• Replies 2.1k

Hey, I propose we all join in the KUKUP trip organised by SBF.

Just a day trip and total distance covered about 200+km only.

Scarab is one of the organisers.

Yes...its a great outing indeed, very lively and everyone is interacting!

well a outing shld always aim for more kakhis the merry it is... thou i was prepare for the worst expecting only a 3 or the most 5 persons for the chill out(even a small group is fine)... Its great to see the lao jiaos to pop by for the chicken wing too... I think the main attraction =====> Chicken Wings loh! :thumb:

I would like thanks all bros who join in the chill out!

Botak (think shop bo seng lee, close early for wing haha)

600 (thx for bring botak here)

Momo (ur all terrain bike again)

Recko (Nice white!)

Scrabeo (thx for being the early bird)

Phlix & GF (the only couple here)

Joe (all the best for english)

Kentzo ( sorry for being late )

Faiza ( the only malay bro who join us, hope u r not bored )

Monster ( I think X8 400 cannot satisfy ur desire for monster speed ) dun like tat say le ...so shy Aidan ( nice chatty guy! )

Special thanks to Firestorm bro (Good and entertaining guy, shed the lights for our X8 bros, I must admit I more to a listener than speaker,haha)

Tats all for the thank you speech... Lastly I didnt get to eat the wings when i wanted to order tat time close liao.. lol .... o_O

erm... hope i didnt miss anyone out for the thank you list ba ???

:cool: :thumb: :p

anyway hopw to have more outing get to know more each other

http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m200/wsrider/MONSTER.jpg

Currently Riding :

Yamaha Fino

Suzuki GSX-R1000

Hey guys, I have collected my X8. So shiok!

Took awhile to get used to it, cos the handlebar is so light! abit of wobbling issue in the beginning.

Anyway, i really dont know how to open the back compartment. any tips?

hi everybody, i am ckh. me currently riding a phantom ta200. then last week juz order a black fz x8 and will be collecting this week. very happy to choose this bike cos it has a feeling of a car to me. haha.

below is a link to see our x8 scooter.

Life is a Journey.

Take a Joy ride.

17/04/03-10/12/04 Yamaha Rxz 133cc

10/12/04-25/03/08 Honda Phantom TA200

25/03/08-Till now Piaggio X8 200cc

Don't Quit Cos Every Obstacle Is A Stepping Stone To Success!!!

tat shd have a button jus beside the start button dunno same with my 400 anot

yeap i know the button, the trouble is lifting my box up.

The previous owner showed it to me before, but i forgot how he did it.

I kept trying to open, then in the end i gave up.

Fellow bros here, need your expertise.

Recently 'buang' my X8 on wet road during a turn. Was stupid lah ...

It was a bend to filter into expressway, felt a bit fast, touch the brakes and next thing I knew I'm on the road sliding on my back, and my bike sliding on its side beside me. Both going towards the curb of the bend. Both of us hit the curb, flew and landed on the grass area. I picked myself up, pain on my hip (that hit the curb) and also on my left foot (dunno why), and some blood and abrasions on my arm and leg. I picked my bike up with some struggle and parked it nicely on the pavement, engine damaged, + bits and pieces everywhere. I think my bike suffered more damage than me. Hobbled to the main road and took a cab home.

Well, that's the end of my adventure. Lesson : slow down before bend!

The workshop quoted the damage repair to be $2700! My bike was 3 years old, FY plate, and I'm on 3rd party F&T insurance. So cannot claim. What is the most economical option for me? Scrap and sell for parts? Or repair? How much does a similar age X8 cost now?

Fellow bros here, need your expertise.

Recently 'buang' my X8 on wet road during a turn. Was stupid lah ...

It was a bend to filter into expressway, felt a bit fast, touch the brakes and next thing I knew I'm on the road sliding on my back, and my bike sliding on its side beside me. Both going towards the curb of the bend. Both of us hit the curb, flew and landed on the grass area. I picked myself up, pain on my hip (that hit the curb) and also on my left foot (dunno why), and some blood and abrasions on my arm and leg. I picked my bike up with some struggle and parked it nicely on the pavement, engine damaged, + bits and pieces everywhere. I think my bike suffered more damage than me. Hobbled to the main road and took a cab home.

Well, that's the end of my adventure. Lesson : slow down before bend!

The workshop quoted the damage repair to be $2700! My bike was 3 years old, FY plate, and I'm on 3rd party F&T insurance. So cannot claim. What is the most economical option for me? Scrap and sell for parts? Or repair? How much does a similar age X8 cost now?

Hmmm... when he charge u that amount did he explain wats cough up tat sum of money ? U ownself judge is ur X8 really buang till jia lat jia lat??? Because for motobikes got hit, it really depend on luck, which part got damage can charge u hundreds over dollars to maybe just a few dollars for repair... U wont know also if the internal got any problem...

feel free to call/sms me if u need any help

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v258/brownkai/X8gathering1-2.jpg

rainy days recently all bros be carefull on the rd ahz.

2002-2003 -->aprilia Rs125

2002-2005 -->honda Ta200

2003-2008 -->aprilia Rs250

2006-2008 -->honda ta150

15 jan2008 - 5 Apr 2012 --> x8 400ie

5 Apr 2012 - now --> busa the falcon..

rainy days recently all bros be carefull on the rd ahz.

the rain so consistent heavy tat I dun ride for the past 2 days liao...

those bro whose ride in the rain must really be careful man...

