pro or pretender, knee down is fun!!

http://i519.photobucket.com/albums/u359/Wezzzzo/ASBK-EC-09_1736.jpg

Asphalt Surfer

Surfing The Asphalt & Bitumen Since 2004

• Replies 44

personified.. so wat r the 5 diff generation of body positioning ?

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

the issue is while these riders can drag their knee BUT r they doing it correctly ? my qns is on proper technique. in many pictures i see riders in awkward cornering poses, the bottom half of the rider is shifted out but the top half is stil glued to the centre of the bike. they are only achieving the knee drag portion of cornering and leaving out the hanging off portion.

Oh.

Cheh...for a long moment I thought you implied "pretender knee dragging" individuals is something you were concerned about. The title a bit controversial leh bro :)

Well yah, the secret* to this is better for the entire body to be out from the centre of the bike. Meaning to say, the top half of your body also needs to hang out. But for this to have very meaningful effect, one has to really be darn fast. So therefore 1 + 1 = tighter cornering radius.

With that said, IMO nothing wrong to do both. Just that cornering seems harder on some if you don't ask the maid to hang the wet clothes...i mean hang off the bike.

Anyways, I don't know how far this thread went already, but at least now I understand what you meant.

*actually, it's not a secret, this one can find online. I digressed again...

personified.. so wat r the 5 diff generation of body positioning ?

I'm not sure if personified meant these five body positions, but thought I'd put them up anyway:

http://wotid.com/pictures/albums/userpics/10001/KneeDown7.jpg

Edited by vyruz

Cry 'Havoc'.....and let slip the dogs of war

It's easy to make fun of the newbies... but you need to remember a few things.

1. Like some others have said - everyone starts from zero and hopefully keeps improving from there.

2. What you THINK you're doing on the bike and what you're ACTUALLY doing can be very different. When you're on the bike it might not feel like you're twisting or hanging off a bit far, but the camera doesn't lie.

3. It's very difficult to improve your form without a coach following you, having videos, or a lot of pictures.

In the last case, you need to look at a lot of pictures then remember what the bike felt like in that particular corner, so when you go out again you can make adjustments. It is certainlly not easy to do with limited feedback, but it's almost impossible to do with *no* feedback.

I'm not sure if personified meant these five body positions, but thought I'd put them up anyway:

http://wotid.com/pictures/albums/userpics/10001/KneeDown7.jpg

i try find the article then post ...maybe on my facebook...here post later got ppl dispute and i lazy to entertain such ppl..:p:P...

anyway the 5 pix u posted ..

the 1st is the Agostini and Hailwood era.my grandpa rides like this.. :)

2nd pix.. this is call "going to overshot position" hahaha,its a last minute desperate attempt to keep bike away from the sandy run off area.. hahaha

3rd pix..looks like my wet race posture... kekeke

4th pix...posing shot...makes a super garang pixs

5th pix...looks like my PG T2 and Sepang T7,T11 posture..hahaha..more confidence boosting as i can see the whole bend..doing pix 4 low body posture makes it seem the bike going so fricking fast so i think body higher gives me a better view ...

oh well im still searchingfor the article..damn!!!

http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm152/motopersonified/Sepangmotogp.jpg

http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm152/motopersonified/aprilia1st.jpg

Personified Motosports..Dealer for R&G Racing Products

Call 97978686

Visit Personified Motosports Facebook for More Motorcycle Madness

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/profile.php?id=100001193148916

It's easy to make fun of the newbies... but you need to remember a few things.

1. Like some others have said - everyone starts from zero and hopefully keeps improving from there.

2. What you THINK you're doing on the bike and what you're ACTUALLY doing can be very different. When you're on the bike it might not feel like you're twisting or hanging off a bit far, but the camera doesn't lie.

3. It's very difficult to improve your form without a coach following you, having videos, or a lot of pictures.

In the last case, you need to look at a lot of pictures then remember what the bike felt like in that particular corner, so when you go out again you can make adjustments. It is certainlly not easy to do with limited feedback, but it's almost impossible to do with *no* feedback.

a valid point indeed.. how to improve when we cant see our own body positioning.. and no proper coach to tell us whether we r doin it correctly anot.. i've always wanted to attend lessons like those in california superbike school.. the closest i noe is when 5th rider was stil teaching.. too bad he retired b4 i got the chance to learn from him

a valid point indeed.. how to improve when we cant see our own body positioning.. and no proper coach to tell us whether we r doin it correctly anot..

How about getting a GoPro camera? It won't give you the full picture, but if you mount it on the bike's tail facing forward, you can probably see how your body moves relative to the centre line of the bike. Same if you mount it on the front windscreen facing backwards - probably get to see your arm positions as well. Or if you trust your track day friends, mount it on their bike and have them follow you around. :D

Cry 'Havoc'.....and let slip the dogs of war

i try find the article then post ...maybe on my facebook...here post later got ppl dispute and i lazy to entertain such ppl..:p:P...

anyway the 5 pix u posted ..

the 1st is the Agostini and Hailwood era.my grandpa rides like this.. :)

2nd pix.. this is call "going to overshot position" hahaha,its a last minute desperate attempt to keep bike away from the sandy run off area.. hahaha

3rd pix..looks like my wet race posture... kekeke

4th pix...posing shot...makes a super garang pixs

5th pix...looks like my PG T2 and Sepang T7,T11 posture..hahaha..more confidence boosting as i can see the whole bend..doing pix 4 low body posture makes it seem the bike going so fricking fast so i think body higher gives me a better view ...

oh well im still searchingfor the article..damn!!!

1408-toni-elias-1.jpg

...entering my carpark after work everyday, turn 2 before my block:angel:

http://i757.photobucket.com/albums/xx217/dolf_sg/393916_10150493355642218_551227217_8959469_1615068476_n-Copy-1.jpg
How about getting a GoPro camera? It won't give you the full picture, but if you mount it on the bike's tail facing forward, you can probably see how your body moves relative to the centre line of the bike. Same if you mount it on the front windscreen facing backwards - probably get to see your arm positions as well. Or if you trust your track day friends, mount it on their bike and have them follow you around. :D

yeah.. tot of tat b4.. saw a youtube video of some dude on a r1 lapping in PG wif the gopro cam recording his arse view.. hahaha.. we oso get tat view sometimes in motogp races

nuff said

http://i38.tinypic.com/2610xz6.jpg

T r i u m p h S t r e e t T r i p l e

personal opinion: each person rides with their own preferences of style..different rider different techniques and different bikes with different ergonomics. All things considered, maybe pretenders is not such a appropriate word to use..even on the highest level-wsbk and motogp, some riders carries more style(again subjective) than others,

Toni Elias, Eugene laverty throw the body so far off the bikes its realli easy on the eye.. but elias is not bringing in the results. So perhaps this topic is really on a tangent, I do feel, even if you dun get to scrap ur sliders yet.. dun qualify you as a poser...taking your hard earned machine to track takes guts and the learning curve for everyone differs.

I am no pro, but scrapping knees DOES not mean necessarily going fast or riding correctly, something i learnt thru an expensive experience in PG T3...in retrospect i probably would have saved more money on sliders if i hadn't had my focus on scrapping thru all the corners...

I'm no pretender. Just a poser... :smile:

How about this? Poser enough? I tried it myself before but end up towing my bike to bikeshop.[video=youtube;TqKShV-iN5M]

100% posers.. why ? becos they showing off they can save the front end wif their knee.. tat is definitely not the fastest way to take a corner.. stil.. very impressive

How about this? Poser enough? I tried it myself before but end up towing my bike to bikeshop.[video=youtube;TqKShV-iN5M]

is that @Raptor ?

Hi guys...

New to this forum. I've done a fair bit of riding when i was living in Japan. Got valuable lessons from ex-pro and national pro riders. The knee dragging is really for that spilt second and you should be bringing the bike back upright. As you get over to the edge of the tire...there is less grip. There other important point is the rubbers on DOT race are never as good as those prototype slicks used at MotoGP or those national races.

I'm no pro but i've done by fair share knee dragging and at the end of it all i don't wanna be draggin so much...good knee pucks don't come cheap! I'd rather spend the $$ on tires or brakes :)

Just my 2 yen worth