Do you agree that sensored traffic light junctions are useful for bikers?  

249 members have voted

1. 1. Do you agree that sensored traffic light junctions are useful for bikers?

Have you ever get stuck in a traffic light junction waiting for it to turn green but after half an hour and its still not on your favour?

Have you ever need to wait for a car to come beside you just to "activate" the censors?

Have you get down on ur bike to press the pedestrain button just to change the light to ur favour?

How much do u tink of the usefullness of censored traffic light junctions?

Please poll...

• Replies 144

yes...

preciously, sensored... sorry for the mistake...

i feel tat the authorities should throw away this idea as it is totally useless to have this sensored thing since it is not sensative enuf for bikers... if having this sensored traffic light signalling system, it muz be able to detect all possible mode of transport including bicycles... otherwise i feel that it is a total waste of resources and tax payer money to be investing such a technology but it isn't sensitive enuff for bikers...

for those who wanna know what i mean, try waiting for the traffic light to turn green at woodlands drive 44 going towards woodlands drive 16, and another junction at woodlands ave 4 going to admiralty road west...

they wun abolish the idea~ if u do stop properly, there's no need to wait for too long~ maybe those that have to wait are faulty? :confused:

usually i stamp my foot real hard on the sensor as i past by or stoping on it.. it works.. within 30sec the light is changing.. :cheeky:

http://www.dreamgate.ne.jp/nsr/Gallery/repsol%20and%20regular250.jpg
Originally posted by DESMOSEDICI@Jun 17 2004, 01:29 PM

usually i stamp my foot real hard on the sensor as i past by or stoping on it.. it works.. within 30sec the light is changing.. :cheeky:

Mus try tht next time got one junction near by house canot sense my bike so if early hours in the morning where there are not many vehicles can sleep while waiting for the traffic light to change. So sometimes wait until a few mins sian already jus see no traffic jus beat the red light la..

Yamaha LC 125 03/02 - 04/03

Yamaha RXZ 03/03 - 04/05

Suzuki Bandit VV 04/05 - 02/06

Yamaha Fazer 1000 03/06 - 10/07

Honda Blackbird 10/07 - 08/08

Yamaha Fazer 600 10/08 - 02/10

Honda Blackbird 02/10 - 03/12

Originally posted by rAjOaNa@Jun 17 2004, 02:21 PM

Mus try tht next time got one junction near by house canot sense my bike so if early hours in the morning where there are not many vehicles can sleep while waiting for the traffic light to change. So sometimes wait until a few mins sian already jus see no traffic jus beat the red light la..

my place there oso ar.. there r times when all others traffic lights turn from green to red, red to green but the traffic light where im at remains red.. damn fed up man.. tts y i always stamp my foot onto the sensor.. :lol:

http://www.dreamgate.ne.jp/nsr/Gallery/repsol%20and%20regular250.jpg

Usually I will bounce on my bike when I reach those sensors. If there is a car behind me I will actually signal for it to come forward onto the sensors. Usually the driver understands.

guy the sensor dun work on weight.....it actually sense car bcos of a large piece of metal in within the sensoring zone. Hence current induction (or induce emf ..watever la) occur and the light will chg shortly

tt the reason why the sensor cannot accurately sense bike due to the small metal mass tt we carry (oso a reason why sometime bike beating red light and the red light camera got no flash)

second reason is tt bikers tend to hav the habit of stoppin the bike way too near the white lines, thus we missed the sensor area.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v381/chi...2/R6MN_sig1.jpg

2001 - 2002 SP

2002 - 2004 SP / Super 4

2004 - 2005 R6 / Super 4

2005 - 2006 Nissan Sunny / Piaggio X9

2006 - 20?? Mazda 6 SP

Guest Enjoy
Originally posted by chilipadi2@Jun 19 2004, 07:12 PM

guy the sensor dun work on weight.....it actually sense car bcos of a large piece of metal in within the sensoring zone. Hence current induction (or induce emf ..watever la) occur and the light will chg shortly

tt the reason why the sensor cannot accurately sense bike due to the small metal mass tt we carry (oso a reason why sometime bike beating red light and the red light camera got no flash)

second reason is tt bikers tend to hav the habit of stoppin the bike way too near the white lines, thus we missed the sensor area.

There was an incident that a biker came out from the pavement and waits at the traffic lights. He was beyond the stop line and near to where the pedestrian cross as he comes out from the pavement. So obviously he did not went thru the sensor nor stop on it.

I was eating at the coffee shop which is just beside the junction and the fellow waited for AT LEAST 15mins (gd patient eh?). My friend was laughing when we found out that the fellow knows nothing of the sensor, so in the end he walk to the road and step on the sensor. Within a min, the lights changed, and the poor fellow went off without knowing wat happened......:cheeky:

Originally posted by DeusExMachina@Jun 21 2004, 09:40 AM

Chilipadi may be right.

Don't think its a weight or pressure sensor. Most prob it's a metal detector of some sort.

i came to know of this sensor thingy when my physic teacher (many yr ago) was teaching the class on inductor........

2001 - 2002 SP

2002 - 2004 SP / Super 4

2004 - 2005 R6 / Super 4

2006 - 20?? Mazda 6 SP

Here is why and there is a product to change the bloody lights!

the product

Since the introduction of electromagnets as traffic signal controllers in the 1960's (called inductive loops), the vast majority of US traffic signals have implemented the technology. Hence, motorcyclists, AND many newer car owners have had ever-growing difficulty getting signals to change for them. It's because these electromagnets (which usually appear as large black rectangles cut into the lanes at intersections) ONLY recognize iron (not aluminum, titanium, rubber, weight, or plastic) - smaller vehicles, and many newer vehicles, just don't have much iron in them… So, traffic lights don't know a vehicle is waiting - and they don't change - EVER! Many people call these "stuck" traffic lights, but they're not stuck, they just don't detect a vehicle. Attach a Signal SorcererTM to the underside of any vehicle and those loops will detect you, and give you the green light. Equip your ride with a Signal Sorcerer™ TODAY!

Even if you have a 2 ton truck, many of these intersections require maintenance that has just not been done. This means the system still may not detect you right away...The Signal Sorcerer™ will make sure the system knows you are there, and hence making the light change MUCH faster.

There have been other products that try to accomplish the same thing. You may have seen them, they are the bulky black boxes that you have to attach with a zip tie. The Signal Sorcerer™ is less than 1/25 the size, but still 2-3 times more powerful!

Our 100% money back guarantee:

If you do not see an improvement in your traffic light wait times, we will refund 100% of your money...including shipping!

FAQ's

1. - How does Signal Sorcerer™ work?

- When you move a Signal SorcererTM through the electromagnetic field which controls most traffic signals in the US (also called an inductive loop), the large magnetic field created by Signal SorcererTM disproportionately disrupts the static field generated by the electromagnetic loops, and thereby causes the sensors to ‘think’ a large vehicle is present.

2. - Does Signal SorcererTM work on every type of signal controller?

- Signal SorcererTM is designed to only work on electromagnet-based systems (inductive loops). This covers the vast majority of systems employed in the US today.

3. - How long does the power in my Signal Sorcerer™ last?

- Signal SorcererTM has a 10,000 year half shelf life.

4. - Do the lights change the instant I drive over the loop?

- There are two devices controlling traffic signals: 1) an inductive loop and 2) a timer. When the inductive loop detects a vehicle in the lane, it starts the timer. These timers are set for different lengths of time, depending on the traffic level. During peak times, timers may last as long as 4-minutes: meaning you will wait for four minutes. During very slow traffic times, such as from 2-4 AM, most timers are set to no-delay: meaning the light will instantly change. The need for timers is inescapable - though sometimes irritating. If lights were always set to no-delay, then only one or two cars would get through each signal cycle during peak periods of traffic - making it even less effective than a stop sign.

5. - Do I need to maintain my Signal Sorcerer™?

- No. You may notice that your Signal SorcererTM eventually becomes darkened with a very fine dust that you cannot remove. This dust is actually iron, which has been removed from the air. Iron is present in this solid, dust form throughout the US. It will be almost impossible to remove it from a Signal SorcererTM . The dust does not affect the function or longevity of the unit. This dust is attracted to the magnetic field of a Signal SorcererTM.

6. - What if Signal SorcererTM fails to trip a light’s cycle?

- There are several reasons a light won’t trip. 1) The light is not controlled by an inductive loop. 2) The loop for the light is not functioning at all. 3) The loop’s detection meter (a Henry Meter or Magnetometer) has not been set properly. (#3 is absolutely the most common.) Most cities have a place to contact to inform them that a light is not working properly. This is usually the same place you call to report that a light bulb is burned out on a traffic signal. If you live in the area, it is suggested that you contact this department and report an improperly set meter on an inductive loop. They will need to know the intersection, and which lane(s) did not detect your vehicle.

have bike will travel . . . . .

www.kruzer.sg

just to offer my humble opinion. Few weeks ago, i went to a budget hotel with couple of frens to celebrate their ord. As the barrier for their basement carpark is unmanned, it works exactly the same way as the sensors traffic light junctions have. Initailly, i tried to exit by riding onto the rectangular boxes and jam my front brake hoping to create some weight (cos i thought that's how it works), so that the sensors will work. After trying for couple of minutes, i decided to ask the people working inside the hotel. One old man asked to me ride my bike along the black lines , and surprising it works!! From then on, whenever i reach traffic junctions, i'll make sure i ride along the black lines. It works for me everytime. Do give it a try!

http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j47/marzocchi84/la_LM6F3528.jpg

Supermoto Is Not A CRIME .

If we can confirm with LTA that they are using the electromagnets as traffic signal controllers , then perhaps we can make a bulk order ... anyone interested?

have bike will travel . . . . .

www.kruzer.sg

Originally posted by isaac chan@Jun 25 2004, 05:36 PM

If we can confirm with LTA that they are using the electromagnets as traffic signal controllers , then perhaps we can make a bulk order ... anyone interested?

not to forget there the timer upon activation of sensor..eventually waiting 2-3 min is still unevitable

dun think we stand to benefit alot from the Signal Sorcerer

not to mention tt bike does not offer much protection(compare to car) for the device

jz my 0.2 cent worth

2001 - 2002 SP

2002 - 2004 SP / Super 4

2004 - 2005 R6 / Super 4

2006 - 20?? Mazda 6 SP

maybe we can write to LTA regarding the matter and make it more "sensitive" even to cyclists?

The Signal Sorcerer™ might be just a piece of strong permanent magnet. Someone volunteer to try?

http://www.honda.co.jp/CB1300SF/gallery/page13/4025958-2/image/4025958-2-m.jpg

if im not worng, red light cams operate on the same 'weight sensored' principle.

so there is some sort of advantage for bikers such that if we accidentalily beat the red light, theres a chance the sensors dont pick us up due to the lack of weight.

so guys, view it in a different light and u may appreciate the situation, ya?

Current rides: Ducati 999 and X9 500 SL

i had actually found a way to get those censores to work is that, if u r going to stop at that specific traffic light which u noe got such a problem, then all u have to do is to brake a little bit more hard at the front to have the front fork pushing down motion to create a heavier weight impact to activate the censores areas.

the 1 time impact is enough to activate the censores.

can give it a try.

But if u dun noe that traffic light junction is like that then boh pian.

usually i do a 360 degree spot check and just go.

If u all notice, this sensored traffic lights usually have sumthin' like a bad drawing on the road surface...this is where the sensors are located. Many cuckoo taxi drivers tends to overshoot this area and see the lights changed against them. Anyway stop within this area and the lights will change. :goodluck:

:gun: ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ :bouncefire: