• Replies 394

some clarifications; whats the diff between DID-x ring and DID-o ring?

anyone care to explain...

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/7720/dsc00157a.jpg

All Must Work Hard!

I change mine in JB the chain and spocket for 120 rm. Although is a x ring, but it give way in less than half a mth, so no point la, must as well change in singapore to get a better quality one, than spending little money but change many time, in the end paying more than it should be.

After all change in singapore. :smile:

http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c212/d33a33Vc/DSCN0327.jpg

... 夕阳无限好只惜近黄昏......

Sep 2001 --- Yamaha RXK 135

Dec 2002 --- Honda Super4, Ver S

Mar 2004 --- CBR400RR, L

Feb 2005 --- Honda Super4, Ver S

Originally posted by kennethy@Jul 27 2005, 09:59 AM

some clarifications; whats the diff between DID-x ring and DID-o ring?

anyone care to explain...

The diff between the 2 is that X-Ring chain provides excellent low friction performance and has 1.5 to 2 times greater wear resistance than standard O-Ring chain. Hope tat helps.....:cheeky:

hey repair in singapore la..

BOost up singapore ecommy

see neigbhour country currency going up... this mean that we spend too much $$ over them liao

spend more $$ in singapore so we are more prospective, better life....

http://sychai.blogs.friendster.com/photos/fabian/dsc00132-thumb.JPG http://sychai.blogs.friendster.com/photos/fabian/image009-thumb.jpg http://sychai.blogs.friendster.com/photos/fabian/dsc00308-thumb.JPG http://sychai.blogs.friendster.com/photos/fabian/dssc00141-thumb.JPG
Originally posted by redname@Jul 26 2005, 08:29 PM

there was a report sometime ago saying tht there's a syndicate tht makes pirated RK & DID chains in malaysia, becareful there.

anyway, m'sia seldom got bigger bikes, so quite difficult to get parts lah. dnt know whether theirs can trust one or not. wat brands r they using anyway?

see do it in singapore no worry

if they give u chiong item

u can complain to CASE..

hahaa

http://sychai.blogs.friendster.com/photos/fabian/dsc00132-thumb.JPG http://sychai.blogs.friendster.com/photos/fabian/image009-thumb.jpg http://sychai.blogs.friendster.com/photos/fabian/dsc00308-thumb.JPG http://sychai.blogs.friendster.com/photos/fabian/dssc00141-thumb.JPG
Originally posted by ValenYono@Jul 26 2005, 07:53 PM

I changed to a DID O ring Chain and original front/rear sprocket(Honda original) in Spore for less than $200 if not wrong.

That's a gd deal u got.Where did u change them? I using X-ring with ori honda sprockets which cost me $250.Next time i'm changing like yours.

http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/201108/tarka.gif

RK O RING cost $130 for whole set at LAB..

That's a gd deal u got.Where did u change them? I using X-ring with ori honda sprockets which cost me $250.Next time i'm changing like yours.

Alamak bro, wrong info I give. Urs is a better deal, I call the shop to ask price is $250 (DID O ring, front/rear Ori Honda Sprocket). Next time i'm changing like yours. Haha.. :smile:

Originally posted by Kushinagar@Jul 27 2005, 08:44 PM

Kennethy, attached is a physical illustration of the difference.....:thumb:

cool :thumb:

http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t265/camounation/saLem77.jpg

MY RIDES

RXZ135 botoL powered / WR200 FMF powered - RXZ D CLUB

SUPER4 VTEC2 Micron powered - S4M

R1 '07 LE Akrapovic powered

HAYABUSA '99 Scorpion powered - SgBusaRiderz

SUPER4 PB1 / 125z Rockstar

RXZ135 Japan-modeL 6-speed lemang powered

carousell.com/shasalem.biz :D

Originally posted by Kushinagar@Jul 27 2005, 08:44 PM

Kennethy, attached is a physical illustration of the difference.....:thumb:

a pic tells a thousand words... now it is crystal clear together with your explaination!

thanks man!!! :cheer:

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/7720/dsc00157a.jpg

All Must Work Hard!

Advice pls.

Notice my chain making a "tsst.... tsst' sound when i ride fast. Went to shop, mech jack the rear wheel up. Roll the wheel and the chain will be tight at one place...very loose at one place. Mech suggested put some chain lube.

Works ok for 2 days. Then the sound come back.

Using O ring , original honda spocket

Is my chain gone?

Only happened after i change my tyres. Could it be the fault too?

The greatest mistake is to repeat the same mistake

Hope this helps.

1) I believe ur sprocket gone already. It is not really 'round' anymore (a bit oval) dats why ur chain sometimes tight sometimes loose. Have to change ur sprocket, its better u change the whole set (front/rear sprocket + chain).

2) Did you do a wheel balancing when u change ur tyres? If not, then that its ur wheel dat is the culprit. The wheel might not be balance and sort of wiggle around when it rotates, thus damaging the sprocket's shape and in turn stretch ur chain.

How long have u use ur chain n sprocket?

Your mechanic overtightened the chain when doing the wheel chain. When you hit a big bump, the suspension compressed alot and overstretched the already tight chain, causing a bad spot.

Time to get a new chain.

Originally posted by nE0@Sep 12 2005, 01:05 PM

Your mechanic overtightened the chain when doing the wheel chain. When you hit a big bump, the suspension compressed alot and overstretched the already tight chain, causing a bad spot.

Time to get a new chain.

very true.:thumb:

sigh .... Ever since i change both tyres at this shop, lots of problem surface on my bike.

Now new chain/sprocket = $$. :weep: Last change on Jan this year.

Ok, back to the components list to see where to get it change.

Ban that shop from ever touching my bike again.

The greatest mistake is to repeat the same mistake

Actually, alot of shops, even reputable ones tend to overtighten the chain.

Originally posted by nE0@Sep 12 2005, 02:43 PM

Actually, alot of shops, even reputable ones tend to overtighten the chain.

That's why i DIY. Something wrong? No one to blame but one's self.

Originally posted by bomisman@Sep 12 2005, 01:37 PM

sigh .... Ever since i change both tyres at this shop, lots of problem surface on my bike.

Now new chain/sprocket = $$. :weep: Last change on Jan this year.

Ok, back to the components list to see where to get it change.

Ban that shop from ever touching my bike again.

Yah lor... please share / hint the shop name so that we can prevent further victims...

2001 - 2002: Yamaha TZR125

2002 - 2005: Honda Phantom 150

2005 - 2005: CBR400RRS

2005 - 2005: Piaggio Typhoon 125

2005 - ?? : Honda CB400 VTEC 2

2006 - ?? : Harley Davidson Sportster Custom 1200

2006 - ?? : Mazda 3 SP 1.6