SBF Silverwings Cafe 2008 - JDM/Euro 400/600

For any of you SW riders out there who have a fear of dropping and damaging the bike here is an idea i came across -- Crash bars ! see the link attached.

http://www.scooterw%20est.com_item_%20detail_Honda-%20Silver-Wing-%20Front-Bars_%202090_.htm

Sorry guys the link came out wrong. Here the correct one

http://www.scooterwest.com/item_detail/Honda-Silver-Wing-Front-Bars/2090/

• Replies 6.4k

Do we need to wipe our windshield with any kind of polisher?

How do we maintain the condition of our windshield?

I tried using a sheet of heavy duty SUN-X window coating - worked for a few weeks then began to peel off. Later i tried clear waxing it on both sides (either Turtle wax or other S100) and it helps but yellows after a while. Guess i will leave the screen on the new bike as it is and only use mild detergent / water to clean - have to treat it as a consumable - i.e. for protection of wind and small pieces of dirt / stones getting to you. If breaks just replace !!

PM you already. :smile:

cant post it here, eyes are everywhere. :angel:

Could you share with us ? Got new bike and thinking of DIY. As i already have the plate / box and sub-contract from local bakeryhttp://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/images/smilies/icon-angel.gif

:angel: . Otherwise if it's something really Patentable then PM me to. Thanks !

Do we need to wipe our windshield with any kind of polisher?

How do we maintain the condition of our windshield?

best to flush with water and use hand to wipe/wash.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

best to flush with water and use hand to wipe/wash.

This is what I always do when I wash my bike at the backlane. Prove to have less damage done as compare to using sponge.

true. but after rain how? how u wipe away the water? if use cloth, any cloth also will trap dirt leh. sian man....

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Help!

My wing has a certain sound coming out at about 60km/hr..

Its not the 'whirling' sound which i'm talking abt. I know that the whirling sound is normal.

It is a sand-like sound... like something (E.g. sand) is trapped inside the engine..

Any bros experience that?

The sound stop after 70km/hr..

And also, when moving off at super slow speed, i think my brake pad tend to rub against each other... Got some kind of rubbing sound..

May i know how to rectify it? :giddy: :giddy:

I think the best solution now is to 1st get 1 or 2 other Silverwing riders to try to confirm the sound is abnormal....

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Hey bros,

Recently I felt there is slight difference when moving off. When I move off very slowly, the bike jerks. Not violently, but gently jerking like as though there is not enough fuel to power the vehicle. If I try to maintain at that amount of throttle, the jerking is still there. When I throttle harder, its normal again.

It feels 'normal' to me, maybe cold engine or something. But I'm quite sure that I didn't have this feeling previously.

Honda Phantom TA200: Sep 04 - Dec 05

Ducati Monster M400: Dec 05 - Feb 07

Honda Silverwing FJS400D: Feb 07 - Jan 09

Honda Shadow 400: Nov 10 - Dec 11

Aprilia SR Max 300ie: Jul 12 - Mar 15

I think the best solution now is to 1st get 1 or 2 other Silverwing riders to try to confirm the sound is abnormal....

All these SOUNDs !! It could mean any number of things - BUT maybe only because all that covers magnify sounds - i think at the speed you mention the cooling fan cuts in and as you reach a higher speed it cuts OUT.

The other likely sound may just be RESONANCE of something loose vibrating at that particular RPM.

For an older or well thrashed bike i would suspect cooling Fan bearings or broken screws loose somewhere.

The next possibility is the drive belt / roller assembly - worn parts or the belt needs to change.

Meet up with other SW riders and compare.

Hey bros,

Recently I felt there is slight difference when moving off. When I move off very slowly, the bike jerks. Not violently, but gently jerking like as though there is not enough fuel to power the vehicle. If I try to maintain at that amount of throttle, the jerking is still there. When I throttle harder, its normal again.

It feels 'normal' to me, maybe cold engine or something. But I'm quite sure that I didn't have this feeling previously.

This a clear cut case of incorrect IDLING speed - check this and set to 1200 -1300 rpm. Before doing so also change your spark plugs. The symptoms you describe are clearly faulty / dirty spark plugs and maybe your Air Filter need to clean or change.

All these SOUNDs !! It could mean any number of things - BUT maybe only because all that covers magnify sounds - i think at the speed you mention the cooling fan cuts in and as you reach a higher speed it cuts OUT.

The other likely sound may just be RESONANCE of something loose vibrating at that particular RPM.

For an older or well thrashed bike i would suspect cooling Fan bearings or broken screws loose somewhere.

The next possibility is the drive belt / roller assembly - worn parts or the belt needs to change.

Meet up with other SW riders and compare.

Aiyo...

My mileage is only at 1300km :giddy:

Help!

And also, when moving off at super slow speed, i think my brake pad tend to rub against each other... Got some kind of rubbing sound..

The brake pads or disc probably got dirt / sand / grease. Wash clean with mild dishwashing detergent / water / brush and if possible between the pads / disc by carefully pulling the cleaning towel between them. Then flush carefully with lots of clean water and allow to totally air dry before using. If still dont work then your pads are off centre and need to adjust.

Aiyo...

My mileage is only at 1300km :giddy:

On the other hand maybe you just too sensitive - or your helmet makes the sound louder. If you want PM me your fon number and i call you to chat !!

Help!

Same problem as your old X8 ??

Yes, i think so..

But the brakes were alright initially..

Thinks got dirt or maybe brakes pad not fitted in correctly/accurately..

Guess have to go and re-check

Help!

My wing has a certain sound coming out at about 60km/hr..

Its not the 'whirling' sound which i'm talking abt. I know that the whirling sound is normal.

It is a sand-like sound... like something (E.g. sand) is trapped inside the engine..

Any bros experience that?

The sound stop after 70km/hr..

most likely due to the running in process. dun forget u are still in the midst of running in your new bike. many kind of sounds can be produce. wat grade of engine oil are u using?

as for your brake pads, do u know there so many kinds of brake pad in the market? most common brake pads do have tiny bits of metal in it. there is to create better braking power.

also not forgetting our brake calipers are not radial (floating). when u brake, 1 side of the the pads are push to contact the side of the brake disc, then the brake disc will be push to touch the other side of the brake pad. but do u know how does your pads return? its after u release the brake level and the wheels rotate, thus the pads return.

u can't be sure whether the pads return fully. brake dust are created everytime u brake. constant using without servicing will one day cease the pistons in the brake caliper.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

This a clear cut case of incorrect IDLING speed - check this and set to 1200 -1300 rpm. Before doing so also change your spark plugs. The symptoms you describe are clearly faulty / dirty spark plugs and maybe your Air Filter need to clean or change.

Thanks dude. I'll update once I get my spark plugs changed.

Honda Phantom TA200: Sep 04 - Dec 05

Ducati Monster M400: Dec 05 - Feb 07

Honda Silverwing FJS400D: Feb 07 - Jan 09

Honda Shadow 400: Nov 10 - Dec 11

Aprilia SR Max 300ie: Jul 12 - Mar 15

most likely due to the running in process. dun forget u are still in the midst of running in your new bike. many kind of sounds can be produce. wat grade of engine oil are u using?

as for your brake pads, do u know there so many kinds of brake pad in the market? most common brake pads do have tiny bits of metal in it. there is to create better braking power.

also not forgetting our brake calipers are not radial (floating). when u brake, 1 side of the the pads are push to contact the side of the brake disc, then the brake disc will be push to touch the other side of the brake pad. but do u know how does your pads return? its after u release the brake level and the wheels rotate, thus the pads return.

u can't be sure whether the pads return fully. brake dust are created everytime u brake. constant using without servicing will one day cease the pistons in the brake caliper.

Thanks bro, for the comprehensive reply! :thumb:

I clocked 200plus km today on my scoot today.

Went for a short touring. Had lunch at Taman Uni.

Then went to Kluang via NSH then trunk road.

Then back using a trunk toad that is super duper damn freaking winding... Must have turn at least 60 to 80 turnings, with alot of ups and downs (dun know the road name, just followed a ST rider.)

Reach Woodlands CP, realised that its jam. Detour to second link again.

Travelling by trunk road think definitely will lose out to road bikes alot.

Somwmore SW is heavy..

My mileage is at abt 1700km now.

Eh, come to think of it, i think i run in abit too fast.

Hit only 140km/hr with pillion. No opportunity to go further as traffic was quite heavy today, dun know why.

Windshield started vibrating significantly at 130km/hr.

Travel at abt 110 to 120km/hr on NSH.

Think i had trashed my SW, feeling guilty. :giddy:

Gonna wash my bike tmr.. My windshield is a mess now, dead insects etc

Thanks bro, for the comprehensive reply! :thumb:

I clocked 200plus km today on my scoot today.

Went for a short touring. Had lunch at Taman Uni.

Then went to Kluang via NSH then trunk road.

Then back using a trunk toad that is super duper damn freaking winding... Must have turn at least 60 to 80 turnings, with alot of ups and downs (dun know the road name, just followed a ST rider.)

Reach Woodlands CP, realised that its jam. Detour to second link again.

Travelling by trunk road think definitely will lose out to road bikes alot.

Somwmore SW is heavy..

My mileage is at abt 1700km now.

Eh, come to think of it, i think i run in abit too fast.

Hit only 140km/hr with pillion. No opportunity to go further as traffic was quite heavy today, dun know why.

Windshield started vibrating significantly at 130km/hr.

Travel at abt 110 to 120km/hr on NSH.

Think i had trashed my SW, feeling guilty. :giddy:

Gonna wash my bike tmr.. My windshield is a mess now, dead insects etc

Of Course the SW wont handle like a Sports Motor Bike. The closest a scooter can get to the handling of a Sports Motor Bike is the Yamaha TMax 500 !!!

The speeds you have indicated are quite ok to maintain for a New Bike and you need not worry to much. The vibration on the screen you speak of is quite normal on this model with the standard screen. If you cannot live with it change to a Higher / wider screen like the GIVI or other proven brands. These do help.

Enjoy your riding.

did anyone experience backfire when the bike slows down to a speed about 2.5 - 3k rpm..... just when the biting point is about to disengaged?

I always have that.... since i got my old bike...

I wonder if can do tuning or something? :angel:

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

anyone changes to K&N or any other aftermarket air filter for their SW?

Any comments?

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a380/VoxArcana/Forum%20Signatures/ManUtdChampions.png

2002 - 2004 HonDa SP

2004 - 2006 HoNdA S4 VtEc 1

2006 - 2007 YaMahA MaJesTy 250 MK2

2007 Current HoNDa SliVerWinG 400