Honda Blackbird CBR1100 XX

hi guys

need to find out some stuff on the birdzzz

wat r the things to look out for when viewing the bike?

thought of getting a blackbird. 97 or 98 model carb.

how is e maintenance?

one more thing, how'z the parts availability??

many thks

Check the brake and clutch fluid level...start the engine..rev it to 4-5krpm...listen for any abnormal sound..rev the engine higher to 9 or 10K...look out for black smoke(means rich a/f ratio)...blip the throttle a few times...look out for white smoke(means water leaking into combustion chamber) or Bluish white smoke plus the smell of engine oil burning(leaky valve stem seals or oil control rings worned).

Check the engine surface for oil leaks..The list can go on and on and on..Its hard to find a perfect 10 yr old bike unless the owner either a mechanic himself or treats his bike like a woman...

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg

sorrie bro, am new to the forum.. hehe... want to enquire abt my bike..

anybody knows of a good place for valve clearance and the estimated price...

thanks bros..

Newbie??!!!....(centre finger starts to form!!!!):angel:

Valve clearance...at least abt 300+ coz sometimes u need to buy the shims.

Ahlai change place so i dunno oredi,can try HKL or ur trustee mech shop.Mebbe can try Shanfu???

My orgasm starts at 299km/h.....

Personal ride -

1st ride - TRZ 125

2nd ride - GSXR-K

3rd ride - CBR400RN

3rd ride - Super 4(S)

4th ride - R1

5th ride - CBRXX1100:thumb:

Ahlai change place so i dunno oredi,can try HKL or ur trustee mech shop.Mebbe can try Shanfu???

300 and still need to buy shims...expensive man...Wish someone give me a torque wrench and micrometer for my bthday..Then i can make some extra income.."maklumlah tahun depan dah kepak bing2"...:sian:

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg

Ah-Lai now @ kallang,(behind Pico Center) u know where the ducati workshop is, his shop is somewhere there.top overhaul u can try Planet Motor @ Ubi, look for the boss(a-Chong) there is a good budget for doing servicing.

But if u look for a good workmanship then u can try Ah-lai maybe, there is another guy, Raymond..his shop is at eunos, he used to work together with ah-lai, maybe can look for him also.

Meng-Tong now @ the new Kaki Bukit ave 6 Autobay #02-06..

But in the end of the day, most mechanic do work the same way, unless u quite frequent with them, they will do @ their best..

But for first timer, sure they Carrot Chop u...:(

He-he-he....!:cheeky:

Cheers...!:angel:

For

1999-2001= KTM200

2001-2003=S4 version S

2003/02-2004/12=BlackBird

2004/12-2007/12=Rxz125

2007/12-2008/12=R1 04

2008/12-..........=Blackbird

i frequent a-chong at ubi.. maybe ltr i go down and ask him how much for valve clearance.. the shop very busy also..

Ah-Lai now @ kallang,(behind Pico Center) u know where the ducati workshop is, his shop is somewhere there.top overhaul u can try Planet Motor @ Ubi, look for the boss(a-Chong) there is a good budget for doing servicing.

But if u look for a good workmanship then u can try Ah-lai maybe, there is another guy, Raymond..his shop is at eunos, he used to work together with ah-lai, maybe can look for him also.

Meng-Tong now @ the new Kaki Bukit ave 6 Autobay #02-06..

But in the end of the day, most mechanic do work the same way, unless u quite frequent with them, they will do @ their best..

But for first timer, sure they Carrot Chop u...:(

He-he-he....!:cheeky:

Cheers...!:angel:

For

Ah Chong.....Top clearance around 350 - 380.

He will open and tell you what will require to change. eg tensioner, timing chain, gasket etc etc. Estimated 2-4 days job

Total valve clearnace around 700++

Again he will check inside and tell you what need to be replaced.

Est time: A week

Planet Motor and AhChong is a trusted workshop among many bikers for his honesty.

http://www.moto-station.com/ttesimages/motodivers/nouveautes2006/BMW_R1200GS_Adventure_acpz.jpg

1998 WR200 FR****M

2000 Hornet 250 FS****S

2007 Gilera SP FS****T

2007 Honda Super 4 Version S FQ****H

2008 Fazer 600S FZ****U

2009 CBR 1100XX Super Blackbird FZ***U

2011 BMW GS 1200 Adventure FBB****H

2013 Gilera VXR 200 FBB****H

bro, i will like u ask...

there's a 'knocking sound' on the clutch. when i clutch in, no sound.

is it time to change clutch plate??

1 Oct 04 - 8 Dec 05 ____Phantom 200 FV 6644R -- LAURA

8 Dec 05 - 24 Jan 09 _______ Super 4 Vtec 1 FR 4602X--LANA

------- - --- _______________________________-- LENALEE

bro, i will like u ask...

there's a 'knocking sound' on the clutch. when i clutch in, no sound.

is it time to change clutch plate??

welcome to Honda bikes.

Very common problem in BBs, CBR and S4

Solution is to change the clutch basket

PPl usually live with it

When you realize that you are trapped and surrounded, you will become fearless.

When you have no way out, you will tap into your courage to stand firm.

When you have no choice, you will fight back with all you might.

~ Sun Tzu (11.33)

been living with it for 2 1/2 years...

welcome to Honda bikes.

PPl usually live with it

wads the diff between tp and valve? I think i need to change my tensioner or timing chain coz it sounded like a loose chain... been riding on the monster for 45k..

thanks in advance for the info..

He will open and tell you what will require to change. eg tensioner, timing chain, gasket etc etc. Estimated 2-4 days job

Planet Motor and AhChong is a trusted workshop among many bikers for his honesty.

welcome to Honda bikes.

PPl usually live with it

alright thanx..

1 Oct 04 - 8 Dec 05 ____Phantom 200 FV 6644R -- LAURA

8 Dec 05 - 24 Jan 09 _______ Super 4 Vtec 1 FR 4602X--LANA

------- - --- _______________________________-- LENALEE

BB is known to be bulletproof bike,like lauchio ppls say,no problem,dun find problem.As long the bird can fly,let it be.

Clutch basket sound is normal,

Remedy for it is to put 2Bros,RS3.

Jbat,lu mau torque wrench eh?...sapu pat keje la...micrometer takde lu pakai measuring tape untuk ukur baju....wakakakakakakakaak

My orgasm starts at 299km/h.....

Personal ride -

1st ride - TRZ 125

2nd ride - GSXR-K

3rd ride - CBR400RN

3rd ride - Super 4(S)

4th ride - R1

5th ride - CBRXX1100:thumb:

BB is known to be bulletproof bike,like lauchio ppls say,no problem,dun find problem.As long the bird can fly,let it be.

Jbat,lu mau torque wrench eh?...sapu pat keje la...micrometer takde lu pakai measuring tape untuk ukur baju....wakakakakakakakaak

Cannot bro...my werkplace one is too big to sapu lah plus the minimum torque setting is 80lb-ft....later kena stopped my security guards..

If i know i'm going to be a full time mechanic and have to postpone getting my diploma,i should have sapu the torque wrench and micrometer during my ITE days..:sian:

Bro Sujak there's no top clearance...only top overhaul which means changing/repairing almost every part in the cylinderhead.Like camshaft,valves,valve guide,valve stem seals,valve shims,timing chain,chain guides,timing chain tensioner and etc.

Valve clearance is measuring the amount of clearance between the cam and the valve lifter. If its too tight,the valve will not seat fully thus causing leaks and the valve will overheat. If its too loose,the valve timing will be abit off(lose abit of power),hammering of the valve lifter(noise)..

UP u la bro:thumb:... i like this :" BB is known to be bulletproof bike,like lauchio ppls say,no problem,dun find problem.As long the bird can fly,let it be. " for those whom only riding in SGP jus stay as it is ... for those whom often go for long distance ramming of rides den u gotta take good care of ur BB....

