CBR Fireblade riders - CBR 600/918/929/954/1000

Hi. Yesterday just visited Joshua at BikeLab. Actually my intention is to get him to setup my suspension wif respect to my weight. He told me there is not much thing he can do to help me setup my CR954. Coz he say among all the litre bike, 929 and 954 and R1 have the lousy stock suspension. He recommended me to add dunuo wat valving kit for my front fork and change the entire rear shock to either Penske one.

So can anyone there to justify the above statements? Is 929 and 954 stock susp. realli so bad? If realli tat bad, wat can I do to reali setup my susp. for my weight?

• Replies 5.2k

Originally posted by Dewei@Jan 9 2005, 03:32 PM

Hi. Yesterday just visited Joshua at BikeLab. Actually my intention is to get him to setup my suspension wif respect to my weight. He told me there is not much thing he can do to help me setup my CR954. Coz he say among all the litre bike, 929 and 954 and R1 have the lousy stock suspension. He recommended me to add dunuo wat valving kit for my front fork and change the entire rear shock to either Penske one.

So can anyone there to justify the above statements? Is 929 and 954 stock susp. realli so bad? If realli tat bad, wat can I do to reali setup my susp. for my weight?

dont think its so bad as it is for these bikes la....if not there wont be any stock of ohlins, penske, wp left in spore. maybe not good enough for hardcore racers, but if for normal use they should serve u well. try this link, it should help.

http://www.sportrider.com/bikes/146_susp_settings/

Yesterday was history, tomorrow is mystery, today is a blessing. I love today.

1998: honda hurricane

1999: Rxz, TXR150 gamma

2000: L2s turbo

2001: ZXR250

2002: RS125

2003: CBR900

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g43/FireBLade9282/SBFpic.jpg

wat he means is the stock spring is not cater for ur weight, so no matter how u adjust also cant get the correct rider sag one.....

No Time To Think Of One

Originally posted by [V]tec@Jan 9 2005, 05:41 PM

wat he means is the stock spring is not cater for ur weight, so no matter how u adjust also cant get the correct rider sag one.....

should not be wat....try it 1st then oni will know.

dun tell me the manufacturer build such a cheapo suspension for us? think of it, even the RCV211 also uses a showa suspension, so it should not be so bad bah...

Originally posted by UnderTaker@Jan 9 2005, 08:17 PM

should not be wat....try it 1st then oni will know.

dun tell me the manufacturer build such a cheapo suspension for us? think of it, even the RCV211 also uses a showa suspension, so it should not be so bad bah...

Ok, after I told Joshua abt my susp which I think it rather hard for me. So he started to tune abit here and there for my front forks. Then when he is abt to tune my rear shock...he told me my "dunuo wat screw he jam and can't tune my rear shock". He added tat both 929 and 954 rear susp have this "Jamming" problem.

Ok, thanks Undertaker...for the informative website U provided.

Originally posted by Dewei@Jan 10 2005, 02:37 AM

Ok, after I told Joshua abt my susp which I think it rather hard for me. So he started to tune abit here and there for my front forks. Then when he is abt to tune my rear shock...he told me my "dunuo wat screw he jam and can't tune my rear shock". He added tat both 929 and 954 rear susp have this "Jamming" problem.

ah..if really jammed up n cant open then u can play more stoppies....after the thing start to leak then it time for a ohlins ! :lol:

Originally posted by adrianlkl@Jan 10 2005, 05:38 AM

havent slept yet bro? btw. u started this forum rite?

nolah not me start la siau meh.... kata_killer start la...u got the arai from him wan !

Yo kata, i rich i wont need to headache over what to do liao lor.

go sim lim see see look look eat eat lor. there is my favourite place to go.

dewei, u ask whether the screw can change anot, if not then u see how lah. u go to suspension shop, they most probably will ask u to change 1 rear shock 1 mah. If not u can actually try ebay or what cos got many ang mo just change to ohlins and rear shock dun noe go where. can try try.

