• Replies 2.4k

Originally posted by ah_huats@January 08, 2007 08:49 pm

Depending on the $$ ba... kk

I'm just a poor student :sweat:

July 2004 to Nov 2006 X9 amalfi

Dec 2006 to Jan 2010 Honda SilverWing 400

Feb 2010 to Nov 2015 Honda Fit

Dec 2015 to Oct 2017 Toyota ISIS

Feb 2017 to May 2017 Honda ST1300

Jun 2017 onwards Honda Silverwing 400

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/6333/image00076ka5.jpg

Originally posted by Terrible One@January 08, 2007 08:31 pm

Ur low end got suffer after taking off the snorkel?

Nope i dun tink so.... surprisingly i think the fuel consumption was better..... need to monitor for a few more top-ups thou.

Originally posted by Arcfire@January 09, 2007 12:05 am

Nope i dun tink so.... surprisingly i think the fuel consumption was better..... need to monitor for a few more top-ups thou.

OK! Tomoro I'll take off mine also.. :cheer:

Riot-Bike Co.

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/02ba5dfd.jpghttp://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/SimonsSideCarBike-1.jpg

Need sidecar for wedding photoshoot? PM me

Can always give a try first, if not comfortable with the change, it can be put back.

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Too out the snorkel this morning.. Wha cannot make it. Low end very sluggish.. Engine like choking like that.. Put back already..

Riot-Bike Co.

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/02ba5dfd.jpghttp://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/SimonsSideCarBike-1.jpg

Originally posted by Terrible One@January 09, 2007 02:10 pm

Too out the snorkel this morning.. Wha cannot make it. Low end very sluggish.. Engine like choking like that.. Put back already..

Haha... funny.....mine had no effect.......... :cheeky:

Originally posted by Arcfire@January 09, 2007 12:05 am

oh realli?!

mayb i shld take it out too...

wat isit 4 aniway?

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition

Originally posted by Arcfire@January 09, 2007 04:04 pm

Haha... funny.....mine had no effect.......... :cheeky:

Pai seh!! I acidentally pull off the vacume hose at the sensor that's why.. tody I try again.. :sorry:

Riot-Bike Co.

Originally posted by Terrible One@January 10, 2007 05:31 pm

Pai seh!! I acidentally pull off the vacume hose at the sensor that's why.. tody I try again.. :sorry:

Pengz..... lidat oso can ah.......

So ur snorkel was still there? how did you realise that you pulled the wrong thing out?

Catch no ball..... :confused:

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

At long last i've finally found the problem of my bike stalling for no reason.(or at least part of the problem)

My bike stalled again 2 days ago so as usual, i waited for a while and it started again. I din bother bringing it back to the place i bought it from cos I brought the bike there 3 times, and left the bike for a total of 2 weeks or more and they couldn't find anything. I doubt they will be able to find anything either. And i'd probably be wasting more time leaving my bike there since they will only do something when the problem occurs.(Plus the fact that they were closed by the time my bike could start again.)

So i rode to my usual bike shop to have them check it out. My mech checked some of the electrics, the fuses, the petrol area but found nothing. Tried to use the diagnosis mode but sadly the error code only appears when there is an error.... unlike some bikes which store the error somewhere. Thus its only when i encounter the error that i have some time to switch to dealer mode and diagnose the area which is having the problem.

Being unable to do anything at the moment, i decided to ride home... Started the bike n rode off.... so i took a look at my voltmeter.... the voltage did not rise much even after i was travelling at >4k rpm. I stopped my bike a junction, placed it to mainstand and revved. The voltage climed and got stuck at 13v. It didn't feel right to me so i quickly rode one big round back to my bike shop...... turned into the building, over a hump and my bike stalled....again.... I guess this would be the only time anyone would be happy about having his bike stall.... so i called my mech n pushed it back to his shop. Switched to diagnosis mode and bingo! found that the crankshaft sensor area was the problem area.

This happened at 9pm. I don't think there are many workshops that will work till so late just to help me diagnose a phantom problem because of the fact that it has no obvious symptoms.

So yesterday went back to the shop to "visit" my hospitalised bike. my mechanic was stripping the magnetic coil area. Once the casing was out, we saw 2 fragments of a funny object in the casing one larger fragment and the other a smaller one......They were not foreign objects left inside due to carelessness but fragments of a part of the gearbox.(keep you guys in suspense, tell you the part later) I was pissed. Dead pissed. I was sold a bike which had fragments in the gearbox which could have sooner or later made its way to the piston, scratching the block, seizing the engine and turning me into another statistic on the tp's website.

We looked around for signs of the original object the fragments came from but couldn't see it. So i took a look at the service manual to see if i could find it. True enough i found the damn thing. It was a freakin piece of washer that was used on the scissors gears. The the best part? This part is not available here and i have to wait 3 WHOLE WEEKS for it to be shipped here. The cost doesn't matter to me but 3 WEEKS off my bike is something i will not tolerate.

Going to go down to the bike shop i bought the bike from to negotiate some form of settlement.

Wha.. So jialat.. Ask them to send the part with door to door service la(DHL, UPS or watever).. Hope u can get something out of the bikeshop.. BTW,which shop do u normally go to? GHC?

Riot-Bike Co.

