To: ducatitan

The F650GS is one of the bikes that I really like when I passed my Cl 2. At that time it was going for $11K to $14k used, only a bit less than a full-fledged boxer. Well, decide to get a bigger bigger bike and see if I can handle it and ... the rest is history.

It is a good bike, but IMHO, a lot of the $$ goes into the branding. A DRZ or a good old Honda XR or even an AT would have less problems with lesser care. Having said that, to me it is very much a head turner.

The new Yammie Tenere ... hmmmm :cheers:

Cat

Hi Cat, just saw ur post. I was away for a while.

Not too long ago, I saw a white 650gs zipping past me. It had the dakar setup and looked way cool. I do agree with the bm vs rotw comparison. But we all know why we ride what we ride.

Anyway, I'm getting my baptism of fire burning a huge lobang in my pocket. Think I just got to bite the bullet and enjoy the ride(s).

rideupnorth.blogspot.com

Hence my own amazement ...... this weekend never advertise liao. My own thought is that the seller perhaps hoped that some buyer will go down, saw the 1100, think ah well, it's not bad, since I am here ....

This week's talk of the local BMW town was the lelong sale of a June 2006 R1200GS for $22k. Several of my mates missed that. :cry: Now one bloke offered the new owner a higher price. I think the government should use us as an example of "what recession?" :)

Cat

$22k for a Jun 06 1200gs. That's a huge discount (assuming in good condition).

BUT its still "expensive". A designer chair with 20% discount is still costlier than an ikea. Only those who can afford one will think its a bargain. The rest (me included) can only drool abt it.

rideupnorth.blogspot.com

I heard rumours of $28k-$30k depending on options.

But at age 27 you are too young for a BMW. Its an unwritten law that you must have pipe, slippers and beer belly before you can own a BMW :thumb:

So to say all the people who rides a BMW will have the above mentioned? It sounded more like harley riders to me though :cheeky:

Fell in love with the F800 GS. And it is lighter than the R1200GS so it is ideal for small sized person like me :cheers:

http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d158/flareon1982/Misc/1.jpg

Fell in love with the F800 GS. And it is lighter than the R1200GS so it is ideal for small sized person like me :cheers:

Hmm be careful...just because its lighter doesn't make it smaller:

• 1200GS inner leg curve = 1,860mm (low seat 1,820mm)

• 1200GS seat height (low seat) = 820mm

• 800GS inner leg curve = 1,940 mm (low seat: 1,900 mm)

• 800GS seat height (low seat) = 850mm

The 800GS is actually bigger and further to the floor than the 1200GS.

Hie Beemers!! sorry to barge in here..

just an enquiry, where do u guys normally get parts for ur bike?

looking for GS front fenders actually....

Edited by @swat_
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2504/3947126520_f7541d4daf.jpg

Try http://www.motobins.co.uk, http://www.motorworks.co.uk, http://www.maxbmwmotorcycles.com, http://www.webparts.com, http://www.ascycles.com & http://www.bobsbmw.com

I normally order parts for my K75 from motobins or motorworks & delivery about 4 days to a week but have to pay in pounds & freight.

If PM has no ex-stock parts their delivery take little longer but no freight and in S$. I am still waiting for parts ordered mid Jan 09.

Edited by beng swee

went to Mtechnik some weeks ago.chatted with the friendly Eris about aftermarket pipes and the like.my roadster and the GS1100 share the same engine.we spoke about the co-relation of bike age and mileage and he says dat a 10yr old with low miles may not always seem to be in great cond.there was a guy with a GS11 with 30K kms having to visit the workshop often.he also pointed to a FN plater gs with relative low miles in the midst of a top overhaul.gosh dats a downer.so far i've not experience any major bad with my bike and dont wish any to happen.guess maybe the roadsters have it a little better as compared to its adventure brethren.

http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/201108/tarka.gif
$22k for a Jun 06 1200gs. That's a huge discount (assuming in good condition).

BUT its still "expensive". A designer chair with 20% discount is still costlier than an ikea. Only those who can afford one will think its a bargain. The rest (me included) can only drool abt it.

I'll go for a preowned GS12 if its price dips below $20K in a few years :cheeky: wish wish

http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/201108/tarka.gif

Anyone knows if there's taxi service between Kuantan and Cherating? I reckon won't feel like riding once changed into T and shorts. I think taxis would be cheaper than hotel limo :)

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

Anyone knows if there's taxi service between Kuantan and Cherating? I reckon won't feel like riding once changed into T and shorts. I think taxis would be cheaper than hotel limo :)

Cat

Cat, U heading up north??? :cheeky:

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

Yup. Found that this weekend is free, so will go to Cherating to spend Sat nite. :)

Cat

Edited by coolcat

my r11s today while riding suddenly got funny sound like someting broken at the clutch area. initially got rough sound then after tat if open throttle got whinning sound, close throttle got rough sound. when stop c below the cluth gearbox area got black oil dripping.

is it worth it to repair again (jus replace cluth system 6mths agi) since the coe is expiring soon....tot of jus scrap the bike....

if scrap wat r the compulsory ting to b sent for scrap.....

or better to send to shop for export n get some $$

mid96-end'96 RD350

end'96-1999 CBR hurricane

1999-2000 S4 vtec

2000-2002 R1

2002-2005 XRV750

2005-;) bm Rseries

my r11s today while riding suddenly got funny sound like someting broken at the clutch area. initially got rough sound then after tat if open throttle got whinning sound, close throttle got rough sound. when stop c below the cluth gearbox area got black oil dripping.

is it worth it to repair again (jus replace cluth system 6mths agi) since the coe is expiring soon....tot of jus scrap the bike....

if scrap wat r the compulsory ting to b sent for scrap.....

or better to send to shop for export n get some $$

Sorry to hear that. The problem may be minor in that it is a blown gasket or seal, likely from the gearbox, but the labour to open up will not be cheap. It boils down to how much to do up the bike versus what plans you have for it.

Cat

Sorry to hear that. The problem may be minor in that it is a blown gasket or seal, likely from the gearbox, but the labour to open up will not be cheap. It boils down to how much to do up the bike versus what plans you have for it.

Cat

the last time i jus change most of the parts in the clutch system.

so if completely rebuilt & change the seals roughly how much?

any1 got idea??

mid96-end'96 RD350

1999-2000 S4 vtec

2000-2002 R1

2002-2005 XRV750

2005-;) bm Rseries

the last time i jus change most of the parts in the clutch system.

so if completely rebuilt & change the seals roughly how much?

any1 got idea??

Hi, I'm riding a 1100S too... recently change clutch and gearbox seal at m-technik, i think its around 1K if i'm not wrong for the overhaul of clutch.

few days back also encounted the smiliar noise but mine got worng it suddenly sound like something is grinding inside but no oil leak and then some snapping off sound follow by loud rotation knocking sound... sigh

Freedom... man's best friend

Hi, I'm riding a 1100S too... recently change clutch and gearbox seal at m-technik, i think its around 1K if i'm not wrong for the overhaul of clutch.

few days back also encounted the smiliar noise but mine got worng it suddenly sound like something is grinding inside but no oil leak and then some snapping off sound follow by loud rotation knocking sound... sigh

seem like urs n mine almost the same...onli mine worse la oil leak.

so now the noise still there?

last wk i kena the grindin sound n smell but it goes off after tat...onli tis noon kena lagi worse....:faint:

mid96-end'96 RD350

1999-2000 S4 vtec

2000-2002 R1

2002-2005 XRV750

2005-;) bm Rseries

Bro R11S & f650gs, I am curious, what lead to the change of clutch initially? Grinding and whining noise? Oil leak? :thirsty:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/3-2.jpg

There was oil leaking below the gear box. Was told that the oil leak into the clutch thru the drive shaft seal so need to change the clutch too

seem like urs n mine almost the same...onli mine worse la oil leak.

so now the noise still there?

last wk i kena the grindin sound n smell but it goes off after tat...onli tis noon kena lagi worse....:faint:

M-tech still trying to find out the exact cause, suspect crankshaft bearing gone. Might have to change a new short engine....

I see, did the mech check or mention to you the condition of the gearbox input shaft splines?

http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee205/snowprick/Spline3.jpg

M-tech still trying to find out the exact cause, suspect crankshaft bearing gone. Might have to change a new short engine....

So serious o_O Has your bike experienced running with low oil presure / loss of engine oil before?