****ing sienz in here:dozed: no bikes , no car , no frenz... but viet roses a lot...:dot:

:thumb:Honda & Kawasaki:thumb:

thanks bro for the clarification.. now i dunno what to do with the bike already.. its a bit noisy.. even with 2bros on, can still hear the chain sound..

time to save up for the bike and send for some sayang2 session with the doc..

Cannot bro...my werkplace one is too big to sapu lah plus the minimum torque setting is 80lb-ft....later kena stopped my security guards..

If i know i'm going to be a full time mechanic and have to postpone getting my diploma,i should have sapu the torque wrench and micrometer during my ITE days..:sian:

Bro Sujak there's no top clearance...only top overhaul which means changing/repairing almost every part in the cylinderhead.Like camshaft,valves,valve guide,valve stem seals,valve shims,timing chain,chain guides,timing chain tensioner and etc.

Valve clearance is measuring the amount of clearance between the cam and the valve lifter. If its too tight,the valve will not seat fully thus causing leaks and the valve will overheat. If its too loose,the valve timing will be abit off(lose abit of power),hammering of the valve lifter(noise)..

Check the brake and clutch fluid level...start the engine..rev it to 4-5krpm...listen for any abnormal sound..rev the engine higher to 9 or 10K...look out for black smoke(means rich a/f ratio)...blip the throttle a few times...look out for white smoke(means water leaking into combustion chamber) or Bluish white smoke plus the smell of engine oil burning(leaky valve stem seals or oil control rings worned).

Check the engine surface for oil leaks..The list can go on and on and on..Its hard to find a perfect 10 yr old bike unless the owner either a mechanic himself or treats his bike like a woman...

wah rev the bike to 10k rpm stationary???

redline abt 10.5k!!!!

if i ever sell my bb, ill slap the bugger who does tat to my bike to test

bike internals are so delicate, valves not spoilt also may spoil

even dyno at such rpms are done with load.....

best if ure sincere to get the bike neggo with seller

to bring to ure mech to have the bike checked out

split the cost of the inspection.. then mech can take out lah go for test ride lah watever watever.. dun go ramming ppls bike just because u want to buy... unless the seller is very desperate he probably tell u to **** spiders

~ Sun Tzu (11.33)

eh like macam familiar only

lauchiao say one eh

anyway my pair of rs3 mite be for sale.....

sianz already... wanna stick to stock:angel:

~ Sun Tzu (11.33)

and how much will dat be.. one of the crackos interested... asking in his favor..

eh like macam familiar only

lauchiao say one eh

anyway my pair of rs3 mite be for sale.....

sianz already... wanna stick to stock:angel:

Agree, ah chong is honest and never been chopped by him before. His mech do things also very careful. Price also reasonable.

wah rev the bike to 10k rpm stationary???

redline abt 10.5k!!!!

if i ever sell my bb, ill slap the bugger who does tat to my bike to test

bike internals are so delicate, valves not spoilt also may spoil

even dyno at such rpms are done with load.....

best if ure sincere to get the bike neggo with seller

to bring to ure mech to have the bike checked out

split the cost of the inspection.. then mech can take out lah go for test ride lah watever watever.. dun go ramming ppls bike just because u want to buy... unless the seller is very desperate he probably tell u to **** spiders

Ya lah bro i also abit "melebih"...hehe!!..Easiest way is to go for compression test. I think KnT and HKL can do that.

and how much will dat be.. one of the crackos interested... asking in his favor..

There are only two crackos

One cracko got more impt things to change and already has pipe

The other one cannot pm me meh???????

Cheh sure or not DS want pipe?

Keep in minD hor its TWO RS3 pipes......

Not one sided

~ Sun Tzu (11.33)

welcome to Honda bikes.

PPl usually live with it

My S4 oso got the same problem I nvr bother and after a while the sound oso da tak de. Den only I realize its a Honda 'thing'. Buahahahahahahahahaha

1st ride: Yamaha RXZ 135 - 2007 to 2009

2nd ride: Honda Super 4 Spec 1 - 2009 till now.....

3rd ride: The Speed Demon YZF R1 (06 Model) - 2010 till forever.....

"There's no word to explain the acceleration" :gun: