Hi SBForumer, I juz got my new bike licence last month and was excited about it. However, my excitement was short lifted cos my parents don't allow me to get a bike. Their reasons was simply because it was dangerous.

Anyone out there have any great ideas how to convince them for approval?

• Replies 54

1st u must understand ur parents weak point. my mother used to hate me to ride bike, and say if i buy a bike she will smash it. but now she even ask me to bring my 8 yr old sis for rounding. haha.

i convince my mother by saying alot of things regard to safety and the convinence to have a bike. coz i schooing very far. take bus very crowded.

that most important things to mention is safety. then to gain her trust. but dont buy bike already outside anyhow la. i promise my mum that time to be very safety and nothing will happen to me. and till now i still keep my promise.

after few months of riding, i sian of my bike and im sure i wan to upgrade to 2A liao. so i told my mother i need to upgrade to 400cc bike. my reason i told her is bigger bike bigger wheel more safety! :sweat:

good luck in convicing ur parents!

women are always the best goalkeeper

i took my 2b without my parents knowledge , but when my rtt result was send to my house they found out , but told me ok go take ur license but no bike , when i pass my license , parents both said u buy bike , i will burn ur bike , but i still bought a bike .... and when they found out , they kpkb for 1 day , but after that just tell me to ride safely , and sometimes when i got no money to pay installment they will help to pay for me ........ but the only rule is , when raining cannot take bike , and go clubbing no bike , and they are really serious bout it .

What time ur parents wake up from sleep? if 8am wake up, 758am u can stand-by and sit on ur kitchen's parapet.

Tell them if they dont allow u to buy bike, u will jump down str8way. Provided u stay >6th floor la. If 1-5th floor, u might be alive la, unless land on head.

lol. 2nd floor i also scare liao. u still ask him go 1-5 floor. i rather take pulic transport dun wan bike liao. anyway be4 i buy my bike. my mother say cannot ride during the 7th month. but i still ride. last year got 2 7th month leh. if dont ride bike also spoil. haha

women are always the best goalkeeper

Haha. Ok lah i shall be a bit helpful la.

Tell them that u will be very careful on the road. U will stay alert and always be on your toes. At the same time, tell them that accidents can happen anytime, and doesnt matter if u r in a car, 5-tonner, bike or lorry, if its time to go, u will go.

Some ppl leap from 12th storey still can be alive, some ppl jump 6th storey oso die.

Safety and Transport Purpose only are the best reasons IMO. Safety Safety Safety!

200 Miles Per Hour, No Hands... Damn That Would Be Cool Right Before The Part Where You Die...

Bike History

2005 - Cagiva Mito 125

2007 - Daelim Daystar 125

2008/2009 - Piaggio X9 500

2017 - Triumph Speed Triple 1050

feel guilty when i see this topic.

told my parents i learnt cl2b for fun just because i had military cl2b. bought my phantom without their approval. after they knew abt it, i assured them i would ride safely. went on to take cl2a, bought a s4 soon after and also had an accident. doesnt feel good letting parents worry, feel very guilty. stayed of bikes for another 6mths, but soon got another s4. now not riding for a while again because of the previous accident which resulted in suspension.

(i always did the convincing part AFTER buying the bike.)

i love dividends.

What alot of them did was to buy the bike first then convince them later. It's always easier to 先斩后奏. =P Parents tend to accept the motorcycle once you buy them already, because the fact is that you are still safe after riding it. But ofcourse, don't crash like within the 1st year or what. It takes stages to convince them.

Like how my parents used to disagree with me about going to track, but after a few track visits and returning safe from it, they're beginning to get convinced that it's actually safe to do so.

my parents dun even allow me 2 learn bike bt i still did.. nw they dun care me alreadi.. say wan learn n buy bike go bike.. i nt going 2 pay a single cent n stuffs.. den i say ok lo.. den ask me becareful n dun speed n stuffs... lol.. say accident n stuffs u ownself settle...

try 2 convince dem tat bike is nt realli dat dangerous as many think it is.. although it is very vulnerable to many injuries during an impact/fall/accident...

eh... u all seem like encouraging the tread starter 2 buy 1st than tell parents leh...

dun think tats the right thing 2 do :sweat: :sweat:

Originally posted by |-|@|Z@January 04, 2007 11:38 am

eh... u all seem like encouraging the tread starter 2 buy 1st than tell parents leh...

dun think tats the right thing 2 do :sweat: :sweat:

We all did that. Buy 1st and then show that we're responsible riders :sweat: So far it's working. 1 year without major accidents and no claims from insurance.

Hmm.. My method used was to tell them: "mum, u c alot of young pple oso ride motorcycle mah.. How come I cannot? Can lah, I riding phantom.. Alot of uncles ride 1.." But my father oso ride motorcycle b4, so he can understand my intentions..

But it will be ur responsibility to ride safely when u get ur bike.. Dun be like me.. Within 1st yr buang alreadi.. Ankle broken.. I still wan to take class 2A and ride s4 next time.. Hmm.. How should I tell them? :confused:

Feb 06 till Present - Phantom TA200 Custom 4

Sometimes Results may be Disappointing, but it's never Discouraging..

at first i did convince but it dun work well as they kpkb till ver xiong. den i bought my bike 1st den after 2 month later they found out. so when they found out they nv say anytink they jus ask me for the 4 digit to buy 4D =p

Originally posted by gohjohan@January 04, 2007 11:51 am

We all did that. Buy 1st and then show that we're responsible riders :sweat: So far it's working. 1 year without major accidents and no claims from insurance.

Eh... but accident or nt depends on heng suay 1 lor...

i gt 1 friend the car just U-turn 2 bang hm down cos nv c him..

whos fault?? obviously driver ma but who lost the most?? its the rider...

so no matter wat if wan buy bike 1st talk later make sure ride carefully lor..

gd luck...

although i no diff fm most of u i just tell my parents i wan buy than the nxt day bought liao... :sweat: :sweat:

dun think tats the right thing 2 do

lol, seems like the most workable solution of buying a bike is to buy it first and tell them later. :cheeky:

no la, just tell them i buying bike later , then they **** then come back say oh i buy the bike liao :thumb: !

for me, i enroll online then tell them eh i go learn bike leh. then they **** . they i say enroll already la!

i fell once during ebrake while L plate, which cause my leg to be injured and bleed then my parent see already asked me to go learn driving instead. so this is what i did, i go cdc but i go bike lesson first after bike lesson i go car lesson. the aircon in the car :thumb: esp after some hot afternoon of riding in slow speed.

when get licence my parent ask me wait 1 year first before getting bike. but heck la they **** for fun one. no matter how ur parents **** they surely know u will get bike one.. unstoppable.

so they can only **** **** **** and tell u to be safe on road.

Good and bad is just the difference between perceptions.

congx your post so many censored words..Ahaha..

Btw for me I just told my dad I wanna get bike..Told him I checked out couple bikes already..And what are the costs..Few days later told him again I'm gonna go buy bike soon..Asked me if I'm sure I can financially support it..If can then go ahead..:smile:

just tell them.. "THERE ARE NO BAD BIKES IN THIS WORLD..ONLY BAD RIDERS!"

i remember this sentence from one of the SBF users signature!

tell them its fate lah..

everywhere accident can happen.. u standing at the bus stop waiting for bus also car can ram in to u.. u standing at traffic light waiting to cross the road also can ram in to u...

I faced the same situation as you 15 years ago. But being the rebellious type, I went ahead and bought a KDX200. Mum went ballistic and refused to speak to me for 1 week. Dad was more open about it though.

Fast forward 15 years. Married, settled down, had baby, and 4 bikes. My parents are still nagging at me to stop riding. :giddy:

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

Originally posted by LimHammett@January 04, 2007 04:02 pm

tell them its fate lah..

everywhere accident can happen.. u standing at the bus stop waiting for bus also car can ram in to u.. u standing at traffic light waiting to cross the road also can ram in to u...

ya loh.. i also said something lidat.. i say even u walk if you fated to get into accident/bang u will get bang.. dun even nid 2 say ride bike.. drive car also.. u suay ppl bang u ur head hit the steering wheel kenna brain damange n stuffs oso.. some more car no helmet.. if brake or kenna bang from behind super hard.. your whole car will throw the force forward.. and chances you might kiss your head with the steering wheel.. x= some got airbag ok la.. but airbag is very very strong impact hit the bumper den will be usable.. i think 50-60km/h towards the lamp post w/o braking might activate the airbag.. haha

there's one video in the clips section the old lady kick the car only airbag activate.. >.

Originally posted by compfused@January 04, 2007 03:59 pm

congx your post so many censored words..Ahaha..

Btw for me I just told my dad I wanna get bike..Told him I checked out couple bikes already..And what are the costs..Few days later told him again I'm gonna go buy bike soon..Asked me if I'm sure I can financially support it..If can then go ahead..:smile:

haha, really man until now my parent say ride carefully all the ****. i just say u talk somemore u buy car give me lo.

then my father will say.

car also dangerous!

ai ya. if they complain so much ask them go complain north korea for using nuclear weapon , one bomb can destroy sg already more dangerous. bike the most 2 person die. but 1 nuclear bomb on sg 4million pple die :cheeky:

Good and bad is just the difference between perceptions.

Before i learn my Class 2B, mum oso ****, but i still go learn cos nt using her $$$... got 1 time L plate, pilion lesson, buang.. injured.. reach hme mum ask me don't learn le, but i say finishin.. so i continue... Got lic, thn i sae i buying bike liao.. she still wanna help me pay some.. but nvr take her money.. in the end got a phantom, noe wat she say? RIDE carefully.. be SAFE..

Parents r just worry for ur life only!!

Originally posted by LimHammett@January 04, 2007 04:02 pm

tell them its fate lah..

Yes? :D

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2009/07/09/bikepics-1722149-full.jpg

If It Ain't Scary, It Ain't Fast Enough

since u olreadi get ur license..is much easier to convince ur parents to get a bike..cOz u r juz 1 step oway nia..cOz my frenz aso wana take bike license..e moment he mention abt bike related..hehe kana f*** til cannot recognise..

wen u mention tat u ride bike..

de uncles/aunties/elderly 1st impression "Aiyo DANGEROUS!!" :giddy:

hmm..sO is natural tat our parents worried abt our safety..

gif ur parents sumtime 2 accept it.."time" is de best element in tiz wOrld..

tell them tat gettin a bike is merely for transport..promised tat u will ride safe n slowly..will leave de home early..will plan de route b4 hand..will check de street direction..will nt ride wen rain unless necessary..will wear bright clothin durin nite'times blah blah blah..those safety related stuffs..

..Trials and Tribulations are Tests to shape ones path in Life..

..nobody plan to fail but many failed to plan..

..make e right mOve & u're made for Life..