The GSXR 600,750 & 1000 Hangout. Where All GSXR Riders Chill And Gather!!

Thanks for the heads up! Was planning to restore the bike to its former glory through repairs and a new paintwork (secondary for now). And woah! Forks cost so much?

What other items should I check with the owner other than the ones listed as major wear/tear parts? I'll prolly rebuild the engine at Ah Chong's Planet.

Was actually planning to head to the tracks with this bike after repairs. Hee.

U might wan to chk the rear shock too. but if no major problem, rebuilding the front n rear wun cost much.

Do take note of coil, batt n retifier. Other wear n tear r chain/sprokets, brake caliper seals change, brake pads, tires, clutch cable n stuffs.

Do chk properly that the chassis n rims r true.(meanin not out of shape/kiao/bent/dent)

I LOVE my R1!!!:shades:

• Replies 82.9k

• milan

• TyrÃl

• lo-on

• MC28

Guys, I'll be getting an old R1 '01 model next week. Was pretty excited at first, but getting kinda apprehensive now. Bike owner was a former track junkie and crashed his R1 once at PG. I viewed it once, other than the cosmetics side, the engine idling was not a stable purr, but was able to remain idle nonetheless.

Owner quoted me the following wear/tear repairs:

1) Tensioner

2) Timing chain

3) Piston rings

4) Forks

5) Clutch and possibly clutch housing

Now, my apprehension is this: Will any of the wear/tear items above result in a catastrophic failure of the bike? Or perhaps warrant an entire engine or engine block replacement? Am I being sold a bike that most probably is about to be scrapped?

What will result in such a drastic maintenance? A coolant leakage from the block? Is the unstable idling due to the timing chain? And if you are curious, owner is selling it to me for $3k++.

Advice please.

For a crashed bike, get a workshop to check if the frame is straight.

Any blue/white smoke coming from exhaust when u rev the bike hard?

http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/5999/sbfsignature.jpg
if u want older model... buy Tyrael's bike. Best in SBF.

Please stop mentioning my nick ok?

I have never met you before and we aren't acquaintances.

Guys, I'll be getting an old R1 '01 model next week. Advice please.

Was actually planning to head to the tracks with this bike after repairs.

FYI, 01R1 is using a non-replaceable subframe,

so you will want to be extra careful on the track ;)

Edited by Aie
http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x23/Tyrael7/Bike/sig.jpg

Looks like you either have an admirer or a stalker... :lol:

Hi bros of gixxer, sorry not able to make it yesterday due to work....i will be looking forward for the next meetup....really wanna see u guys and the bikes....i really hope to learn more things from u guys....

i know u guys are going track....can i go together with u guys but i just watch....i don't have the proper gear, but just wanna see how it's like on the track in pg....first timer...

no worries dude...m oso a newbie to pg track...c'mon join us man...e more merrier...:lol:

Y not lun awhile for the yen to drop den pay abit more to get the 09? Belive a fbc r1 cost u near 20k otr.... From ur sig, u must be riding a rvf? last time I also rode rvf, other den the torque cos by cc diff, v4 n inline 4 feels so diff. Ah moh said that the crossplane feels like a mixture of inline 4, v4 n v twin. So I'll rather spend 26k for a 09 den 20k for a 08. my 0.02 tho...

FYI, 09 R1 machine price is ard $26k and not OTR $26k, so OTR will be ard $30K (after GST, coe, insurance, reg) Esp when bike importers have order this new model way b4 2009, its unlikely they will reduce prices IF YEN drops.

New CBR1000RR 09 is already selling machine $25k....

Will u pay $30K for a R1'09 when a brand new car cost $33k?

is DNA air filter good?

All aftermkt air filter the same, its the branding...

Edited by Grave65

Sigh .... so bored ...

Getting Poorer every yr

FYI, 01R1 is using a non-replaceable subframe,

so you will want to be extra careful on the track ;)

Ok, I'm lost. What's a sub-frame? Are you referring to the main chassis itself? Went to have another look again earlier, both wheel rims not dented or look warped. Forks, can't really tell.

The engine block had a thin layer of oil around it, kinda like my old S4 when her head gasket was leaking.

http://i39.tinypic.com/281d3y8.jpg

http://i41.tinypic.com/dz9zr8.jpg

Fork seal is out.

http://i41.tinypic.com/2u8xzq8.jpg

The shocks felt soft. Are those real Ohlins or a piece of sticker on a stock shock?

For the certainty of death and the knowledge of life's fragility, makes it worth living.

Ok, I'm lost. What's a sub-frame? Are you referring to the main chassis itself?

The part of the chassis that the entire tail section sits on is the known as the subframe.

http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x23/Tyrael7/281d3y8.jpg

http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x23/Tyrael7/Bike/sig.jpg
Ok, I'm lost. What's a sub-frame? Are you referring to the main chassis itself? Went to have another look again earlier, both wheel rims not dented or look warped. Forks, can't really tell.

The engine block had a thin layer of oil around it, kinda like my old S4 when her head gasket was leaking.

Fork seal is out. "fork seals out? fork seal or dust cover?"

The shocks felt soft. Are those real Ohlins or a piece of sticker on a stock shock?

STICKER

Looking at it.... its a 2000 model... with 1yr+ COE to go.

Sigh .... so bored ...

