.

I usually won't ride if it looks like rain. So far only caught out once or twice, but this is very good advice.

Part of the fun is riding in the rain :)

With a good set of rain gear and water proof shoes and gloves... you'll be laughing when you reach home all dry and toasty :)

I still can't find a decent pair of gloves though... so i'm always with a pair of soaked leather gloves when it rain. but you won't feel it until you take it off... hahaa...

• 11 months later...