Hey guys i recently passed my class 2A and deciding which of this 2 bikes shall i go and buy? I just need advice and info about this 2 bikes. I wana keep this bike for at least 2 years. For those who are riding this bikes pls share with us your experience. But first i wana ask some questions about this bike. Hope u guys can ans all my questions.

HONDA RVF 400

1) Is this bike good and powerful?

2) Full tank patrol roughly how much?

3) Normal engine oil and spark plug change servicing how much?

4) Hows the maintance? (Heard rumors that RVF is problematic bike)

5) Can this bike travel all the way up to Kuala lumpur without any complications and breakdown? (I want to travel at least once a month)

6) Is this bike worth buying as i love fast sports bike?

7) Is this bike good for touring up to Malaysia? ( Dunno whether RVF can tahan all the way to there)

SUPER 4 (SPEC 2 )

4) Hows the maintance? (so far never heard any rumors about super 4)

5) Can this bike travel all the way up to Kuala lumpur without any complications? (I want to travel at least once a month)

6) Is this bike worth buying?

7) Is this bike good for touring up to Malaysia? ( Dunno whether Super 4 can tahan all the way to there)

So far this are all my questions i need to ask. Anymore i will just update it. Sorry if i asked stupid or noob questions as i am a newbie to all this. Hope u guys can make me understand about this 2 bikes and make me decide which bike shall i go get? I want a bike that is hassle free and can tour all the way to KL without any breakdown/Overheating and etc...Thanks alot guys! *CHEERS* :)

• Replies 88

HONDA RVF 400

Pretty much. V4 and RVF stands for Runs Very Fast lol

Not sure cos dont know anybody who owns them personally

4) Hows the maintenance? (Heard rumors that RVF is problematic bike)

Bad compared to a S4. Parts are harder to get and its much older compared to your Spec 2. 99% of the time, the bike you can buy are most likely has been track abused.

5) Can this bike travel all the way up to Kuala lumpur without any complications and breakdown? (I want to travel at least once a month)

Should be I suppose but dont know anybody i know who owns this and goes up to KL.

As a class 2a bike to keep for a few years. Nope.

7) Is this bike good for touring up to Malaysia? ( Dunno whether RVF can tahan all the way to there)

Touring would be best done with a box /boxes. RVF looks funny with 1 though.

SUPER 4 (SPEC 2 )

Yup Inline 4 with Vtec. Reliable too.

At least 300km. but give and take depending on how you ride too.

EO is 3 bottles. so about 80 bucks plus service. might be higher or lower.

4) Hows the maintenance? (so far never heard any rumors about super 4)

Easy and straight forward. Can go to alot of shops to do it and parts are readily available.

5) Can this bike travel all the way up to Kuala lumpur without any complications? (I want to travel at least once a month)

Can. I have friends who has taken the S4 further up still.

This is debatable but some ppl dont really recommend the Spec 2 due to several issues like wiring and Vtec opening too early. Still got ver s, spec 1, 3 and revo though

7) Is this bike good for touring up to Malaysia? ( Dunno whether Super 4 can tahan all the way to there)

Can ah and you can put box/boxers :)

if you "love fast sports bikes", suck it in for another year and a half and jump straight to class 2. which was what i did, precisely because there wasn any sportsbike in 2a category worth owning.

the rvf isn a problematic bike. its just a bloody old bike. and all bloody old bikes are problematic, especially when they rapidly change hands every few years across owners who don bother maintaining properly coz they know they gonna let go after 2 at most 3 years.

is it worth putting in so much time and especially money on a bike that will suffer from old age? i personally didn think so. but its your time and money.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

HONDA RVF 400

Pretty much. V4 and RVF stands for Runs Very Fast lol

4) Hows the maintenance? (Heard rumors that RVF is problematic bike)

Bad compared to a S4. Parts are harder to get and its much older compared to your Spec 2. 99% of the time, the bike you can buy are most likely has been track abused.

Should be I suppose but dont know anybody i know who owns this and goes up to KL.

As a class 2a bike to keep for a few years. Nope.

Touring would be best done with a box /boxes. RVF looks funny with 1 though.

SUPER 4 (SPEC 2 )

Yup Inline 4 with Vtec. Reliable too.

At least 300km. but give and take depending on how you ride too.

EO is 3 bottles. so about 80 bucks plus service. might be higher or lower.