It was a bend to filter into expressway, felt a bit fast, touch the brakes and next thing I knew I'm on the road sliding on my back, and my bike sliding on its side beside me. Both going towards the curb of the bend. Both of us hit the curb, flew and landed on the grass area. ?

Come to think of it... I do come across this situation and I notice when exit to Expressway or from expressway to main road, theres quite a number of surprise sharp bend... one example Eng neo road exit to PIE (changi) whereby a straight road can easily pick up speed then just after underpass hit the U - turn... :giddy:

Most importantly you are in one piece and subtains only minor injuries... I'm glad you'r alrite man!

I guess the grass patch absorb your impact ... :)

did u hit the brake hard ? by touching cannot be so serious unless ur brake pad very jiak or u really travel quite fast... :cool:

Thanks for all your concerns. Appreciate it. Yep, glad I escape with just minor injuries to learn this lesson. The main thing is to slow down before banking. If already in a turn, try to avoid the brakes. If really need to, got to be very cautious how you use it.

I don't think I hit the brakes hard. Just a light tap and could feel rear wheel giving way. Can't remember which brake I used though. Maybe the front brakes, or both ... On hind sight, maybe rear brake better in a turn? In fact I'm not really in a turn yet, just slight bank to start the turn into the bend. Everything happened very fast. I can only remember the haunting scene of sliding on my back towards the curb, and can't do anything to stop. The rest is a blur.

I followed the advise of a fellow bro here and go for 2nd opinion. Will see how from there.

I was also a bit complacent. Was quite used to riding in the rain and probably did not respect the wet surface enough this time round.

hi everybody,me getting my x8 next week. Feel like changing tyre. Any good tyre to recommend? Btw how u all maintain your bikes? Thanks for all replies.

Life is a Journey.

Take a Joy ride.

:) 1 more to x8 family :)

2002-2003 -->aprilia Rs125

2002-2005 -->honda Ta200

2003-2008 -->aprilia Rs250

2006-2008 -->honda ta150

15 jan2008 - 5 Apr 2012 --> x8 400ie

5 Apr 2012 - now --> busa the falcon..

Everyone, pls ride safely on the road.

This week alone I have seen 6 to 7 accidents. Weather has been crazy so please be careful.

Anyway, for the tires, go for michelin gold standard. I'm using them now and i feel good traction even when riding in the rain.

thanks. :thirsty:

Life is a Journey.

Take a Joy ride.

hello, can someone comment on the stock tyres of x8 200?

hi everybody,me getting my x8 next week. Feel like changing tyre. Any good tyre to recommend? Btw how u all maintain your bikes? Thanks for all replies.

went to banhon to check on the otr price for x8 but was told that they do not have stock and claim that this bike stops production, intro to me phantom and mp3 instead. :giddy: is it true x8 200 phrase out?

Hmmm, don't know about Piaggio phasing out the 200cc version of the X8, but you can always check out shops selling 2nd hand versions. I am intending to sell mine once I fully pay for it in about 6 months time. I bought mine at BanHon and it's a FBA plate. Toppled it a couple of times accidentally and the body work has got a nasty scratch after I tried to squeeze between a pickup, repaired the fibre glass body myself using auto body putty, lots of sanding and polishing, but used the wrong colour spray paint! Arrgh!

My poor X8 has been parked in open braving the elements since I bought it 1 and a half years ago. It's completely stock with no modifications of any sort. The dash and handle bar plastics have a taken a beating under the sun. The seating cushion sewing seams are starting to wear off. Other than that, my X8 is in tip top condition, never experienced any major accident, other than that scratch. My X8 haven't given me any problems since the last major problem which was the faulty alternator more than a year ago. She will be hitting 14K soon and I'll be sending her for major maintenance. Did some self maintenance a few days ago by topping up the engine oil and coolant. The wet battery still works and if I am caught in a situation where my battery is flat, I can still start it up using my start up kit, consisting of a self made thick wires with heavy duty crocodile clips and a Dry cell in my under seat hold.

In order to protect the plastics of my X8 I have bought a bottle of car dash board liquid protector from Sellys. It should reduce the damaging effects of the Sun's UV rays. To counter the horrible wet weather, I placed a clear plastic trash bag over my seat to prevent rain water from seeping in, I also spray WD40 at rusty screws to delay the damage. I also managed to buy a Champange Gold touchup paint pen from HomeFix to fix my botched paint job.

Before I sell my X8, I'm going to send it for a complete refurbishment and a new paint job. Still, being my very first scooter and bike, I will be sad to sell it. The Piaggio X8 is in my opinion one of the best 200cc scooters around.

http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/5076/x82010thumb.jpg

Since 13th September 2006

Refurbished since 29th January 2010

yup much agreed that it's one of the best 200cc around/.....

btw, yup no more NEW x8 around liao... Aidan had done his homework and confirmed it but no worries, there are always 2nd hand ones around......

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s243/firestorm_33/S1030017.jpg (Nite Mode)

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s243/firestorm_33/Daymode-1.jpg(Day Mode)

Always Contactable at 92745438

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/305719-lt-CMO-gt-Mobile-Grooming-for-your-bike-at-your-place-)