Originally posted by Terrible One@January 11, 2007 04:39 pm

Wha.. So jialat.. Ask them to send the part with door to door service la(DHL, UPS or watever).. Hope u can get something out of the bikeshop.. BTW,which shop do u normally go to? GHC?

Yeah i did try to ask. Haven't got a reply yet. I was told they don't do orders for only one piece, so my bikeshop had to order a few pieces.....wtf :sian:

I mean, how often does this happen to someone? they make it sound like you'll need a few just-in-case.

For a reputable and established bike shop(the one which i bought my bike from) in the country i seriously do hope that they will offer me a reasonable solution. Was just informed that the repair costs including eo, gaskets and a spankin' new crankshaft position sensor and possibly my magnetic coil as well etc etc comes up to be abt $420. I'm not bothered about paying for repair costs cos i understand that 2nd hand bikes are a gamble but to pay for repairs on problems which have already existed since the very 1st day i collected my bike is something i cannot take lying down, especially when it involves something which may have well cost me my bike and my life.

My regular bike shop is BikeWorkz. Been patronizing the mech since my gsxr400 days, he used to be over at Planet Motors.

The funny thing was, i went to Guan Hoe for the uncle to check for me. He told me the same thing others would tell me, if the problem doesn't occur then they cannot solve it. I understand that it is time consuming and not in any business sense to do a full check on my bike for a problem they themselves did not see. But it was not once, twice but 3 times that i have brought the bike back to the shop i bought it from to complain about the problem. Shouldn't alarm bells be ringing that there is a much complicated problem than just telling me comforting words and hoping that the problem will mysteriously go away by itself?

Back to Guan Hoe.... the uncle told me he can't check anything... so he helped me to check my battery charging... smacked on the volt meter and found the battery not charging. i witnessed it myself. So off i went to the bike shop i bought from(2nd visit) and told them about the stalling again and also mentioned that the battery was not charging. But when i collected the bike after they said they couldn't find the problem i asked about the battery charging and they said it was. Not one to doubt them i shrugged it off...... guess the uncle was partially right after all....

Will update you guys on the outcome tonite.

Glad you finally found the problem bro... but just wondering how did the washer make the bike stall?

Anyway hopefully the shop which sold you the bike will take some responsibility over this.

yea, interesting.... hw did a washer make it stall?

n wats a scissors gear?

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition

Originally posted by william_liu@January 11, 2007 06:59 pm

Glad you finally found the problem bro... but just wondering how did the washer make the bike stall?

Anyway hopefully the shop which sold you the bike will take some responsibility over this.

Well.. the washer is not the normal kind. It looks like a mini galfer wave brake disc. Its found near the generator rotor, somewhere above the magnetic coil.

The fragments will float ard the oil in the gearbox n get tossed ard. The crankshaft position is located to the right of the magnetic coil. Thus when the fragments come into contact with the sensor it probably tripped of the thing causing the bike to think that there is a problem. Since the engine stopped running, the fragment will remain there for a while n thus i cannot start the bike. Waiting for a while the fragment probably slips off thus i can restart. Hence the problem randomly occurs cos there is no way to predict when the fragments will come into contact with the sensor.

Yeah, i went down to the shop to tok to the salesperson n the chief mech. They said they will discuss it n give me an ans in a few days. Will keep u guys updated. I hope they will give me a satisfatory solution. I'd hate to have to use alternative not-so-amicable means to solve the matter.

Guess you guys will need some visual aid.

Here is the Gearbox n Mag coil etc

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v111/Arcfire/untitled.jpg

Open it up

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v111/Arcfire/untitled1.jpg

Top left hand corner is the balancer driven gear, behind it is the scissors gear

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v111/Arcfire/untitled3.jpg

Here is the scissors gear. The label 3 is the washer i'm talking about.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v111/Arcfire/untitled2.jpg

Wa.. I can foresee that even a skill mech will have problem finding the fault.. :giddy:

July 2004 to Nov 2006 X9 amalfi

Dec 2006 to Jan 2010 Honda SilverWing 400

Feb 2010 to Nov 2015 Honda Fit

Dec 2015 to Oct 2017 Toyota ISIS

Feb 2017 to May 2017 Honda ST1300

Jun 2017 onwards Honda Silverwing 400

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/6333/image00076ka5.jpg

Originally posted by patriots@January 12, 2007 09:07 am

Wa.. I can foresee that even a skill mech will have problem finding the fault.. :giddy:

I think if you don't see the fragments, unless you are the designer and you tear the whole bike apart you won't be able to find the fault at all....

So can expect the previous bike shop to use that as an excuse... that this kind of problem cannot be detected by them....

Originally posted by william_liu@January 12, 2007 02:14 pm

So can expect the previous bike shop to use that as an excuse... that this kind of problem cannot be detected by them....

Yah but its not as if it happened a month or 2 after i took over the bike.

On the very 1st day i took the bike it stalled 3 times in less than 3 hrs. I even called up the salesperson the 1st time it stalled an he came over to help me. The next day i took it to the shop to get it checked.

So to say the least the bike was already faulty the very 1st day i bought it. So its hardly possible to push away the responsibility here. If they do try to shift the blame you can be sure i'll make it a big issue.

For those interested in a Burg-y, see here.