Got a guy in this forum told me my bike stock pipe cost something like $80 only rite? where are u ah?

hahaha.

Originally posted by adrianlkl@Jan 10 2005, 07:53 PM

hei buto johan! u bz last nite

screw u lah...oredi 5+ am dat time here u know..too tired cos yest went to fetch some "veggie". when u come back we can go new place n drink, in melaka raya...! :gun:

sorry... :offtopic: :sorry:

Originally posted by adrianlkl@Jan 11 2005, 12:07 AM

gila ka? take veg some more. not scared? got new kt meh? hv u found disc brake yet?

can la...capacity still got a bit left. found a few new kt not bad wan...dats y la cant waste it. :lol:

my brake rotors not yet found la... can u help me to contact sara ? i call he dint pick up, sms him ask him reply also dont have. dont think he got fly so long rite?

i will kal him when i get back ok. if got kaki go track, i will wait till my pipe comes. after dyno sure power man!

jon dropped by my hse la farker... me at this hour also got assignments to do lah

this saturday sepang track got open noon session. ayam, faizal they all going. y dont u join them? sepang will be better, if u can get the brakes from sara when u come back, sure i join u go play :cheer:

Originally posted by Dewei@Jan 10 2005, 02:37 AM

:weep: me have e same problem too..my rear shock rebound adjustable screw is jam.. joshua told me e only way is to change a new set.. :sian: tt going to cost alot $$$ :sweat: but i dun really find it a really major problem when riding..so for the time being should be ok..e only choice is to wait untilli have money loh :sweat:

Here is a message from Au Kiat, President Malacca 2 wheelers.

Dear All,

The Organizers from Melaka comprising of MITC, Ban Zen, Bike Clubs within the Melaka Region are planning for the above function to be held on the 29th January 2005. We are intending to invite all bikers whose bike capacity of 250 cc and above to come to Melaka on this date to set a attendance of 1000 or more into the Malaysian Guinness Records.

Sponsors have committed to a designed T-Shirt commemorating this event for every biker and also with other goodies like badges, bike stickers , bag and Bandana to make this event worth coming for.

All bikers are invited to Best of Melaka Hawker food comprising of Nyoya, Chinese, Mamak, Indian and Malay food and refreshment ..

This will be a Concert / Dinner event and for all Bikers to enjoy the night.

The cost for participating Bikers is RM 10.00 which will be forwarded to the MCRS for the Tsunami Victims.

The sponsors have also pledge a bag of rice for the Tsunami Victims for every bike in attendance.

Come to Historical Melaka to set this new Record , Aid the Tsunami Victims and also enjoy the program we have planned for you Bikers.

Do forward this email to as many clubs and Bikers you know of who are not listed above and keep an eye on the website for this event which is currently under set up..

With Rgds, Au Kait ( Mobile 012 6018969 )

President , Malacca Two Wheelers

so anybody joining in this ride? me confirm join, place is only 1.5km away from my hse...

This gotta be a joke.

Ask yourself, which will benefit the bikeshop more: you retain your stock suspension or change your suspension?

It is common wisdom that Honda bikes excel in handling.

And one of the main reasons is because of Honda bike suspension and the balance of the bike.

I left my 954 stock settings at stock position and rode the bike for a year. And never had a need to change it. It's good enough to go onto track, attack B roads, yet remain comfortable for daily ride.

I started tweaking my suspension not because it's not good, but just to play around with diferent settings. In the end, I went back to stock settings because it is a very good compromise for performance and comfort.

It is further confirmed in Bike's magazine review of 954 in 2004. The magazine advice don't waste time on buying after market suspension. Just spend more time riding the bike.

Unless a person weighs on either end of the 0.1 ton scale or under 50 kg scale, it's not going to do a lot of difference. The main points is the feel of the bike, the type of road, terrain, acceleration and braking. This can only be known if you tweak, ride the bike and re-tweak. And might vary from road to track. There's no one ideal setting.

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

Originally posted by UnderTaker@Jan 11 2005, 04:55 PM

Dear All,

The Organizers from Melaka comprising of MITC, Ban Zen, Bike Clubs within the Melaka Region are planning for the above function to be held on the 29th January 2005. We are intending to invite all bikers whose bike capacity of 250 cc and above to come to Melaka on this date to set a attendance of 1000 or more into the Malaysian Guinness Records.

Sponsors have committed to a designed T-Shirt commemorating this event for every biker and also with other goodies like badges, bike stickers , bag and Bandana to make this event worth coming for.

All bikers are invited to Best of Melaka Hawker food comprising of Nyoya, Chinese, Mamak, Indian and Malay food and refreshment ..

The cost for participating Bikers is RM 10.00 which will be forwarded to the MCRS for the Tsunami Victims.

The sponsors have also pledge a bag of rice for the Tsunami Victims for every bike in attendance.

Come to Historical Melaka to set this new Record , Aid the Tsunami Victims and also enjoy the program we have planned for you Bikers.

Do forward this email to as many clubs and Bikers you know of who are not listed above and keep an eye on the website for this event which is currently under set up..

so anybody joining in this ride? me confirm join, place is only 1.5km away from my hse...

OK...undertaker...hope to see U this time round in Melaka

Originally posted by UnderTaker@Jan 11 2005, 04:55 PM

Dear All,

If nothing goes wrong, I be there too...

Honda NSR 150 SP - FT4977D (June 01 - March 03)

Honda CBR 400 RR- FL2119U (Dec 02 - Jan 04)

Honda CBR 929 RR - FS4382A (Feb 04 - Dec 04)

Susuki Hayabusa 1300- FX9524Z (April 05 - Oct 05)

Susuki Bandit400- FL3540D (Mar 03 - Dec 05)

Honda Super 4 Spec 3 - FZ9528C (Dec 05 - Jan 07)

Honda Walve125S - FW8025J (Aug 06 - June 07)

Yamaha Spark135 LE - FBB4..7C (March 07 - ???)

Originally posted by Dewei@Jan 11 2005, 10:47 PM

OK...undertaker...hope to see U this time round in Melaka

ok hosei la this time. the place is at MITC, very near to where i spotted u when u were riding past that day. come my place have tea 1st la before we go for the ride...onz ok! :thumb:

Originally posted by kata_killer@Jan 12 2005, 02:50 AM

If nothing goes wrong, I be there too...

good la another kaki to add down the record. btw ur 929 sold off liau rite? so u gonna ride ur busa down ar? :confused:

Originally posted by aH-wE|@Jan 11 2005, 10:57 AM

:weep: me have e same problem too..my rear shock rebound adjustable screw is jam.. joshua told me e only way is to change a new set.. :sian: tt going to cost alot $$$ :sweat: but i dun really find it a really major problem when riding..so for the time being should be ok..e only choice is to wait untilli have money loh :sweat:

Haha, i just got my third rear shock.but it from e-bay.

So if really no money get from e-bay lor.

Originally posted by UnderTaker@Jan 12 2005, 04:52 AM

good la another kaki to add down the record. btw ur 929 sold off liau rite? so u gonna ride ur busa down ar? :confused:

I have not buy my Busa yet. Either I ride my bandit400 or my NT650 over... see hw.

Honda NSR 150 SP - FT4977D (June 01 - March 03)

Honda CBR 400 RR- FL2119U (Dec 02 - Jan 04)

Honda CBR 929 RR - FS4382A (Feb 04 - Dec 04)

Susuki Hayabusa 1300- FX9524Z (April 05 - Oct 05)

Susuki Bandit400- FL3540D (Mar 03 - Dec 05)

Honda Super 4 Spec 3 - FZ9528C (Dec 05 - Jan 07)

Honda Walve125S - FW8025J (Aug 06 - June 07)

Yamaha Spark135 LE - FBB4..7C (March 07 - ???)