Financially-off ppl shd learn to curb their desires for exp bikes (LONG POST)

That day I had a conversation with my friend about my bike. He said, "u spent so much $ to buy in full, why didn't u got a brand new bike like I did?" (he's riding Gixxer 1k 09', I am riding R1 05')" I told him that I don't want to keep aside so much money a month juz for a bike. I calculate if I keep aside 300-400 a month, is a comfortable amount for me yet shd be enuff for all the maintenance, parking, insurance and roadtax dat the bike needs. If I had to add installments, that would easily b $700 a month and I dun feel like throwing so much money...

He said, "whats the problem? ur earning more den me, yet I am able to keep a gsxr and a x1 for work". mind u hor, my fren is currently SCHOOLING and working part-time @ mcdelivery..

Den recently, tragedy struck. He got into an accident while working with his x1. Sudden lost of income. Now having difficult keeping e gixxer afloat. He's thinking of letting it go but overall installment + interest rates = bike is more expensive then brand new one. Another friend offered to COI his bike.. but he must PAY him to do so to offset e interest rate. Imagine hor, u have to pay some1 to take ur ride away...

Take this as a lesson, esp those kiddies who want to ride their dream bike but are not financial there to do it. Juz becuz u can "afford' the monthly installment, doesn't really mean u can afford it hor. It took me 1 and a 1/2 year to save up for this R1'05 and its a damn good feeling. No worries about anything happen den cannot pay installment.. worst come to worst, juz ride my spark while the R1 sits in the parking lot lol...

• Replies 136

If you are young with a long career ahead of you, what's the rush of getting a big expensive bike. You have a whole lifetime to enjoy your biking pleasures.

Youngster these days dun understand the different between needs and wants. Motorcycle is what you need for transport. Ducati is a want for example. What is the different between a spark and a Gixxer since both of them can get you to the same place? Both will still make you enjoy the jams, the weather along the way. People need to understand that the various types of bikes exist for different purpose and you buy them base on your needs. eg. I need a transport bike, so I just get a RXZ. My friend wants to go to track sometimes, so he got a sportbike etc.

No offence, but I felt TS having 2 bikes is also no better than his friend since both of you are probably 20+ at most.

HELP FIND MY BIKE! Blue RXZ (New Model), completely stock FBB3668U Stolen from Block 502A MSCP Choa Chu Kang Street 51

er i read it as

mac donald pays well as a delivery rider , cause can afford to study , own a k9 and a x1.

there are some fundamental arguments that i dont agree with.

first: "You have your whole lifetime to buy and ride big/exp bike, no need to rush when ur young".

sorry, dont agree. i just entered 30, my career is very stable now, and i can easily afford a brand new class 2 bike, even though right now i'm just continuing on with my 5 year old CBR6 bought brand new now just fully paid up. i bought the bike very early on when i started work (in fact the downpayment was practically my first pay check) and rode it through my mid-twenties, hanging out with various other biking buddies and visiting PG.

but now, even tho i can afford to replace my CB6 with something new, i'm not doing it. why? career commitment lah, family commitment lah, plus my biking buddies all also one by one give up bikes for same reasons, nobody to ride with anymore. but no regrets, coz at this age i realli feel happier spending time with my newborn daughter than out riding.theres nothing like riding your dream bike when you're young.

second: "all bikes are the same, they get you from point A to point B".

sorry, dont agree again. yes its true that if you want a bike strictly for commuting, a cub will do just fine. but as a biker i want more that just a 'mule'. i want a bike that puts a smile to my face, and my cbr6 kept me smiling on the road and track the past 5 years.

BUT..... none of these justifies getting a bike out of your means, and yes plenty of youths do this. buy a bike strictly within your means. if this means a second hand bike instead of first hand, so be it. if it means a smaller bike instead of a big bike, so be it again.

remember that after forking out a minimum of 10% down, then for the time you pull the instalments, the first half of that period you 'cannot' sell off the bike because you owe more than the bike is worth, exactly TS's fren's situation.

this is not about looking down on less financially able people. this is about common sense in financial prudence.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

enough with the "hor."

LOL.

I agree with TS - living outside your means is an invitation for disaster. What do they say about the new generation - something to do with instant gratification? So no waiting for something they want. Everything now. Good luck to them.

A cab driver once told me that he believed many of the exotic car drivers do the same thing - buy something way beyond their means because they've currently got a job that can pay the installments. I don't know how they do it and still get good sleep at night.

Cry 'Havoc'.....and let slip the dogs of war

I agree with TS, all my bikes, except the first 2 all fully paid...Most of the time if you need to pay installments, u cant afford it, but some financial sound people would keep more liquid and uses installments....but the point is how many are they???

Without the latest model, do I enjoy my ride?....Ans is Yes why not....

In fact without the burden of installment I guess i enjoy it more....

I can full cash a new car if I choose to not to mention a new class 2 bike...Now parking the money in shares and still appreciating...

Rather saving up the incurred interested and pay for diapers for my newborn....

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

mechwira: Thank you for your very interesting opinion the first point. I used to have that mentality the "Got whole life to enjoy", but after reading your post, only 'wow' maybe should take certain calculated risk

But to all others, yes I agree totally, it is a concern that the values of "Saving up to buy what you want" is a rarely practiced habit with all the hire purchase and installments and credit, it allows us to live tomorrow's dreams today, I for one am also guilty of it.

The most important thing I would suggest for financially off people, is the same principle which governs one's own financial matters, if you cannot comfortably pay off the installments for the next 6 months, then no you are not in a position to own a vehicle. Because that money is the basis, considering all the other ad-hoc repairs you would (not might) need, battery, chain/sprocket, and then insurance?

I contend that what I say is not pretty, but a bike is a cold hard fact, it's never too expensive, it's just you cannot afford it. So, do like all the world, work and wait.

"Wolves and sheep will live together in peace, and leopards will lie down with young goats, calves and lion cubs will feed together, and little children will take care of them. Cows and bears will eat together, and their calves and cubs will lie down in peace." Isaiah 11:6-8

http://s-ak.buzzfed.com/static/imagebuzz/web02/2010/9/8/17/be-an-optimist-prime-4756-1283979887-3.jpg

sad to see many people rush to get brandnew or expensive bikes and have to let go winthin 1 year or so..

they are taking the word "afford" as in monthly installment, not overall expenditure.

take a look at garage sale... many 2009 / 2010 models are on sale now.. with various reasons.. getting married, getting baby, getting car....

many people like to live by the moment, not within their limits.

My humble views:-

1) I was raised with the idea that "If you can't pay in cash, you cannot afford it."

2) My riding life will end in my mid thirties, so i got to enjoy as much as i can now.

3) If can get your dream bike at a young age, why not right?

3) It's peoples problem if they think they can support their bikes. All we can do is advise them but if they don't wanna listen, we also cannot do anything.

5) Only the person has REAL control over his own life and only he knows his own limits. We can only speculate what is really going on in his life.

Edited by crazydj

Yes that does explain why I absolutely adore my 8 year old rust bucket.

There's totally no liability involved, and it's a simple design that I can safely experiment with. Ever got jealous about people on 'the other side of the world' creating wonderful stuff with their bare hands?

Buy an ah pek bike and start googling away at car/bike enthusiasts' websites :D

It's free entertainment and education. I don't get the point why everyone I know is asking me to get a 400-1200cc machine when I have no use for the horsepower.

60-80kph in traffic and on enclosed back/surburban roads is where I clock up my 10,000km in 3 mths :p

50 cents fuel cost per day means I can play all I want.

sad to see many people rush to get brandnew or expensive bikes and have to let go winthin 1 year or so..

they are taking the word "afford" as in monthly installment, not overall expenditure.

take a look at garage sale... many 2009 / 2010 models are on sale now.. with various reasons.. getting married, getting baby, getting car....

if without these people, garage sales will close down already ;D Till today , i never belived in getting 1st hand bike unless i'm gonna need it for the next 5 years or more ;D

you got your ride 1st hand?

My humble views:-

1) I was raised with the idea that "If you can't pay in cash, you cannot afford it."

2) My riding life will end in my mid thirties, so i got to enjoy as much as i can now.

3) If can get your dream bike at a young age, why not right?

3) It's peoples problem if they think they can support their bikes. All we can do is advise them but if they don't wanna listen, we also cannot do anything.

5) Only the person has REAL control over his own life and only he knows his own limits. We can only speculate what is really going on in his life.

different people different perspective... CHOICES is the word ;D

No offence, but I felt TS having 2 bikes is also no better than his friend since both of you are probably 20+ at most.

You are right about one thing, I am in my 20s. But you're in no position to judge my spending power. Both of my bikes are full paid and I diligently put aside $ for yearly costs and maintenance with enough $ for my spending exp and to put aside for savings.

er i read it as

mac donald pays well as a delivery rider , cause can afford to study , own a k9 and a x1.

Malay has this saying, "ikat perut". It means to scrimps on whenever u can.. his mcdonalds job can pay for the k9,x1 and studies but he can onli pump @ jb for example, smoke rolled ciggies, cannot eat anywhere he want and so on la..

enough with the "hor."

Sorry hor...

Happy to know that many are financially sound people that live within their own means....

I agreed with some of the points....

Many 1-2 years old bikes in garage sale with various reasons....And the reasons are not those which you can decided within a day just like you eat mac....

Kids,marriages and cars...Hmmm.....

And not many are fully paid....

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

[quote=Cracked;6755083

Malay has this saying, "ikat perut". It means to scrimps on whenever u can.. his mcdonalds job can pay for the k9,x1 and studies but he can onli pump @ jb for example, smoke rolled ciggies, cannot eat anywhere he want and so on la..

oo , i never see their daily expenditure so cant comment, i always tot wow, the job must really pay well as i do see some in their company shirts riding big bikes.

but then again , the way u say it , then why do they still do it ? not the part about go jb and pump ..

as in cannot eat anywhere he likes?

mac dun supply food for staff?

like that got gf how ah?

me.19 yr old guy.

work ard 1 yr,bought a kr,n ride.wif my own money.

before that,i wanna get a sp from shop n pay by installments.but parents dun allow me to buy

after i ride my kr,my dad ask me how much n stuff. he say ' litat beta wad,ful cash beta dan every mth give 200 for a yr'

if can afford buy lor.

if not..wait awhile

i got my 2b on aug,but buy insurance on 1st oct 10,coz i scare not enuff for myself to eat.

so i rather wait n save more.

ya..thats e thing man

but sum really have e cash,lyk e rsv4,duck motard

oo , i never see their daily expenditure so cant comment, i always tot wow, the job must really pay well as i do see some in their company shirts riding big bikes.

but then again , the way u say it , then why do they still do it ? not the part about go jb and pump ..

like that got gf how ah?

er...

work longer hours.

look n do another part tym job.

----------------------------------

but i believe there r still alot of ppl hu think they can afford it n coi it.

but lyk wad jtxs said "wifout them,used bike section will haf lesser new/interesting bikes".

thats when ppl lyk me can steal a deal there :p

Well a bike should enhance your lifestyle, not make it worse. If I need to slog like a horse and eat McDonald's everyday just to support the bike, it's not worth it.

Unless "having face" for owning a big bling bike is an enhancement to your lifestyle :D

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/176/382836949_9f10369d74.jpg

er...

work longer hours.

look n do another part tym job.

/QUOTE]

u are not answering my question

we humans just cannot be contented with what we have.... unless u got the means and ways. Then another story loh..

no cash but want to have the power.. Get a old old bike.. Project big? xJR? bandit??? not too bad ma.. $2k++ in garage sales.

like that got gf how ah?

What he meant was, he cant eat things that he likes to, and cant choose what he wants to eat as he have to scrimp and save to afford his bike. Thus can only eat within his budget in order to afford his bike.

its not that mac dont supply food to staff, explained as above.

got gf luggi best, either choose gf or choose bike, or choose both and starve to death. :cheeky:

Selling Aprilia Front, Rear Brakes & Dellorto 34mm Carb !

Selling Aprilia Parts!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/304715-WTS-Aprilia-Front-amp-Rear-Brakes-Full-Set-amp-Dellorto-34mm-Carb!

PM me for more info! :cheeky:

What he meant was, he cant eat things that he likes to, and cant choose what he wants to eat as he have to scrimp and save to afford his bike. Thus can only eat within his budget in order to afford his bike.

its not that mac dont supply food to staff, explained as above.

got gf luggi best, either choose gf or choose bike, or choose both and starve to death. :cheeky:

oic .. but like that isnt it rather suffering ??

u save 10 dollar , then 9 dollar go to the bike

then how u going to enjoy ??

Well a bike should enhance your lifestyle, not make it worse. If I need to slog like a horse and eat McDonald's everyday just to support the bike, it's not worth it.

Unless "having face" for owning a big bling bike is an enhancement to your lifestyle :D

Eating Mac's everyday is also not cheap!

I used to be extremely susceptible to temptation from wants Now, I guess it's alot better but still succumb to many wants. Some people learn financial management early on.. some a little later.. some never. Hopefully we will all someday be able to manage our finances prudently enough and not get into bad debts.

My parents scold me on being cheap for everything. I don't even eat outside. Go home eat. Bike also i so cheap as hell. Even bro tonychan keep scolding me that i am so damn freaking cheap. I find that if you are comfortable and have your own tactics to manage your own life, people can judge you all you want. If they choose this lifestyle, then we also cannot force them.

you got your ride 1st hand?

I have to be frank with you. I could get a first hand FZ150I, YBR125, CBF150 if i waited a few months more. The problem is that, if i got these bikes first hand, that means my savings can only last me a max of 2 years. Then i would have to start working. Which i REFUSE to. Yet. So i decided. Second hand, maintenance can last me more than 4 years, just nice when uni finish and i get my first job.

Anyway, some people appear to be financially off but they have a secret business. Like alot of uncle sell mee pok, his stall has been there for donkey years, but you see him take bicycle to work, walk to market etc. Actually, he got alot of money, but cannot show. :cheeky:

In life, we are making decisions everyday. No rights no wrongs, only by making mistakes, then you will learn n improve. As long as u live a happy life, nothing else matters. Just dun look back and regrets the decision you have made when your old. Purely my personal point of view. :smile:

K4/K5 600 stock windshield for sale

K4/K5 600 pillion seat for sale

Brand new Harley U-toque open fingerless gloves size M, for sale