Ok got the bike

Confirm

172cc

NON EFI

12L fuel tank

First impression (as compare to Joyride 200):-

Stable very stable

Big bike(scooter) feel

Stearing much heavier and steadier

Performance so far so good pickup ok (Still runningin, rpm under 8k mostly 6-7k)

Braking was good and reponsive

Engine sound smoother also

That's all ... To be continue....................

Scoot for L I F E

Hyosung Aquila 125 -> Joyride 200 -> GTS 200 -> G-MAX 200 -> Adiva AD200

• Replies 4.1k

Originally posted by dzqv53@Jul 5 2005, 05:31 PM

Ok got the bike

Confirm

172cc

NON EFI

12L fuel tank

Stable very stable

Big bike(scooter) feel

Performance so far so good pickup ok (Still runningin, rpm under 8k mostly 6-7k)

So all the talk about GTS using Honda engine and EFI are sales gimmicks after all..:sian:

July 2004 to Nov 2006 X9 amalfi

Dec 2006 to Jan 2010 Honda SilverWing 400

Feb 2010 to Nov 2015 Honda Fit

Dec 2015 to Oct 2017 Toyota ISIS

Feb 2017 to May 2017 Honda ST1300

Jun 2017 onwards Honda Silverwing 400

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/6333/image00076ka5.jpg

Originally posted by patriots@Jul 5 2005, 07:57 PM

So all the talk about GTS using Honda engine and EFI are sales gimmicks after all..:sian:

Honda don't use "EFI" , honda only use "PGM FI" . Hehehe :smile:

http://www.honda.co.uk/mcStatic/en/picture/product/NT700V%20ABS%20Deauville/full06.jpg

Everythings comes and go, the most important is to Catch It At The RIGHT Time.

Bob

i booked the black one on sunday liaoz... :lovestruck:

yesterday went down sign agreement le...

was told probaly next week den can get the bike... :mad:

darn.. my hands so itchy already liaoz... lolx :giddy:

oh ya ..btw where u guys go for servicing ar? :cheer:

i was browsing ard the forum n saw a few shops etc. wonderful, tai.... so do they do service for tis bike too?

and also hor... the bike got come wif manual to teach us where parts are located and how to maintain a not?

sori ar... so many thing to ask...hehe :cheeky:

i first time getting scooter so still green...:sorry:

http://www.ralliart.com/img/anime.gif

If you look at the belt driven auto scooters, you will notice that they are very similar when the belt, variator and clutch are taken out. So practically any shop that has experience with this type of bike should be able to do it. Of course, if it is the first time they are doing, might take longer

http://www.solidah.com/mystuff/dbsmall.jpghttp://www.solidah.com/mystuff/scootlogo.gifhttp://www.danasoft.com/sig/pharkee01.jpg
Originally posted by patriots@Jul 5 2005, 07:57 PM

I wouldnt say its a gimmick cause, some shops take in the bike juz to sell. Some put in the xtra effort to review the bike. First look, it looks like EFI (even i was tricked into it too) . But after further inspection, its carb.

So, buyers, like any salesman, their talks might b impressive, but dunt b so gullible. Do some research, esp in this forum. Some of ur doubts might have been answered in the previous threads. But dun hesitate to ask questions tt havnt been asked.

Originally posted by Mark C.@Jul 5 2005, 12:46 PM

Bro, How about the spare parts for GTS, like where to get and availability??

Or the spare can only get from the distributor itself?? :giddy:

Hope the price is better than some scoot on the road. :sweat:

Stock parts are available at the agent itself, only tt they have to do a part list for it, n also the price.

I'm not sure bout GTS, but SYM original stock parts can be purchase at Weda Enterprise, Along Rowell road(one way), look to ur left.

I believe, being made in taiwan, the prices will b reasonable...compared to european made scoots.........

Originally posted by dzqv53@Jul 5 2005, 05:31 PM

Ok got the bike

Confirm

172cc

NON EFI

12L fuel tank

Stable very stable

Big bike(scooter) feel

bro, u ride joyride b4 izzit?? ur comment is greatly appreciated, since many compared gts with joyride..........

Originally posted by sigg4@Jul 5 2005, 10:00 AM

yup yup... even if the meter is with the max of 160km/h i dun think can reach the max de lah unless you go and make some changes to the gear ratio or the cam lah. well scooter are actually known for their confort mah as long can hit 100 in sgp road it is gd enough but if got touring it will be better if can hit till 120km/h lor.

yup heard alot of ppl talking about this GTS because of the haya head light appearence and also the LED tail light. than somemore it is EFI. but even if i want to change bike also cannot because my financial status dun allow me .... :cry:

Don't exactly know how fast the GTS can go but in the UK, the importers are offering a 'de-restricter' CDI unit that can allow the Joyride to rev much higher & hence increase the top speed some more. Wouldn't really know if that is considered a 'power-cut'?? As up to date, they are still doing the proper road test for the GTS so reviews haven't been out yet. I suspect electrical parts should be quite similair.

Originally posted by edwinT@Jul 5 2005, 06:04 PM

hmmm.... suddenly the specs don't look so good anymore...

172cc and non EFI.... hahaha....

I think it will be quite funny if you advertise the bike as 'GTS172'. Haha! Of cos manufacturers would rather round it up to 200. BTW, the salesman at Mah Pte Ltd said it was an EFI but when i called agent up, they said it's actually carb. So the agent go n call Mah up to screw the salesman i think. After that, no more probs.

Originally posted by kingfisher@Jul 5 2005, 12:20 PM

Hi everyone,

I went to have a look at the Sym GTS 200 as I was interested to upgrade my joyride 200 to a 200cc machine. I was informed by the salesman that it is a 200cc machine and was quite impressed by the looks of the bike.

However when I looked at the specs page of the manual, it state that the GTS200 is only 171.5cc and comes with 8.5l fuel tank. This is exactly the same as the Joyride.

Would any owner of a new GTS care to comment? Thanks

Trust me, there is an error on the user manual. The tank is 12L not 8.5L. Thats why it can hit 300++Km before reserve. JR can onli hit 200++km.

Guest cheeko
:smile: currently this looks like the hottest topics & most views for a taiwan scooter :cheer: In fact i think for the 1st time also :cheer:

ok

I'm back with some more small review

First the electronic is solid as compare to JR200 evrything i wish for on the JR200 was on GTS etc RPM meter, hazard light, tell tail indicator, glove comparment, 12v socket, easier access fuse box, halogen headlight ( never use before but the result is sturnning man i nearly can shine 3 lane wide and bla bla bla. Many more

Picking up from 0-40km/h is quite good(can feel some pulling even with pillion)

Then start to be a bit flat till about 80++km/h (rpm 6-7k++)

Front wheel is 13" 110 and rear wheel 12" 130

Suspension is very stiff but feel more stable

After my first oil change i will come back for more review

It is a good bike so far (value and performance)

So far my JR200 never fail me even once since i own he/her

If u r looking for a speedster, this is not the bike(scooter)

Roadmaster29 lets have some of ur experience and comments on the bike

Scoot for L I F E

:clapping: finally the SYM had come alive in this forum again. Why not you guys join with the JR rider and exchange views on your Taiwainese bike. :smile:
Originally posted by GTSFreak@Jul 6 2005, 12:53 AM

SYM GTS 200 Riders

1) roadmaster29 yishun

2) GTSFreak Sengkang (91868332)

members of scooter keep growing. :lovestruck:

See you guys in the next outing. :smile:

SYM GTS 200 Riders

1) roadmaster29 yishun

2) GTSFreak Sengkang (91868332)

3) dzqv53 woodlands (Blue)

Scoot for L I F E

Guys....

Juz came back from jb. Wanted to pump v power...but accidentally pumped super 98 to the brim.

But b4 tt, my gts had her first wash by urs truely. N i also did some explorations of the bike internally. The carb is cute though...but cant locate the manufacturer. N the funni thing is tt, i cant locate the spark plug. Maybe need to open up some parts of the body though, quite troublesome if u wanna DIY. The air filter seems similar to RVF. N i'm aware after market air filter, like K&N. Maybe could install it to have a better air flow to my carb, to optimum better fuel combustion....

The stock rear suspensions is damn stiff, coz its being set to the stiffest. duh...

N i'm sure there are lots of variety of sgter market rear shock absorbers tt can be fitted on da bike.

The brakes is very responsive... changing the cable to Hel might not c obvious difference.

Not sure bout u guys, but as fer me, twice i spilled some petrol to the body. Something need to be done here. Should really manually pump it, n not use "da clip" . hope u guys knw wat i mean.

gts is not made for speed, n i must emphasise it, again n again.

went off road to punggol, very stable n the front suspensions really does its work. I'm impressed.

the stock tyres seems to be OK. Off road riding, cornering is surprisingly stable for thz bike.

Fyi, thz is my 1st scoot. Rode scrams n sport bikes b4. Used to look down on scoots. But ever since got my gts, i'm very very impressed. I cant say much, but impressed.

Its true colours r yet to b revealed, only time will tell....... till then, Gd nite guyz

SYM GTS 200 Riders

Name        /  area    /        colour

1)roadmaster29    /  yishun      /    grey

2)GTSFreak        /  Sengkang (91868332)

3)dzqv53            /    woodlands  /  Blue

roadmaster29: remember when you change your filter to K&N or others... very likely you'll need to rejet your carbs. See if you can get the jets for this carb lah. And thanks for the review.