[Trip Report] MHS Loop & Golden Triangle : 25 Dec 2006 to 7 Jan 2007

Originally posted by Nighthawk_250@March 22, 2007 11:17 am

Wow! thank u lots for the infos and invite, how bout kopi/diner (on me)

at your convenience, when u r free. Pm my contact/sms.

My route not tighten up yet...will update later.

Will spend about 3 week to 1 month for this trip.

Likely concentrate on chiang mai, mae hon son and all the historical site/temple

then back to bangkok shopping and considering ride across cambodia.

later!...

hopefully those that i gave u was of help.... do let me know when u have plan out your route... enjoy

• Replies 118

Originally posted by YZFx@March 28, 2007 10:04 am

hopefully those that i gave u was of help.... do let me know when u have plan out your route... enjoy

Yo bro...thanks for the stuffs, me busy scaning them into pda as well :lol:

Will pass u a copy. I found the book too, will pass u read.

So beep me anytime u free along the week..we can do supper :cheer:

p/s: im glad the mapbook got all the hospital locations...n then my buddy will be

passing me a very detailed north, northeast gps maps...as far as mapping concern, I very settled liao :thumb:

Honda ..................and nothing else

Originally posted by feeufee@April 01, 2007 05:18 pm

NIghthawk

Dun forget to file trip report here when you done, I am also planning one N-Thai ride at end of year.

Ride Safe....

Sure thing dude!

Meanwhile u can consult YZFx for the time being, he is walking directory :p

Anything in particular/ or info. u want me to look out for during the trip?

I'll keep in mind :)

NIghthawk,

U have GPS map on hand? Are they compatible with Garmin Mapsource? If yes....I would like to copy.

YZFx,

I went through ur blog and just recorded some info that I need...Can point me to source where you got your THA road maps that you use? Anyway, did you just get whatever accomodation you can when you reach or you are pre-booked them before you arrive?

Originally posted by feeufee@April 02, 2007 02:52 pm

NIghthawk,

U have GPS map on hand? Are they compatible with Garmin Mapsource? If yes....I would like to copy.

YZFx,

I went through ur blog and just recorded some info that I need...Can point me to source where you got your THA road maps that you use? Anyway, did you just get whatever accomodation you can when you reach or you are pre-booked them before you arrive?

Im getting the mapking 2007 maps, currently using mapking 10 with pda gps phone.

Originally posted by Nighthawk_250@April 02, 2007 01:07 am

Yo bro...thanks for the stuffs, me busy scaning them into pda as well :lol:

Will pass u a copy. I found the book too, will pass u read.

So beep me anytime u free along the week..we can do supper :cheer:

p/s: im glad the mapbook got all the hospital locations...n then my buddy will be

passing me a very detailed north, northeast gps maps...as far as mapping concern, I very settled liao :thumb:

bro... if i nv call u, u can call me also ma.. hahaha :smile:

Originally posted by feeufee@April 02, 2007 02:52 pm

NIghthawk,

YZFx,

i got the book in thailand.. very cheap and useful.. it has alot of very useful info... as for accom, i choose some before i go.... but i nv book.. when i reach there than i go find those which i wanna stay in... unless full, than i will go find others...

u riding alone??

Originally posted by feeufee@April 02, 2007 10:47 pm

What is the title of the book?

relax bro... :lol: y post so many time?? i do not remember the titl of the book cause the book is no longer with me.. i lend it out to someone else for his trip reference... :smile: btw, my book contains the map only...

Originally posted by feeufee@April 04, 2007 04:42 pm

SOrry, the fast reply function really fast....

Will seek out other good map books then...thanks anyway..

no worries :smile:

Originally posted by YZFx@January 19, 2007 12:28 am

Hi guys, had been back from almost 2weeks. Finally I have the time now to put up the pics. I will put it in batches as there are quite a number of photos taken over the 14days.

The link is as follows:

http://zeevincez.blogspot.com/2007/01/zeev...trip-north.html

Only DAY1 - DAY3 photos are out for the time being.

To be continue.....

Wow, you are a very solid guy! Respect!

Seriously Mediacorp should shoot a series entirely on you, I'm sure many people will watch and want to be like you.

Reading your blog and seeing the photos have brought joy and dreams back to my boring life......

One question, normal road bike can make the trip or not? Or need scrambler type of bike? Thanks.

I have a question....

How you know where in the next petrol station

and how to find all the cheap guest house ??

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q207/ones_co/Kg%20Tg%20Buai%2007%20sept%202008/DSC00225-1.jpg

2005 R1(BYE BYE, Miss U) Ones_Co +65 97100565

2008 DRZ (Running) 2008 Busa Cleared.

http://onesco.blogspot.com/

I'm new to this area of the forum, but YZFx mentioned that he was inspired by other people's write up and photos to do his rides.

Does anyone know where I could go to read those writeups? It's a great escape from working life...

Originally posted by MiddleAgedBiker@April 12, 2007 03:00 pm

Wow, you are a very solid guy! Respect!

Seriously Mediacorp should shoot a series entirely on you, I'm sure many people will watch and want to be like you.

Reading your blog and seeing the photos have brought joy and dreams back to my boring life......

One question, normal road bike can make the trip or not? Or need scrambler type of bike? Thanks.

Hello Middle age biker,

Me middle-age-biker literally too :lol:

I am also a "victim" of reading all his trips, and have since met him to kapoh all his trips kung fu:p

Will be retracing his trips next week or so :cheer:

btw...i ve rode up twice with my 250 cc.

Theres a guy name thai R in this forum did that with his kup kia

another of my hero :lovestruck: Power man :thumb:

Yah, middle aged guys like us got a little bit mid-life crisis, need some excitement...everyday just work and look after family, no time to think of anything else, this thread and the pictures really bring back some dreams...

Wow, ride up with kup kia, really steady! Backside open flower..haha!

I have to start slow, haven't gone touring for a long while, think start with m'sia trips first. Once I'm ready I hope I can make friends with you guys and follow along for a trip.

Thanks to all who post such trip reports and pictures, you guys bring joy into our lives.

Originally posted by MiddleAgedBiker@April 13, 2007 11:52 pm

Yah, middle aged guys like us got a little bit mid-life crisis, need some excitement...everyday just work and look after family, no time to think of anything else, this thread and the pictures really bring back some dreams...

I have to start slow, haven't gone touring for a long while, think start with m'sia trips first. Once I'm ready I hope I can make friends with you guys and follow along for a trip.

Thanks to all who post such trip reports and pictures, you guys bring joy into our lives.

i miss those days already... i really miss them..... :weep:

Originally posted by Nighthawk_250@April 13, 2007 10:45 pm

Hello Middle age biker,

Me middle-age-biker literally too :lol:

I am also a "victim" of reading all his trips, and have since met him to kapoh all his trips kung fu:p

Will be retracing his trips next week or so :cheer:

btw...i ve rode up twice with my 250 cc.

Theres a guy name thai R in this forum did that with his kup kia

another of my hero :lovestruck: Power man :thumb:

hows the plan going dude???

Originally posted by MiddleAgedBiker@April 13, 2007 11:52 pm

Hi Middleagebiker,

Maybe you can organise a simple trip and ask "experienced riders"

to join. Count me in.:smile:

Originally posted by Ones_Co@April 13, 2007 09:45 am

I have a question....

do u mean in thailand or in north thailand?? Petrol stations can located along the highways. if your full tank can do u 200, you r damn safe dude. In MSH, u will find them in all towns. No worries about that. Petrol is not a problem... :smile:

Originally posted by Ones_Co@April 13, 2007 09:45 am

I have a question....

petrol station? PTT has signs up to 2km away leading up to their stations.generally,the frequency of service stations all over thailand is more than sufficient.

cheap guest house? if it looks cheap, walk in and ask for the price.then ask to view the room before making the decision to commit. Guesthouses tend to be away from the city and near train/bus stations.

anyway,i have no idea how cheap u want the guesthouse to be,but here's a tip.sometimes when i over run my riding schedule,i'll just pop into a 24 hrs PTT satation n spend my night there. U've got a 7-11 at your disposal(i sleep right outside it),big toilets,food on demand. u'll get an endless flow of people coming in n out,so your scenery always changes.

http://img63.imageshack.us/img63/1897/picture3cd5.png
Originally posted by YZFx@April 14, 2007 11:38 am

hows the plan going dude???

Very high now haha...keep thinking and doing last minute preps.

Work stuffs also cannot finish, tentatively 20th+ going in liao.

Last minute tot of dont bring my gps...tot of getting lost like u mentioned :p

just bring maps.

Wanna ask u, what kinda air pump u bring in?

I got the tyre level tools and air canister pump,

maybe get a hand pump better

U busy with stuffs?