Getting Poorer every yr

talking about me?

u probably seen me a few times but i doubt u remember me... haha~

i only talk to edmund most of the time...

hmm er think so...

oops sorry paiseh

STICKER

Looking at it.... its a 2000 model... with 1yr+ COE to go.

Okay... 2000 or 2001 model? It's an FT plate. I heard both of them are the same except for some minor differences. Then should be dust cover.. :p

Sorry, my knowledge is pretty limited. Guess shocks oso gotta rebuild. Wah.. :faint:

For the certainty of death and the knowledge of life's fragility, makes it worth living.

i feel like taking out 07 or 08

wad are de emergency??

u should know it cos u also riding... wat if ur brake fails u on tat day??? or ur throttle is not responding... or simple way u cant start ur up bike... tats is wat i call emergency.... so always be prepare... just like me. have to prepare the army vehicle before it go for detailing..... :thumb:

i think what he meant is that your cash each mth is it enough for emergency...

like installment is 300+ then suddenly something spoil... need 500+...

something along that line...

or installment 300+ then insurance also come... and road tax.. got enough cash to pay anot

yeah tats rite bro... now start to collect $$$ for road tax and insurance.. :cry:

well u might be tempted to go track:cheeky:

yeah track is also the main reason.... ive prepared the track item but haven had the time to go.... maybe due to workload... so bro, will u be my guardian when im in track??? :lol:

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3487/3316074269_1d51b46f97.jpg

R u Looking At The Babe Or The Bike o_O

Hi bros of gixxer, sorry not able to make it yesterday due to work....i will be looking forward for the next meetup....really wanna see u guys and the bikes....i really hope to learn more things from u guys....

i know u guys are going track....can i go together with u guys but i just watch....i don't have the proper gear, but just wanna see how it's like on the track in pg....first timer...

no worries..:thumb:

hi bros just wondering how much will a k9 cost otr ?

about 26+...27 depending on individual insurance..

http://i700.photobucket.com/albums/ww4/mambowake/mvagusta.jpg
no worries dude...m oso a newbie to pg track...c'mon join us man...e more merrier...:lol:

U....BANNED!!! for now :angel:

Me a GSXR6K5 rider.Where all of chill out?Plz inform through hp 98865075 IMRAN.Thanks i'm looking forward 2 seeing u guys.

ok...:thumb:

http://i700.photobucket.com/albums/ww4/mambowake/mvagusta.jpg

Stop ur stupid game and i'll stop mine.

i think what he meant is that your cash each mth is it enough for emergency...

like installment is 300+ then suddenly something spoil... need 500+...

something along that line...

or installment 300+ then insurance also come... and road tax.. got enough cash to pay anot

erm okay this 1 i noe =)

ya la very head pain but still life goes on

maybe will consider taking out later

well u might be tempted to go track:cheeky:

i very tempt le but dono how to go.

i feel like bring my 400cc to go

but my fren all dono how to go

or too busy with work le,...

Emergency?

Anything extra out of the ordinary. Could be a repairs for a drop, or a crash, or your best friend's dog is sick and needs money for an operation, or the family cow got scared by your exhaust note and rampaged through the living room destroying everything....

Those kinda things la....

oh okay will take note =)

Don't.

why?? 07 08 model not good?

Y not lun awhile for the yen to drop den pay abit more to get the 09? Belive a fbc r1 cost u near 20k otr.... From ur sig, u must be riding a rvf? last time I also rode rvf, other den the torque cos by cc diff, v4 n inline 4 feels so diff. Ah moh said that the crossplane feels like a mixture of inline 4, v4 n v twin. So I'll rather spend 26k for a 09 den 20k for a 08. my 0.02 tho...

heard tat 09 is a very good n powerful bike eh

but de outlook @#$% leh =x (my view la )

u should know it cos u also riding... wat if ur brake fails u on tat day??? or ur throttle is not responding... or simple way u cant start ur up bike... tats is wat i call emergency.... so always be prepare... just like me. have to prepare the army vehicle before it go for detailing..... :thumb:

yeah tats rite bro... now start to collect $$$ for road tax and insurance.. :cry:

yeah track is also the main reason.... ive prepared the track item but haven had the time to go.... maybe due to workload... so bro, will u be my guardian when im in track??? :lol:

okay noted.

thanks for de advise.

but really hope can get my dream bike =x

if i nv get my dream bike before or during NS

i come out of NS sure take car le =(

Straight road tells between the Rich and the Poor.

Corners shows who is the man and the boy.

I'm a boy !

Bros... need some info/reviews from you guys regarding K5 1000 comparing to other of its version. Sorry cos im not well versed with Suzuki sports bikes. Is there any problem with a particular model or whatsoever? Thanks in advance..!!

De@th is Cert@in, Life is Not. Live life, ride s@fely.

2003 - Aprilia Extrema (FN649J) scrapped

2005 - TZM 150 (FP398Y) sold Dec '06

2005 - SP 150 (FT3783B) sold Oct '06

2006 - Wave S 125 (FU9094M) sold Jan '07

2006 - Aprilia RS250 (FP1807C) sold Nov '07

2006 - Hyper Vtec (FR6993D) sold Dec '07

2008 - CBR 150

2011 - GSXR K9 1000

Stop ur stupid game and i'll stop mine.

er for your info, i believe that nobody has disturbed u for a few weeks till now. Why go bother others?

What say u :angel: