Hi, i recently got a 929. However, was told that the exhaust valve has been removed. As such its only in 1st gear that I can move off at very low rpm like 2000rpm without the "stutering....gear too high...speed too low Feeling."

As a result, I usually rev to bout 4k rpm before shifting up. I try to ensure that I engaged at 3k rpm min when up shifting. I spoke to a friend about this this & was told that theres no point replacing the exhaust valve system. Reason is that it will cost about $400 & may not even last a year before it gives problems. As such many 929 owners simply remove the valve when it gets faulty. Would like to seek opinions/comments of fellow riders of this bike.

Secondly, I find the fuel injection kind of jerky. It does not feel as smooth as my previous bike Super 4 Version S. I am referring to the feel of rolling the throttle on / off. Is there a way to smoothen out the fuel injection.?

Really appreciate feedback / advice on the 2 issues mentioned. Thanks.

1997 TZR 125 - 1998 FZ 150 - 1999 GSXR 400K - 1999 RX 100 - 2000 LC 125 - 2001 TZR 125 - 2002 CB 400 Ver S - 2006 CBR 929 - 2006 GETZ 1.4 - 2009 STEED 400 - 2016 ???

Riders ride to work. Drivers work to drive.

• Replies 8

its an EFI problem on the 929s. u will feel the jerk at around 3krpm.

meaning, u feel a sudden surge at 3k rpm even when u hold a constant throttle angle.

it has been said that this problem is rectified on the 954s. but as an ex rider of a 954, the surge is still there, at 2.8k rpm.

my advice to u is, to have a smooth ride, just drag to 4k rpm and change gear. at least with tat u wont feel that much of a sudden jerk. at 4k rpm, speed is already 100km/hr on the 6th gear. do not add a PC III. its useless. i have tried tat, i have done grounding, i have added in voltage stabiliser.. yet the jerk is still evident.

the best u could do is not pumping JB petrol. esso/mobile ron 98 gives the best smooth feel. if ya on budget, ron 95, which can also smoothen out your ride a little

Thanks for the info. Guess I will try to stay above 3k to avoid that jerk .

1997 TZR 125 - 1998 FZ 150 - 1999 GSXR 400K - 1999 RX 100 - 2000 LC 125 - 2001 TZR 125 - 2002 CB 400 Ver S - 2006 CBR 929 - 2006 GETZ 1.4 - 2009 STEED 400 - 2016 ???

Riders ride to work. Drivers work to drive.

Welcome to the Fireblade family.

Indeed the 'jerk' that you've mentioned is the 'flat spot' inherent in the revs. For the earlier carb blades (1999 earlier) the infamous flat spot is around 5k. For FI's, it around 2.8 to 3k. You bet it's irritating! HAHA. Just rev through the flat spot, it such a low rpm! Hardly anything to do there! Mine's remapped through PC3 and the problem is gone. Increased response and improved mileage. Seriously. Especially in the higher RPMs.

For your valve's concern, it all depends. Mine's working fine all along (Valve opens at 8k). From what i can gather at the shops, owners tend to remove the valve because they 'heard' that by removing it, you'll acquire more power. To find out if it's a fact or fiction, you'll have to dyno run. I wouldn't trade the additional horses for the smoothness Honda has to offer.

It would help if you were to do some research on the valve on your own. Clue: Shop service manual.

In my opinion, Honda wouldn't spend tens of thousands of dollars on R&D just for a technology that 'useless', would they?

Hope it helps! :thumb:

My exhaust valve is removed by ex-owner too. So far didnt experience the jerk at 3K rpm, smooth for me. Just feel that power start pouring in after 3K rpm, not sure is it due to the missing valve.

My bike do suffer from a dip at 5K rpm from the dyno graph, so i guess is better to have the valve there.

*^BrEnDoN^*

I love bikes, cars and mei nu!

Originally posted by No_regret@February 02, 2007 06:07 am

My exhaust valve is removed by ex-owner too. So far didnt experience the jerk at 3K rpm, smooth for me. Just feel that power start pouring in after 3K rpm, not sure is it due to the missing valve.

My bike do suffer from a dip at 5K rpm from the dyno graph, so i guess is better to have the valve there.

same here..

dun feel a surge at 3k rpm..

quite smooth on my 929..

Originally posted by Aalex82@February 03, 2007 12:51 pm

same here..

quite smooth on my 929..

Ofcos lah ur bike wif arrow fullsystem leh...natin concern wif valve problems..o_O

same here..

quite smooth on my 929..

How is the low and mid range for arrow full system?

*^BrEnDoN^*

I love bikes, cars and mei nu!

same here..

quite smooth on my 929..

hi

jus wanna find out where you buy your arrow system and how much it cost... =)

Ride like there's no tomorrow!!!!!

2004-2006 -- FSX 150

2005-2007 -- CBR400 FireBlade L Model

2007-2009 -- CBR929RRY

2007-Current -- Yamaha X1

2009-Current -- YAmaha R604 :gun: