[Trip Report] Ride, MHS Thai- Northern Laos from 15 Nov- 6 Dec 2010 Link to picture

This is the link to my photo album. A picture is word a thousand words and there's a thousand picture so, Let the picture do the talking

total distance travel is about 6k , 1.6k is on train and 1 km is by barge

This link is for the album

http://s1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/

This is for the video (remember to reduce the sound first )

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2347.jpg

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2428.jpg

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2538.jpg

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2570.jpg

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2655.jpg

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2709.jpg

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2744.jpg

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2807.jpg

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN3179.jpg

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN3321.jpg

Edited by ChaoPuzzy1968

• Replies 37

Malacca ringo moon guest hse

2 years later ..... e-pig 2

Currency conversion:

S$1: 22.3 Baht

US$1 : S$1.27

US$1 : 8000kips

Malaysia petrol

RM2.30/litre

Thai Gasohol 95

31-38 Baht/litre

Laos

Huey Xai

9040kips/litre

Mountain hand pump

12,000 kips/litre

Oudom Xai

9050kips/litre

Vietiane

8940kips/litre

Paper Work

Enter into Thai

1. Bike 3rd party coverage for 1 year RM68

2. Passport RM2 each

3. Karnet RM3 submit together with your vehicle log card

Exit thu Chiang Khong

1. Insurance to use bike for 2 weeks 260 baht

2. Barge for bike 500 baht

3. At the passport clearance, submit 2 forms for vehicle. In-bound and out-bound of vehicle. Upon clearing of passport 200 baht for clearing vehicle. Keep the remaining copy for re-entering into thailand. If not got to queue like mad for filling up forms at thai custom.

4. Proceed to surrender your karnet.

Enter Thu Huey Xai

1. Bike boarding area. The office near to get Laos karnet for 2 weeks cost 200 baht.

2. Officer in green to clear your bike paperwork. 100 baht for OT pay (for Sat and Sun)

3. Proceed to travel 1km to the immigration custom, fill up the white card. 40 baht per pax (for Sat and Sun)

Exit thu Vietiane

1. Clear passport

2. Clear Laos karnet, enusre signed by the officer in green.

Re-entering into Thailand(Nong Khai)

1. Passport w white card clearance

2. Submit your in bound form given by Chiang Khong office together with 200 baht.

3. Proceed to get bike karnet

Exit Hatyai

1. Clear Passport

2. Clear bike karnet; ensure you sign on the log book.

Lodging Cost

Thailand Lodging

Tak Guesthouse; air con w hot water @350baht

Mae Hong Son Baiyoke Chalet Hotel @ 960baht with 2 breakfast

Mai Sai Inn Hotel; air con w hot water @400baht

Surant thani Happy Inn Hotel; air con w hot water @300baht

Hatyai Sing Golden Place Hotel @890baht wo breakfast

Laos Lodging

Huey Xai Guesthouse; hot water @400baht

Oudom Xai Guesthouse; air con w hot water @USD10 (Chinese speaking)

Luang Prabang Guesthouse; air con w hot water @USD12

Vientiane Guesthouse; air con w hot water @USD15

Laos

Drinking water 10,000kips 1 litre

Soup noodle 10,000kips

Fried rice 15,000kips

BBQ fish 15,000-20,000kips

Coffee Laos 5,000-10,000kips

Edited by ChaoPuzzy1968

Fire Road

From Huey Xai to Boten 100km

Boten to Oudom Xai 100km

Oudom Xai to Luang Prabang 87km

Bike items we brought

1. Spare Chain

2. 2 bottles chain wax

3. 4 small cartridge of compress air

4. 1 set standard tools, wrenches

5. 4 litre petrol container

6. Tow ropes

7. Nylon string 3m

8. Air Pump 2 sets

9. Tire pressure gauge

10. Tire removal wrench set

11. Duct Tape 2 rolls - one pink, one black

12. Engine Oil 4T - 1 litre bottle

13. Cotton Glove

14. Tooth brush (used)

15. Palm size rock (for parking on soft sand)

16. Portable Soldering Iron (gas type)

17. Paint Brush

18. Portable Blow Torch, one stainless steel cup(make coffee)

19. Small fold-able chair

20. 1 set of Allen Key

21. 1 adjustable spanner

22. Spare Fuse set

23. Tire worm kit

All these items filled up H&B 38litre side pannier.

Tire changed to TKC80 before the trip tire thread was 11mm at start after 5k with 2up and 50kg of luggage at average speed 70 km/h of max speed of 90km/h ws 5mm.( there is about 6 burst of 0-160km/h)

Edited by ChaoPuzzy1968

Wah Lao Eh!!! Your Video ahh... Knn get me poisoned all over again...

Now I very sad already.. I want to go riding =(

The only reason why I'm not laughing with you is that I prefer laughing at you.

Wah Lao Eh!!! Your Video ahh... Knn get me poisoned all over again...

Now I very sad already.. I want to go riding =(

don't worry...the places will wait for us...ride onnnnn!

Hi, may i know how is the road condition at Laos as compared to papabread79 Aug trip? Is it necessary to use tkc80? I hope to go there soon. Nice vid and pics!

RIDE :cool:

Great info, great trip!

Thanks , I hope the info is sufficient to encourage more ppl to try it on their own.

Hi, may i know how is the road condition at Laos as compared to papabread79 Aug trip? Is it necessary to use tkc80? I hope to go there soon. Nice vid and pics!

thanks...

Papabread had it really really bad, his timing was wet.

If you are going there soon i expect it's going to be really cold and and a bit wet , you may not need to have the stubbies if you are going 1 up and slow but again I would strongly advise you to use TKC 80 just incase you hit into areas you don't expect.

Bring the TKC80 along is the best option.

supported !!!!! tkc does not do well on wear rate on tarmac when u are going at speed above 130km/hour.

Day 0 (15 Nov 2010) 21:30hrs

Slept 1 ½ hrs before we set off the GP Esso. Bought water, snacks and we are off. Measure the knobbie(TKC80) thickness to be 11mm when we start. Well aware of its high wear rate(8kkm to 10kkm) on road, determine to travel slow 90kmh with night temperature low should help in another way. The combine weight of the panniers and rider together with the pillion; wear rate is expected to be worst.

Day 1 (16 Nov 2010) 835+70km

Did Big FCUK (DL1000) insurance which costed RM68 that last a year. Proceed to Sadao Border. As usual RM2 each passport, RM10 for Karnet(Vehicle Log card needed)(mistake cos the lady never return the differences). Rush to Hatyai to check they can load Big FCUK on train(trying to save our tyre wear). As we travelled, certain areas in Sadao is still flooded. The stagnant water over oil palm and rubber plantation gave out unbearable smell.

After confirming with the ticketing officer that they do loading; I proceeded to purchase 2 first class ticket to Bangkok (2988B). Queue for the processing of Big FCUK was slow moving. Hand over our Log Card with the Owner Name, Country, Machine Make, Weight all underlined for ease reference. Big FCUK cost 1640B plus the loading gentlemen charged us 500B to handle her. Removed her mirrors and she parked at the platform waiting for her ride. The handlers were so pleased with the tips given; they offered a trolley to house our panniers, helmet etc. They promised to keep watch of them too. Later the evening; they are going to help carry our panniers to our room. It took 6 persons to carry our Big FCUK and it wasn’t easy.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2285.jpg

We walked out to nearby coffeeshop for some fried kway teow and ice coffee. The flood water marks could be seen everywhere. Piles of rubbish all over.

Our train was suppose to arrive 1900hrs was postponed to 2130hrs due to Sadao flood. Wash up and ate our dinner on board for 150B each. The movement of the training ease our sleep.

Edited by ChaoPuzzy1968

Day 2 (17 Nov 2010)945km +420km

Train was scheduled to reach Bangkok station by 12:30hrs was delayed till 15:30hrs. Tips the unloading guys 200B, bought some talc powders and water as we set the GPS to route us out of Bangkok without using the highway. Bikes are not allowed on highways. Moved off 16:00hrs.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2303.jpg

It seen we had no choice but to ride into the night. Earlier read the map, the major town before Mae Sot , Tak was Nangkhon Sawan. Use Nangkhon Sawan as bench mark. Reach the outskirt of Bangkok 17:20hrs. Top up petrol had light dinner with ice cold lemon tea. The sunset in Bangkok was beautiful especially over the stagnant water filled padi field. http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2308.jpg

Depending on the riding; we designated to break either Tak or Mae Sot for the night.

Road towards Nangkhon Sawan was alright till a certain distance, the left lane road seen to have 2 continuous rolls of 60cm-80cm width, 5cm depth of grooves. Making riding or driving dangerous. Not careful; one may flied when bike tyres were in between the 2 grooves. These deep track were indented by heavy truck travelling over time on the road. Switched to right lane; did not help; sand and potholes everywhere. End up we followed another truck by using the road shoulder. Stopped twice in the evening to top up and outskirt of Nangkhon Sawan, we sat down for some hot noodle. Battling with hundreds of houseflies in finishing our noodles. Nangkhon Sawan seen like a major town like Hatyai.

Reached Tak guesthouse 18 Nov 2010 @ 0100hrs.

Ask for an air con with hot shower room which cost 350B.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2313.jpg

It seen they construct the guesthouse themselves.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2314.jpg

Check tyre pressure, knobbie thickness, spray chain covered Big **** before we washed up and sleep.

Day 3 (18 Nov 2010) 80+408km

Strangely along the main road; there wasn’t any petrol kiosk. We got to U-turn to have a top up. Had eggs, bread and coffee for breakfast before we moved off to Mae Sot (80km)

Road to Mae Sot was straight followed by mountain twisties.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2325.jpg

Stopped at the Magic Hill indicator

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2326.jpg

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/th_DSCN2327.jpg

Reach Mae Sot near noon. Was anticipating to see swam of Myanmar refugee as reported days back. Nothing.

Top up at Mae Sot and proceed on 408km to MHS.

Mae Lim Refugee camp

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2340.jpg

Stopped over Tha Song Yang for noodles and ice blended coffee for late lunch

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2353.jpg

2 areas with landslide along the way. A kup kia skidded in front of us, Thank God we had our knobbie and Big FCUK.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2357-1.jpg

Through the way, the harvest of the padi can be seen. Approaching Mae Saring, not to be avoid was the view of padi and plantations of 2 countries divided by the river. Was such a waste not been able to capture it on photo.

As the evening approaches, the roads were gravels and potholes. The vibration caused our Givi top box to open. Dismounted and checked if important documents were still inside, tear 2 strips of cloth tape; tape down the cover. There and then we can understand why some rider’s pannier flied off and boxes opened.

Reached MHS town 1930hrs. 2-3 km before the town, there are guesthouse allocated uphill. We need to check into a hotel to do our laundry hence we moved toward the town area. Check with the GPS for the location of the Post Office. Found it near the night market. The hotel next to Post Office offered 1400B per night but was fully booked. Walked across the road to Baiyoke Chalet Hotel 960B with 2 breakfast. Paid for 2 nights stay and asked for a room where is located on the ground floor. Bell boys helped us with our panniers.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2368.jpg

Parked Big FCUK; praised her for going through the twisties graciously. She was covered with dust all over. Sprayed her chain, check press, check knobbie thickness before we covered her for the night.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2365.jpg

After wash up, pass the laundry to the receptionist we enjoyed the plentiful of food variety of the night market. Pig part’s soup, porridge(30B), fried mussel/prawn (30B), roti prata with banana(25B). The splendid display of souvenir of tribual colours really lighten up one’s spirit. Locals were wearing winter gear, scarfs, gloves, hats. Yet we felt hot after a day of riding. Winter gear was a lot more cheaper than those can be purchased in Singapore. Scarf 100B for 2 pcs (S$4.50)

Planned to go see Bua tong via Khun Yuam yellow flowers for the following day. It was 70km down from MHS. Not going to support the cruel industry of the long neck woman.

Edited by ChaoPuzzy1968

Day 4 (19 Nov 2010) 140+50km Khun Yuam to Bua Tong Mexian sunflower Valley

We were awake by 07:00hrs, had our simple hotel porridge/bread and sausage with coffee breakfast. The sleepy town of MHS immerge from her sleep with a layer of fog. Locally moving around in their winter gears. Sun rinse around 08:00hrs. Removed all items from our panniers, placing only raincoats and tyre repair kits in them. The weight distribution must be equal, avoid overload on one side which may cause problems when we do the 360 deg up/down turn with sand and gravel to enhance the difficulties. First thing first, went over next door to the Chamber of Commerce to purchase the MHS loop certificate and sticker.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2376.jpg

The morning was chilly, wore mesh jacket together with raincoat. We removed our raincoat only after 10:30hrs. Blessed with dry season, the cool air lead the mexian sunflower to bloom lavishly. The journey to the valley was pleasant. As we exit main road and enter into route 1263, nature called. Turn into a chalet place near 1st waterfall. Ordered 2 cups of hot coffee and asked for permission to use the toilet. The owner and his family were very friendly and nice. He even offered us a free cup of his own grown coffee. He went on to describe his chalet which are built next to the waterfall stream. Hiking 1km uphill can access to the waterfall while general public require to hike 2km from the parking area. Chalet ranged 800 to 1000B. According to owner, the temperature MHS and Khun Yuam can drop to 0 deg C Dec to Jan period. It was rough 18 deg C when we were there. Rode to the chalet and took a look. Nice Place. http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2387.jpg

As we continued, noticed that these roads also contributed to 1864 MHS turns. The higher we go, it got cooler. I was looking for the legendary told hill and valley of sunflower.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2390.jpg

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2402.jpg

From far, we can see a hilltop of gold. That must be it!

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2423.jpg

We melt on Big Fcuk!

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2427-1.jpg

A slight distance away was the hut / camp site area. 250B for bed in hut with sharing toilets.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2433-1.jpg

These mexian sunflower blossom during late 2 weeks in Nov and perhaps 1st week of Dec. Was please to witness such nature wonder.

Went out to Khun Yuam town for petrol, lunch. Coffee break before we reach MHS.

The rest of the afternoon was spend in internet ‘café’. The operator was not even there. We paid our share before we left. Evening spend wandering night market. Found Piya Guesthouse further up Post Office. 600B per night.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2456.jpg

Laundry was returned to our room. Paid 168B for 4 T-shirt, 2 jeans washed.

Planning next stop; Mai Sai via Pai, Fang, Chiang Rai

Day 5 (20 Nov 2010) MHS to Mai Sai via Pai, Chiang Rai 433km

After breakfast, packed and check out from hotel. Pai which is 100+km away.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2467.jpg

Stopped hill top for coffee and toilet break, toilet 3B

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2475.jpg

Reaching Pai 11:30hrs the heat is setting in. Come across this resort.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2483.jpg

We found Pai too pack with tourist, moving off to Mai Sai.

Rider please take note from Chiang Mai to Chiang Rai; toilet not easily available. Our GPS route us to the hill when it is a straighter road from Fang to Chiang Rai. Forcing us to finish the 1864 curves.

Towards Chiang Rai

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2507.jpg

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2514.jpg

Chiang Rai petrol kiosk, wife having migrant. Got to stop over at Mai Sai.

Chiang Rai road was dry and slippery. A number of truck overturn along the way. Dusty too.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2519.jpg

Kup and cars were travelling 40-50kmh, kup kia were fish tailing all the way.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2522.jpg

Mai Sai Inn Hotel 350B air con and hot water shower, tired ….ate light dinner, wash up & slept like a lodge.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2530.jpg

Edited by ChaoPuzzy1968

Keep your pics and ride report coming!!

Just love Northern Thailand!! Beautiful Roads...great views and nice people....

"Deep within us all, lies a secret garden where we retreat to at the end of the day, to ease our wearied mind and bodies…â€

http://i288.photobucket.com/albums/ll198/fir_chan/Places/DSC02859-1.jpg

Day 6 (21 Nov 2010)Mai Sai to Golden Triangle 120km, GT to Chiang Khong 70km cross 1km width MEKONG RIVER.

Wife bought a pair of winter glove for 120B for morning wear.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2535.jpg

Check out of the guesthouse, took photos at thea Mai Sai –Myanmar Border, 2nd Friendship Bridge. Asked the Myannmar guard if we can enter to take photo; he said no.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2538.jpg

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2547.jpg

Breakfast was soup noodle. Everyone around wearing winter gear. Near the custom, the gear were sold much cheaper. 150B for full leather glove (I paid S$40 in Singapore)

The nightmare road began. Big Fcuk managed with the knobbies. We wondered what if it rains…

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2555.jpg

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2564.jpg

There were 2 water truck spraying water on the mud…for what? Make them slippery??? Wetting the mud making them like kaya…how to move?

Did not go see opium museum. In the fog and dust we came across this resort.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2568.jpg

By the time we reached Golden Triangle…can’t see much due to the thick fog. Took 2 photo and continued to Chiang Khong for the river crossing.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2573.jpg

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2570.jpg

Dying for coffee. Stop over a café with a Jeep outside, rest and take a toilet break.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2579.jpg

As the destination draw closer, the view of Mekong and her inhabitant was breath taking one.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2601.jpg

The mighty Mekong River; a river that go through 5 nations.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2628.jpg

Top up Big Fcuk petrol and exchange 2000B into 100B bills for transport charge. Also bought 4 tiny cans of sardine in the event we don’t have food in Laos. Next target in Laos to get hold of French Loaves.

500B for Big Fcuk, 260B insurance to ride her in Laos.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2644.jpg

2 form, one outbound, one inbound.

First clear our passport, followed by clear vehicle. Filled up the 2 forms with the officer help. Paid 200B. Proceed to next small building, surrender Big Fcuk karnet.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2649.jpg

Waited for 2hours before they brought us across. Apparently, the operator was waiting 2 car/van to come over. When the car arrived, they had Chinese Discovery Channel logo on them.

Loaded up….

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/db28f6fe-042e-4a39-872c-fd94bc003bef.jpg

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2655.jpg

Go up the stair and move to right hand side to do Laos Karnet for Big Fcuk. For a permit of 2 weeks it costed 200B. Take Karnet and inbound form from Thai go see the guys in green for stamps. 100B for the Overtime (Sat and Sun). Ride another 1km towards the passenger landing custom office. 40B per person for passport for OT. Money Changer available.

It was nearly 15:00hrs when we were done with all the paperwork. Rode to the local petrol kiosk to check out their rate. It was labeled 9045kips/litre.Went to town and look for a guesthouse. Hut looking wo air con cost us 400B. Spend 1 hour talking to the chain, using engine oil brush and remove the mud and dust.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2662-1.jpg

Dinner along the Mekong River, fried rice, BBQ fish, sausage and water 70,000kips

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2663-1.jpg

Without air con, the heat was terrible. Only after 10pm, the air started to cool down.

Day 7 (22 Nov 2010) Hoey Xai to Oudom Xai via Boten 210+100km

Temperature was cool to 18 deg C. Gloves on.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2669-1.jpg

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2677-1.jpg

200km worth of gravels road

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2684-1.jpg

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2689.jpg

Breakfast @nam Fa town with English menu. Along the way, red dust covered the nice beautiful Christmas flowers.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2719.jpg

Views were breath taking. Big Fcuk roars as she started ‘eating’ blue, yellow, white colours butterflies. She ate at least 30 this morning. Bought the knobbie tyre for these roads. Never regretted. ‘Beware of deer crossing’ ‘do not horn’ @nature reserve areas.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2722.jpg

When Big Fcuk see road, she ran like mad. OOH reached Boten Border.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2744.jpg

Still early, so we headed down to Oudom Xai for night resting. Another 100km worth of gravels and sand. Why the road seen endless. Vibration and gravels hitting Big Fcuk..When was the gravel road end? Bone shattering away, helmet rocking back and fro.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2746.jpg

By afternoon, 16:30hrs reached Oudom Xai; a town with airport too. The street was filled with China made machinery tools and products. Was looking for a guesthouse with air con. One of the operator replied in Mandarin: “Why do you want air con, when it is so cold at night?” The fact being, when we reach any destination; prolong exposed to sunlight-naturally I want air con to cool down the body. After asking the 3rd operator, finally a host who speaks mandarin and asked for USD10 air con room.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2785.jpg

Dump our load, took out allen key and wrench to fasten all lose bolts and nuts. Spray the chain and check tyre thickness. Wash up and went for dinner. Only got to have noodles, bought some can pineapple to eat in our room later. As night approaches, temperature drop we made hot instant coffee with our blow torch & stainless steel cup.

http://i1015.photobucket.com/albums/af276/veronchay/E-PIG/DSCN2789.jpg

After calculation, we may not have enough money (USD) to last us to Pakxe. We planned to go to Vientiane before heading back to Thailand.

Important note: When you see a petrol kiosk, better pump. You won’t know where is the next kiosk. Those with one tank 200km mileageor below will face problem. Hand Pump petrol 12,000kips per litre when kiosk offered 9100kips.