Originally posted by R3sistor@Aug 10 2004, 10:48 AM

hmm.. this great bike.. sadly its kinda old.. Actually it fits my budget for a 2A.. Just scare i get a bad one and spend too much money repairing it.

Generally.. i read in the GSXR400 thread that this bike got a retificer and battery fried up problem.

On the general, how much would it cost to replace retificer and battery?

And also rewiring(since this bike is old liao).

I can afford few hundreds.. maybe less than $400 for repairs.

Maybe someone kind enough could fill me up on this.

Also this is probably my last upgrade for now. Will be going army next year.. probably during june or july.

Thus, i need this bike to last me at least 3-4 years. Wonder if it can last that long?

I've actually asked my motorshop how much an overhaul for gsx would cost. Its actually by the thousands.. not worth the trouble.

Been pondering over GSXR or CBR hurricane.

i overhauled in jb shop owned by ah hao...

i spent around S$1800 for the top overhaul...

i don't know what he didn't... when i go there after i left my baby for two week. he show me 4 piston head and 16 valve shield... hahaha just get know that his turning sux... real bad.... not good at all. but for things other then engine i think he is good loh... his items is like "one cent money one cent item" hahhahaha:thumb:

http://www.sharemation.com/wadthefart/n/logo.JPG

Dun think about 7%

life still goes on.

• Replies 296

Originally posted by R3sistor@Aug 10 2004, 10:48 AM

hmm.. this great bike.. sadly its kinda old.. Actually it fits my budget for a 2A.. Just scare i get a bad one and spend too much money repairing it.

Generally.. i read in the GSXR400 thread that this bike got a retificer and battery fried up problem.

On the general, how much would it cost to replace retificer and battery?

And also rewiring(since this bike is old liao).

I can afford few hundreds.. maybe less than $400 for repairs.

Maybe someone kind enough could fill me up on this.

Also this is probably my last upgrade for now. Will be going army next year.. probably during june or july.

Thus, i need this bike to last me at least 3-4 years. Wonder if it can last that long?

I've actually asked my motorshop how much an overhaul for gsx would cost. Its actually by the thousands.. not worth the trouble.

Been pondering over GSXR or CBR hurricane.

Well, its all about preference then.....since you are willing to fork out the $$ for the cbr.....imagine a gd conditioned CBR babyblade->5000. a lousy conditioned GSX->1500. you pay for the overhaul->3000. you still end up paying the same amount but the parts are all new. which one would you prefer? Of course that is if you are willing to throw in the $$ to overhaul. i remember in the gsx thread that somebody did some overhaul ...some pistons n shims n stuff.... din cost more than 500. so the $3000 is a very high estimate i believe(but dun tok about changing a new engine lah....). But of course you have to know that the value of a gsx in 3-4 yrs time would of course not be high....... so its all on how you weigh the pros n cons of getting either bike.

One last thing.....a hurricane cost about the same amount but its even older than some of the gsx ard......

Hope this helps.

Originally posted by wadthefart@Aug 10 2004, 06:34 PM

i overhauled in jb shop owned by ah hao...

i spent around S$1800 for the top overhaul...

i don't know what he didn't... when i go there after i left my baby for two week. he show me 4 piston head and 16 valve shield... hahaha just get know that his turning sux... real bad.... not good at all. but for things other then engine i think he is good loh... his items is like "one cent money one cent item" hahhahaha:thumb:

Use the original plugs the best.....recommend nothing else

NGK CRE8K..issit correct??? can't remember liaoz....

Originally posted by Arcfire@Aug 10 2004, 06:41 PM

Use the original plugs the best.....recommend nothing else

NGK CRE8K..issit correct??? can't remember liaoz....

yup, spot on!

CR8EKs are the originals

Originally posted by Arcfire@Aug 10 2004, 06:40 PM

Well, its all about preference then.....since you are willing to fork out the $$ for the cbr.....imagine a gd conditioned CBR babyblade->5000. a lousy conditioned GSX->1500. you pay for the overhaul->3000. you still end up paying the same amount but the parts are all new. which one would you prefer? Of course that is if you are willing to throw in the $$ to overhaul. i remember in the gsx thread that somebody did some overhaul ...some pistons n shims n stuff.... din cost more than 500. so the $3000 is a very high estimate i believe(but dun tok about changing a new engine lah....). But of course you have to know that the value of a gsx in 3-4 yrs time would of course not be high....... so its all on how you weigh the pros n cons of getting either bike.

One last thing.....a hurricane cost about the same amount but its even older than some of the gsx ard......

Hope this helps.

yaep. I've done a bit of my homework. with a budget of about 2.2k could land me either a hurricane or GSX. Not gona buy a fireblade as its way off budget.

actually was offered for a one to one exchange for my KRR to a GSX. But i didn't want it. The bike looks damn run down.. with no fairings. Seems to have been there for quite a long time.

Since now i can roughly afford both.. wana compare the price of parts and availablity of parts.

Probably with the budget, i could get a FL - FN plate GSX or a FJ hurricane.

actually found an offer for GSX already. FL plate, ridden 9 years by the current owner his COE renewed. comes with a free box somemore.. still considering my option. external a bit old, but its original paintwork though. . .

As i'm still a student.. spending 200-400 bucks on repairs is a heavy sum for me. just very scared of the battery and retificer parts.....

Nike - Just do it!

Anyone know abt the dim meter light prob with the bike?

Can't seems to read the meter clearly at nite, esp on NSH... Any sugg? Possible to substitute it with higer watt bulb?

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10715/obliquityresize.jpg

IBA member #25267

Originally posted by R3sistor@Aug 10 2004, 07:36 PM

yaep. I've done a bit of my homework. with a budget of about 2.2k could land me either a hurricane or GSX. Not gona buy a fireblade as its way off budget.

actually was offered for a one to one exchange for my KRR to a GSX. But i didn't want it. The bike looks damn run down.. with no fairings. Seems to have been there for quite a long time.

Since now i can roughly afford both.. wana compare the price of parts and availablity of parts.

Probably with the budget, i could get a FL - FN plate GSX or a FJ hurricane.

actually found an offer for GSX already. FL plate, ridden 9 years by the current owner his COE renewed. comes with a free box somemore.. still considering my option. external a bit old, but its original paintwork though. . .

As i'm still a student.. spending 200-400 bucks on repairs is a heavy sum for me. just very scared of the battery and retificer parts.....

Well, if you 're set on getting a gsx den i suggest you take your time slowly to look ard...dun be in a hurry to get the bike cos in the end you'll regret it when you end up wif one that you knew you should not haf bought in that spur of the moment.....

We can help you look at the bikes as well...... so juz mention when n where you viewing the bikes n we'll let you know if we're free to drop by to help you take a look at it.

As to the matter of parts, for gsx there should not be a problem if you're looking for 1st hand parts, although the prices slightly on the steeper side. As for new parts, they should probably available at either ah boy or KS(juz opposite regina)

For hurricane i can't mention cos i have no experience in it......

If you're scared of the battery n rectifier i can tell you to put your mind at ease cos 2nd hand rects at ah boy are plenty....batteries die sooner or later so change now or later is all the same....can't save the $$....

Its the other parts/engine that you should be wary of....(although a dying rect can fry your whole circuit......... :faint: ).

Originally posted by roger@Aug 10 2004, 09:18 PM

Can't seems to read the meter clearly at nite, esp on NSH... Any sugg? Possible to substitute it with higer watt bulb?

Yeah i have the same problem as you, my speedo meter light is quite dim.....but dun really bother about it.......

The higher watt bulb thing you'll haf to ask the rest ard cos i'm not that gd wif electrics.....

Originally posted by roger@Aug 10 2004, 09:18 PM

i myself also hav tis problem. mayb the bulb was un-changed for quite some yrs already? i did plan to change to a white meter light~mayb might helps... :smile:

http://rds.yahoo.com/S=96062883/K=bikestunts/v=2/SID=w/l=IVS/SIG=13jp55pvs/*-http%3A//us.movies1.yimg.com/movies.yahoo.com/images/hv/photo/movie_pix/dreamworks_skg/biker_boyz/bikestunts.jpg

...LeT tHe WeAk SaY, i Am StRoNg. .

Originally posted by He@d|3sS^b|k3r@Aug 11 2004, 02:00 AM

i myself also hav tis problem. mayb the bulb was un-changed for quite some yrs already? i did plan to change to a white meter light~mayb might helps... :smile:

wat do u mean? u mean illum kinda? or juzz change the bulb to white light kind?

did try to search a few places and even SLT for replacement blub, but can't get anything suitable...

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10715/obliquityresize.jpg

IBA member #25267

Originally posted by Arcfire@Aug 11 2004, 12:39 AM

Well, if you 're set on getting a gsx den i suggest you take your time slowly to look ard...dun be in a hurry to get the bike cos in the end you'll regret it when you end up wif one that you knew you should not haf bought in that spur of the moment.....

We can help you look at the bikes as well...... so juz mention when n where you viewing the bikes n we'll let you know if we're free to drop by to help you take a look at it.

As to the matter of parts, for gsx there should not be a problem if you're looking for 1st hand parts, although the prices slightly on the steeper side. As for new parts, they should probably available at either ah boy or KS(juz opposite regina)

For hurricane i can't mention cos i have no experience in it......

If you're scared of the battery n rectifier i can tell you to put your mind at ease cos 2nd hand rects at ah boy are plenty....batteries die sooner or later so change now or later is all the same....can't save the $$....

Its the other parts/engine that you should be wary of....(although a dying rect can fry your whole circuit......... :faint: ).

Ic.. its been rather informative. Thanks.

BTW, u mentioned that there are other parts in the engine i should be wary for wear & tear. Care to list out a few common ones? with price with possible.

Nike - Just do it!

Originally posted by R3sistor@Aug 11 2004, 01:50 PM

Ic.. its been rather informative. Thanks.

BTW, u mentioned that there are other parts in the engine i should be wary for wear & tear. Care to list out a few common ones? with price with possible.

Wad i mean about the engine is the overall condition of the engine and not specific parts...... So far, i dun tink most of our g4 bikers haf had an engine overhaul yet... so its juz to be on the safe side....

icic.. will slowly look around for my bike now.

Just realise that the latest plate for hurricane is only FJ if i'm not wrong. hmm.. makes me think hard now.

Nike - Just do it!

Going for sale soon

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f229/Hong-/tummy.gif?t=1229955192
Originally posted by R3sistor@Aug 12 2004, 11:42 PM

suddenly this thread is dead.. anymore techinal info i could read on? hehe. :D

ask... and we shall try to provide to our best understandings

ok, just a very general question here. . . When is it that u need an overhaul? What is changed during the process?

also could someone break down the cost of parts u've replaced for yr bike so far.. be it battery, coil or any others..

Nike - Just do it!

Originally posted by R3sistor@Aug 13 2004, 12:07 PM

ok, just a very general question here. . . When is it that u need an overhaul? What is changed during the process?

also could someone break down the cost of parts u've replaced for yr bike so far.. be it battery, coil or any others..

That depends on what is damaged and what needs to be replaced......varies from pistons, con-rods to blocks to timing chains to cam shafts(is that wad its called??) etc.....

Totally depends on the rider as well, it u got the $$ can change everything that you wan man......

batt is usually ard $50-60

Rectifier(2nd hand) $50~

rear master pump $85

Air filter $38

Oil filter $16

Carb float gasket(4 pcs) $29.20

Carb float ~$50 per pc

Fuel c***(not the switch) $115

Wash/tune carb $35

Tats all that i noe of......haben gone thru any major servicing yet so can't quote any prices on the internals as yet.

ic. thanx. Its good enough. i can roughly calculate out whether i can afford repairs after i buy a gsx.

Seems that the carb float and fuel c**K burnts the pocket.

didn't know wash/tune is only $35.. thats pretty cheap.

Nike - Just do it!

Guest ZZR-Pilot

I need a new radiator. Mine's farked... leaked once, fixed but now leaking again.

Anybody selling?

Originally posted by otim@Aug 15 2004, 05:37 PM

Think i need to fix my front fork oil seals, its leaking oil liao..

Any idea where to get it done cheap?

cheap... everyone wants stuf cheap... but ever thought of the consequences of a screw up by the mechanic?

hmm, ya hor..

think a good job is more important..

but anyway wat is the average price for changing oil seals + fork oil?

Originally posted by otim@Aug 16 2004, 02:22 AM

hmm, ya hor..

think a good job is more important..

but anyway wat is the average price for changing oil seals + fork oil?

70 per fork? i dunno...