4) Hows the maintenance? (so far never heard any rumors about super 4)

Easy and straight forward. Can go to alot of shops to do it and parts are readily available.

Can. I have friends who has taken the S4 further up still.

This is debatable but some ppl dont really recommend the Spec 2 due to several issues like wiring and Vtec opening too early. Still got ver s, spec 1, 3 and revo though

Can ah and you can put box/boxers :)

Wahh soo much of difference. Super 4 got wiring problem meh? First time hearing sia?? Plus wats wrong if vtec opens early? Patrol consuming is it? wow 300KM for super 4? Means i just top up patrol once or twice when travelling up to KL ah? lol..Yeah i never come across anywan who brought RVF to KL before? Well Thanks soo much for the info bro. I'll take note of that.

if you "love fast sports bikes", suck it in for another year and a half and jump straight to class 2. which was what i did, precisely because there wasn any sportsbike in 2a category worth owning.

the rvf isn a problematic bike. its just a bloody old bike. and all bloody old bikes are problematic, especially when they rapidly change hands every few years across owners who don bother maintaining properly coz they know they gonna let go after 2 at most 3 years.

is it worth putting in so much time and especially money on a bike that will suffer from old age? i personally didn think so. but its your time and money.

Ouh..Wat u said also kinda true. But bro Super 4 also kinda old bike wat? I mean besides spec 3 la. HAHA. Like example ver S, Spec 1? They dun give much problem is it? How about spec 2? Ya many people told RVF got problems wan..The maintance is same like honda nsr sp all...haha...I mean yeah i gona keep this bike for at least 2 years. I dun wish to spend a bomb that can make a hole in my pocket as i wish to get myself a class 2 bike. So wat u think super 4 sec 2 is good rite? I mean i seen ****ing lots of singaporean riding super 4 sia...And they said super 4 spec 2 is a problem free bike...Thanks alot for your advice bro..

my figures may be not be fully accurate, but the spec 2 was manufactured between 2001 to 2004 while the RVF400 was manufactured between 1994 to 1996. that means the youngest rvf you can find is 15 years old. if you can find a young spec 2 about 7 or 8 years old, to own until its COE expire, its still significantly fresher than any RVF.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

rvf400 n fz400 were imported from japan were 2nd hand.

check the manufacturing date, not registration date in sillypore.

not surprising these obsolete bikes r decade older.

i dun think all rvf were imported 2nd hand from japan, but i agree, the age should be based on the manufacturing date, not registration date. if it was no longer manufactured after 1996, then theres no such thing as a 9 year old rvf. either it was a second hand import, or it was lying around 'brand new' for at least 6 years before finally registered and sold.

if u approach honda agent BS, they will tell u they wont support rvf, in term of spare parts or repairs.

even if u ask them to import rvf parts, BS wont do it.

spare parts have been imported by parallel importers, its harder to import rvf parts since there arent any more rvf scrapped in japan.

Edited by stsoh
my figures may be not be fully accurate, but the spec 2 was manufactured between 2001 to 2004 while the RVF400 was manufactured between 1994 to 1996. that means the youngest rvf you can find is 15 years old. if you can find a young spec 2 about 7 or 8 years old, to own until its COE expire, its still significantly fresher than any RVF.

yeah..But it actually all depends on the previous owner of how they maintain the bike...Like example of honda nsr sp also very old bike..But some honda sp never give problems wan...so ya..

dono leh.. the paper say manufacture in 2001.. heh registered in 2003.. ahhh

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e291/zhifong/bike7-1.jpg
Wahh soo much of difference. Super 4 got wiring problem meh? First time hearing sia?? Plus wats wrong if vtec opens early? Patrol consuming is it? wow 300KM for super 4? Means i just top up patrol once or twice when travelling up to KL ah? lol..Yeah i never come across anywan who brought RVF to KL before? Well Thanks soo much for the info bro. I'll take note of that.

Wiring issues if you lose your key if im not wrong. And yeah some ppl relate vtec with fc but this is debatable lol Either way I believe in general the ver s, spec 1,2,3 etc should be able to hit 300km on full tank.

Also yes some super 4 and rvf about same age but parts for super 4 easy to get seh. Think to me thats the winning factor. I recently gotten my ver s and I realize not worth splurging on class 2a.

Wiring issues if you lose your key if im not wrong. And yeah some ppl relate vtec with fc but this is debatable lol Either way I believe in general the ver s, spec 1,2,3 etc should be able to hit 300km on full tank.

Also yes some super 4 and rvf about same age but parts for super 4 easy to get seh. Think to me thats the winning factor. I recently gotten my ver s and I realize not worth splurging on class 2a.

Ouhh haha...So overall i guess super 4 spec 2 eh? I want spec 3 but too exp liao...Nevermind just change spec 2 tail to spec 3 wan..lol..

One of my friend told me RVF is a powerful bike and can go up to KL without any overheating and breakdown...I just hope wat he said its really true....cause my dream bike for 2A is RVF. But Many people say dun buy all...Haiz...I headache sia....hahah

i think this bike is worth buying and keeping, if u got passion for these kind of bikes.

400cc v4 engine, gear driven cam, mini version of the legendary rc45 ect2.

for me i bought NSR250 PGM3 because of passion,

love for 2t grand prix bikes, 250cc my fav class in GP, and i've loved NSRs (road bikes and race bikes) since primary one.

and for me it is swee, one of the most beautiful bike in my eyes, ect.

i dun care about riding class2 bike because they're too fast already for singapore roads and even for pasirgudang (i'm not skill like some racers here)..

and no class2 2t with modern frames hehe..

and 2a bikes sports tyre is only around $250+-

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4081/4931040347_0bda87b07d_b.jpg
One of my friend told me RVF is a powerful bike and can go up to KL without any overheating and breakdown...I just hope wat he said its really true....cause my dream bike for 2A is RVF. But Many people say dun buy all...Haiz...I headache sia....hahah

if it ur dream bike, i say go for it, i think my fren got lobang for the parts from japan, so no shop can chop u.

like we pgm riders we more or less know our stuff.

go to the right people and don't let shop chop us.

yes bro RVF is a powerful bike..

but the older VFR is more powerful.

don't even compare it to Super Four. Because super4 is a road bike, not a sport performance bike.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4081/4931040347_0bda87b07d_b.jpg
i think this bike is worth buying and keeping, if u got passion for these kind of bikes.

400cc v4 engine, gear driven cam, mini version of the legendary rc45 ect2.

for me i bought NSR250 PGM3 because of passion,

love for 2t grand prix bikes, 250cc my fav class in GP, and i've loved NSRs (road bikes and race bikes) since primary one.

and for me it is swee, one of the most beautiful bike in my eyes, ect.

i dun care about riding class2 bike because they're too fast already for singapore roads and even for pasirgudang (i'm not skill like some racers here)..

and no class2 2t with modern frames hehe..

and 2a bikes sports tyre is only around $250+-

ouh...PGM also power ah bro....but dream bike RVF man....Even though i dun use it on the trace. Its just for my passion..

if it ur dream bike, i say go for it, i think my fren got lobang for the parts from japan, so no shop can chop u.

like we pgm riders we more or less know our stuff.

go to the right people and don't let shop chop us.

yes bro RVF is a powerful bike..

but the older VFR is more powerful.

don't even compare it to Super Four. Because super4 is a road bike, not a sport performance bike.

Ouh got lobang for RVF parts ah bro? cause i abit newbie leh for class 2A....But even though i love RVF....I just dun wish to spend a bomb repairing them always....Same goes to honda nsr sp.....so far ok ah i can maintain it.....But RVF i scared sia..hahahah...And bro ask u ah can RVF go all the way to KL? cause i need to travel once a month to KL...So i scared whether RVF cannot tahan till there...Cause later overheating or breakdown all....I know lot of people say super 4 no problem wan....lol...Thanks bro....

i think my rvf cannot take it.. haha you will need at least a few k's to prepare for the worst.. RVF buy like wont regret unless you sway sway bought the problematic bike.. haha

Hahahaha ya man....why your RVF cannot take it? But so far RVF is manageable la...

haha.. the heat.. don want to risk coolant explode.. buy a bike that suits your pocket. but also buy the bike that you are in love with =)

Ouh heat? damm...Bro ask u ah...have u brought your bike to KL before or u know anywan got bring RVF to KL before? I love RVF. But i also planned to upgrade to bigger bike once i got class 2. Its kinda hard to get a good condition RVF within my budget of 5k....all exp sia..hahah